Mixer track names don't wrap on Windows 10

Post general topics related to Cubase Pro 9, Cubase Artist 9 and Cubase Elements 9 here.
Andymusikus
New Member
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Dec 13, 2017 9:02 am
Contact:

Mixer track names don't wrap on Windows 10

Post by Andymusikus » Wed Dec 13, 2017 9:56 am

I constantly get projects with a little longer track names. They are completely visuable in the arrange window and the left detail column of the mixer window. But below the faders I can only see 10 characters (24channels each monitor), even on a big monitor.
After a complete hour of my exhausting search in the internet, the manual and the program settings the forum seems to be my last hope. It's a silly little point but I really do not find the instruction anywhere to change the font size or choose a 2-line setting of the channel name. In the arrangement window it's so intuitively simple..
Any help will be VERY MUCH apprciated - thanks a lot in advance :D

SteelyDani
Junior Member
Posts: 191
Joined: Sun May 08, 2011 10:51 am
Contact:

Re: Visuable channel names too short - how to adjust?

Post by SteelyDani » Wed Dec 13, 2017 11:18 am

http://www.bcstudiorecording.com
BCS. Basque Coast Studio
Music is a gift from God to Man

Windows 10 (64)/ Cubase Pro 9.5/ WaveLab 9.5 Elements/ Halion 6 / Intel(R) I7-6700K @ 4.00 GHz - 32GB Dual Channel DDR4/ MOTU PCI-424 + 4 X 2408 mk3

Andymusikus
New Member
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Dec 13, 2017 9:02 am
Contact:

Re: Visuable channel names too short - how to adjust?

Post by Andymusikus » Thu Dec 14, 2017 8:42 am

Hmm, I had seen the "insert name" problems (which I by the way also suffer from), but was not aware that it could be connected to a systemwide problem. No other reply means nobody else cares - correct? I am a Cubase user from the beginning but evry year I think about leaving :-(

User avatar
planarchist
Senior Member
Posts: 1625
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2011 10:50 am
Location: UK.
Contact:

Re: Visuable channel names too short - how to adjust?

Post by planarchist » Thu Dec 14, 2017 10:32 am

Andymusikus wrote:
Wed Dec 13, 2017 9:56 am
...... below the faders I can only see 10 characters (24channels each monitor), even on a big monitor.
What version of Cubase are you on? Though I don't usually have such long track names I have managed just fine as a test (and it's wrapped to the next line....see example screen grab). I didn't change anything to get this. You do need to have spaces to get the name to wrap though...well one at least!
long track name.PNG
(27.43 KiB) Not downloaded yet
If you think folk could benefit from some customization options in this area (and I'd agree it might be useful if not top of my list) then maybe a post in the "Feature Requests and Suggestions" Forum might be worth a go....Steinberg appear to be listening more than ever to their users so if you can garder some support there you might see something. I'd also suggest linking to any post you do put there from this one....
Nic

Cubase Pro 10.0.40, Abs.Collec.3, i7 4770K 3.5GHz, 32 Gig RAM, Windows 10 Pro 64 bit, RME Digiface, Behringer ADA8200, S'berg Midex 8.
Cubase Pro 10.0.40, Abs.Collec.3, i7 920 2.67Ghz , 24Gig RAM, Windows 10 Pro 64 bit , Steinberg CI2+.

Cubase Elements 9.40 on Windows 10 Laptop, i7-2760QM 8Gig RAM, Sonic Port VX.
Cubasis 2.5 iPad Mini 4 64GB

Andymusikus
New Member
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Dec 13, 2017 9:02 am
Contact:

Re: Visuable channel names too short - how to adjust?

Post by Andymusikus » Thu Dec 14, 2017 3:43 pm

Thanks a lot for your support, Nic. I am on 9.5, what version are you on? Your screenshot shows a usable & acceptable name display compared to mine (see my screenshot).. If you did not adjust anything and don't know how to do it maybe there is nothing to adjust and with some display resolutions it's working with others not.
Attachments
Names.JPG
(290.45 KiB) Not downloaded yet

User avatar
Panther
Junior Member
Posts: 56
Joined: Thu Dec 14, 2017 4:33 pm
Contact:

Re: Visuable channel names too short - how to adjust?

Post by Panther » Thu Dec 14, 2017 4:42 pm

Andymusikus wrote:
Thu Dec 14, 2017 3:43 pm
Your screenshot shows a usable & acceptable name display compared to mine (see my screenshot).. If you did not adjust anything and don't know how to do it maybe there is nothing to adjust and with some display resolutions it's working with others not.
Use a "space" instead of an "underline" to separate words/codes. This way your descriptions will be able to wrap the line properly as intended. ;)
Things are moving along nicely... if you're not in a hurry to get somewhere.
  • Cubase Pro 9.5.50 on Windows 7 Pro (x64)

User avatar
planarchist
Senior Member
Posts: 1625
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2011 10:50 am
Location: UK.
Contact:

Re: Visuable channel names too short - how to adjust?

Post by planarchist » Thu Dec 14, 2017 5:19 pm

You're welcome and I'm on 9.5 Pro too.

It has to be a space to get the track name to wrap...not an underscore as you have. Looks like I can do 11 characters, space then another 11. It doesn't wrap a second time.
Nic

Cubase Pro 10.0.40, Abs.Collec.3, i7 4770K 3.5GHz, 32 Gig RAM, Windows 10 Pro 64 bit, RME Digiface, Behringer ADA8200, S'berg Midex 8.
Cubase Pro 10.0.40, Abs.Collec.3, i7 920 2.67Ghz , 24Gig RAM, Windows 10 Pro 64 bit , Steinberg CI2+.

Cubase Elements 9.40 on Windows 10 Laptop, i7-2760QM 8Gig RAM, Sonic Port VX.
Cubasis 2.5 iPad Mini 4 64GB

Andymusikus
New Member
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Dec 13, 2017 9:02 am
Contact:

Re: Visuable channel names too short - how to adjust?

Post by Andymusikus » Thu Dec 14, 2017 5:37 pm

I already checked the "make a space" solution. It does not work here. Can't get a line wrap.
Changing a whole project's names (73 tracks) would be no fun (but of some help at least).
I'll contact Steinberg via phone and post the answer here.

Carvin Man
Junior Member
Posts: 167
Joined: Thu Oct 12, 2017 10:47 am
Contact:

Re: Visuable channel names too short - how to adjust?

Post by Carvin Man » Thu Dec 14, 2017 8:54 pm

I have the same name labeling issues in the mixer. C9.5 on windows 10.

If it work for some, I have to check it further.

Andymusikus
New Member
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Dec 13, 2017 9:02 am
Contact:

Re: Visuable channel names too short - how to adjust?

Post by Andymusikus » Fri Dec 15, 2017 2:45 pm

Just had a 1h phone call with the support. Deleting Presets etc. did not help. They could reproduce it on Win 10. So, no help atm. We'll have to wait...

User avatar
planarchist
Senior Member
Posts: 1625
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2011 10:50 am
Location: UK.
Contact:

Re: Visuable channel names too short - how to adjust?

Post by planarchist » Fri Dec 15, 2017 8:53 pm

Hmmmm....shall have to check it on my Win 10 systems, the examples I showed were on the Win 7 one.
Nic

Cubase Pro 10.0.40, Abs.Collec.3, i7 4770K 3.5GHz, 32 Gig RAM, Windows 10 Pro 64 bit, RME Digiface, Behringer ADA8200, S'berg Midex 8.
Cubase Pro 10.0.40, Abs.Collec.3, i7 920 2.67Ghz , 24Gig RAM, Windows 10 Pro 64 bit , Steinberg CI2+.

Cubase Elements 9.40 on Windows 10 Laptop, i7-2760QM 8Gig RAM, Sonic Port VX.
Cubasis 2.5 iPad Mini 4 64GB

User avatar
planarchist
Senior Member
Posts: 1625
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2011 10:50 am
Location: UK.
Contact:

Re: Visuable channel names too short - how to adjust?

Post by planarchist » Sat Dec 16, 2017 5:34 pm

Andymusikus wrote:
Fri Dec 15, 2017 2:45 pm
Just had a 1h phone call with the support. Deleting Presets etc. did not help. They could reproduce it on Win 10. So, no help atm. We'll have to wait...
Looks like it's a Windows 10 then but wonder if it's all Win 10 systems....no wrapping on my Windows 10 system.....I can get 13 characters in a line (which is more than on the Win 7 system) but it won't wrap with or without spaces.
Nic

Cubase Pro 10.0.40, Abs.Collec.3, i7 4770K 3.5GHz, 32 Gig RAM, Windows 10 Pro 64 bit, RME Digiface, Behringer ADA8200, S'berg Midex 8.
Cubase Pro 10.0.40, Abs.Collec.3, i7 920 2.67Ghz , 24Gig RAM, Windows 10 Pro 64 bit , Steinberg CI2+.

Cubase Elements 9.40 on Windows 10 Laptop, i7-2760QM 8Gig RAM, Sonic Port VX.
Cubasis 2.5 iPad Mini 4 64GB

Barry Berk
New Member
Posts: 11
Joined: Sat Oct 11, 2014 4:18 pm
Contact:

Re: Visuable channel names too short - how to adjust?

Post by Barry Berk » Sun Dec 17, 2017 8:03 am

Same issue here. Cubase 9.5 with Windows 10. No wrap with or without spaces.

User avatar
PeteL
New Member
Posts: 33
Joined: Sat Dec 02, 2017 5:20 pm
Contact:

Re: Visuable channel names too short - how to adjust?

Post by PeteL » Sun Dec 17, 2017 8:42 pm

No wrapping here. Win10, Cubase 9.51
Cubase Pro 10.0.20, Roseberry i9 ProStudio, Windows 10 x64 Pro, 32GB RAM, 5 GHz, Focusrite 18i8 (2nd Gen)

nicoroy123
Junior Member
Posts: 91
Joined: Sun Mar 13, 2011 8:46 pm
Contact:

Re: Visuable channel names too short - how to adjust?

Post by nicoroy123 » Mon Apr 30, 2018 2:14 pm

Still no solution to this ?
The problem seem to be still there 4 months later...
-Cubase Pro 9.5.30
-CPU Intel i7-6850K
-MB Gigabyte X99 Ultra Gaming
-RAM 32GB
-SSD drives for all samples, apps and OS

User avatar
planarchist
Senior Member
Posts: 1625
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2011 10:50 am
Location: UK.
Contact:

Re: Visuable channel names too short - how to adjust?

Post by planarchist » Wed May 02, 2018 11:28 am

....not seen it raised in the Issues forum, which might be wise for those keen to have it solved.
Nic

Cubase Pro 10.0.40, Abs.Collec.3, i7 4770K 3.5GHz, 32 Gig RAM, Windows 10 Pro 64 bit, RME Digiface, Behringer ADA8200, S'berg Midex 8.
Cubase Pro 10.0.40, Abs.Collec.3, i7 920 2.67Ghz , 24Gig RAM, Windows 10 Pro 64 bit , Steinberg CI2+.

Cubase Elements 9.40 on Windows 10 Laptop, i7-2760QM 8Gig RAM, Sonic Port VX.
Cubasis 2.5 iPad Mini 4 64GB

Romantique Tp
External Moderator
Posts: 2878
Joined: Fri Aug 07, 2015 3:25 pm
Contact:

Re: Visuable channel names too short - how to adjust?

Post by Romantique Tp » Wed May 02, 2018 12:02 pm

Try running Cubase in Safe Start Mode:
https://www.steinberg.net/nc/en/support ... ences.html
Every time someone says "it must be easy to add/fix", a programmer dies.

Cubase Pro and Wavelab Pro (latest), Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit, MSI Z87-G45 GAMING, i5 4690k, GeForce GTX 760, almost every Steinberg plugin and expansion, Trilian, Komplete 10, etc etc etc etc

Andymusikus
New Member
Posts: 6
Joined: Wed Dec 13, 2017 9:02 am
Contact:

Re: Visuable channel names too short - how to adjust?

Post by Andymusikus » Wed May 02, 2018 12:23 pm

No, still no solution in Pro 9.5.21 :oops:
I thought may be the Musikmesse in Frankfurt would show a new update with fixes. But there was only a tiny Yamaha/Steinberg booth for "kids" to play. No Pro to talk to about these kind of probs. It's a shame.

Carvin Man
Junior Member
Posts: 167
Joined: Thu Oct 12, 2017 10:47 am
Contact:

Re: Visuable channel names too short - how to adjust?

Post by Carvin Man » Thu May 03, 2018 9:54 am

"Try running Cubase in Safe Start Mode".... bla bla bla..... FIX IT! It is NOT FIXED.... so FIX IT!

User avatar
planarchist
Senior Member
Posts: 1625
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2011 10:50 am
Location: UK.
Contact:

Re: Visuable channel names too short - how to adjust?

Post by planarchist » Thu May 03, 2018 11:08 am

Romantique Tp wrote:
Wed May 02, 2018 12:02 pm
Try running Cubase in Safe Start Mode:
https://www.steinberg.net/nc/en/support ... ences.html
Sadly this doesn't fix it, it seems to be just Windows 10, I don't see it on my W7 machine (but do see it on both W10 machines). Not sure if it affects all W10 machines but not yet heard anyone with W10 who it doesn't affect.
Nic

Cubase Pro 10.0.40, Abs.Collec.3, i7 4770K 3.5GHz, 32 Gig RAM, Windows 10 Pro 64 bit, RME Digiface, Behringer ADA8200, S'berg Midex 8.
Cubase Pro 10.0.40, Abs.Collec.3, i7 920 2.67Ghz , 24Gig RAM, Windows 10 Pro 64 bit , Steinberg CI2+.

Cubase Elements 9.40 on Windows 10 Laptop, i7-2760QM 8Gig RAM, Sonic Port VX.
Cubasis 2.5 iPad Mini 4 64GB

Romantique Tp
External Moderator
Posts: 2878
Joined: Fri Aug 07, 2015 3:25 pm
Contact:

Re: Visuable channel names too short - how to adjust?

Post by Romantique Tp » Thu May 03, 2018 12:55 pm

Carvin Man wrote:
Thu May 03, 2018 9:54 am
"Try running Cubase in Safe Start Mode".... bla bla bla..... FIX IT! It is NOT FIXED.... so FIX IT!
If it wasn't clear, I'm trying to check if this is an actual bug and not just your preferences acting up, which is a common cause of issues like this. What a strange way to react.
Andymusikus wrote:
Wed May 02, 2018 12:23 pm
I thought may be the Musikmesse in Frankfurt would show a new update with fixes. But there was only a tiny Yamaha/Steinberg booth for "kids" to play. No Pro to talk to about these kind of probs. It's a shame.
Musikmesse was just one month after the last major Cubase maintenance update. The whole purpose of trade fairs like this is to show off products and innovations. Again, 9.5.20 had just been released, so even if this was the right place for proudly showcasing bugfix updates, they probably wouldn't be showing a super early alpha version of Cubase 9.5.30.
Every time someone says "it must be easy to add/fix", a programmer dies.

Cubase Pro and Wavelab Pro (latest), Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit, MSI Z87-G45 GAMING, i5 4690k, GeForce GTX 760, almost every Steinberg plugin and expansion, Trilian, Komplete 10, etc etc etc etc

Rolander
Member
Posts: 507
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 9:27 am
Contact:

Re: Visuable channel names too short - how to adjust?

Post by Rolander » Thu May 03, 2018 1:17 pm

I can confirm that word wrapping in Cubase 9.5 and Windows 10 doesn't work. But it is not a Windows problem because it works on Cubase 9.0 and Windows 10. So Steinberg is to blame for that. They have changed something between version 9.0 to 9.5.
Music and more from Rolander: http://www.songs-and-stories.de
Youtube Home Mastering: https://www.youtube.com/user/HomeMastering/

Win 10, Cubase 10.0.30,
CPU: Intel i7-2600K Quadcore, 24 MB RAM, MB: GigaByte Z68X-UD4-B3, GraKa: AMD Radeon HD 7800, Audio: Focusrite Scarlett 6i6 + Line 6 UX2

User avatar
planarchist
Senior Member
Posts: 1625
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2011 10:50 am
Location: UK.
Contact:

Re: Visuable channel names too short - how to adjust?

Post by planarchist » Thu May 03, 2018 3:31 pm

Rolander wrote:
Thu May 03, 2018 1:17 pm
I can confirm that word wrapping in Cubase 9.5 and Windows 10 doesn't work. But it is not a Windows problem because it works on Cubase 9.0 and Windows 10. So Steinberg is to blame for that. They have changed something between version 9.0 to 9.5.
Not quite as simple as that......9.5 wraps just fine on Windows 7, it's the Cubase 9.5 with Windows 10 combination that shows the issue so looks like there's also something different in Win 10.

There was a new video engine with 9.5 so that may be the cause (though I thought that had also been added to 9.0.40?).
Nic

Cubase Pro 10.0.40, Abs.Collec.3, i7 4770K 3.5GHz, 32 Gig RAM, Windows 10 Pro 64 bit, RME Digiface, Behringer ADA8200, S'berg Midex 8.
Cubase Pro 10.0.40, Abs.Collec.3, i7 920 2.67Ghz , 24Gig RAM, Windows 10 Pro 64 bit , Steinberg CI2+.

Cubase Elements 9.40 on Windows 10 Laptop, i7-2760QM 8Gig RAM, Sonic Port VX.
Cubasis 2.5 iPad Mini 4 64GB

nicoroy123
Junior Member
Posts: 91
Joined: Sun Mar 13, 2011 8:46 pm
Contact:

Re: Mixer track names don't wrap on Windows 10

Post by nicoroy123 » Sat May 26, 2018 2:55 am

Still not fixed in 9.5.30!
Grrrr
-Cubase Pro 9.5.30
-CPU Intel i7-6850K
-MB Gigabyte X99 Ultra Gaming
-RAM 32GB
-SSD drives for all samples, apps and OS

User avatar
ANeeman
Member
Posts: 304
Joined: Sat Dec 31, 2016 8:30 am
Location: Latvia
Contact:

Re: Mixer track names don't wrap on Windows 10

Post by ANeeman » Sun May 27, 2018 1:16 am

Exactly - Grrrr! 8)
Cubase Pro 10.0.40, Win10, 3.40 GHz, 16GB.
Steinberg: HALion 6.3.0, HSO, Native Instruments: KOMPLETE 12 ULTIMATE Collectors Edition
Hardware: UR242, MG10XU, MG12XU, CS1x
Albums: Millectrinium (2018) | Nature. Water (2017) | Oracle (2017) | Two. Midnight Talks (2015)

Post Reply

Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests