Direct OFFline Processing - Tails

Post general topics related to Nuendo 8 here.
Post Reply
ltf3
Member
Posts: 450
Joined: Sun Dec 19, 2010 5:15 pm
Contact:

Direct OFFline Processing - Tails

Post by ltf3 »

Hi

Am I misunderstating the DOP Tails setting in Nuendo 8.1?

I take a clip, open DOP, add a reverb ( e.g. Revelation ), adjust to have a long/wet reverb tail, set the DOP "Tail" toolbar adjustment to 2000 ms , return to the Project, play the clip ... the Reverb cuts off right at the end of the event, just like it did before. No tail at all.

What am I missing? I assume it's meant to be like it is/was in Wavelab ... with tails activated I should hear the processing continue after the source event ends.

Thanks
Attachments
Screen Shot 2017-11-22 at 5.11.38 PM.png
DOP Set up
(434.67 KiB) Not downloaded yet
Lee

Cubase 8.5, Nuendo 10, Cubasis ( gotta luv it ), Arturia Audio Fuse, OS 10.13.6, IMac Quad Core 3.2 GHz i7, 32GB RAM, Radeon Graphics 4GB

Dolfo
Member
Posts: 257
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 10:45 pm
Contact:

Re: Direct OFFline Processing - Tails

Post by Dolfo »

I have same question.
MacPro 12 cores 3,06GHz 32GB RAM / OSX 10.14.6
Nuendo 10 (4 rooms) / Cubase Pro 10
Blackmagic Intensity Pro
Yamaha DM2000 V2 / Yamaha 01V96 V2 / Houston
MOTU 896HD mk3 / MOTU Traveler / MOTU 8Pre / MIDI Express 128 / MOTU MTPII

User avatar
MattiasNYC
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 4261
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 9:27 am
Contact:

Re: Direct OFFline Processing - Tails

Post by MattiasNYC »

Can you extend the event though to get the tail (after processing)?
Nuendo 10.2.2 build 396 / Lynx TWO-B / Windows 10 Pro 64-bit / Ryzen 1700 3.6GHz (oc) / 16GB Corsair Vengeance DDR4@3200MHz / Radeon VII / ASUS x370-A mobo ::::: RX Post Production Suite 4 / DaVinci Resolve

Timeline
Junior Member
Posts: 127
Joined: Wed Apr 10, 2013 8:22 pm
Contact:

Re: Direct OFFline Processing - Tails

Post by Timeline »

Set the (ms) amount in the DOP window before opening the plug in. that's the way it works currently. I already reported this as an inconvenience way of working and hope they can change it. But it does work for me.
Windows 10 64 bit/ Windows 7 64 bit- i7-770k CPU 4.2GHZ, 32 GB

ltf3
Member
Posts: 450
Joined: Sun Dec 19, 2010 5:15 pm
Contact:

Re: Direct OFFline Processing - Tails

Post by ltf3 »

Hi

So I set 2000ms in the DOP Pane for a tail length ... now that value shows up in all DOP instances when I open them.

However there is no audible tail either in the Project playback. Same if Auto apply is on or if I apply the Process manually.

Extending the Process Range Value doesn't make a difference either. ( although I wouldn't expect it to... )

Only using SB plug ins ... Delay and Reverb to test.

Can't see what I'm doing wrong.

At this point in development Nuendo should be able just include tails automatically for heaven's sake.

( BTW on Mac Os 10.12.6, 16 GB RAM, Quad Core 2.6GHz i7, Intel HD 40000 Graphics ... at least i don't have any GUI issues! )
Lee

Cubase 8.5, Nuendo 10, Cubasis ( gotta luv it ), Arturia Audio Fuse, OS 10.13.6, IMac Quad Core 3.2 GHz i7, 32GB RAM, Radeon Graphics 4GB

ltf3
Member
Posts: 450
Joined: Sun Dec 19, 2010 5:15 pm
Contact:

Re: Direct OFFline Processing - Tails

Post by ltf3 »

Hi

Can anyone confirm that Nuendo 8.1 Direct Processing tails does anything???

I have set the DP Tails value to 3000 ms. That value shows up whenever DP opens.

I apply a Nuendo Plug in Process ( e.g. reverb ) to a clip. I hear it in the preview playback. I close the DP window and play the timeline. During the event playback the process is present, but the instant the event ends the process cuts out. So in this case no reverb tail ringing out.

Or isn't this what the Tails option does??
Lee

Cubase 8.5, Nuendo 10, Cubasis ( gotta luv it ), Arturia Audio Fuse, OS 10.13.6, IMac Quad Core 3.2 GHz i7, 32GB RAM, Radeon Graphics 4GB

User avatar
The Sound Post
Junior Member
Posts: 188
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 2:20 pm
Contact:

Re: Direct OFFline Processing - Tails

Post by The Sound Post »

Like MattiasNYC asked before: did you try extending the rendered clip after processing? The reverb should then be revealed. Offline Processing doesn't extend the clip for you. You have to drag the end to the right to be able to hear it. Or did you already try that? I'm still on 7, so I can't check.
Nuendo 10 OSX 10.12.6 MacPro 12-core 3.46 GHz 48GB ram Antelope Orion32 Slate Raven

ltf3
Member
Posts: 450
Joined: Sun Dec 19, 2010 5:15 pm
Contact:

Re: Direct OFFline Processing - Tails

Post by ltf3 »

HI

Thanks for the advice

In regards to extending the clip after processing - when I do that all I see is audio that exists in the original clip, just as if the clip out point was moved with no direct offline processing. Besides not hearing any tail its material that obviously doesn't need to be in the project at all! Just handles left by the Video editor. If a new clip is rendered shouldn't it be replaced in the timeline? Should I even be able to see the original clip material ( past the setting in the DOP effect extension time) Or is Nuendo smart enough to go back to the original clip is a DOP'd clip (sounds rude! ) has its boundaries adjusted in the project ?

Do any of you hear the tail in the actual DOP window when you preview the effect with no loop? i.e.When the clip stops does the effect ring out. Mine doesn't.

I'm baffled. I so want this to work ...
Lee

Cubase 8.5, Nuendo 10, Cubasis ( gotta luv it ), Arturia Audio Fuse, OS 10.13.6, IMac Quad Core 3.2 GHz i7, 32GB RAM, Radeon Graphics 4GB

tim_heinrich
Member
Posts: 291
Joined: Thu Mar 07, 2013 12:38 pm
Contact:

Re: Direct OFFline Processing - Tails

Post by tim_heinrich »

Here is the solution. First you got to convert the clip into a new audio clip at the audio menu. Then it works. Here is my german review:
https://youtu.be/Tp5rBN-W_rA?t=5m7s
This is not how it should work or how we expect it. And at DOP you can't move a lot of plugins at the same it. And it's sad, that favorites are always added at the last plugin. Perhaps you want to add it before the last plugin, before the compressor. Some things are not well developed.

ltf3
Member
Posts: 450
Joined: Sun Dec 19, 2010 5:15 pm
Contact:

Re: Direct OFFline Processing - Tails

Post by ltf3 »

Thanks Tim for the suggestion

But no dice here. I can select an event, use Bounce Selection to create a new Audio event, apply a DOP with Tails activated and the effect still cuts out at the end of the event when it plays in the Project.

I also think that the presence of a time setting in the DOP pane to "Extend Process Range" ( I suppose to process render extra trimmed audio either end of the event) pretty much tells us that the idea is to be able to process trimmed clips without creating a new trimmed version.

Again ... are Tails working for anyone in DOP??
Lee

Cubase 8.5, Nuendo 10, Cubasis ( gotta luv it ), Arturia Audio Fuse, OS 10.13.6, IMac Quad Core 3.2 GHz i7, 32GB RAM, Radeon Graphics 4GB

C9sus4
Junior Member
Posts: 72
Joined: Wed Nov 20, 2013 11:21 pm
Location: Vilnius, Lithuania
Contact:

Re: Direct OFFline Processing - Tails

Post by C9sus4 »

Tail is okay in my case if the audio is not time stretched. Nuendo does not like time stretched audio in such cases -- been there, done that.
ALWAYS BOUNCE to apply DOP with tail.
Mac OS; Newest Nuendos and WaveLabs; most Steinberg Instruments; RX. Steinberger and Status guitars and basses
https://soundcloud.com/algis-ramanauskas

ltf3
Member
Posts: 450
Joined: Sun Dec 19, 2010 5:15 pm
Contact:

Re: Direct OFFline Processing - Tails

Post by ltf3 »

HI

OK .. not working on a project now so I went the nuclear option and reinstalled everything.

And yes ... now I can see tails having an effect! Yay ... kind of. As was pointed out here it seems that if an event has handles ( which all my events do ) then Tails don't work. Or at least if I apply a DOP and then extend the Event to hear the tails I hear the audio content in the handles ... and no tail!

If I bounce the event to a new clip ... then when I apply a DOP with a Tail I can see Nuendo adjusting the length of the new event in the Project window.

So what the heck is the "Extend Process Range" box for? If I Bounce Down then theres never any content "outside the event boarders" ( as the manual says ).

I think this should be classified and a bug ... if not just broken.
Lee

Cubase 8.5, Nuendo 10, Cubasis ( gotta luv it ), Arturia Audio Fuse, OS 10.13.6, IMac Quad Core 3.2 GHz i7, 32GB RAM, Radeon Graphics 4GB

fgimian
Junior Member
Posts: 168
Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2011 12:10 pm
Contact:

Re: Direct OFFline Processing - Tails

Post by fgimian »

Just encountered this too, this definitely feels like a bug too, adjusting the tail should absolutely be possible AFTER adding a plugin. Te current implementation is cumbersome and in some ways a step backward from what we had (because when we used to use Preview and adjust the tail in the previous approach, it would update immediately and we could hear the changes).
Software & Audio Interface: Cubase 9.5.30 x64 / Windows 10 / Focusrite Clarett 2Pre
Computer: Intel Core i7 7700K, NVIDIA GTX 1050, 64 GB RAM, 1 TB SSD + Samsung T3 2 TB USB 3 SSD

SubZ125
New Member
Posts: 7
Joined: Mon Jan 27, 2020 2:06 pm
Contact:

Re: Direct OFFline Processing - Tails

Post by SubZ125 »

I've just confirmed - Cubase 10.5 - it's still required to first set the Tails value, then add the processes and plugins. Doing so afterwards leads to unpredictable results.

It's 2020 and we still have this problem. Please open a support ticket to report this issue, I think it helps if more of us do that.

Post Reply

Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests