Direct Offline Processing - does it work with external effects?

Post general topics related to Cubase Pro 9, Cubase Artist 9 and Cubase Elements 9 here.
Post Reply
User avatar
toader
Member
Posts: 704
Joined: Fri Jan 14, 2011 1:37 am
Location: Denver, Colorado, USA
Contact:

Direct Offline Processing - does it work with external effects?

Post by toader » Fri Nov 17, 2017 6:30 pm

Direct Offline Processing looks very cool... can anyone tell me if it works with external effects? And if so, how?

I bought the new update for 9.5, but I can't run it on my computer yet to try this with external effects (I need to upgrade to a dx10 video card - should be here in the next few days hopefully).

Thanks,
Todd
Last edited by toader on Sat Nov 18, 2017 12:08 am, edited 1 time in total.
Computer 1: Cubase 9.5.20, RME HDSPe AES (x2), RME HDSPe AIO (x1), Nvidia 510 video card, Dell T7500 workstation with Intel Xeon X5690 (6 cores with hyperthreading) 3.47gHz, 24GB RAM, UAD-2 Quad, Windows 10 64-bit
Computer 2: Wavelab 9.5.35, RME HDSPe AIO, AMD Radeon RX 480 video, Dell XPS 8720 with Intel I7-7700 CPU (4 cores with hyperthreading) 3.6gHz, 24GB RAM, Windows 10 64-bit

https://www.noiseradiationstudios.com

mixalis
New Member
Posts: 36
Joined: Wed Oct 22, 2014 9:57 pm
Contact:

Re: Direct Offline Processing - does it work with external effects?

Post by mixalis » Fri Nov 17, 2017 7:17 pm

Yes you can... There are videos on youtube that explain this .. its easy ! same way as with every other effects
Intel i5 64bit , 16GB ram on windows 10

Cubase 9 pro . Steinberg UR242

User avatar
toader
Member
Posts: 704
Joined: Fri Jan 14, 2011 1:37 am
Location: Denver, Colorado, USA
Contact:

Re: Direct Offline Processing - does it work with external effects?

Post by toader » Sat Nov 18, 2017 12:08 am

AWESOME! I can't wait until that video card gets here so I can try this!

Thanks!
-Todd
Computer 1: Cubase 9.5.20, RME HDSPe AES (x2), RME HDSPe AIO (x1), Nvidia 510 video card, Dell T7500 workstation with Intel Xeon X5690 (6 cores with hyperthreading) 3.47gHz, 24GB RAM, UAD-2 Quad, Windows 10 64-bit
Computer 2: Wavelab 9.5.35, RME HDSPe AIO, AMD Radeon RX 480 video, Dell XPS 8720 with Intel I7-7700 CPU (4 cores with hyperthreading) 3.6gHz, 24GB RAM, Windows 10 64-bit

https://www.noiseradiationstudios.com

Staggerquake
New Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Nov 18, 2017 4:14 pm
Contact:

Re: Direct Offline Processing - does it work with external effects?

Post by Staggerquake » Sat Nov 18, 2017 4:30 pm

I cannot get it to work using external effects. I also cannot find a single video on YouTube about it and I am hoping that I am just doing something working because this is a game changer for me! Do you have any YouTube links?

tonysenghore
New Member
Posts: 10
Joined: Wed Nov 29, 2017 3:17 pm
Contact:

Re: Direct Offline Processing - does it work with external effects?

Post by tonysenghore » Tue Feb 06, 2018 12:56 pm

This "would have been" awesome but i can't get it to work either. Terrible that they didn't manage to the ping of external fx working in the new engine and that they couldn't make this work. It would have been an amazing feature.

It's also a shame that you can't put a mono external fx over a stereo channel (like you can in ableton)

igbro
New Member
Posts: 9
Joined: Fri Dec 18, 2015 11:48 am
Contact:

Re: Direct Offline Processing - does it work with external effects?

Post by igbro » Wed Feb 07, 2018 3:30 pm

You can't go off line for external effects.
You need to go the analog way and print a realtime bounce cause Cubase doesn't have access to the calculations of your external unit.
It should work with UAD, TC or Duende DSP boards.
Cubase 9.3 - Win7 x64 I7 3770@3.4 24Gb Ram + Slave Win7 x64 2x Xeon X5675@3.1 32Gb Ram - RME HDSP9652

User avatar
peakae
Senior Member
Posts: 2574
Joined: Sat Jan 05, 2013 8:15 pm
Location: Bedroom
Contact:

Re: Direct Offline Processing - does it work with external effects?

Post by peakae » Thu Feb 08, 2018 6:50 am

It kind of defeats the purpose doing external fx with DOP, they would have to Render in real time anyway.
Render In Place makes much more sense.
Anyhow DOP is still buggy, although 9.5.10 made it usable for some basic tasks.
Cubase Pro 9.5.30, Wavelab Elements 9, I7 3770K , win10x64, 16Gb Ram, RME Raydat, Steinberg MR816x, Motu 828mkII, Behringer ADA8200, Yamaha moXF6, Steinberg UR242, Yamaha THR 10, Cambridge Audio DacMagic Plus, CMC TP, CMC CH.

digitalson
Member
Posts: 330
Joined: Sun Jan 22, 2012 9:34 am
Contact:

Re: Direct Offline Processing - does it work with external effects?

Post by digitalson » Sat Feb 10, 2018 10:09 pm

Yes but render in place works with external effects so why can't direct offline process work with external effects
i7 ,64gb 1866 mem x79 chipset, ssd os,4 x ssd drives raid 0 motu pci 96 ins and outs @96k for external gear
tons of vintage outboard gear 3 monitors and 42" LCD for spotting to film
Windows 7 pro 64 sp1
Gtx 780 ,all liquid cooled CPU overclocked to 4 ghz

User avatar
gesslr
Junior Member
Posts: 59
Joined: Wed Dec 11, 2013 2:31 am
Contact:

Re: Direct Offline Processing - does it work with external effects?

Post by gesslr » Sun Feb 11, 2018 1:55 pm

I believe DOP is a non-real time process and therefore can’t work with external effects. You’d have to go the “long route” and render the sound event to disk using the real time processing option.
Formerly user "nke"

12 core MacPro 2.66GHZ | 64 GB RAM | OS 10.12.6 | CUBASE 9.5.10 | LOGIC 10.3.3 | StudioOne 3.5.4 | MOTU Interfaces | Way Too Many Plug-ins |

http://www.soundwaremedia.com
FB: geo.napier3
@gesslr via Twitter

Post Reply

Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: peakae and 5 guests