update from sx to 9.5 pro

Post general topics related to Cubase Pro 9, Cubase Artist 9 and Cubase Elements 9 here.
Post Reply
VTM
New Member
Posts: 21
Joined: Thu Feb 22, 2018 9:33 pm
Contact:

update from sx to 9.5 pro

Post by VTM » Sat Feb 24, 2018 2:49 pm

Hi.
I am in the process of upgrading to 9.5. When I apply for the 9.5 upgrade from Steinberg, how does this work. Will the upgrade install the full version quietly or ask me for details from my old installation. I bought SL (which I still have, but with only the s/n on the box it came with) then some years later bought a copy of SX off Ebay. Will this hinder my upgrade onto a new desktop PC (as you can imagine my old system is rather old) Hope you can help.
Cubase Po 9.5, Windows 10 64bit, Wavelab Elements 9.5 MOTU 828x, M-Audio Midisport 4x4, Intel Core i7 7700 @ 3.60GHz, 48GB RAM, 1tb SSD system drive, 1tb sata hd, 4tb SSD sample library drive, 256gb back up SSD drive

Martin.Jirsak
Forum Elder
Posts: 21906
Joined: Sun Mar 20, 2011 3:52 pm
Contact:

Re: update from sx to 9.5 pro

Post by Martin.Jirsak » Mon Feb 26, 2018 4:19 pm

Hi and welcome,

1st of all, the license has nothing to do with the installation. So you don't have to install your old product, you want to upgrade from.

All you need is to activate the license. So make sure the old license (you are going to upgrade from) is activated. If it's Soft-eLicense, make sure, the license is transferred to the USB-eLicenser. Once this is done, click to the Enter Activation Code button. Enter your new upgrade Activation Code, and click Continue. eLCC will ask you to point out to the license. Select the license, you want to upgrade from, and click Continue. The new license is downloaded to your USB-eLicnser.

Now you can download and install the latest Cubase version (Cubase 9.5.10, at this time), and start it.
Martin Jirsak
How to show notes of the chord/scale only
Cubase Training

Cubase Pro (last officially supported version all the time)
macOS (last update)

VTM
New Member
Posts: 21
Joined: Thu Feb 22, 2018 9:33 pm
Contact:

Re: update from sx to 9.5 pro

Post by VTM » Sat Mar 03, 2018 7:53 pm

Hi Martin.
Thanks very much for that.
Cubase Po 9.5, Windows 10 64bit, Wavelab Elements 9.5 MOTU 828x, M-Audio Midisport 4x4, Intel Core i7 7700 @ 3.60GHz, 48GB RAM, 1tb SSD system drive, 1tb sata hd, 4tb SSD sample library drive, 256gb back up SSD drive

User avatar
planarchist
Senior Member
Posts: 1707
Joined: Sat Sep 10, 2011 10:50 am
Location: UK.
Contact:

Re: update from sx to 9.5 pro

Post by planarchist » Sat Mar 03, 2018 8:12 pm

It is indeed all as Martin has said, the only thing I'd add is to check several times that you have the License you want to upgrade showing on your USB eLicenser before you buy the upgrade. Then check that this is the correct upgrade you're buying. Register the license on your MySteinberg account if you haven't already done so.

It seems obvious but we've seen quite a few people mistakenly buy the wrong upgrade.
Nic

Cubase Pro 10.5, Abs.Collec.3, i7 4770K 3.5GHz, 32 Gig RAM, Windows 10 Pro 64 bit, RME Digiface, Behringer ADA8200, S'berg Midex 8.
Cubase Pro 10.5. Abs.Collec.3, i7 920 2.67Ghz , 24Gig RAM, Windows 10 Pro 64 bit , Steinberg CI2+.

Cubase Elements 9.40 on Windows 10 Laptop, i7-2760QM 8Gig RAM, Sonic Port VX.
Cubasis 2.5 iPad Mini 4 64GB

VTM
New Member
Posts: 21
Joined: Thu Feb 22, 2018 9:33 pm
Contact:

Re: update from sx to 9.5 pro

Post by VTM » Sat Mar 17, 2018 4:42 pm

Quick question. Will the usb eLicenser still work on my old system after I do what you say. Basically, can I use it between the old and new pc until I get everything sorted.Or will I need a new one. Just been a long time since I've had to do this.
Cubase Po 9.5, Windows 10 64bit, Wavelab Elements 9.5 MOTU 828x, M-Audio Midisport 4x4, Intel Core i7 7700 @ 3.60GHz, 48GB RAM, 1tb SSD system drive, 1tb sata hd, 4tb SSD sample library drive, 256gb back up SSD drive

svennilenni
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 4673
Joined: Sat Nov 28, 2015 3:21 pm
Contact:

Re: update from sx to 9.5 pro

Post by svennilenni » Sat Mar 17, 2018 5:20 pm

VTM wrote:
Sat Mar 17, 2018 4:42 pm
Quick question. Will the usb eLicenser still work on my old system after I do what you say. Basically, can I use it between the old and new pc until I get everything sorted.Or will I need a new one. Just been a long time since I've had to do this.
It will work on the old PC, but you will have to update the eLC software, so the new license is recognized

User avatar
rtorstrick
Member
Posts: 365
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 9:18 pm
Location: Indiana
Contact:

Re: update from sx to 9.5 pro

Post by rtorstrick » Sat Mar 17, 2018 5:37 pm

Here's an article to help you determine which eLicenser you have. You may wish to purchase a newer one:

https://helpcenter.steinberg.de/hc/en-u ... ongle-key-
Windows 10
Cubase 10.5, Halion 6.30, Wavelab 10, Dorico 3.1
Intel Core i5, 32 Gb RAM, Z390 Aorus Pro mobo, 1 Tb SATA SSD system drive, 2x2TB SATA media drives,
G-Drive 3TB USB 3 drive.
UAD Apollo Mk II Quad (TB), Steinberg UR-RT 2, Steinberg MR816csx, Yamaha KX8, CC121, UAD-2 Duo (Pcie)

Romantique Tp
External Moderator
Posts: 2877
Joined: Fri Aug 07, 2015 3:25 pm
Contact:

Re: update from sx to 9.5 pro

Post by Romantique Tp » Sat Mar 17, 2018 9:46 pm

The first USB-eLicenser dongle (that really long blue one) slows down Cubase and other Steinberg products considerably. The current model allows Cubase to run as fast as your computer can handle, on top of being more sturdy.
Every time someone says "it must be easy to add/fix", a programmer dies.

Cubase Pro and Wavelab Pro (latest), Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit, MSI Z87-G45 GAMING, i5 4690k, GeForce GTX 760, almost every Steinberg plugin and expansion, Trilian, Komplete 10, etc etc etc etc

vinark
Member
Posts: 638
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:24 pm

Re: update from sx to 9.5 pro

Post by vinark » Sun Mar 18, 2018 9:28 am

Romantique Tp wrote:
Sat Mar 17, 2018 9:46 pm
The first USB-eLicenser dongle (that really long blue one) slows down Cubase and other Steinberg products considerably. The current model allows Cubase to run as fast as your computer can handle, on top of being more sturdy.
Maybe as a rule, but if cubase is not slow, as it was here, you (I) won't notice any difference. Might be dependent on usb chipsets and motherboards too.

VTM
New Member
Posts: 21
Joined: Thu Feb 22, 2018 9:33 pm
Contact:

Re: update from sx to 9.5 pro

Post by VTM » Wed Mar 21, 2018 3:41 am

Ok. I have upgraded to CUBASE 9.5 on my nice shiny new Desktop. No problem. Activated the product so everything is up and running. The only problem I have now is that when I registered the upgrade the dongle will now only work on Cubase 9.5 and not on my old system (sx3). I thought like an idiot that I could still use the dongle on my old PC running XP. Is there any way to reactivate it as I have some work I'm wanting to finish before I get my head round 9.5 The worse thing was that I found another dongle I could have used for the new install AFTER I'd messed things up. Am I up the creek without a paddle!!
Cubase Po 9.5, Windows 10 64bit, Wavelab Elements 9.5 MOTU 828x, M-Audio Midisport 4x4, Intel Core i7 7700 @ 3.60GHz, 48GB RAM, 1tb SSD system drive, 1tb sata hd, 4tb SSD sample library drive, 256gb back up SSD drive

Romantique Tp
External Moderator
Posts: 2877
Joined: Fri Aug 07, 2015 3:25 pm
Contact:

Re: update from sx to 9.5 pro

Post by Romantique Tp » Wed Mar 21, 2018 4:20 am

Your old computer has an outdated eLicenser database, so it doesn't know that you have a Cubase 9.5 license. This is easy to fix.

Download the last eLicenser Control Center compatible with Windows XP, at the bottom of this page:
https://www.steinberg.net/en/company/te ... ml#c365835

Run the updated eLicenser Control Center on your old computer and make it run Maintenance Tasks. This will update the eLicenser database.
Every time someone says "it must be easy to add/fix", a programmer dies.

Cubase Pro and Wavelab Pro (latest), Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit, MSI Z87-G45 GAMING, i5 4690k, GeForce GTX 760, almost every Steinberg plugin and expansion, Trilian, Komplete 10, etc etc etc etc

vinark
Member
Posts: 638
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:24 pm

Re: update from sx to 9.5 pro

Post by vinark » Wed Mar 21, 2018 7:00 am

Or only maintenance and no update this will also update the database

VTM
New Member
Posts: 21
Joined: Thu Feb 22, 2018 9:33 pm
Contact:

Re: update from sx to 9.5 pro

Post by VTM » Wed Mar 21, 2018 11:50 am

The eLicenser isn't showing any of the SX3 data. Will I need an activation code again (if such a thing still exists.) Will this affect doing what you mention on the last two posts. Sorry about this!!!
Cubase Po 9.5, Windows 10 64bit, Wavelab Elements 9.5 MOTU 828x, M-Audio Midisport 4x4, Intel Core i7 7700 @ 3.60GHz, 48GB RAM, 1tb SSD system drive, 1tb sata hd, 4tb SSD sample library drive, 256gb back up SSD drive

Romantique Tp
External Moderator
Posts: 2877
Joined: Fri Aug 07, 2015 3:25 pm
Contact:

Re: update from sx to 9.5 pro

Post by Romantique Tp » Wed Mar 21, 2018 11:54 am

It's not showing the Cubase SX 3 license because that license has been upgraded and replaced by your Cubase Pro 9.5 license. The license database on your old computer is outdated and can't see the new Cubase Pro 9.5 license. You have to update the license database by following the steps above to be able to use Cubase SX 3.
Every time someone says "it must be easy to add/fix", a programmer dies.

Cubase Pro and Wavelab Pro (latest), Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit, MSI Z87-G45 GAMING, i5 4690k, GeForce GTX 760, almost every Steinberg plugin and expansion, Trilian, Komplete 10, etc etc etc etc

vinark
Member
Posts: 638
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:24 pm

Re: update from sx to 9.5 pro

Post by vinark » Wed Mar 21, 2018 11:57 am

VTM wrote:
Wed Mar 21, 2018 11:50 am
The eLicenser isn't showing any of the SX3 data. Will I need an activation code again (if such a thing still exists.) Will this affect doing what you mention on the last two posts. Sorry about this!!!
A licence for Cubase 9 is also valid for everything from SX1 (and maybe before), it is just that your old PC does not know the C9 licence yet and need a licence database update. Run maintenance in LCC on the old computer.

VTM
New Member
Posts: 21
Joined: Thu Feb 22, 2018 9:33 pm
Contact:

Re: update from sx to 9.5 pro

Post by VTM » Sat Mar 24, 2018 2:27 pm

Hey there. Just a big thanks for helping me with this issue. I've sorted it now. Your help has saved me a lot of head scratching.
Cubase Po 9.5, Windows 10 64bit, Wavelab Elements 9.5 MOTU 828x, M-Audio Midisport 4x4, Intel Core i7 7700 @ 3.60GHz, 48GB RAM, 1tb SSD system drive, 1tb sata hd, 4tb SSD sample library drive, 256gb back up SSD drive

Post Reply

Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests