PLEASE ADD (BETTER) DRUM SEQUENCER

All feature requests and suggestions for upcoming releases of Cubase Pro 9, Cubase Artist 9 and Cubase Elements 9 can be posted here.
Post Reply
jjjooonnn
Junior Member
Posts: 92
Joined: Tue May 12, 2015 4:36 am
Contact:

PLEASE ADD (BETTER) DRUM SEQUENCER

Post by jjjooonnn »

I'd like to preface this by saying, Cubase 9.5 is the best DAW I've ever used (and I've tried them all) The one thing I've been hoping would pop up, but never has, is a more intuitive drum sequencer, which would make the most sense now that the right zone media bay and sampler have been added.

Now before veins start popping in peoples heads, I understand there is a drum editor that people love, my problem with it has always been, that it hasn't changed much in well over a decade.

I had a similar thread a couple of years ago and took a beating for saying the same thing I'm saying now, all of which was before Steinberg decided to give you the option of changing those diamonds into squares (rectangles?) which I found to help with my workflow, sllightly, but was still far too time consuming.

My suggestion would be to have a tab on the low zone (similar to the sampler) that you can drag drum samples into a simple sequencer (like beat designer!) individually, and build a "kit" that you're happy with, and go from there.

This would save a LOT of time for people, I'm sure. Maybe Steinberg hasn't done this in hopes that they can sell the full version of groove agent, or just stuck in their ways? but I believe there is more than 1 way to skin a cat, and different options work better for different people, but I'd like to bet that having a compact drum grid style sequencer would make people jump to Cubase 10 from their current favorite DAW.

-steve-
External Moderator
Posts: 9686
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:42 pm
Contact:

Re: PLEASE ADD (BETTER) DRUM SEQUENCER

Post by -steve- »

I probably have misunderstood what you're asking for, but wouldn't Groove Agent SE with an instance of Beat Designer as an insert add up to the same thing?

jjjooonnn
Junior Member
Posts: 92
Joined: Tue May 12, 2015 4:36 am
Contact:

Re: PLEASE ADD (BETTER) DRUM SEQUENCER

Post by jjjooonnn »

-steve- wrote:
Sun Nov 26, 2017 12:23 am
I probably have misunderstood what you're asking for, but wouldn't Groove Agent SE with an instance of Beat Designer as an insert add up to the same thing?
Not exactly. That still requires you to add GA4 as an insert, add all of your drums, open beat designer as a midi insert, map, etc.
The way I was suggesting is to literally have a drum sequencer in a similar style as beat designer, but in the lower zone (like the sampler)
That way, you can just drag individual drums to the designated area and start. It's a lot less steps, and way more simple, in my opinion.

-steve-
External Moderator
Posts: 9686
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:42 pm
Contact:

Re: PLEASE ADD (BETTER) DRUM SEQUENCER

Post by -steve- »

I see, so you mean actually having Beat Designer there, with slots for samples instead of midi triggers. I bet a lot of people would like that.

jjjooonnn
Junior Member
Posts: 92
Joined: Tue May 12, 2015 4:36 am
Contact:

Re: PLEASE ADD (BETTER) DRUM SEQUENCER

Post by jjjooonnn »

-steve- wrote:
Sun Nov 26, 2017 1:14 am
I see, so you mean actually having Beat Designer there, with slots for samples instead of midi triggers. I bet a lot of people would like that.
I agree 100%. I'm sure Steinberg wouldn't mind taking some market share from the FL and Ableton crowd, as well.

User avatar
liljefelt
New Member
Posts: 19
Joined: Mon Dec 26, 2016 12:33 am
Contact:

Re: PLEASE ADD (BETTER) DRUM SEQUENCER

Post by liljefelt »

+1
Cubase Pro v9.5.10 | RME HDSP9632 AIO | Win 10 (1703) | Strictly x64.

Accel0001
Junior Member
Posts: 140
Joined: Mon May 11, 2015 6:32 am

Re: PLEASE ADD (BETTER) DRUM SEQUENCER

Post by Accel0001 »

You can do almost same things with GrooveAgentSE and DrumMap.

Use "Create Drum Map from Instrument" command. After that, the DrumMap will be automatically updated. No need to maintain it. In addition, you can use "Show Drum Sounds in use by Instrument" visibility setting.
GrooveAgent is very integrated with Cubase.
DAW: Cubase 10.0.60 (6.5-11), FL Studio 20 (8-20), Ableton Live 10 (8-10), Studio One 4 (2-4), etc.
PC: Win10 Pro (1909), AMD Ryzen Threadripper 3960X (24Core) 4.2GHz (OC, Boost off, CPPC off, SMT off (All cores Higher clock frequency Lower voltage)), ASUS ROG Zenith II Extreme, G.SKILL Trident Z 128GB RAM (3600, CL16)

User avatar
Winter Rat
Member
Posts: 714
Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2011 3:10 pm
Contact:

Re: PLEASE ADD (BETTER) DRUM SEQUENCER

Post by Winter Rat »

Not a bad idea. It could pretty save some time. So I think it could be like this: In the Low zone you open "NEW Beat designer" and drag samples to the "Sample zone" of "NEW Beat designer" and then use as already combined GA and "Beat Designer".
Drum Scetch.jpg
(1.06 MiB) Not downloaded yet
Cubase 9.5
Win 8.1 or Win 10 Pro; Intel Core i7-8700K; Gigabyte GA-Z370 HD3P; 16 GB, 3000 MHz; GeForce GTX 1050.

elchoco000
New Member
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Dec 25, 2017 12:15 am
Contact:

Re: PLEASE ADD (BETTER) DRUM SEQUENCER

Post by elchoco000 »

you are talking about putting something like Ableton's Drum Rack on the lower zone?

that will be super cool

marchinstin
New Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Tue Jun 02, 2015 10:23 pm
Contact:

Re: PLEASE ADD (BETTER) DRUM SEQUENCER

Post by marchinstin »

Such a great idea!!
WOULD LOVE a better workflow for making drums beats in cubase!!

Accel0001
Junior Member
Posts: 140
Joined: Mon May 11, 2015 6:32 am

Re: PLEASE ADD (BETTER) DRUM SEQUENCER

Post by Accel0001 »

FYI
GrooveAgentSE and DrumMap
https://i.imgur.com/1sXvbHE.gif
DAW: Cubase 10.0.60 (6.5-11), FL Studio 20 (8-20), Ableton Live 10 (8-10), Studio One 4 (2-4), etc.
PC: Win10 Pro (1909), AMD Ryzen Threadripper 3960X (24Core) 4.2GHz (OC, Boost off, CPPC off, SMT off (All cores Higher clock frequency Lower voltage)), ASUS ROG Zenith II Extreme, G.SKILL Trident Z 128GB RAM (3600, CL16)

Mr.Greg
New Member
Posts: 19
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 6:55 am
Contact:

Re: PLEASE ADD (BETTER) DRUM SEQUENCER

Post by Mr.Greg »

Accel0001 wrote:
Thu Mar 29, 2018 1:52 am
FYI
GrooveAgentSE and DrumMap
https://i.imgur.com/1sXvbHE.gif
Thanks for that demonstration!
It’s All About The Flow First

Cubase Pro 9.5.50/Late 2012 MacBook Pro 2.9 Intel Core i7 8GB/MacOS High Sierra/UAD Apollo Twin/Komplete Kontrol S25/Softube Console 1

Post Reply

Return to “Feature Requests and Suggestions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest