Voltage Controlled Filter In Cubase

Post general topics related to Cubase Pro 9, Cubase Artist 9 and Cubase Elements 9 here.
Post Reply
Suprawill1
Member
Posts: 983
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 9:56 am
Contact:

Voltage Controlled Filter In Cubase

Post by Suprawill1 » Wed Mar 14, 2018 6:31 am

Hi All,
Is there anything in C Pro 9.5 that will act as a voltage controlled filter? I'm looking for an effect like the old Mutron pedal had.
Kind of an auto "wah" where the range is controlled by the volume of the signal and a limiter as to how far you want it to open.
I already have a bass track recorded and looking to run it through a VST type effect to achieve this. If Cubase doesn't have such an effect, are there any suggestions as to where I can find a VST that will accomplish this?
Thanks.

Will
Home built Cooler Master tower - ASUS Prime Z270 MB - Intel Core i7 6700K@4.2G - CM Hyper 212 EVO Cooler - Corsair CX750M PSU - 32G G.Skill Ripjaw V - Dual 24" Monitors - Cubase Pro 10 - Windows 7 Pro 64 - Samsung 960 EVO NVMe - Samsung 850 EVO SSD - Roland Studio Capture Interface - X Touch Controller - Halion 5 - Halion Sonic 2 - Addictive Drums 1&2 - Melodyne 4 - Serato - Kore - Kontact - Morphology Etc Etc

Jari Junttila
Member
Posts: 205
Joined: Tue Oct 25, 2011 2:35 pm
Contact:

Re: Voltage Controlled Filter In Cubase

Post by Jari Junttila » Wed Mar 14, 2018 12:58 pm

Format c:

Suprawill1
Member
Posts: 983
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 9:56 am
Contact:

Re: Voltage Controlled Filter In Cubase

Post by Suprawill1 » Wed Mar 14, 2018 7:34 pm

Thanks for the hit Jari. This looks a lot like one of the filters in Cubase. My question now is will it operate on a voltage controlled basis? Can I get it to respond to audio volume changes? I could only see manual sweeps and tempo sync on this one. I couldn't figure how to do otherwise with the filter in Cubase either.
If someone knows how, that may save me 149.00 for this unit if it indeed does what I need.
Home built Cooler Master tower - ASUS Prime Z270 MB - Intel Core i7 6700K@4.2G - CM Hyper 212 EVO Cooler - Corsair CX750M PSU - 32G G.Skill Ripjaw V - Dual 24" Monitors - Cubase Pro 10 - Windows 7 Pro 64 - Samsung 960 EVO NVMe - Samsung 850 EVO SSD - Roland Studio Capture Interface - X Touch Controller - Halion 5 - Halion Sonic 2 - Addictive Drums 1&2 - Melodyne 4 - Serato - Kore - Kontact - Morphology Etc Etc

hesca116
Member
Posts: 452
Joined: Wed Mar 30, 2016 7:17 pm
Contact:

Re: Voltage Controlled Filter In Cubase

Post by hesca116 » Wed Mar 14, 2018 9:06 pm

Have you tried quick controls or automation?
The VST synthesizer called Retrologue 2 includes sidechain input, with which you can send an audio signal from any source within Cubase and process it via the Synthesizer's features, including filters, modulation, distortion, envelopes, amplifier, an arpeggiator and also the effects module.

If this doesn't answer your question, maybe you could provide some details in order to make a better suggestion:

1. What parameter on which plugin or effect are you looking to control?
2. Which is the origin of your control signal? Is it generated within a track? and if so, is it the same or another track?
Otherwise, do you want to use a MIDI controller to create the control signal?

Cheers!

Suprawill1
Member
Posts: 983
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 9:56 am
Contact:

Re: Voltage Controlled Filter In Cubase

Post by Suprawill1 » Thu Mar 15, 2018 8:46 am

hesca116 wrote:
Wed Mar 14, 2018 9:06 pm
Have you tried quick controls or automation?
The VST synthesizer called Retrologue 2 includes sidechain input, with which you can send an audio signal from any source within Cubase and process it via the Synthesizer's features, including filters, modulation, distortion, envelopes, amplifier, an arpeggiator and also the effects module.

If this doesn't answer your question, maybe you could provide some details in order to make a better suggestion:

1. What parameter on which plugin or effect are you looking to control?
2. Which is the origin of your control signal? Is it generated within a track? and if so, is it the same or another track?
Otherwise, do you want to use a MIDI controller to create the control signal?

Cheers!
Thanks for chiming in hesca116.
If I'm understanding your explanation correctly, this may work with the Retrologue 2.

The sound source I am trying to process is an audio track of a recorded bass guitar. I think I am looking to control the resonance parameter.
With the cutoff at about half setting, I can get the "wah" effect I'm looking for by manually rotating the resonance. I experimented with an internal sound source in the Retrologue 2. From what you mentioned, I can use the recorded bass sound source by accessing the sidechain input and have it altered the same way?

The second part of the equation is getting the effect to be controlled not manually but by the sound source and varied by volume intensity of the recorded bass.
Am I on the right track?

I have never sidechained before. Where would I access that on the Retrologue?
Home built Cooler Master tower - ASUS Prime Z270 MB - Intel Core i7 6700K@4.2G - CM Hyper 212 EVO Cooler - Corsair CX750M PSU - 32G G.Skill Ripjaw V - Dual 24" Monitors - Cubase Pro 10 - Windows 7 Pro 64 - Samsung 960 EVO NVMe - Samsung 850 EVO SSD - Roland Studio Capture Interface - X Touch Controller - Halion 5 - Halion Sonic 2 - Addictive Drums 1&2 - Melodyne 4 - Serato - Kore - Kontact - Morphology Etc Etc

Jari Junttila
Member
Posts: 205
Joined: Tue Oct 25, 2011 2:35 pm
Contact:

Re: Voltage Controlled Filter In Cubase

Post by Jari Junttila » Thu Mar 15, 2018 11:45 am

Check the trigger in filterfreak for "autowah" style effect
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1p07NdjXcJI
Format c:

Suprawill1
Member
Posts: 983
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 9:56 am
Contact:

Re: Voltage Controlled Filter In Cubase

Post by Suprawill1 » Thu Mar 15, 2018 7:01 pm

Jari Junttila wrote:
Thu Mar 15, 2018 11:45 am
Check the trigger in filterfreak for "autowah" style effect
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=1p07NdjXcJI
Thanks for the tutorial Jari. I'm wondering if he sidechained his bass source into the FF to enable that functionality. If so, I could probably do the same thing with the Retrologue 2 synth that's already in Cubase. If not, the FF is a good option.
Home built Cooler Master tower - ASUS Prime Z270 MB - Intel Core i7 6700K@4.2G - CM Hyper 212 EVO Cooler - Corsair CX750M PSU - 32G G.Skill Ripjaw V - Dual 24" Monitors - Cubase Pro 10 - Windows 7 Pro 64 - Samsung 960 EVO NVMe - Samsung 850 EVO SSD - Roland Studio Capture Interface - X Touch Controller - Halion 5 - Halion Sonic 2 - Addictive Drums 1&2 - Melodyne 4 - Serato - Kore - Kontact - Morphology Etc Etc

andreasm
Steinberg Employee
Posts: 175
Joined: Mon Jan 03, 2011 4:37 pm
Contact:

Re: Voltage Controlled Filter In Cubase

Post by andreasm » Fri Mar 16, 2018 8:12 am

Hi Suprawill1,

if it is just for the auto wah, play your bass file through VST Bass Amp, included in Cubase. Choose Envelope Filter as pre or post effect. This will create an auto wah with lots of parameters to tweak, if you like. You can also set 'No Amp', if you're looking just for the effect and don't need amp and cabinet.

Regards,
Andreas
Andreas Mazurkiewicz, Technical Lead Plug-in Set
Steinberg Media Technologies GmbH
Hamburg, Germany
Check out Steinberg on YouTube, Twitter and Facebook!

Suprawill1
Member
Posts: 983
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 9:56 am
Contact:

Re: Voltage Controlled Filter In Cubase

Post by Suprawill1 » Fri Mar 16, 2018 8:45 am

andreasm wrote:
Fri Mar 16, 2018 8:12 am
Hi Suprawill1,

if it is just for the auto wah, play your bass file through VST Bass Amp, included in Cubase. Choose Envelope Filter as pre or post effect. This will create an auto wah with lots of parameters to tweak, if you like. You can also set 'No Amp', if you're looking just for the effect and don't need amp and cabinet.

Regards,
Andreas
That may seem even more practical and less involved. Next time I open Cubase, I'll def check that out.
Thanks andreasm!
Home built Cooler Master tower - ASUS Prime Z270 MB - Intel Core i7 6700K@4.2G - CM Hyper 212 EVO Cooler - Corsair CX750M PSU - 32G G.Skill Ripjaw V - Dual 24" Monitors - Cubase Pro 10 - Windows 7 Pro 64 - Samsung 960 EVO NVMe - Samsung 850 EVO SSD - Roland Studio Capture Interface - X Touch Controller - Halion 5 - Halion Sonic 2 - Addictive Drums 1&2 - Melodyne 4 - Serato - Kore - Kontact - Morphology Etc Etc

hesca116
Member
Posts: 452
Joined: Wed Mar 30, 2016 7:17 pm
Contact:

Re: Voltage Controlled Filter In Cubase

Post by hesca116 » Thu Mar 29, 2018 5:15 pm

Suprawill1 wrote:
Thu Mar 15, 2018 8:46 am
Thanks for chiming in hesca116.
If I'm understanding your explanation correctly, this may work with the Retrologue 2.

The sound source I am trying to process is an audio track of a recorded bass guitar. I think I am looking to control the resonance parameter.
With the cutoff at about half setting, I can get the "wah" effect I'm looking for by manually rotating the resonance. I experimented with an internal sound source in the Retrologue 2. From what you mentioned, I can use the recorded bass sound source by accessing the sidechain input and have it altered the same way?

The second part of the equation is getting the effect to be controlled not manually but by the sound source and varied by volume intensity of the recorded bass.
Am I on the right track?

I have never sidechained before. Where would I access that on the Retrologue?
1. Yes, you can use the recorded bass sound source by accessing the sidechain input and have it altered the same way
2. Yes, you are on the right track

To send a signal to Retrologue 2:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BasRNj0wPjQ

Suprawill1
Member
Posts: 983
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 9:56 am
Contact:

Re: Voltage Controlled Filter In Cubase

Post by Suprawill1 » Fri Mar 30, 2018 4:46 am

hesca116 wrote:
Thu Mar 29, 2018 5:15 pm


1. Yes, you can use the recorded bass sound source by accessing the sidechain input and have it altered the same way
2. Yes, you are on the right track

To send a signal to Retrologue 2:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=BasRNj0wPjQ
Thanks for the tutorial hesca116!
Next time I have CB open, I'll follow those directions. Unfortunately, I only had audio to work with because the video kept freezing on me.

From what I've experimented with in the past, the only automation of the "wah" sound it will offer me is tempo sync. Manually controlling it was the only other method. Unless I am missing something, I couldn't get it to follow the pulse of the bass line exclusively. I was trying to get the "wah" sound to open with every note played on the bass. I might need an exclusive effects pedal to do this. (ie the old Mutron pedal)
Home built Cooler Master tower - ASUS Prime Z270 MB - Intel Core i7 6700K@4.2G - CM Hyper 212 EVO Cooler - Corsair CX750M PSU - 32G G.Skill Ripjaw V - Dual 24" Monitors - Cubase Pro 10 - Windows 7 Pro 64 - Samsung 960 EVO NVMe - Samsung 850 EVO SSD - Roland Studio Capture Interface - X Touch Controller - Halion 5 - Halion Sonic 2 - Addictive Drums 1&2 - Melodyne 4 - Serato - Kore - Kontact - Morphology Etc Etc

Suprawill1
Member
Posts: 983
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 9:56 am
Contact:

Re: Voltage Controlled Filter In Cubase

Post by Suprawill1 » Fri Mar 30, 2018 5:09 am

Ok, I could get the Retrologue to pulse with the bass but I could barely get it to "wah" with the filter settings. I could move the frequency up or down in the "wah" range but the range of the "wah" it self is very small.
Home built Cooler Master tower - ASUS Prime Z270 MB - Intel Core i7 6700K@4.2G - CM Hyper 212 EVO Cooler - Corsair CX750M PSU - 32G G.Skill Ripjaw V - Dual 24" Monitors - Cubase Pro 10 - Windows 7 Pro 64 - Samsung 960 EVO NVMe - Samsung 850 EVO SSD - Roland Studio Capture Interface - X Touch Controller - Halion 5 - Halion Sonic 2 - Addictive Drums 1&2 - Melodyne 4 - Serato - Kore - Kontact - Morphology Etc Etc

User avatar
ANeeman
Member
Posts: 304
Joined: Sat Dec 31, 2016 8:30 am
Location: Latvia
Contact:

Re: Voltage Controlled Filter In Cubase

Post by ANeeman » Fri Mar 30, 2018 5:18 am

Hey, this is very good thread!
I read and slightly draw a fantasy about a "real" VCF plugin in Cubase that takes any source (Audio by its volume level, maybe channel difference of smth. / MIDI by key follow or any other CC or combination, logical and/or/xor) and creates automation lane for target track and target CC, including threshold and other parameters to manipulate result.
That would be really great, right?

It's like we need a Feature Request here :)

P.S. In a context of sidechaining and Retrologue2 you can work only with incoming sound as a sound source, but not use it as a variable parameter to impress another source of sound.
Cubase Pro 10.0.40, Win10, 3.40 GHz, 16GB.
Steinberg: HALion 6.3.0, HSO, Native Instruments: KOMPLETE 12 ULTIMATE Collectors Edition
Hardware: UR242, MG10XU, MG12XU, CS1x
Albums: Millectrinium (2018) | Nature. Water (2017) | Oracle (2017) | Two. Midnight Talks (2015)

Suprawill1
Member
Posts: 983
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 9:56 am
Contact:

Re: Voltage Controlled Filter In Cubase

Post by Suprawill1 » Fri Mar 30, 2018 6:02 am

ANeeman wrote:
Fri Mar 30, 2018 5:18 am


P.S. In a context of sidechaining and Retrologue2 you can work only with incoming sound as a sound source, but not use it as a variable parameter to impress another source of sound.
You mean like a trigger? I believe there are threads explaining how to do that too.
Home built Cooler Master tower - ASUS Prime Z270 MB - Intel Core i7 6700K@4.2G - CM Hyper 212 EVO Cooler - Corsair CX750M PSU - 32G G.Skill Ripjaw V - Dual 24" Monitors - Cubase Pro 10 - Windows 7 Pro 64 - Samsung 960 EVO NVMe - Samsung 850 EVO SSD - Roland Studio Capture Interface - X Touch Controller - Halion 5 - Halion Sonic 2 - Addictive Drums 1&2 - Melodyne 4 - Serato - Kore - Kontact - Morphology Etc Etc

User avatar
ANeeman
Member
Posts: 304
Joined: Sat Dec 31, 2016 8:30 am
Location: Latvia
Contact:

Re: Voltage Controlled Filter In Cubase

Post by ANeeman » Fri Mar 30, 2018 7:03 am

No, no! As a trigger Retrologue2 works very well. It triggers incoming sound. But in a case of VCF (or VCA too) the same should be vice versa - incoming sound should be used as automation value for plugin's parameters. Something like that (excuse me, my bad English :) )
Cubase Pro 10.0.40, Win10, 3.40 GHz, 16GB.
Steinberg: HALion 6.3.0, HSO, Native Instruments: KOMPLETE 12 ULTIMATE Collectors Edition
Hardware: UR242, MG10XU, MG12XU, CS1x
Albums: Millectrinium (2018) | Nature. Water (2017) | Oracle (2017) | Two. Midnight Talks (2015)

Suprawill1
Member
Posts: 983
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 9:56 am
Contact:

Re: Voltage Controlled Filter In Cubase

Post by Suprawill1 » Fri Mar 30, 2018 8:26 am

ANeeman wrote:
Fri Mar 30, 2018 7:03 am
No, no! As a trigger Retrologue2 works very well. It triggers incoming sound. But in a case of VCF (or VCA too) the same should be vice versa - incoming sound should be used as automation value for plugin's parameters. Something like that (excuse me, my bad English :) )
Actually, I meant the opposite. Using outside audio sound 'as the trigger' to actuate the internal synth sounds the same way a midi note would.
It sounds though that you want to take it a step further and use the same audio as a cc source to control the internal parameters of the synth.

Nothing wrong with your English. :)
Home built Cooler Master tower - ASUS Prime Z270 MB - Intel Core i7 6700K@4.2G - CM Hyper 212 EVO Cooler - Corsair CX750M PSU - 32G G.Skill Ripjaw V - Dual 24" Monitors - Cubase Pro 10 - Windows 7 Pro 64 - Samsung 960 EVO NVMe - Samsung 850 EVO SSD - Roland Studio Capture Interface - X Touch Controller - Halion 5 - Halion Sonic 2 - Addictive Drums 1&2 - Melodyne 4 - Serato - Kore - Kontact - Morphology Etc Etc

User avatar
ANeeman
Member
Posts: 304
Joined: Sat Dec 31, 2016 8:30 am
Location: Latvia
Contact:

Re: Voltage Controlled Filter In Cubase

Post by ANeeman » Fri Mar 30, 2018 9:37 am

I meant the same. That's the meaning of VCF.
Cubase Pro 10.0.40, Win10, 3.40 GHz, 16GB.
Steinberg: HALion 6.3.0, HSO, Native Instruments: KOMPLETE 12 ULTIMATE Collectors Edition
Hardware: UR242, MG10XU, MG12XU, CS1x
Albums: Millectrinium (2018) | Nature. Water (2017) | Oracle (2017) | Two. Midnight Talks (2015)

Suprawill1
Member
Posts: 983
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 9:56 am
Contact:

Re: Voltage Controlled Filter In Cubase

Post by Suprawill1 » Fri Mar 30, 2018 6:07 pm

ANeeman wrote:
Fri Mar 30, 2018 9:37 am
I meant the same. That's the meaning of VCF.
Ok, I see now.
Home built Cooler Master tower - ASUS Prime Z270 MB - Intel Core i7 6700K@4.2G - CM Hyper 212 EVO Cooler - Corsair CX750M PSU - 32G G.Skill Ripjaw V - Dual 24" Monitors - Cubase Pro 10 - Windows 7 Pro 64 - Samsung 960 EVO NVMe - Samsung 850 EVO SSD - Roland Studio Capture Interface - X Touch Controller - Halion 5 - Halion Sonic 2 - Addictive Drums 1&2 - Melodyne 4 - Serato - Kore - Kontact - Morphology Etc Etc

Crotchety
Senior Member
Posts: 1159
Joined: Tue Feb 01, 2011 10:26 pm
Contact:

Re: Voltage Controlled Filter In Cubase

Post by Crotchety » Thu Jun 27, 2019 8:24 pm

andreasm wrote:
Fri Mar 16, 2018 8:12 am
Hi Suprawill1,

if it is just for the auto wah, play your bass file through VST Bass Amp, included in Cubase. Choose Envelope Filter as pre or post effect. This will create an auto wah with lots of parameters to tweak, if you like. You can also set 'No Amp', if you're looking just for the effect and don't need amp and cabinet.

Regards,
Andreas
Brilliant! Just what I was looking for, works perfectly. Thanks, Andreas :D
Instruments: Piano/keys, Guitar, Mandolin, Vocal
Current Sounds: Cactus Juice (@Soundcloud) - Former Sounds: Ask Murt (@MySpace)

Every day's a skool day...

Post Reply

Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: strummer and 11 guests