Ripple Edit - for Events and Ranges (voice overs, podcasts e.g.)

All feature requests and suggestions for upcoming releases of Cubase Pro 9, Cubase Artist 9 and Cubase Elements 9 can be posted here.
TRNMTH
New Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Fri Apr 06, 2018 2:01 am
Contact:

Re: Ripple Edit - for Events and Ranges (voice overs, podcasts e.g.)

Post by TRNMTH » Fri Apr 06, 2018 2:18 am

Hi everyone,

I work in a radio for the creation of documentary and fiction. Projects may be complex. Without the ripple edit, we do not advance in confidence. It is an indispensable tool. We use Sadie, and in this software there is the riplle edit in both directions, separate or simultaneous (this mode is great when it is added to a trim window... but this is another subject). If only Cubase had this option, it would perhaps avoid seeing too many people going to Reaper (and what a pity!).

Thanks for reading me.

eddiemacarthur
Junior Member
Posts: 152
Joined: Thu Sep 12, 2013 8:19 pm
Contact:

Re: Ripple Edit - for Events and Ranges (voice overs, podcasts e.g.)

Post by eddiemacarthur » Fri Apr 06, 2018 5:44 pm

Ripple editing can be a good thing. But, from my experience with my Vegas video editing package, if you forget that it is active it can totally ruin an edit. Obviously you have undo but if you don't notice straight away and do lots of things then realise things have moved from where they should be it can be nasty. Vegas allows ripple editing of selected track or all tracks. So I reckon that's what you need to add. It would also have to be a properly designed button that makes it obvious. Sadly, Cubase Gui is getting worse in that respect. Ed
PC, windows 7 & 8.1 64 bit. Cubase 7.07, 7.5, 8 Pro. MOTU 2408 x 3 Audio I/O
www.stealthrecordingstudio.com

User avatar
peakae
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3047
Joined: Sat Jan 05, 2013 8:15 pm
Location: Bedroom
Contact:

Re: Ripple Edit - for Events and Ranges (voice overs, podcasts e.g.)

Post by peakae » Sun Apr 08, 2018 11:32 pm

+1
Cubase Pro 10, Wavelab Elements 9, I7 3770K , win10x64, 16Gb Ram, RME Raydat, Steinberg MR816x, Motu 828mkII, Behringer ADA8200, Yamaha moXF6, Steinberg UR242, Yamaha THR 10, Grace Design m900, CMC TP, CMC CH.

uarte
Member
Posts: 613
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:51 pm
Contact:

Re: Ripple Edit - for Events and Ranges (voice overs, podcasts e.g.)

Post by uarte » Mon Apr 09, 2018 12:02 am

eddiemacarthur wrote:
Fri Apr 06, 2018 5:44 pm
It would also have to be a properly designed button that makes it obvious.
Agreed 1000%

galoz
Junior Member
Posts: 92
Joined: Thu Jan 20, 2011 9:06 pm
Contact:

Re: Ripple Edit - for Events and Ranges (voice overs, podcasts e.g.)

Post by galoz » Fri Apr 13, 2018 12:18 am

+1
Cubase 9.5.3 pro
Windows 7 64bits - Core i5 - SSD - 8Gb - Motu PCI 424 - Motu 2408MKiii - Motu 1296 -

Centralmusic
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 5406
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 6:23 pm
Contact:

Re: Ripple Edit - for Events and Ranges (voice overs, podcasts e.g.)

Post by Centralmusic » Fri Apr 27, 2018 7:32 pm

+ 1
!!! NOTE: This is a user forum. It's from users to users. This is not a technical support forum. Therefore sometime some Steinberg employees appear here and help the users. !!!
"Do you already know the manual?"
Kennst du schon das Handbuch?"

Turnicate99
Junior Member
Posts: 68
Joined: Wed Jan 03, 2018 12:10 am
Contact:

Re: Ripple Edit - for Events and Ranges (voice overs, podcasts e.g.)

Post by Turnicate99 » Mon Apr 30, 2018 7:49 pm

Yes! +1

I switched to Reaper a short while ago after getting frustrated with some things on Cubase (GUI problem on Mac, and more), but I keep checking back to see what the status is, hoping I might be able to come back. The ripple feature in Reaper is stunningly great for fast and efficient work such as rippling the entire session including MIDI and all automation (without needing to open all automation then hide it that would require a lot of more steps, clicks, and selections in Cubase. It's incredible how much time this saves in the day for me on songs, and it would benefit so many users, even those who have never used it before in other DAWs/hadn't heard of it.

C9sus4
Junior Member
Posts: 68
Joined: Wed Nov 20, 2013 11:21 pm
Location: Vilnius, Lithuania
Contact:

Re: Ripple Edit - for Events and Ranges (voice overs, podcasts e.g.)

Post by C9sus4 » Sun May 13, 2018 11:08 pm

We all know that Shift + Double Click on part selects all parts to the right on that track.

I wish Steinberg could make, say:
1. Shift + A + Double Click for units to the right from the double clicked part/event ripple on all tracks.
2. Shift + you_name_it + Double Click for Selected Tracks Ripple.
3. Also, some blinking button to warn us to proceed with utmost caution because many units would be affected by edit (or parts/events colour change to 'ripple' colour; or all parts blinking in some jolly conspicuous way to signal us that all these units possess Ripple status).

WOULND'T IT BE WONDERFUL?????
Mac OS; Newest Nuendos and WaveLabs; most Steinberg Instruments; RX. Steinberger and Status guitars and basses
https://soundcloud.com/algis-ramanauskas

In_Stereo
Senior Member
Posts: 1425
Joined: Wed Oct 12, 2016 6:21 pm
Contact:

Re: Ripple Edit - for Events and Ranges (voice overs, podcasts e.g.)

Post by In_Stereo » Mon May 14, 2018 6:06 am

C9sus4 wrote:
Sun May 13, 2018 11:08 pm
We all know that Shift + Double Click on part selects all parts to the right on that track.

I wish Steinberg could make, say:
1. Shift + A + Double Click for units to the right from the double clicked part/event ripple on all tracks.
2. Shift + you_name_it + Double Click for Selected Tracks Ripple.
3. Also, some blinking button to warn us to proceed with utmost caution because many units would be affected by edit (or parts/events colour change to 'ripple' colour; or all parts blinking in some jolly conspicuous way to signal us that all these units possess Ripple status).

WOULND'T IT BE WONDERFUL?????
Great idea for implementation. I would add that #1 should also move all automation data on every single track/channel (including groups, auxes, master, etc.) as well, otherwise it will all be out of synch with the rippled tracks.
Cubase 9.5, Trashcan Mac 6-core 3.7ghz, Mojave 10.14.5, AMD FirePro D300 Dual, 64 gig RAM, plugins galore, some hardware, a bunch of real instruments and synths, Apollo 8 TB, etc., etc., and two cats

C9sus4
Junior Member
Posts: 68
Joined: Wed Nov 20, 2013 11:21 pm
Location: Vilnius, Lithuania
Contact:

Re: Ripple Edit - for Events and Ranges (voice overs, podcasts e.g.)

Post by C9sus4 » Mon May 14, 2018 5:24 pm

In_Stereo wrote:
Mon May 14, 2018 6:06 am

Great idea for implementation. I would add that #1 should also move all automation data on every single track/channel (including groups, auxes, master, etc.) as well, otherwise it will all be out of synch with the rippled tracks.
My friend, strike me hard if I'm wrong but methinks that automation data is attached to events/parts by default in Cubase/Nuendo. Therefore one should not worry about them at all.
Mac OS; Newest Nuendos and WaveLabs; most Steinberg Instruments; RX. Steinberger and Status guitars and basses
https://soundcloud.com/algis-ramanauskas

In_Stereo
Senior Member
Posts: 1425
Joined: Wed Oct 12, 2016 6:21 pm
Contact:

Re: Ripple Edit - for Events and Ranges (voice overs, podcasts e.g.)

Post by In_Stereo » Mon May 14, 2018 6:19 pm

C9sus4 wrote:
Mon May 14, 2018 5:24 pm
In_Stereo wrote:
Mon May 14, 2018 6:06 am

Great idea for implementation. I would add that #1 should also move all automation data on every single track/channel (including groups, auxes, master, etc.) as well, otherwise it will all be out of synch with the rippled tracks.
My friend, strike me hard if I'm wrong but methinks that automation data is attached to events/parts by default in Cubase/Nuendo. Therefore one should not worry about them at all.
Yes, totally - it is for the actual events/parts, but not for Groups, Sends, Master Faders, etc., which of course are crucial automation-wise.
Cubase 9.5, Trashcan Mac 6-core 3.7ghz, Mojave 10.14.5, AMD FirePro D300 Dual, 64 gig RAM, plugins galore, some hardware, a bunch of real instruments and synths, Apollo 8 TB, etc., etc., and two cats

C9sus4
Junior Member
Posts: 68
Joined: Wed Nov 20, 2013 11:21 pm
Location: Vilnius, Lithuania
Contact:

Re: Ripple Edit - for Events and Ranges (voice overs, podcasts e.g.)

Post by C9sus4 » Tue May 15, 2018 4:08 pm

In_Stereo wrote:
Mon May 14, 2018 6:19 pm
Yes, totally - it is for the actual events/parts, but not for Groups, Sends, Master Faders, etc., which of course are crucial automation-wise.
True, true. All that stuff must ripple as well; those things should go without mentioning :)
Mac OS; Newest Nuendos and WaveLabs; most Steinberg Instruments; RX. Steinberger and Status guitars and basses
https://soundcloud.com/algis-ramanauskas

Centralmusic
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 5406
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 6:23 pm
Contact:

Re: Ripple Edit - for Events and Ranges (voice overs, podcasts e.g.)

Post by Centralmusic » Wed Jun 13, 2018 11:23 am

I edit a lot of voice over stuff, and my biggggest wish is: that we get two nice little buttons that make it possible - like in Wavelab! - to move all events and gaps together PLUS markers (!)
"Ripple Edit" is a very fine and fast handling - without having to do any shortcuts or double clicks or similar "work arounds"...

Ripple Edit (like in Wavelab!) =

+ 1 !



:idea:



.
!!! NOTE: This is a user forum. It's from users to users. This is not a technical support forum. Therefore sometime some Steinberg employees appear here and help the users. !!!
"Do you already know the manual?"
Kennst du schon das Handbuch?"

In_Stereo
Senior Member
Posts: 1425
Joined: Wed Oct 12, 2016 6:21 pm
Contact:

Re: Ripple Edit - for Events and Ranges (voice overs, podcasts e.g.)

Post by In_Stereo » Thu Jun 21, 2018 9:31 pm

Centralmusic wrote:
Wed Jun 13, 2018 11:23 am
I edit a lot of voice over stuff, and my biggggest wish is: that we get two nice little buttons that make it possible - like in Wavelab! - to move all events and gaps together PLUS markers (!)
"Ripple Edit" is a very fine and fast handling - without having to do any shortcuts or double clicks or similar "work arounds"...

Ripple Edit (like in Wavelab!) =

+ 1 !



:idea:



.
I like this, yes! It's amazing how much time and fiddling around this would save/eliminate, saving very noticeable large amounts of time for anyone, especially those like me with composing sessions that have hundreds of tracks, tons of groups, sends, etc.
Cubase 9.5, Trashcan Mac 6-core 3.7ghz, Mojave 10.14.5, AMD FirePro D300 Dual, 64 gig RAM, plugins galore, some hardware, a bunch of real instruments and synths, Apollo 8 TB, etc., etc., and two cats

Centralmusic
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 5406
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 6:23 pm
Contact:

Re: Ripple Edit - for Events and Ranges (voice overs, podcasts e.g.)

Post by Centralmusic » Sat Aug 04, 2018 1:45 pm

In_Stereo wrote:
Thu Jun 21, 2018 9:31 pm

I like this, yes! It's amazing how much time and fiddling around this would save/eliminate, saving very noticeable large amounts of time for anyone, especially those like me with composing sessions that have hundreds of tracks, tons of groups, sends, etc.
absolutely! It would be immense time-saving for film music composers who works with tons of tracks and automations too.


.
!!! NOTE: This is a user forum. It's from users to users. This is not a technical support forum. Therefore sometime some Steinberg employees appear here and help the users. !!!
"Do you already know the manual?"
Kennst du schon das Handbuch?"

Centralmusic
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 5406
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 6:23 pm
Contact:

Re: Ripple Edit - for Events and Ranges (voice overs, podcasts e.g.)

Post by Centralmusic » Sat Aug 18, 2018 10:45 am

P.S:
I would pay 540,- Euros again - if that feature would be integrated in Cubase X. :idea:

(no kiddin)




.
!!! NOTE: This is a user forum. It's from users to users. This is not a technical support forum. Therefore sometime some Steinberg employees appear here and help the users. !!!
"Do you already know the manual?"
Kennst du schon das Handbuch?"

Tommy80
Junior Member
Posts: 119
Joined: Fri Jan 04, 2013 2:17 pm
Contact:

Re: Ripple Edit - for Events and Ranges (voice overs, podcasts e.g.)

Post by Tommy80 » Sun Aug 19, 2018 11:40 pm

+1
MacBook Pro (Retina, 15-inch, Late 2013) - OSX 10.12.5
NVIDIA GeForce GT 750M 2048 MB
Apogee Duet 2 - Steinberg UR824
Cubase Pro last version - Wavelab last version

okr
New Member
Posts: 29
Joined: Thu Dec 07, 2017 6:55 pm
Contact:

Re: Ripple Edit - for Events and Ranges (voice overs, podcasts e.g.)

Post by okr » Sat Sep 08, 2018 7:53 pm

+1
Lynx Aurora N 32 | Apollo 8p (Black Face Thunderbolt) | Burl B32 | Dangerous Source | Softube Console One MKII
---
Cubase Pro 10.5 | Pro Tools 2019.10 (Native) | Ableton Live 10.1.3 | Logic X 10.4.1 | Studio One 4.5.4 | Adobe Audition CC 2020
---
iMac 5k 2017 | OS X Mojave 10.14.6 | UAD 9.11

ctothel
Junior Member
Posts: 84
Joined: Thu Feb 14, 2013 6:21 pm
Contact:

Re: Ripple Edit - for Events and Ranges (voice overs, podcasts e.g.)

Post by ctothel » Fri Sep 14, 2018 1:55 am

Wow, this would be amazing. Huge +1

User avatar
Starsprinkler
Member
Posts: 297
Joined: Sat Dec 29, 2012 2:35 pm
Contact:

Re: Ripple Edit - for Events and Ranges (voice overs, podcasts e.g.)

Post by Starsprinkler » Mon Sep 17, 2018 5:33 pm

+1 for Ripple Edit.

Tommy80
Junior Member
Posts: 119
Joined: Fri Jan 04, 2013 2:17 pm
Contact:

Re: Ripple Edit - for Events and Ranges (voice overs, podcasts e.g.)

Post by Tommy80 » Thu Jan 31, 2019 8:00 am

+1! This can be a time saver also for classical music editing
MacBook Pro (Retina, 15-inch, Late 2013) - OSX 10.12.5
NVIDIA GeForce GT 750M 2048 MB
Apogee Duet 2 - Steinberg UR824
Cubase Pro last version - Wavelab last version

WZK
New Member
Posts: 9
Joined: Wed Dec 06, 2017 12:03 pm
Contact:

Re: Ripple Edit - for Events and Ranges (voice overs, podcasts e.g.)

Post by WZK » Sun Apr 28, 2019 7:03 am

+1

mitchiemasha
Member
Posts: 664
Joined: Tue May 10, 2011 10:02 pm
Contact:

Re: Ripple Edit - for Events and Ranges (voice overs, podcasts e.g.)

Post by mitchiemasha » Mon Aug 12, 2019 5:02 pm

+1

I didn't know what this was but it would of helped me so many times.
W10, CP10, i7 9700k OC 5.0, Noctua NH-U9S, MSI z390, 16Gb 3000Mhz DDR4, PCIe NVME 970 Pro, AC-1 Carillon Case, Be Quiet SP11, Virus TI (Integrated), Yamaha CS2x (Custom Mapped), Dynaudio BM5's mkII & Eve SC305's.

Post Reply

Return to “Feature Requests and Suggestions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest