Outputs stuck in "German mode"

Use this forum for an overview of issues and to report new ones.
Post Reply
Bodegaempire
Junior Member
Posts: 140
Joined: Fri Mar 09, 2012 6:24 am
Contact:

Outputs stuck in "German mode"

Post by Bodegaempire » Mon Aug 27, 2018 12:06 am

Hey all,

Minor thing but seems odd: my Stereo Out is showing in German (Links/Rechts) despite being in English in the Audio Connections and Control Room windows. Any thoughts on that?
Screen Shot 2018-08-26 at 4.01.03 PM.png
(224.25 KiB) Not downloaded yet
Screen Shot 2018-08-26 at 4.01.55 PM.png
(64.29 KiB) Not downloaded yet
Screen Shot 2018-08-26 at 4.04.45 PM.png
(108.18 KiB) Not downloaded yet
OSX 10.14.3; Cubase 9.5.41
2011 Macbook Pro w/16GB ram
2015 iMac 21.5" i7
RME Babyface; MOTU Traveler, UAD-2 Satellite Thunderbolt

Martin.Jirsak
Forum Elder
Posts: 18581
Joined: Sun Mar 20, 2011 3:52 pm
Contact:

Re: Outputs stuck in "German mode"

Post by Martin.Jirsak » Mon Aug 27, 2018 11:12 am

Hi,

The whole Audio Connection Setup seems to be not translated on your side. Could you try to switch Cubase to the English, restart and back to the German language, please? If it doesn't help, could you try to reinstall Cubase?
Martin Jirsak
How to show notes of the chord/scale only
Cubase Training

Cubase Pro (last officially supported version all the time)
macOS (last update)

Bodegaempire
Junior Member
Posts: 140
Joined: Fri Mar 09, 2012 6:24 am
Contact:

Re: Outputs stuck in "German mode"

Post by Bodegaempire » Tue Aug 28, 2018 7:30 am

Hey Martin,

No luck when switching the language and restarting Cubase, then switching back, or doing the same but restarting my Mac.
OSX 10.14.3; Cubase 9.5.41
2011 Macbook Pro w/16GB ram
2015 iMac 21.5" i7
RME Babyface; MOTU Traveler, UAD-2 Satellite Thunderbolt

Martin.Jirsak
Forum Elder
Posts: 18581
Joined: Sun Mar 20, 2011 3:52 pm
Contact:

Re: Outputs stuck in "German mode"

Post by Martin.Jirsak » Tue Aug 28, 2018 7:34 am

Hi,

Have you tried to reinstall Cubase (to get a new and correct translation.xml file)?
Martin Jirsak
How to show notes of the chord/scale only
Cubase Training

Cubase Pro (last officially supported version all the time)
macOS (last update)

Bodegaempire
Junior Member
Posts: 140
Joined: Fri Mar 09, 2012 6:24 am
Contact:

Re: Outputs stuck in "German mode"

Post by Bodegaempire » Thu Aug 30, 2018 4:37 am

Ugh - I'm very hesitant. My Cubase is really customized and to have to recreate all that would be a real pain. Is there a list somewhere of what files to copy to preserve your settings when reinstalling?
OSX 10.14.3; Cubase 9.5.41
2011 Macbook Pro w/16GB ram
2015 iMac 21.5" i7
RME Babyface; MOTU Traveler, UAD-2 Satellite Thunderbolt

Martin.Jirsak
Forum Elder
Posts: 18581
Joined: Sun Mar 20, 2011 3:52 pm
Contact:

Re: Outputs stuck in "German mode"

Post by Martin.Jirsak » Thu Aug 30, 2018 7:14 am

Hi,

While reinstalling you don't lose any Cubase settings. To get factory settings you would need to thres Cubase preferences.
Martin Jirsak
How to show notes of the chord/scale only
Cubase Training

Cubase Pro (last officially supported version all the time)
macOS (last update)

Bodegaempire
Junior Member
Posts: 140
Joined: Fri Mar 09, 2012 6:24 am
Contact:

Re: Outputs stuck in "German mode"

Post by Bodegaempire » Thu Aug 30, 2018 4:42 pm

That can only be done by downloading the full 12 gig package through Download assistant, right?
OSX 10.14.3; Cubase 9.5.41
2011 Macbook Pro w/16GB ram
2015 iMac 21.5" i7
RME Babyface; MOTU Traveler, UAD-2 Satellite Thunderbolt

Martin.Jirsak
Forum Elder
Posts: 18581
Joined: Sun Mar 20, 2011 3:52 pm
Contact:

Re: Outputs stuck in "German mode"

Post by Martin.Jirsak » Thu Aug 30, 2018 7:54 pm

Hi,

If you left your installer locally last time, you don't need to download it again. Maybe you can download just DVD 1 (if there is an ISO)? The DVD 2 contains the content, which you don't have to uninstall.
Martin Jirsak
How to show notes of the chord/scale only
Cubase Training

Cubase Pro (last officially supported version all the time)
macOS (last update)

Bodegaempire
Junior Member
Posts: 140
Joined: Fri Mar 09, 2012 6:24 am
Contact:

Re: Outputs stuck in "German mode"

Post by Bodegaempire » Fri Aug 31, 2018 2:10 am

I downloaded and went through the Install install process - I didn't see an uninstall option at all - and still see Links/Rechts.

Should there be a separate step to uninstall/delete?
OSX 10.14.3; Cubase 9.5.41
2011 Macbook Pro w/16GB ram
2015 iMac 21.5" i7
RME Babyface; MOTU Traveler, UAD-2 Satellite Thunderbolt

Martin.Jirsak
Forum Elder
Posts: 18581
Joined: Sun Mar 20, 2011 3:52 pm
Contact:

Re: Outputs stuck in "German mode"

Post by Martin.Jirsak » Fri Aug 31, 2018 8:37 am

Hi,

If you are on Mac, the uninstallation is simple. Just delete the application from the Applications folder.
Martin Jirsak
How to show notes of the chord/scale only
Cubase Training

Cubase Pro (last officially supported version all the time)
macOS (last update)

Bodegaempire
Junior Member
Posts: 140
Joined: Fri Mar 09, 2012 6:24 am
Contact:

Re: Outputs stuck in "German mode"

Post by Bodegaempire » Fri Aug 31, 2018 4:32 pm

I deleted the app from the Application folder and reinstalled and I'm still getting the same problem:
Screen Shot 2018-08-31 at 8.31.50 AM.png
(63.42 KiB) Not downloaded yet
Anything else I should try?
OSX 10.14.3; Cubase 9.5.41
2011 Macbook Pro w/16GB ram
2015 iMac 21.5" i7
RME Babyface; MOTU Traveler, UAD-2 Satellite Thunderbolt

Martin.Jirsak
Forum Elder
Posts: 18581
Joined: Sun Mar 20, 2011 3:52 pm
Contact:

Re: Outputs stuck in "German mode"

Post by Martin.Jirsak » Fri Aug 31, 2018 7:18 pm

Then I'm afraid, only trashing Cubase preferences would help. Try in Safe Start Mode (this is temporary preferences trashing). Of course I recommend to backup the preferences folder.
Martin Jirsak
How to show notes of the chord/scale only
Cubase Training

Cubase Pro (last officially supported version all the time)
macOS (last update)

Bodegaempire
Junior Member
Posts: 140
Joined: Fri Mar 09, 2012 6:24 am
Contact:

Re: Outputs stuck in "German mode"

Post by Bodegaempire » Fri Aug 31, 2018 11:43 pm

Well, there's good news and bad news.

Good news: the problem is indeed in the prefs because starting in Safe Mode cured it.

Bad news: seeing a couple of German words is way less annoying than redoing my prefs, so I'll just have to learn to live with it.

At least we figured out what the problem was.
OSX 10.14.3; Cubase 9.5.41
2011 Macbook Pro w/16GB ram
2015 iMac 21.5" i7
RME Babyface; MOTU Traveler, UAD-2 Satellite Thunderbolt

User avatar
peakae
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3050
Joined: Sat Jan 05, 2013 8:15 pm
Location: Bedroom
Contact:

Re: Outputs stuck in "German mode"

Post by peakae » Sat Sep 01, 2018 2:37 am

Most likely you have used one of the templates at one time, they have/had German in / out naming.
You then decided to turn on the control room, reconfiguring the ins and outs, and the German names somehow got stuck.
You could try disabling the control room, the the main output up again, save and quit. Start Cubase up again and setup the control room again.
I’m only guessing here, but worth a try.
Cubase Pro 10, Wavelab Elements 9, I7 3770K , win10x64, 16Gb Ram, RME Raydat, Steinberg MR816x, Motu 828mkII, Behringer ADA8200, Yamaha moXF6, Steinberg UR242, Yamaha THR 10, Grace Design m900, CMC TP, CMC CH.

Bodegaempire
Junior Member
Posts: 140
Joined: Fri Mar 09, 2012 6:24 am
Contact:

Re: Outputs stuck in "German mode"

Post by Bodegaempire » Sat Sep 01, 2018 4:00 am

Interesting suggestion! On its own it didn't work, but I tried just deleting the Stereo Out and re-adding a new one. I'd avoided doing that - it seemed a bit like the Nuclear option - but it worked like a charm. Now I can see Left/Right. I just had to re-designate it as the Main Out and do some re-setting-up in Audio Connections.

The Stereo Out is now at the bottom of the list instead of the top, which will take some getting used to, but at least I know how to deal with that problem in the future.
OSX 10.14.3; Cubase 9.5.41
2011 Macbook Pro w/16GB ram
2015 iMac 21.5" i7
RME Babyface; MOTU Traveler, UAD-2 Satellite Thunderbolt

Post Reply

Return to “Issues”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests