Misbehaving dynamics and hairpins

Discussions about our next-generation scoring application, Dorico.
Post Reply
User avatar
EmmCeeSq
Junior Member
Posts: 96
Joined: Sun Jun 10, 2012 2:32 pm
Location: Copenhagen
Contact:

Misbehaving dynamics and hairpins

Post by EmmCeeSq » Fri Oct 12, 2018 10:54 am

I'm finding myself spending a significant amount of time with my part prep trying to line up dynamics. Hairpins aren't lining up with dynamics, and generally I'm spending more time than I'd like having to tweak things manually. I'm using 'group dynamics' as a kind of reflex now, but that inevitably means having to ungroup things when I want to move them. Any top tips for getting dynamics to behave a little better? Thank you - I realise this is a fairly general question, but it's a fairly general problem.
Cubase Pro 9 (64bit)
Dorico Pro (latest version)
Windows 10 (64bit)
Intel Xeon 2.53Ghz (8 cores)
24GB RAM

User avatar
EmmCeeSq
Junior Member
Posts: 96
Joined: Sun Jun 10, 2012 2:32 pm
Location: Copenhagen
Contact:

Re: Misbehaving dynamics and hairpins

Post by EmmCeeSq » Fri Oct 12, 2018 10:57 am

Also, while I'm here, 'group dynamics' is often causing Dorico to crash. Especially when trying to group dynamics over stave breaks. I'm using noteperformer, in case that's relevant.
Cubase Pro 9 (64bit)
Dorico Pro (latest version)
Windows 10 (64bit)
Intel Xeon 2.53Ghz (8 cores)
24GB RAM

Estigy
Member
Posts: 437
Joined: Thu Nov 10, 2016 11:56 am
Location: Austria
Contact:

Re: Misbehaving dynamics and hairpins

Post by Estigy » Fri Oct 12, 2018 11:00 am

Well, to put it short: That's how Dorico works. ;-)

If you find yourself grouping dynmics everywhere to make them line up, you might have missed something at the entry stage of your dynamics: When you put something like "p<f" into the popover, those will be grouped automatically, thus aligning from the very first entry. When you then duplicate this group to other players, they also will be grouped (and linked) together.

So normally (given that you know your "groups" when you enter them) you only will have to un-group some dynamics when you encounter some special cases.
Dorico 3 on Windows 10
www.dorico-resources.net

User avatar
EmmCeeSq
Junior Member
Posts: 96
Joined: Sun Jun 10, 2012 2:32 pm
Location: Copenhagen
Contact:

Re: Misbehaving dynamics and hairpins

Post by EmmCeeSq » Fri Oct 12, 2018 11:05 am

Thanks. This is fine in theory, but generally speaking, there are quite a lot of instances where the results are just a mess, and I'm ending up moving things around a lot - now, moving things around a lot is fine, I'm a long-time Sibelius user, and had to spend ages doing this in Sibelius. But I'm finding my part-prep time is being taken up with fixing this issue. I was wondering whether there was an 'align' command or something I didn't know about, that could horizontally align the dynamics, without making them grouped.
Cubase Pro 9 (64bit)
Dorico Pro (latest version)
Windows 10 (64bit)
Intel Xeon 2.53Ghz (8 cores)
24GB RAM

Estigy
Member
Posts: 437
Joined: Thu Nov 10, 2016 11:56 am
Location: Austria
Contact:

Re: Misbehaving dynamics and hairpins

Post by Estigy » Fri Oct 12, 2018 11:16 am

That's interesting: I'm coming from Finale where I had to "move things around a lot", too. But in Dorico this has gone down to almost zero, because Dorico works pretty well in this regard.

Can you give us an example of where Dorico fails to do its job?
Dorico 3 on Windows 10
www.dorico-resources.net

User avatar
EmmCeeSq
Junior Member
Posts: 96
Joined: Sun Jun 10, 2012 2:32 pm
Location: Copenhagen
Contact:

Re: Misbehaving dynamics and hairpins

Post by EmmCeeSq » Fri Oct 12, 2018 11:37 am

I've got loads in my current score, mainly around hairpins and dynamics. I'm also finding generally I'm having to spend less time manually correcting things, which is why I've posted really. I would find the ability to be able to quickly align things (think an engrave mode thing) without necessarily grouping them (which creates dependencies between objects) quite useful. That may not be possible, and perhaps on a related note, I'd find some form of rulers helpful as well.
Cubase Pro 9 (64bit)
Dorico Pro (latest version)
Windows 10 (64bit)
Intel Xeon 2.53Ghz (8 cores)
24GB RAM

User avatar
EmmCeeSq
Junior Member
Posts: 96
Joined: Sun Jun 10, 2012 2:32 pm
Location: Copenhagen
Contact:

Re: Misbehaving dynamics and hairpins

Post by EmmCeeSq » Fri Oct 12, 2018 11:40 am

Here's an example. I would like to be able to line these hairpins and dynamics up without forcing them into a group.
1.png
(29.61 KiB) Not downloaded yet
Cubase Pro 9 (64bit)
Dorico Pro (latest version)
Windows 10 (64bit)
Intel Xeon 2.53Ghz (8 cores)
24GB RAM

Estigy
Member
Posts: 437
Joined: Thu Nov 10, 2016 11:56 am
Location: Austria
Contact:

Re: Misbehaving dynamics and hairpins

Post by Estigy » Fri Oct 12, 2018 11:54 am

Hmmm...
Guessing from your example, you already have groups but want to align several groups because they are almost aligned anyway?
Dorico 3 on Windows 10
www.dorico-resources.net

User avatar
EmmCeeSq
Junior Member
Posts: 96
Joined: Sun Jun 10, 2012 2:32 pm
Location: Copenhagen
Contact:

Re: Misbehaving dynamics and hairpins

Post by EmmCeeSq » Fri Oct 12, 2018 12:46 pm

Yes! Exactly this - but don't really like grouping things over line breaks, as this seems to create more problems than it solves...
Cubase Pro 9 (64bit)
Dorico Pro (latest version)
Windows 10 (64bit)
Intel Xeon 2.53Ghz (8 cores)
24GB RAM

User avatar
EmmCeeSq
Junior Member
Posts: 96
Joined: Sun Jun 10, 2012 2:32 pm
Location: Copenhagen
Contact:

Re: Misbehaving dynamics and hairpins

Post by EmmCeeSq » Fri Oct 12, 2018 1:03 pm

I'm also seeing loads of instances of this - taking ages to fix.
Attachments
2.png
(6.47 KiB) Not downloaded yet
Cubase Pro 9 (64bit)
Dorico Pro (latest version)
Windows 10 (64bit)
Intel Xeon 2.53Ghz (8 cores)
24GB RAM

User avatar
EmmCeeSq
Junior Member
Posts: 96
Joined: Sun Jun 10, 2012 2:32 pm
Location: Copenhagen
Contact:

Re: Misbehaving dynamics and hairpins

Post by EmmCeeSq » Fri Oct 12, 2018 1:04 pm

I've changed no staff-spacing etc - the programme is running as close to default as makes no difference, btw.
Cubase Pro 9 (64bit)
Dorico Pro (latest version)
Windows 10 (64bit)
Intel Xeon 2.53Ghz (8 cores)
24GB RAM

User avatar
MarcLarcher
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3167
Joined: Fri Oct 21, 2016 9:38 am
Location: France
Contact:

Re: Misbehaving dynamics and hairpins

Post by MarcLarcher » Fri Oct 12, 2018 2:08 pm

Hi EmmCeeSq.
I'm sorry I do not have an actual solution to solve your problem. I personally have no problems with grouping dynamics that span through different systems, but maybe I've missed some problems. I'll make sure I double check next time I do.
What I do use on a very regular basis are keyboard shortcuts. Here are the three keyboard shortcuts I created, and that I do use : shift-cmd-r to group dynamics together, alt-cmd-r to remove dynamic from group and shift-alt-r to ungroup dynamics. I find I'm no longer wasting time with dynamics. Hope it helps !
OS X 10.14.6, macbook pro retina Late 2013
Opera singer (lyric tenor), photographer, sound engineer, XeLaTeX user and music engraver (Dorico Pro 3.0.10, and Photoscore Ultimate 8.8.7)
French is my native language

User avatar
EmmCeeSq
Junior Member
Posts: 96
Joined: Sun Jun 10, 2012 2:32 pm
Location: Copenhagen
Contact:

Re: Misbehaving dynamics and hairpins

Post by EmmCeeSq » Fri Oct 12, 2018 2:43 pm

Thank you Marc! Yes, I've made my own shortcuts for the functions, I was just wondering whether there was a more engraving-based solution. Grouping dynamics isn't always what I want to do, as it reduces the flexibility of being able to move individual items within a group. I think the ability to be able to align things, (as well as some on-screen rulers) would be potentially useful.
Cubase Pro 9 (64bit)
Dorico Pro (latest version)
Windows 10 (64bit)
Intel Xeon 2.53Ghz (8 cores)
24GB RAM

fratveno
Senior Member
Posts: 1434
Joined: Thu Dec 04, 2014 1:53 pm
Location: Norway
Contact:

Re: Misbehaving dynamics and hairpins

Post by fratveno » Fri Oct 12, 2018 9:46 pm

Aligning dynamics without grouping them is certainly a valid wish. F*'s alt-* (+/-) is super efficient and a good role model ...
(re-tired)

User avatar
Daniel at Steinberg
Moderator
Posts: 13389
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2012 10:35 am
Contact:

Re: Misbehaving dynamics and hairpins

Post by Daniel at Steinberg » Sat Oct 13, 2018 12:53 am

I agree that it would be helpful to be able to align selected dynamics without grouping them, and we'll address this in a future update.

User avatar
EmmCeeSq
Junior Member
Posts: 96
Joined: Sun Jun 10, 2012 2:32 pm
Location: Copenhagen
Contact:

Re: Misbehaving dynamics and hairpins

Post by EmmCeeSq » Mon Oct 15, 2018 12:17 pm

Thank you Daniel!
Cubase Pro 9 (64bit)
Dorico Pro (latest version)
Windows 10 (64bit)
Intel Xeon 2.53Ghz (8 cores)
24GB RAM

VanDariu
New Member
Posts: 7
Joined: Thu Feb 23, 2017 3:19 am
Contact:

Re: Misbehaving dynamics and hairpins

Post by VanDariu » Thu Mar 07, 2019 6:13 am

Daniel at Steinberg wrote:
Sat Oct 13, 2018 12:53 am
I agree that it would be helpful to be able to align selected dynamics without grouping them, and we'll address this in a future update.
Right now, I am having the same problems expressed here. Oddly, in a certains spot, a grouped `>pp` simply does not align... yet, it aligns when I ungroup.... strange... Has this alignement problem been addressed somehow? Thank you!

pianoleo
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 5440
Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2016 11:17 am
Location: London, UK
Contact:

Re: Misbehaving dynamics and hairpins

Post by pianoleo » Thu Mar 07, 2019 9:29 am

Pianist/accompanist/engraver/arranger
2015 Macbook Pro 13" Retina 3.1ghz dual-core i7, 8gb RAM; running Sibelius Ultimate, Logic Pro X, Dorico 3 etc.
& 2017 HP ZBook Studio G3 15.6” UHD quad-i7, 16gb RAM, Windows 10 Pro
Sibelius user since Sibelius 7 (Acorn, 1997), Ex-Sibelius user since Dorico 1.0

Post Reply

Return to “Dorico”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Andre, Derrek, joshtakovich, LSalgueiro and 11 guests