Strange bug: Cubase deletes MIDI recording after stop.

Post general topics related to Cubase Pro 9, Cubase Artist 9 and Cubase Elements 9 here.
Post Reply
zooterman
Member
Posts: 382
Joined: Mon Jan 16, 2017 12:35 pm
Contact:

Strange bug: Cubase deletes MIDI recording after stop.

Post by zooterman » Sun Oct 21, 2018 12:38 pm

I have not updated to 9.5.40, so this is applicable to 9.5.30.

I hit space bar to stop recording and boom - the recording disappears. I've tried all the midi record modes.

Very strange bug.
Cubase Pro 10.0.10 | Mac Pro 6-core 3.5GHz 32GB RAM | macOS Mojave

Larioso
Member
Posts: 596
Joined: Mon Aug 04, 2014 9:18 am
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Re: Strange bug: Cubase deletes MIDI recording after stop.

Post by Larioso » Sun Oct 21, 2018 12:49 pm

Do you use Retrospective recording with a large buffer and starting at timeline start?
I had some strange things years ago, and Cubase tried to put data before time zero, since buffer captured some.

Just an idea...reduce buffer to minimum. I think default is really large like 10 000 midi events or something.

Other things can be loop recording with locators at same position.
Unless doing loop recording, I usually set mode to start recording at project cursor position.
Windows 7 Pro - Intel i7-860 2.8GHz 16 GB - Cubase Pro 9.5 latest - RME HDSP 9632 + AI4S + Audient ASP 800 - Nvidia GT730

Manike
Member
Posts: 786
Joined: Fri Nov 04, 2011 3:21 pm
Contact:

Re: Strange bug: Cubase deletes MIDI recording after stop.

Post by Manike » Sun Oct 21, 2018 5:05 pm

are you recording between locators?
8-Core Trashcan Mac Pro : Mojave : Cubase10.0.40 : MOTU828x : Nektar P6 :
Macbook pro : Mojave
http://www.manikemusic.com

svennilenni
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3701
Joined: Sat Nov 28, 2015 3:21 pm
Contact:

Re: Strange bug: Cubase deletes MIDI recording after stop.

Post by svennilenni » Sun Oct 21, 2018 6:49 pm

Are you sure, you are really recording any data?

zooterman
Member
Posts: 382
Joined: Mon Jan 16, 2017 12:35 pm
Contact:

Re: Strange bug: Cubase deletes MIDI recording after stop.

Post by zooterman » Mon Oct 22, 2018 1:32 am

Larioso wrote:
Sun Oct 21, 2018 12:49 pm
Do you use Retrospective recording with a large buffer and starting at timeline start?
I had some strange things years ago, and Cubase tried to put data before time zero, since buffer captured some.

Just an idea...reduce buffer to minimum. I think default is really large like 10 000 midi events or something.

Other things can be loop recording with locators at same position.
Unless doing loop recording, I usually set mode to start recording at project cursor position.
thanks for the suggestions but the problem still persists :(
Cubase Pro 10.0.10 | Mac Pro 6-core 3.5GHz 32GB RAM | macOS Mojave

zooterman
Member
Posts: 382
Joined: Mon Jan 16, 2017 12:35 pm
Contact:

Re: Strange bug: Cubase deletes MIDI recording after stop.

Post by zooterman » Mon Oct 22, 2018 1:33 am

Manike wrote:
Sun Oct 21, 2018 5:05 pm
are you recording between locators?
tried both, between locators and just freely. Hitting space bar to stop the recording just wipes the recording out.
Cubase Pro 10.0.10 | Mac Pro 6-core 3.5GHz 32GB RAM | macOS Mojave

zooterman
Member
Posts: 382
Joined: Mon Jan 16, 2017 12:35 pm
Contact:

Re: Strange bug: Cubase deletes MIDI recording after stop.

Post by zooterman » Mon Oct 22, 2018 1:33 am

svennilenni wrote:
Sun Oct 21, 2018 6:49 pm
Are you sure, you are really recording any data?
yes, can see the event move with the notes as I record. then when I hit space bar it all disappears.
Cubase Pro 10.0.10 | Mac Pro 6-core 3.5GHz 32GB RAM | macOS Mojave

Larioso
Member
Posts: 596
Joined: Mon Aug 04, 2014 9:18 am
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Re: Strange bug: Cubase deletes MIDI recording after stop.

Post by Larioso » Mon Oct 22, 2018 2:12 am

Another wild idea - is it possible to associate space bar to something else as key command - doing some macro or something?
Does hit Space bar again start transport?

As I recall, not sitting on daw right now, Enter key or just click stop with mouse in transport.

EDIT: I tested, you can assign Space bar to anything else.
Windows 7 Pro - Intel i7-860 2.8GHz 16 GB - Cubase Pro 9.5 latest - RME HDSP 9632 + AI4S + Audient ASP 800 - Nvidia GT730

User avatar
Bertisevil66
Junior Member
Posts: 76
Joined: Thu Jul 19, 2012 4:27 am
Contact:

Re: Strange bug: Cubase deletes MIDI recording after stop.

Post by Bertisevil66 » Mon Oct 22, 2018 12:14 pm

maybe punch in/out is activated by mistake ?
Win10 Pro 64bit, newest 64bit Cubase Version, i7 4970k, Asus Motherboard, 8 GB Ram, 500GB Samsung SSD, Focusrite Saffire 24 Interface.

mkok
Junior Member
Posts: 140
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 2:08 pm
Contact:

Re: Strange bug: Cubase deletes MIDI recording after stop.

Post by mkok » Tue Oct 23, 2018 10:19 pm

I had a similar problem but using a controller that used key strokes. Somehow it was using backspace although I couldn’t see this in the config. I went into key commands and removed back space from delete and that sorted it. I wonder if you keyboard is triggering back space or delete keys. Maybe try another keyboard.
i7 960 18gb ram, Zoom LiveTrack L20, Genelc 1029a, Roland TD-30 ekit. SD3 Cubase and Wavelab always latest versions.Lots of other bits.

Larioso
Member
Posts: 596
Joined: Mon Aug 04, 2014 9:18 am
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Re: Strange bug: Cubase deletes MIDI recording after stop.

Post by Larioso » Wed Oct 24, 2018 4:55 am

mkok wrote:
Tue Oct 23, 2018 10:19 pm
I had a similar problem but using a controller that used key strokes. Somehow it was using backspace although I couldn’t see this in the config. I went into key commands and removed back space from delete and that sorted it. I wonder if you keyboard is triggering back space or delete keys. Maybe try another keyboard.
Good idea, I think - try virtual keyboard in Cubase and record a bit.
Windows 7 Pro - Intel i7-860 2.8GHz 16 GB - Cubase Pro 9.5 latest - RME HDSP 9632 + AI4S + Audient ASP 800 - Nvidia GT730

zooterman
Member
Posts: 382
Joined: Mon Jan 16, 2017 12:35 pm
Contact:

Re: Strange bug: Cubase deletes MIDI recording after stop.

Post by zooterman » Wed Oct 24, 2018 7:35 am

thanks everyone. For now the issue has subsided - like is sometimes the case with weird Cubase behavior. The problem just goes away without leaving a trace for what was causing it to begin with. If it comes back I will try these things.
Cubase Pro 10.0.10 | Mac Pro 6-core 3.5GHz 32GB RAM | macOS Mojave

Marstudios7
New Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun Jun 02, 2019 5:31 am
Contact:

Re: Strange bug: Cubase deletes MIDI recording after stop.

Post by Marstudios7 » Sun Jun 02, 2019 5:45 am

Hi, I have the same issue and I don't know how to resolve it in Cubase 10. When recording the midi I see the graphic notes recording but when I hit space bar from bar 1 to bar 9 everyrhing are deleted.

What did you do to fix it?

Any help please?

Post Reply

Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests