Not a bad Update but just a bit pricey

All topics on Groove Agent
Post Reply
rlebla
Junior Member
Posts: 81
Joined: Fri Oct 28, 2016 12:54 am
Location: Canada
Contact:

Not a bad Update but just a bit pricey

Post by rlebla »

Even if I find that the update is a little expensive, everything is not negative in this one. The two new kits sound really good. However, was it necessary to include them in the update rather than selling them as VST Sound Instrument Sets, which would have resulted in a cheaper update and let everyone free to get them at the price normally suggested for this type of libraries. Maybe one kit would have been enough.

Decompose is very interesting new fonction that gives the possibility to separate the tonal (harmonic part) from the noise component of a sample (the attack) or what you want. Excellent for creativity. The recording function is also a good addition too and the new relationship of Beat Agent and Style Player (GM Instrument mapping only) is also a plus.

The most interesting feature is the new loading panel with the ability to pre-listen to MIDI styles and patterns and quick accessibility to Kits, Instruments and Hard Drives.

The new ability to change the size of the window is not the most convincing since no object resizes. Having a button discreetly housed in the interface or an option in the tab of the same name that would resize the interface 5, 10 or 50% would occasionally work without using the magnifying glass provided with Windows, because actually some features are associated with buttons so tiny that a magnifying glass is sometimes necessary to distinguish and reach them.

AAX support is a good news for AVID users and HiDPI support will be surely useful for Ultra HD.

So, It's not a bad update but maybe a bit too pricey.


New Load Panel.PNG
(700.18 KiB) Not downloaded yet
Steinberg Cubase Pro 10 & UR22 Audio Interface.
Yamaha HS50M & AKG Reference Headphones K701
(Home setup with PC)

James K
Member
Posts: 866
Joined: Thu Dec 23, 2010 10:43 am
Contact:

Re: Not a bad Update but just a bit pricey

Post by James K »

I agree that that there are some decent improvements though I wish Steinberg would do a walk through video showing the interface changes. So far just 3 vids mainly on the decompose feature and poor vague images on the site. I can't get a feel for the product. Also I agree it's too expensive. It's like $147 Canadian upgrade from GA 4 and with Cubase 10 just around the corner hmmm I'd pay $99 Canadian.
27 in - iMac 2011 , 16 Gigs RAM ,
Sierra Cubase Pro 10.5.12
98% of Steinberg Instruments
UR28M
CC121

Tech-dance
Member
Posts: 329
Joined: Mon Dec 27, 2010 2:14 pm
Contact:

Re: Not a bad Update but just a bit pricey

Post by Tech-dance »

Wonder whether at some point the powers that be at Steinberg might start "listening" to users. That way they might sell more than about 2 a day! ;)

Nickeldome
Member
Posts: 778
Joined: Thu Aug 07, 2014 1:06 pm
Contact:

Re: Not a bad Update but just a bit pricey

Post by Nickeldome »

I was expecting something like €49. But €99 is way too expensive for an upgrade and totally out of context compared to the price of the full product. And as far as I can see not enough new feature to justify this. The new acoustic kit is a little better than what comes with v4 but still sounds to synthetic for my taste and the minor improvements are also not convincing me to do an upgrade with this price tag. So won't be doing this one.
Cubase Pro - Wavelab Pro (always latest version) Windows 10 Pro 64bit / Asus TUF Mark 1 X299 / i9-7900X (at 4.3 GHZ) / 64GB RAM / Geforce GTX 1060 6G / System drive Samsung M.2 1TB 960Pro / Kontakt drives 3 x 1TB Samsung Evo / Project/Audio/Archive drive 10TB Seagate Ironwolf - Audio interface: Roland UA-1610 / External gear: Kawai MP11 / Kurzweil PC88 / Sequential Circuits Prophet 5 / Roland JV1080 / Roland D50 / Korg 01/W / Elka EK22 – Midi controllers: Roli Seabord Rise 49, SoundQuest 8port-SE / Nektar Panorama P1 / Roland Octopad II / Akai MPD18 - Main VST's: Kontakt 6 / Padshop Pro / Spectrasonics Omnisphere 2.6, Trillian & Keyscape / Arturia V-collection / FXpansion BFD 3 / Toontrack Superior Drummer 3
All time user of Cubase since Atari V2 (around 1990)

James K
Member
Posts: 866
Joined: Thu Dec 23, 2010 10:43 am
Contact:

Re: Not a bad Update but just a bit pricey

Post by James K »

Nickeldome wrote:
Mon Nov 05, 2018 6:20 pm
I was expecting something like €49. But €99 is way too expensive for an upgrade and totally out of context compared to the price of the full product. And as far as I can see not enough new feature to justify this. The new acoustic kit is a little better than what comes with v4 but still sounds to synthetic for my taste and the minor improvements are also not convincing me to do an upgrade with this price tag.


I struggle with the snares. Bit thin. Now I find placing the Waves Maseratti Drum plug in on the channel beefs it up quite nicely. I think what is being sold is geared towards electronic music as the dance/tech kits are very good.
The upgrade price is too high at $128 Canadian though.
27 in - iMac 2011 , 16 Gigs RAM ,
Sierra Cubase Pro 10.5.12
98% of Steinberg Instruments
UR28M
CC121

User avatar
mozizo
Senior Member
Posts: 1806
Joined: Fri Jan 28, 2011 10:48 pm
Contact:

Re: Not a bad Update but just a bit pricey

Post by mozizo »

is it possible now with GA5 to use/load acoustic drum elements(snare,kick etc..) from all acoustic kits included and purchased ?
for example use simon phillips snare on nashville drum kit, or build all new kit from acoustic kits installed ?(like in SD3 for example when you have menu of drums to choose from)

i also agree the upgrade price is pricy and not proportional,and the video released are not in par with the late good videos released for other steinberg products
cubase 10.5 pro ,halion 6 GA5 HS2,HSO,Dark planet,neosoul keys.
Sony vaioF13 i7 CPU win10 8gb
Steinberg MR816csx ,MR816x ,UR44 ,CC121
Motif es6-Kawai Mp4-Korg PA4X-MOXF8
cubasis,cubase ic pro

User avatar
Home Studio 87
Member
Posts: 816
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 9:32 pm
Contact:

Re: Not a bad Update but just a bit pricey

Post by Home Studio 87 »

mozizo wrote:
Tue Nov 06, 2018 12:48 pm
is it possible now with GA5 to use/load acoustic drum elements(snare,kick etc..) from all acoustic kits included and purchased ?
for example use simon phillips snare on nashville drum kit, or build all new kit from acoustic kits installed ?(like in SD3 for example when you have menu of drums to choose from)
Good question ! someone can answer ? :?
Gigabyte GA-X99P-SLI / Intel Corei7 6800k / 32 Go DDR4 / 4x SSD / Win 10 Pro x64 / UAD Apollo Twin USB / UAD2 Satellite Octo USB / UAD2 Octo PCIe / Cubase Pro 10 / VEP6 / D-Touch Cubase / Console 1 / 24 Ch X-Touch / CMC Controllers / iPad 2&3 Lemur / Komplete Kontrol S61 MK2 /

rlebla
Junior Member
Posts: 81
Joined: Fri Oct 28, 2016 12:54 am
Location: Canada
Contact:

Re: Not a bad Update but just a bit pricey

Post by rlebla »

mozizo wrote:
Tue Nov 06, 2018 12:48 pm
is it possible now with GA5 to use/load acoustic drum elements(snare,kick etc..) from all acoustic kits included and purchased ?
for example use simon phillips snare on nashville drum kit, or build all new kit from acoustic kits installed ?(like in SD3 for example when you have menu of drums to choose from)

i also agree the upgrade price is pricy and not proportional,and the video released are not in par with the late good videos released for other steinberg products

Unfortunately no.

You can only drag files from the following locations : MediaBay, Project window of your DAW, Pool, Sample Editor (regions), Audio Part Editor, LoopMash slices, File Explorer/macOS Finder or any Hard Drives.
Steinberg Cubase Pro 10 & UR22 Audio Interface.
Yamaha HS50M & AKG Reference Headphones K701
(Home setup with PC)

User avatar
InLightTone
Junior Member
Posts: 120
Joined: Sun Jun 01, 2014 3:39 am
Contact:

Re: Not a bad Update but just a bit pricey

Post by InLightTone »

mozizo wrote:
Tue Nov 06, 2018 12:48 pm
is it possible now with GA5 to use/load acoustic drum elements(snare,kick etc..) from all acoustic kits included and purchased ?
for example use simon phillips snare on nashville drum kit, or build all new kit from acoustic kits installed ?(like in SD3 for example when you have menu of drums to choose from)

i also agree the upgrade price is pricy and not proportional,and the video released are not in par with the late good videos released for other steinberg products
Yes that would be worthy of a point upgrade. I was hoping for that and more like including drum synths in the architecture like Maschine...

maggie
Member
Posts: 362
Joined: Fri Nov 01, 2013 1:08 pm
Contact:

Re: Not a bad Update but just a bit pricey

Post by maggie »

At Best Service you get the full version of Groove Agent 5 even for 159,00€, the update price of 99,99€ doesn't fit anymore, so please Steinberg lowers the update price.

https://www.bestservice.de/groove_agent_5.html
Cubase 10 pro, Halion 6, Groove Agent 5, Padshop Pro, Tone2 Electra 2, Tone2 Ultraspace, U-He Diva, U-He Presswerk, U-He Hive, Tubeohm Vintage, Virtual CZ, Arturia Solina V2, Arturia Analog Lab, Waldorf Nave, Synapse Dune 2, UVI Falcon, UVI Grand Piano Type D, AiR Xpand!2, KV331 Synthmaster, Steinberg UR22, Arturia Keylab 49 (Black Edition), AMD RYZEN 3700X, 32GB GSkill Tridentz NEO RAM, ASUS ROG STRIX X570-F, Windows 10 64bit

Nickeldome
Member
Posts: 778
Joined: Thu Aug 07, 2014 1:06 pm
Contact:

Re: Not a bad Update but just a bit pricey

Post by Nickeldome »

rlebla wrote:
Tue Nov 06, 2018 2:26 pm
mozizo wrote:
Tue Nov 06, 2018 12:48 pm
is it possible now with GA5 to use/load acoustic drum elements(snare,kick etc..) from all acoustic kits included and purchased ?
for example use simon phillips snare on nashville drum kit, or build all new kit from acoustic kits installed ?(like in SD3 for example when you have menu of drums to choose from)

i also agree the upgrade price is pricy and not proportional,and the video released are not in par with the late good videos released for other steinberg products

Unfortunately no.

You can only drag files from the following locations : MediaBay, Project window of your DAW, Pool, Sample Editor (regions), Audio Part Editor, LoopMash slices, File Explorer/macOS Finder or any Hard Drives.
I was wondering this myself because IMO this is a vital option to be flexible and be able to customize your kit when desired. That this still isn't possible makes it even more of a disappointment! With BFD3 you can mix any snare or other component from any kit that's installed. I'll wait and see what GA6 brings? But I have the feeling they're just not competitive enough when it comes to acoustic drums and it might just go more toward the electronic market. I think they will have to decide what GA6 will become. I just don't think you can please both markets on a high level and have to decide if you want to serve the dance scene or the ones looking for good acoustic drums? As far as acoustic goes they moved in the right direction with the Simon Philips kits but this upgrade is obviously a few steps in the wrong direction! XLN's addictive drummer and Toontrack's EZ drummer are both cheaper and have a lot more to offer sound wise and are more user friendly IMO. BFD3 and Superior drummer3 are the next level at about twice the price of GA5 but they both already come with excellent factory content packages. So no immediate necessity to invest in pricey expansion kits. I can't really say the same for GA5. Let's see what the next version will bring us?

We have one advantage tho. They can hardly make the upgrade from v4 to v6 more expensive than it now already is? :lol:
Cubase Pro - Wavelab Pro (always latest version) Windows 10 Pro 64bit / Asus TUF Mark 1 X299 / i9-7900X (at 4.3 GHZ) / 64GB RAM / Geforce GTX 1060 6G / System drive Samsung M.2 1TB 960Pro / Kontakt drives 3 x 1TB Samsung Evo / Project/Audio/Archive drive 10TB Seagate Ironwolf - Audio interface: Roland UA-1610 / External gear: Kawai MP11 / Kurzweil PC88 / Sequential Circuits Prophet 5 / Roland JV1080 / Roland D50 / Korg 01/W / Elka EK22 – Midi controllers: Roli Seabord Rise 49, SoundQuest 8port-SE / Nektar Panorama P1 / Roland Octopad II / Akai MPD18 - Main VST's: Kontakt 6 / Padshop Pro / Spectrasonics Omnisphere 2.6, Trillian & Keyscape / Arturia V-collection / FXpansion BFD 3 / Toontrack Superior Drummer 3
All time user of Cubase since Atari V2 (around 1990)

rlebla
Junior Member
Posts: 81
Joined: Fri Oct 28, 2016 12:54 am
Location: Canada
Contact:

Re: Not a bad Update but just a bit pricey

Post by rlebla »

mozizo wrote:
Tue Nov 06, 2018 12:48 pm
is it possible now with GA5 to use/load acoustic drum elements(snare,kick etc..) from all acoustic kits included and purchased ?
for example use simon phillips snare on nashville drum kit, or build all new kit from acoustic kits installed ?(like in SD3 for example when you have menu of drums to choose from)

i also agree the upgrade price is pricy and not proportional,and the video released are not in par with the late good videos released for other steinberg products
I mentioned that it was not possible, but it should be noted that it is not possible from a blank kit to use some samples of some kits. However it is possible to access samples of some purchased kits like Neuro Mindset or Colliding Worlds and some others via the VST Sound folder in the Mediabay. Check it out.

It is also possible to load up to 4 kits. You like Nashville (kit 1), but you prefer Simon Phillips snare (kit 2) and Metro Heights Toms (kit 3). There is always a possibility to circumvent certain limitations, if there are limitations.

Those who have enough financial means can afford to have more than one Drums Softwares and I hope it does not deprive itself. For my part, GA5 is the one for which my wallet to yield. I am very satisfied with the product although there is room for improvement. For someone does not own the software and wonders if this VST is a good investment. I say yes. It is an excellent VST. However, I am disappointed with the high price of this update despite improvements in this release.
Steinberg Cubase Pro 10 & UR22 Audio Interface.
Yamaha HS50M & AKG Reference Headphones K701
(Home setup with PC)

User avatar
mozizo
Senior Member
Posts: 1806
Joined: Fri Jan 28, 2011 10:48 pm
Contact:

Re: Not a bad Update but just a bit pricey

Post by mozizo »

rlebla wrote:
Tue Nov 06, 2018 2:26 pm
mozizo wrote:
Tue Nov 06, 2018 12:48 pm
is it possible now with GA5 to use/load acoustic drum elements(snare,kick etc..) from all acoustic kits included and purchased ?
for example use simon phillips snare on nashville drum kit, or build all new kit from acoustic kits installed ?(like in SD3 for example when you have menu of drums to choose from)

i also agree the upgrade price is pricy and not proportional,and the video released are not in par with the late good videos released for other steinberg products

Unfortunately no.

You can only drag files from the following locations : MediaBay, Project window of your DAW, Pool, Sample Editor (regions), Audio Part Editor, LoopMash slices, File Explorer/macOS Finder or any Hard Drives.
mmm.. i wonder why such an elementary and useful practical feature is not included ! steinberg ? how come it can be ? why always workarounds for this simple thing to do in all other drum VSTI ? :roll:
cubase 10.5 pro ,halion 6 GA5 HS2,HSO,Dark planet,neosoul keys.
Sony vaioF13 i7 CPU win10 8gb
Steinberg MR816csx ,MR816x ,UR44 ,CC121
Motif es6-Kawai Mp4-Korg PA4X-MOXF8
cubasis,cubase ic pro

Tech-dance
Member
Posts: 329
Joined: Mon Dec 27, 2010 2:14 pm
Contact:

Re: Not a bad Update but just a bit pricey

Post by Tech-dance »

In the UK DV247.com have the full version priced at £130!

Steinberg PLEASE LOWER THE PRICE OF THE UPDATE! It shows poor business acumen. I would buy the full priced software on principle unless you change your stance!

Niles
Member
Posts: 334
Joined: Fri Sep 13, 2013 9:41 am

Re: Not a bad Update but just a bit pricey

Post by Niles »

Tech-dance wrote:
Thu Nov 08, 2018 12:49 am
In the UK DV247.com have the full version priced at £130!
I'm not sure what message Steinberg is trying to send to its loyal supporters of their product in a very crowded market.
The educational version is €5,- more expensive as the upgrade, the retail version is €49,- more expensive as the upgrade and gracing up from an in stock boxed version 4 is €39,- more expensive. IMO even with a 40% discount, €60.- is a substantial amount of money for this upd... euh.. upgrade.

Tech-dance
Member
Posts: 329
Joined: Mon Dec 27, 2010 2:14 pm
Contact:

Re: Not a bad Update but just a bit pricey

Post by Tech-dance »

When the sales dry up (as they probably have already!) Steiny will be back with their begging bowl! By the time that happens they probably won't be able to give it away for free!
Windows 10 Pro 1809 64 bit,
Intel Core 2 Quad Q9650 3.0 GHz CPU
ASUS P5B Motherboard (latest available BIOS), 8GB Crucial DDR3 RAM
500GB SSD Drive, 3 x Internal SATA Drives, 3 x external USB HARD Drives
XFX R7250 Radeon Graphics Card (latest driver)
M-Audio M-Track Eight USB Audio interface, 2 x M-Audio Midisport 2x2 Anniversary Edition MIDI interfaces
M-Audio Oxygen 49 (3rd Gen) MIDI Keyboard Controller, Steinberg CC121 Advanced Integration Controller

Software: (Always kept up to date) Cubase Pro 9.5 and 10, Wavelab Pro 9.5, HALion 6, Groove Agent 5, The Grand 3, N.I. Komplete 12, Waves v10 Plug ins, Softube Modular, SSL Native Plug ins, loads of PSP Audioware plugins, Arturia Collection V6, etc.

James K
Member
Posts: 866
Joined: Thu Dec 23, 2010 10:43 am
Contact:

Re: Not a bad Update but just a bit pricey

Post by James K »

Even the new version of the Steven Slate drums 5 is only $149 total price.
27 in - iMac 2011 , 16 Gigs RAM ,
Sierra Cubase Pro 10.5.12
98% of Steinberg Instruments
UR28M
CC121

James K
Member
Posts: 866
Joined: Thu Dec 23, 2010 10:43 am
Contact:

Re: Not a bad Update but just a bit pricey

Post by James K »

Also I just noticed that it's 99 in American dollars yet Steinberg is charging Canadians 150 Canadian. Here's the currency conversion rate 99 USD = 130.6355 CAD
27 in - iMac 2011 , 16 Gigs RAM ,
Sierra Cubase Pro 10.5.12
98% of Steinberg Instruments
UR28M
CC121

Post Reply

Return to “Groove Agent”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests