HiDPI in Windows 10

Post general topics related to Cubase Pro 10, Cubase Artist 10 and Cubase Elements 10 here.
Ericvoigt
Member
Posts: 683
Joined: Wed Jan 19, 2011 6:29 pm
Contact:

HiDPI in Windows 10

Post by Ericvoigt »

I activated HiDIP in the Program Settings. But now everything is reeally small on a high resolution display. Does a proper HiDpi scaling actually work on Windows or is this feature only for Mac Users?
EDIT: It only seems to work at 150% scaling but then it's reeeally big
Last edited by Ericvoigt on Wed Nov 14, 2018 3:38 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
jaslan
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3481
Joined: Fri Jan 21, 2011 11:42 pm
Contact:

Re: HiDPI in Windows 10

Post by jaslan »

Cubase Pro 10. Core-i7 7700HQ, 16GB RAM, Windows 10. UR44. M-Audio Axiom Pro 61. Fishman TriplePlay. Komplete 11 Ultimate. Jamstix 4. Absolute VST3. 418 Carrier Landings.
SoundCloud

Ericvoigt
Member
Posts: 683
Joined: Wed Jan 19, 2011 6:29 pm
Contact:

Re: HiDPI in Windows 10

Post by Ericvoigt »

@Matthias Quellman
Any plans to submit full HiDPI support for Windows in a maintanance update?

vox_humana
New Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue May 03, 2016 11:37 pm
Contact:

Re: HiDPI in Windows 10

Post by vox_humana »

HiDPI support working on Windows 10 is the biggest selling point of Cubase 10 for me,
I too would like better understanding of what is "Limited" and will these limitations ever be resolved?
Thank you

cmbsa
Junior Member
Posts: 90
Joined: Thu Nov 26, 2015 3:14 pm
Contact:

Re: HiDPI in Windows 10

Post by cmbsa »

vox_humana wrote:
Wed Nov 14, 2018 3:45 pm
HiDPI support working on Windows 10 is the biggest selling point of Cubase 10 for me,
I too would like better understanding of what is "Limited" and will these limitations ever be resolved?
Thank you
+1
thanks
main: Cubase Pro 10 / win10 64 / i7-6900K / 32gb / geforce 1060, 6 GB / System on m.2 ssd 512 GB / 2TB Raid-0 HDD for Projects / several ssd for sample-lib / RME AIO PCIe /
slave: VE Pro 6 / win10 64 / i7-4790K / 32gb / several ssd

twelvetwelve
Member
Posts: 919
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 9:35 pm
Contact:

Re: HiDPI in Windows 10

Post by twelvetwelve »

Currently Cubase supports only integer monitor scaling settings from Windows, for example:

- Monitor scaling setting of 125% displays Cubase with 100%
- Monitor scaling setting of 150% displays Cubase with 200%
- Monitor scaling setting of 175% displays Cubase with 200%
- Monitor scaling setting of 200% displays Cubase with 200%

User avatar
Matthias Quellmann
Moderator
Posts: 912
Joined: Tue Mar 01, 2011 9:44 am
Location: Hamburg, Germany
Contact:

Re: HiDPI in Windows 10

Post by Matthias Quellmann »

vox_humana wrote:
Wed Nov 14, 2018 3:45 pm
HiDPI support working on Windows 10 is the biggest selling point of Cubase 10 for me,
I too would like better understanding of what is "Limited" and will these limitations ever be resolved?
Thank you
The limitations are described in the knowledge base article. Basically it's the limitation to integer monitor scaling on Windows. Maybe wait for the trial and give it a test run on your monitor setup.

Of course this limitation is not what we understand as full HiDPI support on Windows and we are going to improve it in future updates.
Matthias Quellmann - Senior Marketing Manager
Steinberg Media Technologies GmbH
Hamburg, Germany
Checkout Steinberg on YouTube, Twitter and Facebook!

Xtigma
Junior Member
Posts: 141
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 12:32 pm
Contact:

Re: HiDPI in Windows 10

Post by Xtigma »

Is there any way to force Cubase to use the 100% setting regardless of what the Desktop Percentage you have set? I have a 4k monitor set to 200% but I run cubase at native 4k.

In Cubase 10's current form I have only 2 choices,
1. run cubase at 200% (which is too cramped)
2. set my monitor to 125%, then log off then back on.

also as a sub note, at least on windows the track waveforms appear to be at a lower resolution.

Ericvoigt
Member
Posts: 683
Joined: Wed Jan 19, 2011 6:29 pm
Contact:

Re: HiDPI in Windows 10

Post by Ericvoigt »

Matthias Quellmann wrote:
Wed Nov 14, 2018 7:18 pm
Of course this limitation is not what we understand as full HiDPI support on Windows and we are going to improve it in future updates.
Does future update mean maintenance update (10.0x) or do we have to wait for the next version?

Pablo1980
Member
Posts: 320
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 4:54 pm
Contact:

Re: HiDPI in Windows 10

Post by Pablo1980 »

Xtigma wrote:
Wed Nov 14, 2018 8:10 pm
Is there any way to force Cubase to use the 100% setting regardless of what the Desktop Percentage you have set? I have a 4k monitor set to 200% but I run cubase at native 4k.

In Cubase 10's current form I have only 2 choices,
1. run cubase at 200% (which is too cramped)
2. set my monitor to 125%, then log off then back on.

also as a sub note, at least on windows the track waveforms appear to be at a lower resolution.
Did they change this? I use windows at 150% and force cubase to run at 4k, if this has changed this update is a no-go for me
Film Composer - Argentina

Intel 9990k - Gigabyte Aorus Pro Z390 - 64gb ram - Motu 24ao - Steinberg MR816x (2)
Windows 10.5 64bit - Cubase 10.5 Pro - Vepro 7 (two add PCs)

Xtigma
Junior Member
Posts: 141
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 12:32 pm
Contact:

Re: HiDPI in Windows 10

Post by Xtigma »

Pablo1980 wrote:
Wed Nov 14, 2018 10:28 pm
Xtigma wrote:
Wed Nov 14, 2018 8:10 pm
Is there any way to force Cubase to use the 100% setting regardless of what the Desktop Percentage you have set? I have a 4k monitor set to 200% but I run cubase at native 4k.

In Cubase 10's current form I have only 2 choices,
1. run cubase at 200% (which is too cramped)
2. set my monitor to 125%, then log off then back on.

also as a sub note, at least on windows the track waveforms appear to be at a lower resolution.
Did they change this? I use windows at 150% and force cubase to run at 4k, if this has changed this update is a no-go for me
Yes, if you have your windows set to 150% at this moment in time there is no way to run cubase at 4k native (full resolution)
you have to drop down to 125% then log off and back on, right clicking the exe and choosing ignore dpi settings does nothing anymore..

User avatar
aaandima
Member
Posts: 751
Joined: Sun Jan 04, 2015 8:26 pm
Location: Schweiz
Contact:

Re: HiDPI in Windows 10

Post by aaandima »

If you want to use full 4K without the limitations "too small", we need to use at least a 45- 50 inch monitor. Only then are all the pixels again at about 90 ppi as in the past with the usual screens. Otherwise, the graphics must be scaled, so that the benefits of 4K are partially lost again.

Informations: https://www.eizoglobal.com/library/basi ... index.html
„Ach, wissen Sie, im Grunde genommen ist die Sache ganz einfach. Es geht nur darum, die richtige Taste zum richtigen Zeitpunkt zu drücken. Das ist schon alles.“ J.S.Bach

Steinberg: Cubase 10 Pro. Nuendo 10, Dorico 2, Halion 5/6, Halion Symphonic Orchestra, Groove Agent 5 , Grand 3. WaveLab Pro 9x
Hardware: Win 8.1 Pro ( + Win 10 Pro test system), UR28M,
Fremdtools: Cakewalk Sonar Platinum (lifetime update), Cakewalk BandLab, Presonus Studio One Pro 4+, Presonus Notion 6, Cantabile 3, Synthesizer > UVI Falcon, Waldorf Nave, Iris 2, AAS Strum/Analog/Chromaphone, Factory SugarBytes, Synthmaster, Fathom, Objeq Delay, BreakTweaker, MeldaProduction MSoundFactory. Mix/Mastering > iZotope Neutron Advanced, Ozone Advanced. Server Tools: VSL Ensemble Pro 7 including diverse VSL Synchron Libs

Pablo1980
Member
Posts: 320
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 4:54 pm
Contact:

Re: HiDPI in Windows 10

Post by Pablo1980 »

Matthias Quellmann wrote:
Wed Nov 14, 2018 7:18 pm
vox_humana wrote:
Wed Nov 14, 2018 3:45 pm
HiDPI support working on Windows 10 is the biggest selling point of Cubase 10 for me,
I too would like better understanding of what is "Limited" and will these limitations ever be resolved?
Thank you
The limitations are described in the knowledge base article. Basically it's the limitation to integer monitor scaling on Windows. Maybe wait for the trial and give it a test run on your monitor setup.

Of course this limitation is not what we understand as full HiDPI support on Windows and we are going to improve it in future updates.
Hi Matthias. Can you clarify this?
With mi 40” screen, I use windows at 125% and cubase at 100% (ignoring the scaling)

Are you saying that this isn’t possible anymore? What has changed?
Film Composer - Argentina

Intel 9990k - Gigabyte Aorus Pro Z390 - 64gb ram - Motu 24ao - Steinberg MR816x (2)
Windows 10.5 64bit - Cubase 10.5 Pro - Vepro 7 (two add PCs)

twelvetwelve
Member
Posts: 919
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 9:35 pm
Contact:

Re: HiDPI in Windows 10

Post by twelvetwelve »

Just disable HiDPI in Cubase and it will work like the 9.5 does although you won't get the HiDPI support. Until Steinberg support other scaling factors other than 100% and 200% it's the only solution.

laimon
New Member
Posts: 11
Joined: Sat Nov 15, 2014 8:19 am
Contact:

Re: HiDPI in Windows 10

Post by laimon »

Let me get this: so currently the scaling with HiDPI is either full 4K (which is basically unusable, I am afraid) or 2K?

Xtigma
Junior Member
Posts: 141
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 12:32 pm
Contact:

Re: HiDPI in Windows 10

Post by Xtigma »

twelvetwelve wrote:
Wed Nov 14, 2018 11:56 pm
Just disable HiDPI in Cubase and it will work like the 9.5 does although you won't get the HiDPI support. Until Steinberg support other scaling factors other than 100% and 200% it's the only solution.
It unfortunately does not work in the same way as 9.5 when you disable HiDPI, it locks to 200% when you disable HiDPI (or presumably whatever you have your scale value to, and there is no way to disable this. (that i have found))

twelvetwelve
Member
Posts: 919
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 9:35 pm
Contact:

Re: HiDPI in Windows 10

Post by twelvetwelve »

Can't say my experience is the same. I'm running at 150% scaling on a 4k monitor and I just disable HiDPI and it looks like the usual.

Xtigma
Junior Member
Posts: 141
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 12:32 pm
Contact:

Re: HiDPI in Windows 10

Post by Xtigma »

twelvetwelve wrote:
Thu Nov 15, 2018 12:13 am
Can't say my experience is the same. I'm running at 150% scaling on a 4k monitor and I just disable HiDPI and it looks like the usual.
sorry yes, if your 'usual' is 150 then disabling HiDPI will give you your 'usual' my usual is 100, when i set my scaling to 200, as I disable all scaling

Fairlight2cx
Junior Member
Posts: 51
Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2017 2:09 am
Contact:

Re: HiDPI in Windows 10

Post by Fairlight2cx »

I'm running on Win7 with 4k and 150% Windows scaling.

Cubase 10 doesn't even -have- a HiDPI option in the General tab. Is this normal?
Rampage IV Black / i7 4960X @ 3.6GHz / 64GB/ EVGA GTX 2080 Ti FTW3 Ultra / Creative ZxR
Windows 10 Professional 64bit / Cubase Pro 10.0.40
Arturia KeyLab2 / KK S61 Mk2 / AKAI MPD-232 / Roland TD-17KVX / Ableton Push 2
A&H ZEDi 10FX / Focusrite 2i2

Arne Scheffler
Steinberg Employee
Posts: 85
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 11:12 am
Contact:

Re: HiDPI in Windows 10

Post by Arne Scheffler »

Fairlight2cx wrote:
Thu Nov 15, 2018 5:36 pm
I'm running on Win7 with 4k and 150% Windows scaling.

Cubase 10 doesn't even -have- a HiDPI option in the General tab. Is this normal?
Cubase only supports the HiDPI mode on Windows 10.

Hope this helps.

Fairlight2cx
Junior Member
Posts: 51
Joined: Thu Jan 12, 2017 2:09 am
Contact:

Re: HiDPI in Windows 10

Post by Fairlight2cx »

Oh, I thought only the problems were on Win10.

I'll upgrade 1-3 months before Win7 EOL, purely on security grounds. The fallout from the move is not to be undertaken lightly

Thanks for the info!
Rampage IV Black / i7 4960X @ 3.6GHz / 64GB/ EVGA GTX 2080 Ti FTW3 Ultra / Creative ZxR
Windows 10 Professional 64bit / Cubase Pro 10.0.40
Arturia KeyLab2 / KK S61 Mk2 / AKAI MPD-232 / Roland TD-17KVX / Ableton Push 2
A&H ZEDi 10FX / Focusrite 2i2

MT_
Junior Member
Posts: 59
Joined: Mon Oct 10, 2016 11:17 pm
Location: Moscow, Russia
Contact:

Why no HiDPI in Windows 7?

Post by MT_ »

Arne Scheffler wrote:
Thu Nov 15, 2018 6:59 pm
Cubase only supports the HiDPI mode on Windows 10.
Arne, why just Windows 10 is supported while Windows 7 has basically the same HiDPI support?

Arne Scheffler
Steinberg Employee
Posts: 85
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 11:12 am
Contact:

Re: Why no HiDPI in Windows 7?

Post by Arne Scheffler »

MT_ wrote:
Fri Nov 16, 2018 4:53 pm
Arne, why just Windows 10 is supported while Windows 7 has basically the same HiDPI support?
No, Windows 7 and Windows 10 have totally different HiDPI implementations. For example there no support for multiple displays with different DPI on Windows 7, but that's only one of many things missing in Windows 7.

Cheers,
Arne

MT_
Junior Member
Posts: 59
Joined: Mon Oct 10, 2016 11:17 pm
Location: Moscow, Russia
Contact:

Re: Why no HiDPI in Windows 7?

Post by MT_ »

Arne Scheffler wrote:
Fri Nov 16, 2018 7:36 pm
No, Windows 7 and Windows 10 have totally different HiDPI implementations. For example there no support for multiple displays with different DPI on Windows 7, but that's only one of many things missing in Windows 7.
Most of Windows-API features are cumulative. So everything available in Windows 7 is also available in more recent Windows versions, so support in W7 and W10 cannot be totally different, it can be just extended in W10.

Per-Monitor DPI Awareness is not as important as support for HiDPI itself. For basic DPI awareness, all you need is:
  • determine pixel ratio by dividing `GetDeviceCaps(GetDC(window), LOGPIXELSX)` by default 96;
  • multiply all the UI-element’s sizes and coordinates by that ratio with proportional upscaling of bitmap graphics where needed;
  • declare DPI awareness: either via executable’s manifest (`<dpiAware>true</dpiAware>`) or by calling `SetProcessDPIAware()`.
Or does Cubase 10 use Windows 10’s automatic scaling stuff like `EnableNonClientDpiScaling()` without actually supporting true HiDPI?

Fwiw, according to StatCounter, market share of Windows 7 is 70% of Windows 10’s market share (36.31% vs. 51.94%). According to NetMarketShare, the difference is even smaller: Windows 7’s market share is 84% of Windows 10’s one (35.27% vs. 41.82%).

Arne Scheffler
Steinberg Employee
Posts: 85
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 11:12 am
Contact:

Re: Why no HiDPI in Windows 7?

Post by Arne Scheffler »

You're funny, you want to tell me about HiDPI Windows API.
So if you're interested read this: https://blogs.windows.com/buildingapps/ ... rs-update/
and this https://blogs.windows.com/buildingapps/ ... ry-update/
and there is still more stuff that are only visible in the msdn docs about stuff not available in Windows 7.

Have a nice Weekend,
Arne

Post Reply

Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: cubace, hjwinge, Ian s and 20 guests