Can't import any type of video

Post general topics related to Cubase Pro 10, Cubase Artist 10 and Cubase Elements 10 here.
mkok
Junior Member
Posts: 146
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 2:08 pm
Contact:

Can't import any type of video

Post by mkok » Sun Nov 25, 2018 11:26 am

I've tried in Cubase 10 and gone back and tried 9.5 and I can't open any types of video at all. If I try to import nothing happens. It's as if I haven't done anything. If I drag and drop it has the circle with a line through it and If I create a video track and try drop onto that exactly the same. I even tried to just extract audio from video import and again nothing.

I'm running Win10 and all the videos will play in win10 if I just double click them so my PC looks to have the codecs to play them all. I've tried MOV AVI and MPG.
i7 960 18gb ram, Zoom LiveTrack L20, Genelc 1029a, Roland TD-30 ekit. SD3 Cubase and Wavelab always latest versions.Lots of other bits.

Martin.Jirsak
Forum Elder
Posts: 18620
Joined: Sun Mar 20, 2011 3:52 pm
Contact:

Re: Can't import any type of video

Post by Martin.Jirsak » Sun Nov 25, 2018 12:50 pm

Hi,

What video codec do you use? Is it a Cubase supported codec?
Martin Jirsak
How to show notes of the chord/scale only
Cubase Training

Cubase Pro (last officially supported version all the time)
macOS (last update)

mkok
Junior Member
Posts: 146
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 2:08 pm
Contact:

Re: Can't import any type of video

Post by mkok » Sun Nov 25, 2018 3:58 pm

Hi

I haven’t actually added any codecs. It’s just what windows has. Should I be specifically getting codecs? I remember using this a few years ago and it just working.

The manual is very vague
i7 960 18gb ram, Zoom LiveTrack L20, Genelc 1029a, Roland TD-30 ekit. SD3 Cubase and Wavelab always latest versions.Lots of other bits.

uarte
Member
Posts: 613
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:51 pm
Contact:

Re: Can't import any type of video

Post by uarte » Sun Nov 25, 2018 4:22 pm

FYI -- here is the list of supported codecs in Cubase. Keep in mind that Cubase does NOT use the codecs from the OS... it has its own new engine now, as of Cubase 9.0.30 and later:

https://helpcenter.steinberg.de/hc/en-u ... and-Dorico

mkok
Junior Member
Posts: 146
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 2:08 pm
Contact:

Re: Can't import any type of video

Post by mkok » Sun Nov 25, 2018 5:48 pm

I read that earlier but it doesn't mention how to get a codec and then import it into Cubase. So it mentions ProRes which is apple. If I search for this I get to QuickTime. I download this but still it doesn't work in Cubase. What specifically do I need and how does Cubase use it?
i7 960 18gb ram, Zoom LiveTrack L20, Genelc 1029a, Roland TD-30 ekit. SD3 Cubase and Wavelab always latest versions.Lots of other bits.

uarte
Member
Posts: 613
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:51 pm
Contact:

Re: Can't import any type of video

Post by uarte » Mon Nov 26, 2018 1:48 am

I think I see what you mean. Forget about QuickTime. It is no longer needed. In fact, if you are on Windows, you should NOT have it installed. It is a security risk now. So I suggest you uninstall QuickTime and be done with it, unless you are willing to live with the security risks. There are NO extra codec files to download or install for the new video engine inside Cubase (except Avid DNxHD which requires a license purchase from Steinberg). So the codecs that are needed to play back the supported video files inside Cubase are *already* built into the Cubase video engine, WITHOUT worrying about QuickTime. All you need to do is load a video into Cubase that is already encoded in a supported codec. In the case of ProRes, the file must be in a MOV container file (which it probably already is).

File > Import > Video File

Select the file and you will be good to go IF the file is supported. If Cubase won't load it up, then there might be a file issue or some other issue going on, or it is not encoded in a supported codec. You'll have to troubleshoot the file itself and find out exactly what container and codec was used when the file was created. It must be encoded in a format that Cubase can play back. That link I mentioned above lists the supported containers and codecs.

If you are having more trouble, then you need to use some sort of tool to confirm what your source file is... and/or re-encode it into a different codec that is supported. There are some other threads in the forum that deal with that situation.

Hope this helps a little.

spikey
New Member
Posts: 38
Joined: Sun Aug 12, 2012 3:59 pm
Contact:

Re: Can't import any type of video

Post by spikey » Mon Nov 26, 2018 5:56 am

I found that some .mov files won't load, but the same video in MP4 will it seems.
Cubase 10, GA5, Superior Drummer 3, Logic X, Studio One, yada yada so many toys- not enough time....

mkok
Junior Member
Posts: 146
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 2:08 pm
Contact:

Re: Can't import any type of video

Post by mkok » Mon Nov 26, 2018 1:58 pm

ok thanks. So the files I'm trying to look at are all recorded on my iPhone. I'll see if I can convert one to MP4 and see if that loads
i7 960 18gb ram, Zoom LiveTrack L20, Genelc 1029a, Roland TD-30 ekit. SD3 Cubase and Wavelab always latest versions.Lots of other bits.

uarte
Member
Posts: 613
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:51 pm
Contact:

Re: Can't import any type of video

Post by uarte » Mon Nov 26, 2018 4:05 pm

mkok wrote:
Mon Nov 26, 2018 1:58 pm
ok thanks. So the files I'm trying to look at are all recorded on my iPhone. I'll see if I can convert one to MP4 and see if that loads
If you have iOS 11 or higher, then the videos that your iPhone records are most likely in HEVC codec (aka H265), which is NOT supported by the Steinberg video engine. It's another "gift" that Apple has quickly forced on users, once again throwing a wrench into the workflow of many people with little notice. HEVC has not been natively supported by many third-party tools until more recently... and Steinberg will NOT likely support it for a while IMO. iPhones used to record natively in H264, which WAS supported. So unless the files have already been transcoded (re-encoded) into H264, depending on how you have exported them, then you will have to manually re-encode them into H264, either as an H264 MOV file or a H264 MP4 file. Hope that helps!

Once you wrap your mind around the various issues of codecs, which can be a big pain in the neck, you'll get the hang of this, and you'll know when you need to re-encode something. Bottom line is that for the Steinberg video engine you need to confirm that the file you are using has been encoded in a codec that is supported.

Again, for easy reference for those just reading:

https://helpcenter.steinberg.de/hc/en-u ... and-Dorico

uarte
Member
Posts: 613
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:51 pm
Contact:

Re: Can't import any type of video

Post by uarte » Mon Nov 26, 2018 4:10 pm

spikey wrote:
Mon Nov 26, 2018 5:56 am
I found that some .mov files won't load, but the same video in MP4 will it seems.
Exactly. MOV is just a container. The codec inside the MOV file could be one of many. Steinberg will only play back MOV files that contain a codec it recognizes, which is a small subset of all the available codecs.

Like I mentioned to mkok, if your MOV file came from a recent iPhone, then it most likely is encoded in HEVC/H265, which is NOT currently supported by Steinberg. So then you would indeed have to re-encode it into something else, such as MP4/H264 or MOV/H264 in order for it to work in Cubase.

mkok
Junior Member
Posts: 146
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 2:08 pm
Contact:

Re: Can't import any type of video

Post by mkok » Mon Nov 26, 2018 5:33 pm

Thanks guys. It really is pain. I did a conversion to what I thought was H264 but it still wouldn't load. Will try something different in VLC. It was the top option of MP3 inside MP4 H264. Will have to try until I find one that works. Very poor implementation to the point it's almost useless.
i7 960 18gb ram, Zoom LiveTrack L20, Genelc 1029a, Roland TD-30 ekit. SD3 Cubase and Wavelab always latest versions.Lots of other bits.

ChrisDuncan
Member
Posts: 567
Joined: Mon Jun 17, 2013 7:29 pm
Contact:

Re: Can't import any type of video

Post by ChrisDuncan » Mon Nov 26, 2018 7:37 pm

uarte wrote:
Mon Nov 26, 2018 1:48 am
Forget about QuickTime. It is no longer needed. In fact, if you are on Windows, you should NOT have it installed. It is a security risk now. So I suggest you uninstall QuickTime and be done with it, unless you are willing to live with the security risks.
Out of curiosity (and this is not about Cubase), if I get rid of QuickTime on my computer, what happens when I want to play the video types that QT used to run for me? Windows Media Player (I'm on Windows 7) has a limited vocabulary.
Control Room: Cubase 10.0.30 | Windows 7 64 bit | 24 gigs memory | Yamaha TF5 | Mackie MCU
Edit Station: Cubase 9.5.41 | Windows 7 64 bit | 24 gigs memory | UR 22 | CMC TP-QC-AI-CH
Keyboard Station: Cubase 10.0.30 | Windows 10 64 bit | 16 gigs memory | UR 22| CMC TP-AI
~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
Chris Duncan
Atlanta, GA, USA, Earth

mkok
Junior Member
Posts: 146
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 2:08 pm
Contact:

Re: Can't import any type of video

Post by mkok » Tue Nov 27, 2018 9:51 am

Has anyone used vlc to convert video and if so what settings did you use so cubase recognises the format? I’m going by the help table but still seem to be struggling to get in a format from my iPhone to one cubase will open. Cheers
i7 960 18gb ram, Zoom LiveTrack L20, Genelc 1029a, Roland TD-30 ekit. SD3 Cubase and Wavelab always latest versions.Lots of other bits.

uarte
Member
Posts: 613
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:51 pm
Contact:

Re: Can't import any type of video

Post by uarte » Tue Nov 27, 2018 6:25 pm

ChrisDuncan wrote:
Mon Nov 26, 2018 7:37 pm
uarte wrote:
Mon Nov 26, 2018 1:48 am
Forget about QuickTime. It is no longer needed. In fact, if you are on Windows, you should NOT have it installed. It is a security risk now. So I suggest you uninstall QuickTime and be done with it, unless you are willing to live with the security risks.
Out of curiosity (and this is not about Cubase), if I get rid of QuickTime on my computer, what happens when I want to play the video types that QT used to run for me? Windows Media Player (I'm on Windows 7) has a limited vocabulary.
Right... unless there is some really compelling reason for you to keep QuickTime on your Windows machine, and you are willing to accept the risk factors (which are actually more serious than some people want to admit to themselves!), then I'd suggest you seriously consider removing QT from your Windows machine. There are several options for other media players out there for general playback, etc. Personally, I use VLC media player 3 -- http://www.videolan.org/ -- it supports an excellent number of codecs and doesn't mess around with your computer in my experience. It can also be used by Reaper, BTW, in case you ever try that DAW out. (Not that I'm suggesting you try Reaper at all... I'm personally not a fan, but I'm just mentioning it as a point of reference that VLC is solid enough to be used as the actual video engine for another DAW.)

uarte
Member
Posts: 613
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:51 pm
Contact:

Re: Can't import any type of video

Post by uarte » Tue Nov 27, 2018 6:31 pm

mkok wrote:
Tue Nov 27, 2018 9:51 am
Has anyone used vlc to convert video and if so what settings did you use so cubase recognises the format? I’m going by the help table but still seem to be struggling to get in a format from my iPhone to one cubase will open. Cheers
I don't use VLC for video conversion -- wish I could help you with personal experience on that issue. I use Adobe Premiere Pro CC or Adobe Media Encoder CC for conversions. I used to use Vegas Pro for conversions. And for someone who might be willing to experiment, DaVinci Resolve 15 has a free version that might help you out, but that's probably also overkill for this task. I know there are numerous smaller utilities out there that will do something similar for conversion purposes. I just can't personally vouch for them so I'll defer to other folks' experience on good third-party conversion tools besides Adobe or full-featured video editing programs.

mkok
Junior Member
Posts: 146
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 2:08 pm
Contact:

Re: Can't import any type of video

Post by mkok » Wed Nov 28, 2018 12:06 am

Thanks. So vlc looks to be out. Anyone know of a simple feee converter for video files so I can get my iPhone videos into Cubase?
i7 960 18gb ram, Zoom LiveTrack L20, Genelc 1029a, Roland TD-30 ekit. SD3 Cubase and Wavelab always latest versions.Lots of other bits.

uarte
Member
Posts: 613
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:51 pm
Contact:

Re: Can't import any type of video

Post by uarte » Wed Nov 28, 2018 1:17 am

Come to think of it, I remember seeing something mentioned over in the Nuendo forum:

viewtopic.php?f=275&t=118970&start=25

Here's the link:

https://audiospot.audio/audiospot-creativetools

I've never used it, but some Nuendo users seem to like it.

mkok
Junior Member
Posts: 146
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 2:08 pm
Contact:

Re: Can't import any type of video

Post by mkok » Wed Nov 28, 2018 10:02 pm

Thanks I'll take a look
i7 960 18gb ram, Zoom LiveTrack L20, Genelc 1029a, Roland TD-30 ekit. SD3 Cubase and Wavelab always latest versions.Lots of other bits.

mkok
Junior Member
Posts: 146
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 2:08 pm
Contact:

Re: Can't import any type of video

Post by mkok » Thu Nov 29, 2018 12:36 am

uarte wrote:
Wed Nov 28, 2018 1:17 am
Come to think of it, I remember seeing something mentioned over in the Nuendo forum:

viewtopic.php?f=275&t=118970&start=25

Here's the link:

https://audiospot.audio/audiospot-creativetools

I've never used it, but some Nuendo users seem to like it.
Well that worked 😊 must look at throttling back the cpu useage though as it runs all my cores at full 100% and gets very warm. I’m happy for it to take longer and run a bit cooler.

So now I can get the videos into cubase and process the audio. I take it since a Cubase strips the audio from the video I can’t save it back into the video and will have to use another program to re-combine them? Think it’s time to read the manual again now I can get the videos working in cubase.

Cheers for the link. Nice and simple just as I asked 👍
i7 960 18gb ram, Zoom LiveTrack L20, Genelc 1029a, Roland TD-30 ekit. SD3 Cubase and Wavelab always latest versions.Lots of other bits.

uarte
Member
Posts: 613
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:51 pm
Contact:

Re: Can't import any type of video

Post by uarte » Thu Nov 29, 2018 1:21 am

Glad to hear that worked! Haven't had a chance to check it out myself, but seems like a great utility. Cheers!

Puma0382
Senior Member
Posts: 1804
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 6:11 pm
Contact:

Re: Can't import any type of video

Post by Puma0382 » Thu Nov 29, 2018 9:57 am

mkok wrote:
Thu Nov 29, 2018 12:36 am
uarte wrote:
Wed Nov 28, 2018 1:17 am
Come to think of it, I remember seeing something mentioned over in the Nuendo forum:

viewtopic.php?f=275&t=118970&start=25

Here's the link:

https://audiospot.audio/audiospot-creativetools

I've never used it, but some Nuendo users seem to like it.
Well that worked 😊 must look at throttling back the cpu useage though as it runs all my cores at full 100% and gets very warm. I’m happy for it to take longer and run a bit cooler.

So now I can get the videos into cubase and process the audio. I take it since a Cubase strips the audio from the video I can’t save it back into the video and will have to use another program to re-combine them? Think it’s time to read the manual again now I can get the videos working in cubase.

Cheers for the link. Nice and simple just as I asked 👍
No. That same program will do the audio/video merge for you, as well.! Scroll down the page at that link, and watch the 'Show and Tell' video demo to see it in action. It is quick and easy. :)
System 1:- Win10 64bit, Gigabyte H81M m/board, Intel i7 4790 3.6Ghz, 16Gb RAM, NVIDIA GTX 750 Ti, 2 x 22" HD monitors; Steinberg UR44; Cubase Pro v10.5, WaveLab Pro v10.0.10, Studio One v4.5.5, Addictive Drums 2, Komplete 12, StylusRMX

System 2:- Win10 32bit, Q6600 2.4 Ghz, 4Gb RAM, NVIDIA GeForce 8400 GS, Delta 1010LT; Cubase Pro v8.0.40, WaveLab Pro v9.1.0, Komplete10, StylusRMX

mkok
Junior Member
Posts: 146
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 2:08 pm
Contact:

Re: Can't import any type of video

Post by mkok » Thu Nov 29, 2018 1:55 pm

Puma0382 wrote:
Thu Nov 29, 2018 9:57 am
mkok wrote:
Thu Nov 29, 2018 12:36 am
uarte wrote:
Wed Nov 28, 2018 1:17 am
Come to think of it, I remember seeing something mentioned over in the Nuendo forum:

viewtopic.php?f=275&t=118970&start=25

Here's the link:

https://audiospot.audio/audiospot-creativetools

I've never used it, but some Nuendo users seem to like it.
Well that worked 😊 must look at throttling back the cpu useage though as it runs all my cores at full 100% and gets very warm. I’m happy for it to take longer and run a bit cooler.

So now I can get the videos into cubase and process the audio. I take it since a Cubase strips the audio from the video I can’t save it back into the video and will have to use another program to re-combine them? Think it’s time to read the manual again now I can get the videos working in cubase.

Cheers for the link. Nice and simple just as I asked 👍
No. That same program will do the audio/video merge for you, as well.! Scroll down the page at that link, and watch the 'Show and Tell' video demo to see it in action. It is quick and easy. :)
Cheers.

Also let’s you throttle back cpu useage which is good

So basically Cubase can extract the audio so I can process it and that is all? It can’t even save it to the video I just stripped it from? I read the few pages in the manual and they are inadequate to say the least.
i7 960 18gb ram, Zoom LiveTrack L20, Genelc 1029a, Roland TD-30 ekit. SD3 Cubase and Wavelab always latest versions.Lots of other bits.

uarte
Member
Posts: 613
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:51 pm
Contact:

Re: Can't import any type of video

Post by uarte » Thu Nov 29, 2018 9:49 pm

mkok wrote:
Thu Nov 29, 2018 1:55 pm


So basically Cubase can extract the audio so I can process it and that is all? It can’t even save it to the video I just stripped it from?
Correct. At least as of now, with the *new* video engine as of Cubase 9.0.30. Steinberg has promised that kind of functionality will return with a future update, but has not given any idea when that might happen. Hopefully within the Cubase 10 lifespan, but I wouldn't be surprised if it takes them another year or more.

So you have to use some other tool to merge/encode/replace/render your new audio with the video file.

My workflow uses Premiere Pro CC, but some utility like the one listed above seems to be able to do the job too.

mkok
Junior Member
Posts: 146
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 2:08 pm
Contact:

Re: Can't import any type of video

Post by mkok » Thu Nov 29, 2018 9:55 pm

Thanks uarte

And thanks to all who contributed. I’m up and running now converting my old iOS videos I captured with an iPhone 4 and 4s using a foastex adapter that allowed line in and microphones.

So I’m converting in audiospot, stripping audio in cubase and mastering it. I then combine audio and video with audiospot. Next step is learning how to use video editing software. All good fun 😁
i7 960 18gb ram, Zoom LiveTrack L20, Genelc 1029a, Roland TD-30 ekit. SD3 Cubase and Wavelab always latest versions.Lots of other bits.

Puma0382
Senior Member
Posts: 1804
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 6:11 pm
Contact:

Re: Can't import any type of video

Post by Puma0382 » Fri Nov 30, 2018 5:21 pm

mkok wrote:
Thu Nov 29, 2018 9:55 pm
So I’m converting in audiospot, stripping audio in cubase and mastering it. I then combine audio and video with audiospot. Next step is learning how to use video editing software. All good fun 😁
Terrific; great to read this - progress is being made..!!! :) :D
System 1:- Win10 64bit, Gigabyte H81M m/board, Intel i7 4790 3.6Ghz, 16Gb RAM, NVIDIA GTX 750 Ti, 2 x 22" HD monitors; Steinberg UR44; Cubase Pro v10.5, WaveLab Pro v10.0.10, Studio One v4.5.5, Addictive Drums 2, Komplete 12, StylusRMX

System 2:- Win10 32bit, Q6600 2.4 Ghz, 4Gb RAM, NVIDIA GeForce 8400 GS, Delta 1010LT; Cubase Pro v8.0.40, WaveLab Pro v9.1.0, Komplete10, StylusRMX

Post Reply

Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot] and 5 guests