Audio Alignment question

Post general topics related to Nuendo 8 here.
Post Reply
KSD
Junior Member
Posts: 126
Joined: Thu Jul 26, 2012 9:44 am
Contact:

Audio Alignment question

Post by KSD » Fri Dec 14, 2018 1:45 pm

Hello group

There is something within Audio Alignment that I don't understand. When I align an event for the first time, all is fine. But when I undo this, I cannot align it again, it doesn't work anymore. The hit points will show, but it doesn't align. The align symbol in the event will also not appear when this happens.

It also happens if I split an event in 2 events and align both events separate, one will align, but the other not....

Am I missing something?

Best, Alan
N8.2.10 64bit
Mac Pro 10.12.6 six core 3,33 / 40GB RAM / 3xSSD
Mac Pro 10.12.6 twelve core 3,46 / 96GB RAM / 3xSSD
Mac Mini 10.13.2 3.0 i7/16 GB RAM / Flash
Mac Book Pro 10.12.6 quadcore Intel 2,4 i7 / 8GB RAM / 1xSSD
Rednet 16/Rednet 4/Rednet 2
Trinnov DMON8
Colin Broad TMC-1
Artist Control+Transport+Mix
Blackmagic Decklink Studio

User avatar
Fredo
External Moderator
Posts: 2450
Joined: Tue Dec 14, 2010 11:20 am
Contact:

Re: Audio Alignment question

Post by Fredo » Fri Dec 14, 2018 2:31 pm

There's a bug in the Alignment tool. It simply doesn't work correctly.
If I am not mistaking, they are in the process of fixing the issue as we speak.
But I have no idea when the fix will be included.

Fredo

KSD
Junior Member
Posts: 126
Joined: Thu Jul 26, 2012 9:44 am
Contact:

Re: Audio Alignment question

Post by KSD » Fri Dec 14, 2018 3:48 pm

Fredo wrote:
Fri Dec 14, 2018 2:31 pm
There's a bug in the Alignment tool. It simply doesn't work correctly.
If I am not mistaking, they are in the process of fixing the issue as we speak.
But I have no idea when the fix will be included.

Fredo
Hi Fredo

Thanks for your quick reply! Good to know that it is a bug, so I can quit searching what I am doing wrong here :-)

Best, Alan
N8.2.10 64bit
Mac Pro 10.12.6 six core 3,33 / 40GB RAM / 3xSSD
Mac Pro 10.12.6 twelve core 3,46 / 96GB RAM / 3xSSD
Mac Mini 10.13.2 3.0 i7/16 GB RAM / Flash
Mac Book Pro 10.12.6 quadcore Intel 2,4 i7 / 8GB RAM / 1xSSD
Rednet 16/Rednet 4/Rednet 2
Trinnov DMON8
Colin Broad TMC-1
Artist Control+Transport+Mix
Blackmagic Decklink Studio

Oliver.Lucas
Senior Member
Posts: 1400
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 11:26 pm
Contact:

Re: Audio Alignment question

Post by Oliver.Lucas » Fri Dec 14, 2018 3:59 pm

Fredo wrote:
Fri Dec 14, 2018 2:31 pm
....
But I have no idea when the fix will be included.
What is wrong with quality assurance for Nuendo?
Seriously. Why do we suddenly see a constant stream of badly broken features?
VCA, video engine, DOP, audio alignment, rendering with no bus assignments, gui speed, double click intervals, reversing clips, RX integration,...
At the same time tons of game audio headtracking buzzword stuff is released. What's wrong? I really don't get it.

I've switched to ProTools on my main system after being with Nuendo since version 3. That's well over a decade.
Main machine: Hexacore 3.3 Cheese grater with USB3 and RME Raydat, 48GB RAM, Radeon HD 7970, Caldigit FASTA USB C, Intensity Pro, macOS 10.14
Avid ProTools S3

Tumppi Järnefelt
Member
Posts: 496
Joined: Sun Feb 20, 2011 7:22 pm
Contact:

Re: Audio Alignment question

Post by Tumppi Järnefelt » Fri Dec 14, 2018 9:05 pm

Regarding RX...
We had Izotope sales dude visiting us here. Even tho where this happened is purely a Pro Tools house, I asked about what is going on as SB says the problems are because Izotope has not implemented the vst specs correctly and there are so many problems using RX on Nuendo. He "kind of" skipped the question. That tells me all I need to know where is the cause for these problems. Then I asked about will ARA change the situation? He was not quite sure what ARA was and replied something like isn't that the thing with melodyne...
So I would not hold my breath for Izotope to fix these issues. Sad but true.
Intel i7-7700 @3.6 GHz, Win10 home, 64bit
ADK laptop i7, Win7 64bit home
Nuendo 8.xx
Nuendo 10.xx
PT 12.5
RME FF800
DTouch
http://www.finnvox.fi/en/cinepost

Oliver.Lucas
Senior Member
Posts: 1400
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 11:26 pm
Contact:

Re: Audio Alignment question

Post by Oliver.Lucas » Sat Dec 15, 2018 11:42 am

Tumppi Järnefelt wrote:
Fri Dec 14, 2018 9:05 pm
Regarding RX...
We had Izotope sales dude visiting us here. Even tho where this happened is purely a Pro Tools house, I asked about what is going on as SB says the problems are because Izotope has not implemented the vst specs correctly and there are so many problems using RX on Nuendo. He "kind of" skipped the question. That tells me all I need to know where is the cause for these problems. Then I asked about will ARA change the situation? He was not quite sure what ARA was and replied something like isn't that the thing with melodyne...
So I would not hold my breath for Izotope to fix these issues. Sad but true.
To be fair, we never really know how deep the ties of the sales and development/product marketing people between different continents are.
There might very well be someting going on in the background.

Then again, every really desirable audio post 3rd party product that has been released in the recent past got PT/Mac integration right. I'm talking about stuff like EDILoad, Auto Align Post, ReVoice Pro, RX....
Main machine: Hexacore 3.3 Cheese grater with USB3 and RME Raydat, 48GB RAM, Radeon HD 7970, Caldigit FASTA USB C, Intensity Pro, macOS 10.14
Avid ProTools S3

User avatar
MattiasNYC
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3666
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 9:27 am
Contact:

Re: Audio Alignment question

Post by MattiasNYC » Sat Dec 15, 2018 5:01 pm

I think this is simply the result of Izotope choosing where to spend money given what they can make in return, and if that's the case then it's indeed a sign that PT is king in paid, professional post production (and probably also music).

In other words; it makes sense for Izotope to spend money on fixing issues related to PT because most RX customers are using PT. If the pendulum swung to the other side and more people started using Nuendo instead of PT I'm betting we'd see Izotope adjust.

This is probably one of the biggest negatives of using the "underdog" application instead of the 'industry standard'.

Of course, one could just deal with issues and workarounds and hopefully it's still a net positive.
Nuendo 7.1.4 / Lynx TWO-B / Windows 10 Pro 64-bit / Ryzen 1700 3.7GHz (oc) / 16GB Corsair Vengeance DDR4@3200MHz / Nvidia GTX 660 / ASUS x370-A mobo/ 500GB WD Blue system drive / Crucial BX100 250GB SSD media / spinners for library/backup ::::: iZotope RX / Phoenixverb Surround / DaVinci Resolve / Faderport / Applied Acoustics UltraAnalog / my pet pony Frank

Jack V
New Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Thu Jun 27, 2019 6:19 pm
Contact:

Re: Audio Alignment question

Post by Jack V » Thu Jun 27, 2019 11:57 pm

Oliver.Lucas wrote:
Fri Dec 14, 2018 3:59 pm
Fredo wrote:
Fri Dec 14, 2018 2:31 pm
....
But I have no idea when the fix will be included.
What is wrong with quality assurance for Nuendo?
Seriously. Why do we suddenly see a constant stream of badly broken features?
VCA, video engine, DOP, audio alignment, rendering with no bus assignments, gui speed, double click intervals, reversing clips, RX integration,...
At the same time tons of game audio headtracking buzzword stuff is released. What's wrong? I really don't get it.

I've switched to ProTools on my main system after being with Nuendo since version 3. That's well over a decade.

I have recently had to upgrade from Nuendo 5 to 10 because of computer issues. I was really looking forward to it, however I must say that compared to 5 the latest version feels less stable. I really loved the fact it had the audio align built in, but it doesn't work. It's not on at all. I spent almost 500 pounds on the update. I feel a bit missold

Tumppi Järnefelt
Member
Posts: 496
Joined: Sun Feb 20, 2011 7:22 pm
Contact:

Re: Audio Alignment question

Post by Tumppi Järnefelt » Fri Jun 28, 2019 10:49 am

Doesn’t work?
Yes it does. Have used it a lot...

Can you give more info?
Intel i7-7700 @3.6 GHz, Win10 home, 64bit
ADK laptop i7, Win7 64bit home
Nuendo 8.xx
Nuendo 10.xx
PT 12.5
RME FF800
DTouch
http://www.finnvox.fi/en/cinepost

User avatar
Fredo
External Moderator
Posts: 2450
Joined: Tue Dec 14, 2010 11:20 am
Contact:

Re: Audio Alignment question

Post by Fredo » Fri Jun 28, 2019 12:06 pm

In one of the early 8.x versions, there was a bug. Which was fixed in the maintenance releases.
The N10 alignment works even better.

Fredo

Timeline
Junior Member
Posts: 119
Joined: Wed Apr 10, 2013 8:22 pm
Contact:

Re: Audio Alignment question

Post by Timeline » Fri Jun 28, 2019 10:55 pm

this new alignment is incredible!!!!!!!!! in n10.1
Windows 10 64 bit/ Windows 7 64 bit- i7-770k CPU 4.2GHZ, 32 GB

Post Reply

Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest