Elements 10.0.15: Grid Type goes wrong when zooming in

Use this forum for an overview of issues and to report new ones.
Post Reply
TmTmClb
New Member
Posts: 19
Joined: Sat Mar 24, 2018 3:27 pm
Contact:

Elements 10.0.15: Grid Type goes wrong when zooming in

Post by TmTmClb » Fri Mar 08, 2019 7:54 pm

Did I miss a setting somewhere? After a certain level of horizontal zoom-in, the "Bar" and "Beat" grid types suddenly turn into 1/16, and it's not related to the quantize setting...
Cubase_grid_all.png
(27.97 KiB) Not downloaded yet
Quite confusing when working on audio tracks zoomed very close horizontally.
Cubase Elements 10 - Windows 10 x64 - Intel I5 4690s 3.2GHz 4-core - 16 GB RAM - Radeon R9 285 - external instruments and controllers

Martin.Jirsak
Forum Elder
Posts: 17724
Joined: Sun Mar 20, 2011 3:52 pm
Contact:

Re: Elements 10.0.15: Grid Type goes wrong when zooming in

Post by Martin.Jirsak » Sun Mar 10, 2019 8:51 pm

Hi,

Is Adapt to Zoom enabled?
Martin Jirsak
How to show notes of the chord/scale only
Cubase Training

Cubase Pro (last officially supported version all the time)
macOS (last update)

TmTmClb
New Member
Posts: 19
Joined: Sat Mar 24, 2018 3:27 pm
Contact:

Re: Elements 10.0.15: Grid Type goes wrong when zooming in

Post by TmTmClb » Tue Mar 12, 2019 11:33 pm

Martin.Jirsak wrote:
Sun Mar 10, 2019 8:51 pm
Hi,

Is Adapt to Zoom enabled?
Of course not.
Cubase Elements 10 - Windows 10 x64 - Intel I5 4690s 3.2GHz 4-core - 16 GB RAM - Radeon R9 285 - external instruments and controllers

Martin.Jirsak
Forum Elder
Posts: 17724
Joined: Sun Mar 20, 2011 3:52 pm
Contact:

Re: Elements 10.0.15: Grid Type goes wrong when zooming in

Post by Martin.Jirsak » Wed Mar 13, 2019 8:45 am

Hi,

Are you sure the Grid is set to Bars+Beats?
Martin Jirsak
How to show notes of the chord/scale only
Cubase Training

Cubase Pro (last officially supported version all the time)
macOS (last update)

TmTmClb
New Member
Posts: 19
Joined: Sat Mar 24, 2018 3:27 pm
Contact:

Re: Elements 10.0.15: Grid Type goes wrong when zooming in

Post by TmTmClb » Wed Mar 13, 2019 1:58 pm

Martin.Jirsak wrote:
Wed Mar 13, 2019 8:45 am
Hi,

Are you sure the Grid is set to Bars+Beats?
Hi Martin, thanks for keeping up. The answer is yes. Ruler = Bar+Beats, and it makes no difference whether it's also "Bar+Beats Linear" or "Time Linear".
Cubase Elements 10 - Windows 10 x64 - Intel I5 4690s 3.2GHz 4-core - 16 GB RAM - Radeon R9 285 - external instruments and controllers

Martin.Jirsak
Forum Elder
Posts: 17724
Joined: Sun Mar 20, 2011 3:52 pm
Contact:

Re: Elements 10.0.15: Grid Type goes wrong when zooming in

Post by Martin.Jirsak » Wed Mar 13, 2019 3:01 pm

Hi,

I mean, when I have a look to the picture, I can't see anything strange. In some zoom level the smaller grid just disappear because it would be too much of lines in the project.
Martin Jirsak
How to show notes of the chord/scale only
Cubase Training

Cubase Pro (last officially supported version all the time)
macOS (last update)

TmTmClb
New Member
Posts: 19
Joined: Sat Mar 24, 2018 3:27 pm
Contact:

Re: Elements 10.0.15: Grid Type goes wrong when zooming in

Post by TmTmClb » Wed Mar 13, 2019 4:33 pm

Martin.Jirsak wrote:
Wed Mar 13, 2019 3:01 pm
Hi,

I mean, when I have a look to the picture, I can't see anything strange. In some zoom level the smaller grid just disappear because it would be too much of lines in the project.
Ahem, so what's the use of "Adapt to Zoom"?

If we choose, say "Beat" as grid setting, and we turn off "Adapt to zoom", it means we want to see beats, and nothing else! Not "bars only" at the lowest zoom level, then beats when we zoom in, then sixteenth when we continue zooming in (as shown in the pic). Adapt to zoom is OFF.
Cubase Elements 10 - Windows 10 x64 - Intel I5 4690s 3.2GHz 4-core - 16 GB RAM - Radeon R9 285 - external instruments and controllers

Martin.Jirsak
Forum Elder
Posts: 17724
Joined: Sun Mar 20, 2011 3:52 pm
Contact:

Re: Elements 10.0.15: Grid Type goes wrong when zooming in

Post by Martin.Jirsak » Wed Mar 13, 2019 5:00 pm

Hi,

I agree, this is not clear enough in Cubase.

The visual (drawn) grid is not the same as the (Quantize) grid. The Adapt to Zoom means, that the Quantize grid changes based on the zoom factor. So if you zoom in, you get tiny grid for Quantize. If you zoom out, you get 1 bar Quantize grid. This should be in sync with the visual grid (but some exceptions).

If the Adapt to Zoom is disabled, you get fix Quantize grid always (independent on the zoom factor). But the drawn grid is still dependent on the zoom factor.
Martin Jirsak
How to show notes of the chord/scale only
Cubase Training

Cubase Pro (last officially supported version all the time)
macOS (last update)

TmTmClb
New Member
Posts: 19
Joined: Sat Mar 24, 2018 3:27 pm
Contact:

Re: Elements 10.0.15: Grid Type goes wrong when zooming in

Post by TmTmClb » Wed Mar 13, 2019 5:29 pm

:shock: Now it makes sense!!!

"Adapt to Zoom" is in the wrong menu. IMHO, the feature should be available ON/OFF for both visual and Quantize grid. Maybe one in each menu? :)

Thanks!
Cubase Elements 10 - Windows 10 x64 - Intel I5 4690s 3.2GHz 4-core - 16 GB RAM - Radeon R9 285 - external instruments and controllers

Post Reply

Return to “Issues”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Linas and 0 guests