Hitpoint detection broken.

Use this forum for an overview of issues and to report new ones.
TmTmClb
New Member
Posts: 19
Joined: Sat Mar 24, 2018 3:27 pm
Contact:

Re: Hitpoint detection broken.

Post by TmTmClb » Fri Apr 12, 2019 5:52 pm

DrWashington wrote:
Wed Apr 10, 2019 7:34 am
I just want to chime in here and say that, yes, I agree: Steinberg has a problem with releasing software with showstopper bugs that they NEED to address. I'm fighting with Generic Remote at the moment (started another thread) and started reading this.

Ed... Steinberg... this is not acceptable. If major, critical features like this are broken, DO NOT RELEASE THE VERSION IN WHICH THEY ARE BROKEN. Just wait. Abandon your Agile schedule or whatever it is you're following. It's not working.

Many, many of us are getting profoundly fed up with hitting these broken features and wasting hours upon hours trying to figure them out, only to come here to gripe to what often seems like the wind.

Something needs to change. I don't need pretty: I need solid, predictable, reliable. I don't want continual evolution nearly so much as I want STABILITY. I want to know that when I go to use an important feature that it behaves exactly as I expect, consistently. This is the only way muscle memory can be built and the only way flow-states can be achieved. NOTHING is more disruptive than having to go play sysadmin on my own damn computer for 4-6 hours when I should be making music. Nothing.

Your development culture really, really needs to shift toward "professional" first and foremost. It's simply not acceptable to release major versions of software with huge, glaring bugs like this. It simply isn't.

Change.
Couldn't have said it better myself.
Cubase Elements 10 - Windows 10 x64 - Intel I5 4690s 3.2GHz 4-core - 16 GB RAM - Radeon R9 285 - external instruments and controllers

Pablo1980
Member
Posts: 265
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 4:54 pm
Contact:

Re: Hitpoint detection broken.

Post by Pablo1980 » Wed Apr 17, 2019 5:00 pm

Just testing the new update and hitpoints seem a lot better, the new intensity slider is a very good addition, to avoid having a hitpoint in the middle of a note...

Will keep testing but it is definetly a step forward
Film Composer - Argentina

Intel 9990k - Gigabyte Aorus Pro Z390 - 64gb ram - Motu 24ao - Steinberg MR816x (2)
Windows 10 64bit - Cubase 10 Pro - Vepro 7 (two slaves)

User avatar
Norbendo
New Member
Posts: 39
Joined: Tue Nov 20, 2018 10:30 pm
Contact:

Re: Hitpoint detection broken.

Post by Norbendo » Wed Apr 17, 2019 5:39 pm

Hitpoint Detection in C10.0.20 is fixed and works better now. It is not as accurate as in Logic or Pro Tools but better than before the update.

User avatar
MegaPro1999
Member
Posts: 405
Joined: Thu Nov 26, 2015 7:50 am
Contact:

Re: Hitpoint detection broken.

Post by MegaPro1999 » Wed Apr 17, 2019 7:53 pm

Unfortunately, the new intensity slider does not change the partially incorrect positioning of the hitpoints! Problem not solved!
Cubase Pro 9.5.50 + 10.0.40
Win10 (1903) pro
Studio PC:
i7 4790 k, Gigabyte Z97P-D3, 16GB DDR3, 250 GB SSD, 1TB HDD, GTX 970
Live PC:
HP EliteDesk 800 G3, i5 6500 3,2 GHz,
16 GB DDR4, 512 GB m2 SSD

Neumann KH 120, Focusrite Scarlett 6i6 2.gen (Saffire Pro24 DSP, 2x Saffire Pro40)
x32 Producer + 2 x SD16 für live Mix/Recording

Slate, iZotope, HOFA, Melda, Toontrack, FabFilter, NI, Waves, XLN, Klanghelm, Melodyne studio 4

User avatar
beatpete
Senior Member
Posts: 1048
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 2:06 am
Contact:

Re: Hitpoint detection broken.

Post by beatpete » Wed Apr 17, 2019 11:00 pm

It seems better in 10.0.20 to me...
Comp1: Windows 10 64 bit, Asus X99-A USB 3.1, I7 5930K (running at 4500 MHz), 32 gb Corsair Vengeance DDR4 ram, Radeon HD5450 graphics, RME Digiface, Steinberg UR824 and MR816x (X2)
(connected to Digiface), Cubase 9.5.10 64bit
Comp 2: Windows 7 64bit, I5 3450,16 gb ram, VEPro.

User avatar
Norbendo
New Member
Posts: 39
Joined: Tue Nov 20, 2018 10:30 pm
Contact:

Re: Hitpoint detection broken.

Post by Norbendo » Thu Apr 18, 2019 3:36 pm

:(
Attachments
Bildschirmfoto 2019-04-18 um 12.22.28.png
(22.4 KiB) Not downloaded yet

Puma0382
Senior Member
Posts: 1754
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 6:11 pm
Contact:

Re: Hitpoint detection broken.

Post by Puma0382 » Thu Apr 18, 2019 4:31 pm

Sigh... as I suspected; no underlying improvement to the actual Hitpoint Detection algorithm. This 'Intensity slider' business I can imagine is a fruitless task - if it hasn't got the hitpoints placed correctly, first.! No amount of fiddling with that will improve things.

So, he did say...
viewtopic.php?p=846885#p846885
Could you maybe send him that one @Norbendo.?
System 1:- Win10 64bit, Gigabyte H81M m/board, Intel i7 4790 3.6Ghz, 16Gb RAM, NVIDIA GTX 750 Ti, 2 x 22" HD monitors; Steinberg UR44; Cubase Pro v10.0.40, WaveLab Pro v10, Studio One v4.5.3, Addictive Drums 2, Komplete 12, StylusRMX

System 2:- Win10 32bit, Q6600 2.4 Ghz, 4Gb RAM, NVIDIA GeForce 8400 GS, Delta 1010LT; Cubase Pro v8.0.40, WaveLab Pro v9.1.0, Komplete10, StylusRMX

Tj99
Junior Member
Posts: 84
Joined: Wed Dec 06, 2017 9:25 am
Contact:

Re: Hitpoint detection broken.

Post by Tj99 » Mon Apr 22, 2019 7:42 am

Problem is not solved, Hitpoint detection is still off like before. As you can see in this screenshot, nearly every 2nd hit is off. Does not matter how intensity is set.
Image
Attachments
hitpoint.png
(235.88 KiB) Not downloaded yet

User avatar
Norbendo
New Member
Posts: 39
Joined: Tue Nov 20, 2018 10:30 pm
Contact:

Re: Hitpoint detection broken.

Post by Norbendo » Mon Apr 22, 2019 10:22 am

Puma0382 wrote:
Thu Apr 18, 2019 4:31 pm

So, he did say...
viewtopic.php?p=846885#p846885
Could you maybe send him that one @Norbendo.?
He can use any recorded drums, it will not work correctly. Sorry Steinberg, this is not "pro"!

Reinot
New Member
Posts: 5
Joined: Fri Nov 11, 2016 9:26 pm
Contact:

Re: Hitpoint detection broken.

Post by Reinot » Sun Apr 28, 2019 2:33 pm

For me 10.0.20 fixed the issue with hitpoit placement. Now it's seems to be the same as in earlier verions.

But I still can't lock multiple hitpoints at once (shiff+alt). It says "lock multiple hitpoints" but won't actually do it. In previous verions it works just fine.
Anyone have the same problem or I'm doing something wrong?

McBass
Junior Member
Posts: 129
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 3:11 am
Contact:

Re: Hitpoint detection broken.

Post by McBass » Sun Apr 28, 2019 3:05 pm

As far as I am concerned Hitpoint Detection in Cubase is subpar. It is OK for slicing up drum parts with some editing required, but not accurate enough for automatic drum sample replacement (hitpoints to midi function). Not even close for accurate manipulation of non-percussive audio. This latest update seems to have gotten it back to C9 accuracy although some say not? Either way not up to the level needed in a modern DAW.
i7 4770k | Asus Z87 mobo | 16GB RAM | GeForce - GTX760 | UAD-2 Octo | Apollo Twin mkII quad | RME Multiface PCIe + Lynx Hilo | Panorama P6 | Mackie MCU | CC121 | CMC Ai | CMC Pd | MOTU midi128

Windows 10 pro | Cubase Pro 10 & 9.5 | Wavelab 9.5 Elements | Halion 5 | RND Portico | Melodyne Studio 4 | Slate Digital | UAD | Sonnox | Soundtoys | FabFilter | Brainworx | Waves | IK Multimedia | XLN Audio | iZotope & many more plug-ins...it's madness!

Puma0382
Senior Member
Posts: 1754
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 6:11 pm
Contact:

Re: Hitpoint detection broken.

Post by Puma0382 » Sun Apr 28, 2019 4:19 pm

McBass wrote:
Sun Apr 28, 2019 3:05 pm
As far as I am concerned Hitpoint Detection in Cubase is subpar. It is OK for slicing up drum parts with some editing required, but not accurate enough for automatic drum sample replacement (hitpoints to midi function). Not even close for accurate manipulation of non-percussive audio. This latest update seems to have gotten it back to C9 accuracy although some say not? Either way not up to the level needed in a modern DAW.
Please can you post an example file or two of what you mean/expect.?

And yes, also seeing mixed reports on this for v10.0.20 from a few users. Not exactly confidence building... ;)

Am not updating just yet, so can't check myself.
System 1:- Win10 64bit, Gigabyte H81M m/board, Intel i7 4790 3.6Ghz, 16Gb RAM, NVIDIA GTX 750 Ti, 2 x 22" HD monitors; Steinberg UR44; Cubase Pro v10.0.40, WaveLab Pro v10, Studio One v4.5.3, Addictive Drums 2, Komplete 12, StylusRMX

System 2:- Win10 32bit, Q6600 2.4 Ghz, 4Gb RAM, NVIDIA GeForce 8400 GS, Delta 1010LT; Cubase Pro v8.0.40, WaveLab Pro v9.1.0, Komplete10, StylusRMX

User avatar
dezzo
Junior Member
Posts: 64
Joined: Sat Jan 31, 2015 10:26 pm
Contact:

Re: Hitpoint detection broken.

Post by dezzo » Sun Apr 28, 2019 7:19 pm

Not updating here as well. Still waiting......
Intel Core I7 5820k 3.30GHz, Asus X99 E WS, 64Gb Ram, Nvidia Quardo P400, Cubase 9.5, Win10
MacPro 2,8 GHz Quad Xeon (early 2008), 24 GB Ram, OSX 10.11.5, 1x ATI Radeon HD5770

Timo
Member
Posts: 350
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 12:57 pm
Contact:

Re: Hitpoint detection broken.

Post by Timo » Mon Apr 29, 2019 7:07 am

Just an idea: Is this bug probably sample rate dependent?
Tanzmusik und Hochzeitsband: The Rainbows - Music & Fun

etchell
Member
Posts: 380
Joined: Fri Jan 14, 2011 9:27 am
Contact:

Re: Hitpoint detection broken.

Post by etchell » Sun May 05, 2019 6:36 pm

Timo wrote:
Mon Apr 29, 2019 7:07 am
Just an idea: Is this bug probably sample rate dependent?
Mentioned this before (somewhere else) that perhaps the calculation percision, audio buffer, bit rate, sample rate and file format may imapct HPD? It was once discovered that automation was less accurate with high buffer size..
Main Studio System
Windows 10 Pro 64 Bit - 1903 - 32 GB RAM - Intel Xeon E3-1231v3 - RME Fireface UC - Samsung SSD 860 EVO (SATA 6) 250GB (System & Cubase + 3rd Party VST(i))
Cubase 10.0.30 Pro / 9.5.41 Pro

etchell
Member
Posts: 380
Joined: Fri Jan 14, 2011 9:27 am
Contact:

Re: Hitpoint detection broken.

Post by etchell » Sun May 05, 2019 6:37 pm

BUT: I wonder why Steinberg could not figure this out by themselfes?
Main Studio System
Windows 10 Pro 64 Bit - 1903 - 32 GB RAM - Intel Xeon E3-1231v3 - RME Fireface UC - Samsung SSD 860 EVO (SATA 6) 250GB (System & Cubase + 3rd Party VST(i))
Cubase 10.0.30 Pro / 9.5.41 Pro

BrendanMcL
New Member
Posts: 32
Joined: Mon May 01, 2017 3:38 am
Contact:

Re: Hitpoint detection broken.

Post by BrendanMcL » Tue May 07, 2019 5:45 am

Folks, just read through this whole thread and got me thinking that it may be related to another bug that's been driving me nuts since 9.0 - tempo detection.

With that bug, tempo detection only works at 44.1k. At any other sample rate it catastrophically freezes.

Though asked above in passing, I'd be interested to know if the hit point problems are only occurring in projects that are not 44.1k? What rates are you using?

Many thanks
Brendan

Tj99
Junior Member
Posts: 84
Joined: Wed Dec 06, 2017 9:25 am
Contact:

Re: Hitpoint detection broken.

Post by Tj99 » Fri May 10, 2019 10:17 am

BrendanMcL wrote:
Tue May 07, 2019 5:45 am
Folks, just read through this whole thread and got me thinking that it may be related to another bug that's been driving me nuts since 9.0 - tempo detection.

With that bug, tempo detection only works at 44.1k. At any other sample rate it catastrophically freezes.

Though asked above in passing, I'd be interested to know if the hit point problems are only occurring in projects that are not 44.1k? What rates are you using?

Many thanks
Brendan
I am using 44.1 always, and you can see my results above at the screenshot I posted. But yeah, I really cannot understand either why Steinberg cannot find out these issues by themselves.

User avatar
Stephen57
Senior Member
Posts: 1733
Joined: Sat May 30, 2015 5:32 pm
Location: New York, NY
Contact:

Re: Hitpoint detection broken.

Post by Stephen57 » Fri May 10, 2019 9:19 pm

etchell wrote:
Sun May 05, 2019 6:36 pm
Timo wrote:
Mon Apr 29, 2019 7:07 am
Just an idea: Is this bug probably sample rate dependent?
Mentioned this before (somewhere else) that perhaps the calculation percision, audio buffer, bit rate, sample rate and file format may imapct HPD? It was once discovered that automation was less accurate with high buffer size..
Based on your signature, you have a system that exceeds the standards required to run Cubase at a good level of computer performance. How far are we expected to go with the machine side to get an "adequate" DAW box to work with? And what was all the hype about the new 64 bit system and all that? Where is it? After 30 years of development, one would think hitpoint detection would be nailed and users would flock to the program because of how easy it was to cut to hit points in Cubase.
-------------------------------------------------------
DAW: Cubase Pro 10 (Main), Cubase Pro 9.5 (Backup); PC: HP Z230, i5 CPU quad-core 3.5 Ghz, 16 Gigs RAM; OS: Win 7 Pro 64-bit; Audio Converters, Scarlett 2I4, Zoom UCR-8; USB MIDI Controller, Akai Advance 49. VST-Is: Spectrasonics Omnisphere 2.5, Stylus RMX; Air Music: Hybrid, Transfuser 2, Vacuum Pro, Velvet, Xpand2; Novation: Bass Station; Sonovox Grand Piano; Rack: Proteus 2000, Korg 03R/W, Yamaha TG 33. Monitoring with KRK Rokit 8/G3, Tannoy PBM 6.5 II, Mics. Scheops, Sennheiser, Rode, Lectrosonics RF, etc.

Help with Cubase:
Documentation: https://steinberg.help/
Location/file paths of presets in Cubase and Nuendo: https://helpcenter.steinberg.de/hc/en-u ... nd-Nuendo-
Preferences: https://helpcenter.steinberg.de/hc/en-u ... and-Nuendo

Post Reply

Return to “Issues”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: delta and 0 guests