Disabling Note off status byte

Post general topics related to Cubase Pro 9, Cubase Artist 9 and Cubase Elements 9 here.
Post Reply
nealeedee2019
New Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed May 15, 2019 8:04 pm
Contact:

Disabling Note off status byte

Post by nealeedee2019 »

Hi. I would like to know if there is anyway to stop the 'Note off' status byte (during MIDI transmission), from being sent from Cubase Artist 9.5. Thanks

-steve-
External Moderator
Posts: 9683
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:42 pm
Contact:

Re: Disabling Note off status byte

Post by -steve- »

None that I know of.

nealeedee2019
New Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed May 15, 2019 8:04 pm
Contact:

Re: Disabling Note off status byte

Post by nealeedee2019 »

Thank you.

-steve-
External Moderator
Posts: 9683
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:42 pm
Contact:

Re: Disabling Note off status byte

Post by -steve- »

May I ask what you need to accomplish? Maybe there's another method...

nealeedee2019
New Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed May 15, 2019 8:04 pm
Contact:

Re: Disabling Note off status byte

Post by nealeedee2019 »

I'm programming a light show from a MIDI track and to get very smooth dimming ( and as quite a few lights are being dimmed) a lot of bytes need to be sent. I built a MIDI to DMX converter and it programmed to only respond to note 'Values', not Note off's. So I was thinking if there was a way of thinning out the data.. Thanks.

-steve-
External Moderator
Posts: 9683
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:42 pm
Contact:

Re: Disabling Note off status byte

Post by -steve- »

Ah, I understand. Not from inside Cubase, as far as I know.

Can you program a filter in your device? Otherwise, something like Bome Midi Translator, or even MIDI-OX might be able to filter out those messages.

User avatar
raino
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 4809
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 2:41 am
Location: San Francisco
Contact:

Re: Disabling Note off status byte

Post by raino »

The tools Steve mentioned will probably get what you want.

But if not, and if you are OK with a bit of programming, then the ChucK programming language (Cal Arts) should easily do it. I suspect you'd find that ChucK is useful in other ways for what you are doing.
rodger

Cubase Pro 11, Win10 Home, Halion6, Groove Agent 5, WaveLab Pro 10, BFD3, GPO, Komplete Ultimate 9, Waves Gold, Misc. other

i7 4771 Haswell Processor 3.5GHz, ADK LGA1150, 16GB RAM, GeForce GTX970, RME Fireface 400, 2x UAD-2

Latest: Bawdy Politik https://rodgerraino.bandcamp.com/releases

Post Reply

Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests