Disabling Note off status byte

Post general topics related to Cubase Pro 9, Cubase Artist 9 and Cubase Elements 9 here.
Post Reply
nealeedee2019
New Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed May 15, 2019 8:04 pm
Contact:

Disabling Note off status byte

Post by nealeedee2019 » Wed May 15, 2019 8:19 pm

Hi. I would like to know if there is anyway to stop the 'Note off' status byte (during MIDI transmission), from being sent from Cubase Artist 9.5. Thanks

-steve-
External Moderator
Posts: 9041
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:42 pm

Re: Disabling Note off status byte

Post by -steve- » Wed May 15, 2019 8:35 pm

None that I know of.
independent manufacturer rep
cubase pro, nuendo, and dorico pro; latest versions
windows pro 10 | i7-3770k | ga-77x-ud5h | 32 Gb | UR-RT2 | k-mix audio interface
hp spectre x360 2018 | 16 Gb

nealeedee2019
New Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed May 15, 2019 8:04 pm
Contact:

Re: Disabling Note off status byte

Post by nealeedee2019 » Thu May 16, 2019 7:33 pm

Thank you.

-steve-
External Moderator
Posts: 9041
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:42 pm

Re: Disabling Note off status byte

Post by -steve- » Thu May 16, 2019 7:58 pm

May I ask what you need to accomplish? Maybe there's another method...
independent manufacturer rep
cubase pro, nuendo, and dorico pro; latest versions
windows pro 10 | i7-3770k | ga-77x-ud5h | 32 Gb | UR-RT2 | k-mix audio interface
hp spectre x360 2018 | 16 Gb

nealeedee2019
New Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Wed May 15, 2019 8:04 pm
Contact:

Re: Disabling Note off status byte

Post by nealeedee2019 » Sun May 19, 2019 6:35 pm

I'm programming a light show from a MIDI track and to get very smooth dimming ( and as quite a few lights are being dimmed) a lot of bytes need to be sent. I built a MIDI to DMX converter and it programmed to only respond to note 'Values', not Note off's. So I was thinking if there was a way of thinning out the data.. Thanks.

-steve-
External Moderator
Posts: 9041
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:42 pm

Re: Disabling Note off status byte

Post by -steve- » Sun May 19, 2019 7:11 pm

Ah, I understand. Not from inside Cubase, as far as I know.

Can you program a filter in your device? Otherwise, something like Bome Midi Translator, or even MIDI-OX might be able to filter out those messages.
independent manufacturer rep
cubase pro, nuendo, and dorico pro; latest versions
windows pro 10 | i7-3770k | ga-77x-ud5h | 32 Gb | UR-RT2 | k-mix audio interface
hp spectre x360 2018 | 16 Gb

User avatar
raino
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3661
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 2:41 am
Location: San Francisco
Contact:

Re: Disabling Note off status byte

Post by raino » Sun May 19, 2019 10:09 pm

The tools Steve mentioned will probably get what you want.

But if not, and if you are OK with a bit of programming, then the ChucK programming language (Cal Arts) should easily do it. I suspect you'd find that ChucK is useful in other ways for what you are doing.
rodger

Cubase Pro 10.0.40, Win10 Home, Halion6, BFD3, GPO, Komplete Ultimate 9, Waves Gold, Misc. other

i7 4771 Haswell Processor 3.5GHz, ADK LGA1150, 16GB RAM, GeForce GTX970, RME Fireface 400, 2x UAD-2

Post Reply

Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests