10.0.40 Update

Post general topics related to Cubase Pro 10, Cubase Artist 10 and Cubase Elements 10 here.
Puma0382
Senior Member
Posts: 2066
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 6:11 pm
Contact:

Re: 10.0.40 Update

Post by Puma0382 »

Jim Beam wrote:
Thu Sep 05, 2019 5:38 am

I guess real ARA 2 integration will be a loooong way :(
They could surprise us with a v10.0.50 - ahead of the next big 10.5 release... maybe... :)
System 1:- Win10 64bit, Gigabyte H81M m/board, Intel i7 4790 3.6Ghz, 16Gb RAM, NVIDIA GTX 750 Ti, 2 x 22" HD monitors; Steinberg UR44; Cubase Pro v10.5.20 (and C11 testing), WaveLab Pro v10.0.40, Studio One v4.6.1, Dorico Elements v3.5.10, Addictive Drums 2, Komplete 12, StylusRMX

System 2:- Win10 32bit, Q6600 2.4 Ghz, 4Gb RAM, NVIDIA GeForce 8400 GS, Delta 1010LT; Cubase Pro v8.0.40, WaveLab Pro v9.1.0, Komplete10, StylusRMX

User avatar
Sonik
Senior Member
Posts: 1023
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 10:34 pm
Contact:

Re: 10.0.40 Update

Post by Sonik »

Jim Beam wrote:
Thu Sep 05, 2019 5:38 am
Bummer... none of theses were fixed:

- Comping: ARA 2 activated on events on lanes (comping) can cause Cubase to freeze. Render the tracks first, then use ARA 2

- Fades and gain on events: Fades and gain changes on events having ARA 2 activated will not be processed by the ARA 2 plug-in. Render the tracks first, then use ARA 2

I guess real ARA 2 integration will be a loooong way :(
:(
Macbook Pro i9 32gb|Studio One 5|Protools 2020.11|Cubase Pro 10.5.20|Wavelab 10.0.40|Logic X|Apollo Quad|2xUAD-2 Sattellite
Manley Massive Passive|Thermionic Phoenix Mastering Plus|Maselec MLA-2|API 2500|Avalon 737sp|Summit TLA-100A|Distressor EL8-X|Apogee Symphony||Euphonix McMix x2|Dangerous Music 2 Bus LT|Grace Design m905|ATC SCM20 ASL Pro|Amphion One18|
Halion Sonic 3|Komplete12 Ultimate|Stylus RMX|Trilian|Omnisphere 2.6|VSL Strings|EW Pianos|ReFx Nexus 3|AirMusicTech|Sylenth|Predator|Kick 2|Serum|ANA2|Korg Collection 2
UAD|Waves|Soundtoys|Melodyne|Softube|Brainworx|PluginAlliance|Fabfilter|Sonnox|Eventide|Oeksound

Maincat
Member
Posts: 402
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 6:34 pm
Contact:

Re: 10.0.40 Update

Post by Maincat »

It's worrying that the eLicenser software installed by 10.0.40 is out of date. I've had to download the latest version and install it.

A bad mistake Steinberg.
Steve
Cubase Pro 10.0.40, Windows 10 Pro 64 Bit Version 1903, 8 Gig RAM, AMD Phenom II 955 BE X4, 27" Acer LCD (X2), GX460, Steinberg UR242, Yamaha KX8, Nektar LX88, Shure SM58, Yamaha HS50Ms with Yamaha HS8M Sub., Yamaha HPH-MT7W Headphones, Kontakt 5.7.3, The Grand 3.1, Neo Soul Keys, Groove Agent 4, WaveLab Elements 10, ASUS Nexus 7 2013, Android 6.0, Cubase IC PRO and lots of other stuff.

msy
Member
Posts: 398
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 11:37 pm
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Re: 10.0.40 Update

Post by msy »

ckon wrote:
Wed Sep 04, 2019 11:39 am
Steve Helstrip wrote:
Wed Sep 04, 2019 11:14 am
Still no fix for broken Sampler Track file location after Backup Project :roll:

viewtopic.php?f=286&t=165711
Well, i don't expect much these days from Steinberg regarding this kind of issue, could be a year a way! Alongside paid upgrade............
Yea, that's a huge bug. I lost all samples that was used with Sampler Tracks in a project because of that... Cubase tries to open the samples from OLD folders which I had deleted after backing up the project. It is the same in 9.5. Cubase 10 demo expired before I had the time to test it so thanks for the confirmation.

I wonder if the DOP bug where original files are sometimes overwritten and UNDO won't work exists in Cubase 10 still..?
Cubase Pro 10.5.20 (and testing 11.0)
OS: Windows 10 (1903)
Soundcard: RME Digiface USB with ADA8200 + ARC USB
DAW: AMD Ryzen 3950x | ASUS Prime x570-P | 32GB DDR4 3600MHz | Intel p660 NVMe M.2 2TB | Samsung EVO SSD 250GB SATA | Sapphire Pulse Radeon RX 5700 XT (set to PCIE 3.0 in BIOS w/drivers Adrenaline v19.11.3)
Screen: Philips 439P9H (Curved SuperWide 32:10) @ 3840x1200
Computer related hardware: 2xUAD-2 Duo PCIE, BCF2000 (MCU), Nord Wave, Eurorack via ES3/ADAT
Other DAWs: Bitwig 3.3

Rob Elliott
Junior Member
Posts: 146
Joined: Tue Jan 04, 2011 5:05 pm
Contact:

Re: 10.0.40 Update

Post by Rob Elliott »

Maincat wrote:
Thu Sep 05, 2019 12:58 pm
It's worrying that the eLicenser software installed by 10.0.40 is out of date. I've had to download the latest version and install it.

A bad mistake Steinberg.

I have downloaded and installed the LATEST e-lic software AHEAD of this CB update - will updating now 'undo' this and push me back to an out-of-date e-lic version?
"What would you attempt to do if you knew you could not fail?"


W10 - 128 gb ram / i9

skijumptoes
Member
Posts: 766
Joined: Tue May 07, 2019 9:51 pm
Contact:

Re: 10.0.40 Update

Post by skijumptoes »

Rob Elliott wrote:
Thu Sep 05, 2019 3:33 pm
I have downloaded and installed the LATEST e-lic software AHEAD of this CB update - will updating now 'undo' this and push me back to an out-of-date e-lic version?
That's what happened to me, so yes - you'll see it install as you update. Poor show from Steinberg. :(

Rudie Vissenberg
Junior Member
Posts: 87
Joined: Fri Jan 28, 2011 3:16 pm
Location: Houten
Contact:

Re: 10.0.40 Update

Post by Rudie Vissenberg »

Rudie Vissenberg wrote:
Wed Sep 04, 2019 9:11 pm
After installing the 10.0.40 update I can't get any audio or even any audio activity from Cubase. I even tried 9.5 but also there. I see no audio activity at all in Cubase and no sound coming out of the system. I do get audio when I use another app and from webpages. I have a UR12 and reinstalled the yamaha driver and checked all the settings in Cubase but I cannot see any problem. The UR12 is the only active sound card. The only weird behaviour I see when I open a file is that the screen: loading vst mixer is flashing like crazy, which it never did before.

Cubase is *knuf* up but cannot find the cause. Please reply quick!
after reinstalling Cubase from a freshly downloaded file, still no result. Windows settings were all good. Then I started looking at the files I used. I used mostly Symphonic Orchestra and I could not play any of the samples.
Turns out that the update destroyed the file with the locations settings for Symphonic Orchestra. After relocating them and a restart of Cubase everything works again.
Very sloppy update. Not amused.
Win10 64bit, Intel i7-9700K at 3.6 GHz, 64Gig RAM, AMD Radeon R7 200, Cubase 10.5, Dorico 3.5, Motu M2, Casio PX-110 piano

Rob Elliott
Junior Member
Posts: 146
Joined: Tue Jan 04, 2011 5:05 pm
Contact:

Re: 10.0.40 Update

Post by Rob Elliott »

skijumptoes wrote:
Thu Sep 05, 2019 3:49 pm
Rob Elliott wrote:
Thu Sep 05, 2019 3:33 pm
I have downloaded and installed the LATEST e-lic software AHEAD of this CB update - will updating now 'undo' this and push me back to an out-of-date e-lic version?
That's what happened to me, so yes - you'll see it install as you update. Poor show from Steinberg. :(

Well that's a shame. :(
"What would you attempt to do if you knew you could not fail?"


W10 - 128 gb ram / i9

Rhino
Member
Posts: 355
Joined: Tue Jun 14, 2011 5:20 am
Contact:

Re: 10.0.40 Update

Post by Rhino »

---
Last edited by Rhino on Wed Nov 04, 2020 9:31 pm, edited 1 time in total.
When you tear out a man's tongue, you are not proving him a liar, you're only telling the world that you fear what he might say.
(George R.R. Martin)

Invicta
New Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Sep 25, 2013 9:34 am
Contact:

Re: 10.0.40 Update

Post by Invicta »

With regard to the wrong elicenser version, I did this (you need winrar installed on your system):
- right click on "Cubase_10.0.40_Update_win.exe"
- select 'Open with winrar'
- Navigate to 'Cubase 10 Update\Additional Content\Copy Protection Driver' folder
- replace 'eLicenserControlSetup.exe' with latest version (6.11.8.9256)
- Close winrar and update Cubase without elicenser problem

User avatar
Prock
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3982
Joined: Sat Jan 05, 2013 4:22 pm
Location: Connecticut, USA
Contact:

Re: 10.0.40 Update

Post by Prock »

skijumptoes wrote:
Thu Sep 05, 2019 3:49 pm
Rob Elliott wrote:
Thu Sep 05, 2019 3:33 pm
I have downloaded and installed the LATEST e-lic software AHEAD of this CB update - will updating now 'undo' this and push me back to an out-of-date e-lic version?
That's what happened to me, so yes - you'll see it install as you update. Poor show from Steinberg. :(
As I reported in a different topic...
I also updated to the latest eLCC software (v6.11.8.9256) prior to updating to 10.0.40. The CB update did not change the eLCC to a previous version. Weird.

Regards. 8-)
Last edited by Prock on Thu Sep 05, 2019 8:32 pm, edited 1 time in total.
PRock Studio

DAW: Cubase Pro 11, OS: Win 10 Pro x64, CPU: Intel Core i7 4700K @ 4.0GHz, RAM: 32GB/DDR4/2800MHz, Graphics: 4GB GeForce GTX 960, Mobo: MSI Z170A Gaming Pro Carbon, AI: PreSonus Studio 192 Mobile, Mic Preamp: PreSonus TubePre, Headphone Amp: PreSonus HP4, Studio Monitors: Mackie MR5, 3rd Party VSTs: GSi VB3-II, SampleTank 3, Amplitube 4, Miroslav Philharmonik 2, EZDrummer 2

https://soundcloud.com/prockstudio

skijumptoes
Member
Posts: 766
Joined: Tue May 07, 2019 9:51 pm
Contact:

Re: 10.0.40 Update

Post by skijumptoes »

Rhino wrote:
Thu Sep 05, 2019 7:45 pm
no, this would be extremely bad practice, false advertising - if it were true.
Steinberg announced ARA for C10, not some crippled lookalike.
Yeah it's a bigger shame as it came so late in the C10 life cycle too (Presuming C10.5 hits when we expect)... And was a big part of many users upgrading.

I'd like to think that maybe if enough people made a stink they would offer good pricing on the upgrade to C10.5.. Me personally, i can't see myself jumping on C10.5 straight away based on the long dev time for C10... But we'll see what it offers before jumping too many conclusions.. But yeah, they need to think about the effect this has on people's mindsets of upgrading on day one or not.

skijumptoes
Member
Posts: 766
Joined: Tue May 07, 2019 9:51 pm
Contact:

Re: 10.0.40 Update

Post by skijumptoes »

Prock wrote:
Thu Sep 05, 2019 8:27 pm
I also updated to the latest eLCC software (v6.11.8.9256) prior to updating to 10.0.40. The update did not change the eLCC to a previous version. Weird.
Yeah that really is strange, did you not get any kind of install notification for eLCC when upgrading to 10.0.40? I updated within an hour or two of the update going up, so perhaps it's something they've since fixed?

Rhino
Member
Posts: 355
Joined: Tue Jun 14, 2011 5:20 am
Contact:

Re: 10.0.40 Update

Post by Rhino »

---
Last edited by Rhino on Wed Nov 04, 2020 9:31 pm, edited 1 time in total.
When you tear out a man's tongue, you are not proving him a liar, you're only telling the world that you fear what he might say.
(George R.R. Martin)

User avatar
Prock
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3982
Joined: Sat Jan 05, 2013 4:22 pm
Location: Connecticut, USA
Contact:

Re: 10.0.40 Update

Post by Prock »

skijumptoes wrote:
Thu Sep 05, 2019 8:30 pm
Prock wrote:
Thu Sep 05, 2019 8:27 pm
I also updated to the latest eLCC software (v6.11.8.9256) prior to updating to 10.0.40. The update did not change the eLCC to a previous version. Weird.
Yeah that really is strange, did you not get any kind of install notification for eLCC when upgrading to 10.0.40? I updated within an hour or two of the update going up, so perhaps it's something they've since fixed?
I did not notice any kind of eLCC installation notification during this update. I estimate that I downloaded/installed the CB update maybe 6 hours or so after the release.

I have complained numerous times to Steinberg about the eLCC getting "downgraded" to an older version during CB updates. I was told that the CB installer checks for a newer version of the eLCC and it will install it. For me, that was not the case until about a year ago when my eLCC version stopped being downgraded. Who knows... Steinberg should review for sure.

Regards. 8-)
PRock Studio

DAW: Cubase Pro 11, OS: Win 10 Pro x64, CPU: Intel Core i7 4700K @ 4.0GHz, RAM: 32GB/DDR4/2800MHz, Graphics: 4GB GeForce GTX 960, Mobo: MSI Z170A Gaming Pro Carbon, AI: PreSonus Studio 192 Mobile, Mic Preamp: PreSonus TubePre, Headphone Amp: PreSonus HP4, Studio Monitors: Mackie MR5, 3rd Party VSTs: GSi VB3-II, SampleTank 3, Amplitube 4, Miroslav Philharmonik 2, EZDrummer 2

https://soundcloud.com/prockstudio

Rhino
Member
Posts: 355
Joined: Tue Jun 14, 2011 5:20 am
Contact:

Re: 10.0.40 Update

Post by Rhino »

---
Last edited by Rhino on Wed Nov 04, 2020 9:30 pm, edited 1 time in total.
When you tear out a man's tongue, you are not proving him a liar, you're only telling the world that you fear what he might say.
(George R.R. Martin)

etchell
Member
Posts: 632
Joined: Fri Jan 14, 2011 9:27 am
Contact:

Re: 10.0.40 Update

Post by etchell »

About the eLicenser issue: I saw during the installation of the update installer on my 10.0.30 system / Windows 10 Pro / 1903 (without the latest feature KB) that eLicenser software was installed/updated, which surprised me. As usually, I started the eLicencer control center after the update and it threw a couple of errors about too old / outdated files and components. Then I downloaded the latest eLicenser installer from Steinberg and installed it and after that the control center opened with no errors. Also CB 10.0.40 opened without any problems.

Anyways, not very professional and a bit concerning. Should not happen...
Main Studio System
Windows 10 Pro 64 Bit - 1909 - 32 GB RAM - Intel Xeon E3-1231v3 - RME Fireface UC - Samsung SSD 860 EVO (SATA 6) 250GB (System & Cubase + 3rd Party VST(i)) - Samsing SSD 860 EVO 500 GB instrument & sample libraries - Toshiba HDD 1TB Projects and more sample libraries
Cubase 10.0.60 Pro / 10.5.20 Pro / 11.0.0 Pro

James K
Member
Posts: 884
Joined: Thu Dec 23, 2010 10:43 am
Contact:

Re: 10.0.40 Update

Post by James K »

Regarding the elicenser rollback which also happened to me with this update. If Steinberg has a logical reason for doing this I suppose we would appreciate an explanation otherwise it is simply an error on their part and could have been avoided with due care and attention on their part.
27 in - iMac 2011 , 16 Gigs RAM ,
Sierra Cubase Pro 10.5.12
98% of Steinberg Instruments
UR28M
CC121

User avatar
Magnus_N
Junior Member
Posts: 172
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2016 11:26 am
Contact:

Re: 10.0.40 Update

Post by Magnus_N »

My experience of this update was identical to etchell's, above. IMHO the elicenser debacle is unfortunate, but not a big deal, since it was so easy to fix.

/Magnus
Cubase Pro 10, Wavelab Elements 9.5, Windows 10, RME HDSP 9632, i7-6700K CPU @ 4.00 GHz, 32 GB RAM

User avatar
cmbourget
Member
Posts: 390
Joined: Fri Dec 28, 2012 3:47 am
Contact:

Re: 10.0.40 Update

Post by cmbourget »

10.0.40 has arrived.
Cubase Pro10.5, Samplitude Pro X4, Dorico Pro 3.5, Wavelab Pro 10, SpectraLayers 6, Pro Tools 2020, Sibelius 6.
PC Windows 10, Intel Xeon E5-2667 v2 3.30GHz, 8 cores, 64 Go + Macpro 5.1 upgraded.
Prism Sound Atlas, Solo Be and Focal sub, etc.

User avatar
Arionas
Junior Member
Posts: 167
Joined: Tue Oct 27, 2015 10:43 am
Contact:

Re: 10.0.40 Update

Post by Arionas »

cmbourget wrote:
Fri Sep 06, 2019 12:13 pm
10.0.40 has arrived.
2 days ago! ;)
Cubase Pro 10.5 - Wavelab 10 - Nuendo 4 - Reaper 5 - Pro Tools 12 - Logic X - Harrison Mixbus
Mac Pro 2010, 3.33 x2, 12 cores - High Sierra - RME Fireface 802

User avatar
Rick Waters
Junior Member
Posts: 72
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 2:27 am
Contact:

Re: 10.0.40 Update

Post by Rick Waters »

Why was this update not officially announced as others have been in the past?
Cubase Pro (last officially supported version all the time) / Win 10 (64) (last officially supported version all the time)
Intel Core i9-9900K CPU @ 3.60GHz 16.0 GB Ram / Apollo X4 |2 UAD-2 Quads | Behringer Ultragain ADA 8200

User avatar
Prock
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3982
Joined: Sat Jan 05, 2013 4:22 pm
Location: Connecticut, USA
Contact:

Re: 10.0.40 Update

Post by Prock »

Rick Waters wrote:
Fri Sep 06, 2019 7:24 pm
Why was this update not officially announced as others have been in the past?
+1

Regards. 8-)
PRock Studio

DAW: Cubase Pro 11, OS: Win 10 Pro x64, CPU: Intel Core i7 4700K @ 4.0GHz, RAM: 32GB/DDR4/2800MHz, Graphics: 4GB GeForce GTX 960, Mobo: MSI Z170A Gaming Pro Carbon, AI: PreSonus Studio 192 Mobile, Mic Preamp: PreSonus TubePre, Headphone Amp: PreSonus HP4, Studio Monitors: Mackie MR5, 3rd Party VSTs: GSi VB3-II, SampleTank 3, Amplitube 4, Miroslav Philharmonik 2, EZDrummer 2

https://soundcloud.com/prockstudio

Chizzler
New Member
Posts: 41
Joined: Sun Nov 25, 2018 9:26 pm
Contact:

Re: 10.0.40 Update

Post by Chizzler »

Rhino wrote:
Thu Sep 05, 2019 7:45 pm
James K wrote:
Thu Sep 05, 2019 4:43 am
Looks like they are saving that fix for the 10.5 paid upgrade. Unfortunately this is common practice.
no, this would be extremely bad practice, false advertising - if it were true.
Steinberg announced ARA for C10, not some crippled lookalike.
but I expect them to play catch up with Studio One and fix ARA / Melodyne in 10.0.50 - all the current bugs and no-gos, and most of all, tempo detection :!:
they can't afford to play second fiddle with such a 1:1 comparable feature.
The reference standard for music production software
as the product page says ...

Rhino
I agree, it would be extremely bad practice and false advertising. The ARA2 implementation in Cubase 10 is a disgrace and it's so flaky, undocumented and missing parts, it's an utter embarrassment. For the first time in about 30 years I'm considering moving on from Cubase to Studio One, which I'm demoing now. That's a really big deal for me, I've stuck with Steinberg through thick and thin and it's only been in recent years I've actually had to join this forum. I've no idea why Steinberg feel they've got to cram in so much half working, useless garbage, but I suspect it's so the marketing department can tick box's, whilst ignoring that the stuff just don't work like it should. I'm just so disappointed with Cubase 10.
Cubase Pro 10, Mac Pro 12 Core, 64Gb, Mojave, UAD Apollo 8P's

skijumptoes
Member
Posts: 766
Joined: Tue May 07, 2019 9:51 pm
Contact:

Re: 10.0.40 Update

Post by skijumptoes »

Rick Waters wrote:
Fri Sep 06, 2019 7:24 pm
Why was this update not officially announced as others have been in the past?
Probably as it’s not carrying anything major? I.e. ARA support was quite substantial.
But yeah, it is odd, if it weren’t for the forums I probably wouldn’t have been aware.

Post Reply

Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: gps and 5 guests