sound output problem

Use this forum for an overview of issues and to report new ones.
Post Reply
User avatar
Christo_Petkov
New Member
Posts: 38
Joined: Sun May 01, 2016 11:57 pm
Contact:

sound output problem

Post by Christo_Petkov » Fri Dec 06, 2019 3:59 pm

I run Cubase 10.The sound from the midi cannels comes out to the headphones only while the sound from a audio/instrument channel comes out only from the laptop loudspeakers. Can anybody help? Thanks in advance! :)

Martin.Jirsak
Forum Elder
Posts: 21989
Joined: Sun Mar 20, 2011 3:52 pm
Contact:

Re: sound output problem

Post by Martin.Jirsak » Sat Dec 07, 2019 2:33 pm

Hi,

MIDI Tracks is just set of data. You have to route the data to any sound generator (synthesiser) to get a sound. The question is now, what is the output of your MIDI Tracks, please?
Martin Jirsak
How to show notes of the chord/scale only
Cubase Training

Cubase Pro (last officially supported version all the time)
macOS (last update)

User avatar
Christo_Petkov
New Member
Posts: 38
Joined: Sun May 01, 2016 11:57 pm
Contact:

Re: sound output problem

Post by Christo_Petkov » Tue Dec 10, 2019 4:27 pm

Thank you for writing, Martin!
The uotput of the midi tracks is: Microsoft GS Wavetable Synth.
If I create an instrument track eg Halion 6 it goes to output Halion 6 and the sound is comming out only through the loudspeaker of the laptop. It doesn't go to the headphones that are plugged in the same time.

Martin.Jirsak
Forum Elder
Posts: 21989
Joined: Sun Mar 20, 2011 3:52 pm
Contact:

Re: sound output problem

Post by Martin.Jirsak » Wed Dec 11, 2019 8:19 am

Hi,

Unfortunately I don't know, how is the Wavetable Synth routed internally. That's something on Windows side.

What ASIO driver is selected in Cubase?
Martin Jirsak
How to show notes of the chord/scale only
Cubase Training

Cubase Pro (last officially supported version all the time)
macOS (last update)

User avatar
Christo_Petkov
New Member
Posts: 38
Joined: Sun May 01, 2016 11:57 pm
Contact:

Re: sound output problem

Post by Christo_Petkov » Sun Dec 15, 2019 3:53 pm

Generic low latency ASIO driver
hmmm
Thanks for the effort anyway!

Martin.Jirsak
Forum Elder
Posts: 21989
Joined: Sun Mar 20, 2011 3:52 pm
Contact:

Re: sound output problem

Post by Martin.Jirsak » Sun Dec 15, 2019 8:24 pm

Hi,

Myself, I would recommend to avoid the Microsoft GS Wavetable Synth. Or do you find the sounds nice and useful?
Martin Jirsak
How to show notes of the chord/scale only
Cubase Training

Cubase Pro (last officially supported version all the time)
macOS (last update)

User avatar
Christo_Petkov
New Member
Posts: 38
Joined: Sun May 01, 2016 11:57 pm
Contact:

Re: sound output problem

Post by Christo_Petkov » Fri Dec 20, 2019 8:56 pm

Thank you Martin!
I continue wonering on that miracle.
Now I discovered that if I remove all other tracks and keep only the audio track - the sound moves back to the external sound system (vie the headphone jack).
I meen - the headpone jack is pluged in all the time.
SO, when i remove everything but the audio track the sound goes to the external sound system via te headphone jack.
Even if I add only one midi track (even empty) the sound moves into the laptops loudspeaker.
If I add an instrument track instead of midi track, then the sound doesn't move to the internat loudspeaker, but stays as it should connected to the external sound system.
So obviously the appearance of even one miditrack moves the signal from the headpone jack to the internal speaker of the laptop.

Martin.Jirsak
Forum Elder
Posts: 21989
Joined: Sun Mar 20, 2011 3:52 pm
Contact:

Re: sound output problem

Post by Martin.Jirsak » Fri Dec 20, 2019 9:23 pm

Hi,

What is the output of your MIDI Track? If it's Microsoft Wavetable Synth, then this could be the case.
Martin Jirsak
How to show notes of the chord/scale only
Cubase Training

Cubase Pro (last officially supported version all the time)
macOS (last update)

User avatar
Christo_Petkov
New Member
Posts: 38
Joined: Sun May 01, 2016 11:57 pm
Contact:

Re: sound output problem

Post by Christo_Petkov » Mon Dec 23, 2019 4:14 pm

Yes, all midi tracks are sent to output Microsoft GS Wavetable Synth. But I have no other choise for them. The question is why the audio track is sent to stereo out but doesn't reach the stereo jack. It stops in the internal loudspeaker of the laptop instead.

Martin.Jirsak
Forum Elder
Posts: 21989
Joined: Sun Mar 20, 2011 3:52 pm
Contact:

Re: sound output problem

Post by Martin.Jirsak » Tue Dec 24, 2019 1:04 pm

Hi,

Most probably it's routed this way in Windows.
Martin Jirsak
How to show notes of the chord/scale only
Cubase Training

Cubase Pro (last officially supported version all the time)
macOS (last update)

User avatar
peakae
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3204
Joined: Sat Jan 05, 2013 8:15 pm
Location: Bedroom
Contact:

Re: sound output problem

Post by peakae » Wed Dec 25, 2019 9:42 pm

Try using Halion SE with a GM patch instead.
The MS GS, is just an old Roland GM that can't use ASIO as output.

GM = General Midi
Cubase Pro 10, Wavelab Elements 9, I7 3770K , win10x64, 16Gb Ram, RME Raydat, Steinberg MR816x, Motu 828mkII, Behringer ADA8200, Yamaha moXF6, Steinberg UR242, Yamaha THR 10, Grace Design m900, CMC TP, CMC CH.

User avatar
Christo_Petkov
New Member
Posts: 38
Joined: Sun May 01, 2016 11:57 pm
Contact:

Re: sound output problem

Post by Christo_Petkov » Sat Dec 28, 2019 1:58 am

THanks a lot Peakae! It worked! :)

User avatar
Christo_Petkov
New Member
Posts: 38
Joined: Sun May 01, 2016 11:57 pm
Contact:

Re: sound output problem

Post by Christo_Petkov » Sat Dec 28, 2019 2:00 am

Thanks a lot Martin! It sure is in the windows.

Post Reply

Return to “Issues”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest