Summed input signal (routing issue)

Post general topics related to Cubase Pro 10, Cubase Artist 10 and Cubase Elements 10 here.
Post Reply
David_R
New Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri May 17, 2019 6:09 pm
Contact:

Summed input signal (routing issue)

Post by David_R »

Hi Everyone,

I currently have a small handful of external synths that I wish to link within cubase 10pro. My current setup is 4 synths all connected to a mixer and then the summed stereo output goes off to a 2i2 occupying both inputs available.

The above setup is hopefully temporary until I can afford/find a suitable interface with more inputs.

Things get me a little stumped once I'm in cubase. I can assign an external instrument so that it uses both input channels on the 2i2 and have it working fine. I just cant seem to find a way to have the sum of all ext instruments routed to the input channels within audio connections.

Image

Image

I also use bitwig which works fine for this where I can setup HW instruments and have them as a stereo mix.

I'm sure its something I'm not doing right within cubase so hopefully someone can help me.

Many thanks and Belated Happy New Year!

David

Martin.Jirsak
Forum Elder
Posts: 25188
Joined: Sun Mar 20, 2011 3:52 pm
Contact:

Re: Summed input signal (routing issue)

Post by Martin.Jirsak »

Hi and welcome,

You cannot route multiple External Instruments to one input.
Martin Jirsak
How to show notes of the chord/scale only
Cubase Training

Cubase Pro (last officially supported version all the time)
macOS (last update)

David_R
New Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri May 17, 2019 6:09 pm
Contact:

Re: Summed input signal (routing issue)

Post by David_R »

Hi and Thanks for the response. Oh well. I will have to wait until I can get a bigger interface.

David_R
New Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri May 17, 2019 6:09 pm
Contact:

Re: Summed input signal (routing issue)

Post by David_R »

Ok, so I'm learning.. I have managed to get this working by sending each external instrument to a group channel and then to stereo out.

I can now switch between instruments within cubase on the fly. Or play all instruments together triggered by midi data per track which was my main goal.

Image

Post Reply

Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests