Local Testing a Turn-Key Solution for a Client

All topics on the VST Connect products and Studio Pass
Post Reply
KevinLacy
New Member
Posts: 18
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 10:29 pm
Contact:

Local Testing a Turn-Key Solution for a Client

Post by KevinLacy »

Hello all,

I have VST Connect Pro 4 and The latest version of Nuendo installed on my desktop studio computer and I am trying to put together a turnkey solution with VST Connect Performer for a vocalist client who is not a techie at all.

I have an extra MacBook Air 2017 with with the latest VST Connect Performer installed and an external sound card and microphone. I have created a "guest" account name in MySteinberg for this laptop. I want to ship the laptop, soundcard, microphone and a decent set of headphones and talk him through plugging it all in on his end but make it as easy as possible.

To that end, I want to test everything for both ends AT MY LOCATION before I ship the turnkey package to my client. This way all he has to do is plug it all in, turn the computer on and launch VST Connect Performer. When I try to do this testing setup at my studio, I get the "Somebody tries to connect to you from within your local network. This is not supported." message :(

Short of tethering one device to my mobile phone's 4G data and blowing through a ton of data, is there ANY way I can test this at home while connecting through the same cable modem? I've even tried hooking up an additional router and logging each device into a different router but they still see each other because they are connected to the one cable modem :(

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thanks,
Kevin
Nuendo v1.6.1, v2.2.0.33, v3.2.1.1153, v5.5.6.176, v6.0.7, v8.2.10 / Intel Core i9-7900X CPU @ 3312Mhz, 10 Cores, 20 Logical Processors - ASUS TUF X299 Mark 2 / 64GB RAM / nVidia GTX 1050 Ti & Blackmagic Intensity Pro Graphics Cards / 2 ea. 1TB SSD Internal drives / Plextor PX-891SAF CD-RW/DVD- RW Drive / Windows Windows 7 Ultimate & Windows 10 Pro / RME Multiface / UAD-1e

Freudian Slip Recording

dr
Member
Posts: 941
Joined: Sat Dec 25, 2010 11:43 am
Contact:

Re: Local Testing a Turn-Key Solution for a Client

Post by dr »

Hi Kevin

I've done exactly this a few times - they do need to be tech enough to plug in the microphone and set record levels etc.

Do you definitely have a PRO licence ? Cubase/Nuendo ships with an LE licence NOT a PRO licence. You need a PRO licence to connect via a LAN. A PRO licence needs to be bought and installed on your Steinberg Elicencer.

There is also a bug where LAN connection fails (i have it on two or three of my cubase/nuendo PCs) so you may be hitting this. It doesn't use a lot of data, especially if you set the video/audio bandwidth settings to the minimum so you you won't burn a lot of 4G data if you try to test via that method.


if you use the "ID" login rather than the MySteinberg ...I find that simpler YMMV

viewtopic.php?f=221&t=184392

KevinLacy
New Member
Posts: 18
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 10:29 pm
Contact:

Re: Local Testing a Turn-Key Solution for a Client

Post by KevinLacy »

Thank you for your reply, dr :)
dr wrote:
Thu May 07, 2020 7:13 am
they do need to be tech enough to plug in the microphone and set record levels etc.
Yes, they can handle that much :)
dr wrote:
Thu May 07, 2020 7:13 am
Do you definitely have a PRO licence ? Cubase/Nuendo ships with an LE licence NOT a PRO licence. You need a PRO licence to connect via a LAN. A PRO licence needs to be bought and installed on your Steinberg Elicencer.
Yes, I purchased the Pro version yesterday (at 50% off) and have the license on my eLicenser. Both machines have the current version 4.0.42.240 (Public Beta). Under the "VST Cloud" menu in Nuendo (Version 10.2.10 Build 301) there are two items, "VST Connect PRO" and "VST Connect SE". Under "VST Connect PRO" I select "Create VST Connect"
dr wrote:
Thu May 07, 2020 7:13 am
There is also a bug where LAN connection fails (i have it on two or three of my cubase/nuendo PCs) so you may be hitting this. It doesn't use a lot of data, especially if you set the video/audio bandwidth settings to the minimum so you you won't burn a lot of 4G data if you try to test via that method.

if you use the "ID" login rather than the MySteinberg ...I find that simpler YMMV

viewtopic.php?f=221&t=184392
My desktop PC running Win10 Pro (Where I'm running Nuendo 10 and VST Connect PRO) is connected to the router via hard-wired ethernet cable but the MacBook Air running High Sierra 10.13.6 is connected to the same router via WiFi. Could that be the issue? There is no way to hard-wire the MacBook Air. I have also tried connecting with a KEY and I have also tried connecting with both machines logging in with unique MySteingberg credentials. Logging in with a KEY brings up an error message on the MacBook Air which says "Sorry, you cannot=== not connect within your local network. Make sure both sides use the same and up-to-date version!". When trying to connect by logging in with unique MySteinberg credentials on each machine, I can see the respective user names on the opposite machines, I get the dreaded "Somebody tries to connect to you from within your local network. This is not supported." message.

For now, I'm going to hold off on the 4G HotrSpot connection in the hopes that an answer may show up on this thread.

Thank you very much again for your reply :)
Nuendo v1.6.1, v2.2.0.33, v3.2.1.1153, v5.5.6.176, v6.0.7, v8.2.10 / Intel Core i9-7900X CPU @ 3312Mhz, 10 Cores, 20 Logical Processors - ASUS TUF X299 Mark 2 / 64GB RAM / nVidia GTX 1050 Ti & Blackmagic Intensity Pro Graphics Cards / 2 ea. 1TB SSD Internal drives / Plextor PX-891SAF CD-RW/DVD- RW Drive / Windows Windows 7 Ultimate & Windows 10 Pro / RME Multiface / UAD-1e

Freudian Slip Recording

User avatar
musicullum
Senior Member
Posts: 1141
Joined: Wed Dec 05, 2012 7:31 pm
Contact:

Re: Local Testing a Turn-Key Solution for a Client

Post by musicullum »

"My desktop PC running Win10 Pro (Where I'm running Nuendo 10 and VST Connect PRO) is connected to the router via hard-wired ethernet cable but the MacBook Air running High Sierra 10.13.6 is connected to the same router via WiFi. Could that be the issue?"
Yes! Also it clearly states "Sorry, you cannot connect within your local network". So: start both sides, do not (!) log in on either end, does the Performer show a blue LAN button? Then both ends are in the same local aera network (LAN) and you can connect directly using said button.
musi

User avatar
fuzzydude
Member
Posts: 498
Joined: Sat Jan 22, 2011 5:21 pm
Contact:

Re: Local Testing a Turn-Key Solution for a Client

Post by fuzzydude »

musicullum wrote:
Thu May 07, 2020 9:45 am
"My desktop PC running Win10 Pro (Where I'm running Nuendo 10 and VST Connect PRO) is connected to the router via hard-wired ethernet cable but the MacBook Air running High Sierra 10.13.6 is connected to the same router via WiFi. Could that be the issue?"
Yes! Also it clearly states "Sorry, you cannot connect within your local network". So: start both sides, do not (!) log in on either end, does the Performer show a blue LAN button? Then both ends are in the same local aera network (LAN) and you can connect directly using said button.
You can connect two computers connected on the same network using the VST Connect PRO plugin. One can be via ethernet cable and the other wifi.

NOTE: The host needs to be logged in first.

On the performer app where you login, under the tick the icon (which looks like a wifi signal icon turned to the right) should be blue. It'll only turn blue if you are both on the same network and again if the host is logged in prior and using the PRO version of the app.
not-logged-in-local-network-performer.png
not yet logged in on performer app but blue icon shows on same network
(542.59 KiB) Not downloaded yet
Click this and it will reveal the username of the host and there IP address on a pop up. Click this pop up to connect.
loggedin-performer-sdie.jpg
logged in on performer app
(93.67 KiB) Not downloaded yet
Note to KevinLacy. You can connect you MacBook Air via ethernet but requires an usb to ethernet adapter.
https://www.amazon.co.uk/Apple-MC704ZM- ... B00486070K
Comps+OS: PC's (Win 10 1903) - Mac Pro (Catalina) - MacBook Pro (Moave) I Nuendo 10 | Cubase Pro 10 I Wavelab 9.5 Pro

KevinLacy
New Member
Posts: 18
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 10:29 pm
Contact:

Re: Local Testing a Turn-Key Solution for a Client

Post by KevinLacy »

fuzzydude!!!!!! THANK YOU! THANK YOU!! THANK YOU!!!

That was the guidance I needed. This works great and now I can prep this system for my client!

I have friends and clients who contact me all the time with tech issues and they are always so grateful when I am able to help them. Well, now I know how they feel. You're the best!

Cheers!
Kevin
Nuendo v1.6.1, v2.2.0.33, v3.2.1.1153, v5.5.6.176, v6.0.7, v8.2.10 / Intel Core i9-7900X CPU @ 3312Mhz, 10 Cores, 20 Logical Processors - ASUS TUF X299 Mark 2 / 64GB RAM / nVidia GTX 1050 Ti & Blackmagic Intensity Pro Graphics Cards / 2 ea. 1TB SSD Internal drives / Plextor PX-891SAF CD-RW/DVD- RW Drive / Windows Windows 7 Ultimate & Windows 10 Pro / RME Multiface / UAD-1e

Freudian Slip Recording

User avatar
fuzzydude
Member
Posts: 498
Joined: Sat Jan 22, 2011 5:21 pm
Contact:

Re: Local Testing a Turn-Key Solution for a Client

Post by fuzzydude »

KevinLacy wrote:
Thu May 07, 2020 9:57 pm
fuzzydude!!!!!! THANK YOU! THANK YOU!! THANK YOU!!!

That was the guidance I needed. This works great and now I can prep this system for my client!

I have friends and clients who contact me all the time with tech issues and they are always so grateful when I am able to help them. Well, now I know how they feel. You're the best!

Cheers!
Kevin
You're most welcome :)
Comps+OS: PC's (Win 10 1903) - Mac Pro (Catalina) - MacBook Pro (Moave) I Nuendo 10 | Cubase Pro 10 I Wavelab 9.5 Pro

Post Reply

Return to “VST Connect”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest