Cubase licenses question

For users of legacy Steinberg Cubase software
Post Reply
patrikwa
New Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Oct 05, 2016 10:32 am
Contact:

Cubase licenses question

Post by patrikwa » Wed Oct 05, 2016 10:41 am

If I buy cubase 8.5, can I use that license for cubase 6? I really really dont like cubase 8/8.5 and much rather use cubase 6 but as we cannot buy that any longer (and i havent found any used in my area) i thought maybe I could buy 8.5 and use the dongle to get 6 running.

(My guess is that it wont work but cant hurt to ask)

User avatar
Raphie
Senior Member
Posts: 1319
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 5:20 pm
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Cubase licenses question

Post by Raphie » Wed Oct 05, 2016 1:20 pm

All older versions work
Analogue Mastering
MSI raider X299 - Intel i9 7940 - MSI Gaming X 1070GTX 8GB - OCZ RD400 nvme SSD - 16GB DDR4-3000
Windows 10 x64 up to date - Cubase Pro 9.5x - Wavelab Pro 9.5x
RME MadiFX and racks full of outboard

Everything you need to know about remote control editors

patrikwa
New Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Oct 05, 2016 10:32 am
Contact:

Re: Cubase licenses question

Post by patrikwa » Wed Oct 05, 2016 1:34 pm

Raphie wrote:All older versions work
Thats great, thanks :)

Edit: Does that also apply to the Essentials versions btw? I really dont like dongles and Essentials contains everything i really need anyway.

User avatar
Prock
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3772
Joined: Sat Jan 05, 2013 4:22 pm
Location: Connecticut, USA
Contact:

Re: Cubase licenses question

Post by Prock » Wed Oct 05, 2016 3:53 pm

Probably not according to this thread... unless you have an Elements version that has it's license installed on a soft license.

http://www.steinberg.de/forums/viewtopi ... 26&t=97010

SeL FAQ here:

https://www.steinberg.net/en/support/kn ... l_products

Regards 8-)
PRock Studio

DAW: Cubase Pro 10.0.40, OS: Win 10 Pro x64, CPU: Intel Core i7 4700K @ 4.0GHz, RAM: 32GB/DDR4/2800MHz, Graphics: 4GB GeForce GTX 960, Mobo: MSI Z170A Gaming Pro Carbon, AI: PreSonus Studio 192 Mobile, Mic Preamp: PreSonus TubePre, Headphone Amp: PreSonus HP4, Studio Monitors: Mackie MR5, 3rd Party VSTs: GSi VB3-II, SampleTank 3, Amplitube 4, Miroslav Philharmonik 2, EZDrummer 2

https://soundcloud.com/prockstudio

Post Reply

Return to “Older Cubase versions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests