info needed on some basic editor key commands

Post general topics related to Cubase Pro 8, Cubase Artist 8 and Cubase Elements 8 here.
Post Reply
dave007
Junior Member
Posts: 63
Joined: Wed Apr 15, 2015 6:22 pm
Contact:

info needed on some basic editor key commands

Post by dave007 » Thu Oct 13, 2016 6:36 pm

hello,

i work primarily in the track and key editors. i've figured out how to do the things below with a mouse, but i'd like to use some key combinations to save some time and improve my workflow. i've read through the operation manual and searched in the documentation for answers to my questions, but haven't found any. hope one of you can steer me in the right direction.
  1. what key command can i use to set the loop range's left or right end to the current cursor position ?
    here i'm talking about the highlighted bar that can be set to span a number of measures across the track editor's bars/beats ruler, that governs what section of a piece is looped when looping is enabled.
    .
  2. how can i turn on/off midi monitoring in a trouble-free manner ?
    ideally, i want the 'monitor' mode [icon that looks like a loudspeaker] to turn on automatically whenever i select a midi/vsti track and be on for only that track. however, it seems like i can set these only manually.

    if that's not possible, is there any way to turn off monitoring on ALL tracks at once ?
    [actually, on a similar vein, i'd like a way to turn off any of the audio states -- solo, mute, record, monitor -- on all tracks at once by using a single key command. is that possible ? ]
    .
  3. how can i set the key editor to use a specific midi channel ?
    if no notes are selected in the key editor, any notes i play on the mock 'keyboard' of the key editor are sent out channel 1, as is anything i draw into a controller lane. my current 'work-around' for the controller lane is that i re-select them after drawing them, then change their channel from the information bar, which is cumbersome. i still haven't figured out a way to set the mock keyboard to send on a specific channel.

    i can get it to do this if i set the midi channel selector in the track's header [in the track editor] to a specific channel [rather than 'any'], but that completely defeats the purpose of having multiple channels on the track .


  • cubase 8.0.40
  • native instruments kontakt
  • windows 10
thanks much in advance.
Cubase 8.0.40 - Windows 7 SP1 Enterprise x64 - Intel i7 3770k - 24gb RAM - FireFace 800
Cubase 8.0.40 - Windows 7 SP1 Enterprise x64 - Intel i7 5500u - 16gb RAM - Edirol UA-1000

Martin.Jirsak
Forum Elder
Posts: 17276
Joined: Sun Mar 20, 2011 3:52 pm
Contact:

Re: info needed on some basic editor key commands

Post by Martin.Jirsak » Thu Oct 13, 2016 7:04 pm

Hi,

1)
- Set Left Locator to Project Cursor Position: Ctrl/Cmd + Num 1
- Set Right Locator to Project Cursor Position: Ctrl/Cmd + Num 2

2) There is no default KeyCommand, but you can assign one in the Key Commands window. The Monitor command is under the Edit folder.

To setup the Monitor behavior, open Preferences > VST > Auto Monitor. While-Record enabled seems to do, what you want to. But it seems to work for Audio tracks only. :-/

No, there is no Turn Off All Monitor command

3) It doesn't send it on MIDI Channel 1, but on the channel, which is selected as a MIDI Output Channel, I would say. So, change the MIDI Output Channel of the track.
Martin Jirsak
How to show notes of the chord/scale only
Cubase Training

Cubase Pro (last officially supported version all the time)
macOS (last update)

dave007
Junior Member
Posts: 63
Joined: Wed Apr 15, 2015 6:22 pm
Contact:

Re: info needed on some basic editor key commands

Post by dave007 » Thu Oct 13, 2016 8:44 pm

martin, many thanks for your tips !

one note of clarification -
Martin.Jirsak wrote:3) It doesn't send it on MIDI Channel 1, but on the channel, which is selected as a MIDI Output Channel, I would say. So, change the MIDI Output Channel of the track.
well, as i mentioned, i can't do this. as far as i can see, if i set the midi output channel to 'any', then notes i play from my keyboard get recorded on the appropriate channel, but events drawn in and played from within the editor window itself go out channel one. if i set the midi output channel to a specific value in the track editor, ALL output goes to that channel, regardless of the channel they're being sent on, which means i wouldn't be able to have notes play on different channels any more. this is necessary because of the way that various articulations are delivered in the libraries. for example, two different violin articulations are two completely different instruments, so when they're loaded into kontakt, they're on different channels, but in real life, they're the same instrument, so it seems strange that i'd have to put them on a completely different staves [tracks].

thanks again for your input !
Cubase 8.0.40 - Windows 7 SP1 Enterprise x64 - Intel i7 3770k - 24gb RAM - FireFace 800
Cubase 8.0.40 - Windows 7 SP1 Enterprise x64 - Intel i7 5500u - 16gb RAM - Edirol UA-1000

User avatar
ZeroZero
Senior Member
Posts: 1040
Joined: Sat Jan 08, 2011 10:58 pm
Contact:

Re: info needed on some basic editor key commands

Post by ZeroZero » Thu Oct 13, 2016 9:53 pm

You can get keyboard stickers for Cubase shortcuts, its handy for first time learning if your brain is like mine. After a while should not be necessary, but couple it with a cheap querty keyboard and it may help
Cubase 9, 64 bit Intel 8700k, Asus Rog Strix z390 mobo, 64 gig RAM PC, Win10, Focusrite Liquid 56 Running in Surround 5.1 British Rail sandwich circa 1967, a singing fish and an inert K9.

http://memory-alpha.org/wiki/Zero_Zero

Martin.Jirsak
Forum Elder
Posts: 17276
Joined: Sun Mar 20, 2011 3:52 pm
Contact:

Re: info needed on some basic editor key commands

Post by Martin.Jirsak » Fri Oct 14, 2016 9:42 am

dave007 wrote:well, as i mentioned, i can't do this. as far as i can see, if i set the midi output channel to 'any', then notes i play from my keyboard get recorded on the appropriate channel, but events drawn in and played from within the editor window itself go out channel one.
Yes, when you draw a new MIDI Note, Cubase has to select one channel by default. Cubase use MIDI Channel 1 by default. How could Cubase know, which MIDI Channel should be used for the new MIDI Note? You can change the MIDI Channel of every single MIDI Note later.
dave007 wrote: if i set the midi output channel to a specific value in the track editor, ALL output goes to that channel, regardless of the channel they're being sent on, which means i wouldn't be able to have notes play on different channels any more.
Yes, this is wanted behaviour. The MIDI Channel settings in the track has higher priority, then the settings of every single MIDI Note. If you want to "listen" the MIDI Note Channel, use "Any" in the track. This is the only way, how to do this.
dave007 wrote:this is necessary because of the way that various articulations are delivered in the libraries. for example, two different violin articulations are two completely different instruments, so when they're loaded into kontakt, they're on different channels, but in real life, they're the same instrument, so it seems strange that i'd have to put them on a completely different staves [tracks].
Then you have to use MIDI Channel "any".

The only one issue, I can see in your scenario is, if you write a new MIDI Note, this MIDI Note is played back always on MIDI Channel 1 (when you use "any"). And you have to change the channel manually later. But as I said, how should Cubase know, which MIDI Channel do you want to use for this note?

Using Articulations (Expression Map) should solve this issue. When you set dedicated Articulation, the MIDI Channel should change.
Martin Jirsak
How to show notes of the chord/scale only
Cubase Training

Cubase Pro (last officially supported version all the time)
macOS (last update)

dave007
Junior Member
Posts: 63
Joined: Wed Apr 15, 2015 6:22 pm
Contact:

Re: info needed on some basic editor key commands

Post by dave007 » Fri Oct 14, 2016 4:11 pm

Martin.Jirsak wrote:But as I said, how should Cubase know, which MIDI Channel do you want to use for this note?
this is, in fact, the nut of my question precisely. i.e., 'what button can i push [or method can i follow] to tell cubase 'use this channel when i'm playing the mock keyboard or drawing in the controller lane'.
Martin.Jirsak wrote:Using Articulations (Expression Map) should solve this issue. When you set dedicated Articulation, the MIDI Channel should change.
excellent !! :) i've never used this before, i'll give it a try.
thank you !
Cubase 8.0.40 - Windows 7 SP1 Enterprise x64 - Intel i7 3770k - 24gb RAM - FireFace 800
Cubase 8.0.40 - Windows 7 SP1 Enterprise x64 - Intel i7 5500u - 16gb RAM - Edirol UA-1000

Martin.Jirsak
Forum Elder
Posts: 17276
Joined: Sun Mar 20, 2011 3:52 pm
Contact:

Re: info needed on some basic editor key commands

Post by Martin.Jirsak » Fri Oct 14, 2016 4:22 pm

dave007 wrote:
Martin.Jirsak wrote:But as I said, how should Cubase know, which MIDI Channel do you want to use for this note?
this is, in fact, the nut of my question precisely. i.e., 'what button can i push [or method can i follow] to tell cubase 'use this channel when i'm playing the mock keyboard or drawing in the controller lane'.
Sorry, there is no this kind of button.
Martin Jirsak
How to show notes of the chord/scale only
Cubase Training

Cubase Pro (last officially supported version all the time)
macOS (last update)

User avatar
GargoyleStudio
Senior Member
Posts: 1806
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 2:58 pm
Contact:

Re: info needed on some basic editor key commands

Post by GargoyleStudio » Fri Oct 14, 2016 4:50 pm

Rather than mixing midi channels in a single midi event there are other things you can do. For example, you can use two tracks to send to the same instrument with one track set to one channel etc. You can edit both parts together in the midi editor and swap between the 'active' part when you draw notes in. As they're on different tracks you don't care that they're both drawn in as channel 1.

If I record with many midi channels then I split the event by midi channel to give me many events and then move them to other tracks.

Mind you, could be a feature request - to be able to set the default midi channel when drawing in midi data...

Turning off monitoring on all tracks - this can be done with a Project Logical Editor (PLE) script. See my JPEG.

Mute/Solo cancelling - At the top of the project window you get Mute and Solo cancel buttons which turn off all these (right click near the top of the project window to control which buttons you see). Also 'Deactivate All Solo States' and similar for Mute are the key commands you need.
Clipboard01.jpg
(100.62 KiB) Not downloaded yet
Mike.
[Win10x64 latest, Cb10.0 latest, MOTU PCIe, UAD2, Waves, Soundtoys, Arturia]

User avatar
raino
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3565
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 2:41 am
Location: San Francisco
Contact:

Re: info needed on some basic editor key commands

Post by raino » Fri Oct 14, 2016 10:53 pm

ZeroZero wrote:You can get keyboard stickers for Cubase shortcuts, its handy for first time learning if your brain is like mine. After a while should not be necessary, but couple it with a cheap querty keyboard and it may help
I tried those once, but after awhile the stickers moved around a bit (or later even fell off) so I ended up with a gooey sticky keyboard. Plus you don't have stickers for the Key Commands you add - and I add a bunch.

Now I keep a file with a several column list of Key Commands. Then I use the Snipping Tool to capture it as an image that I set as the background image on my monitors so they are always right there.
rodger

Cubase Pro 10.0.30, Win10 Home, Halion6, BFD3, GPO, Komplete Ultimate 9, Waves Gold, Misc. other

i7 4771 Haswell Processor 3.5GHz, ADK LGA1150, 16GB RAM, GeForce GTX970, RME Fireface 400, 2x UAD-2

User avatar
Stephen57
Senior Member
Posts: 1707
Joined: Sat May 30, 2015 5:32 pm
Location: New York, NY
Contact:

Re: info needed on some basic editor key commands

Post by Stephen57 » Sun Oct 16, 2016 12:02 am

raino wrote:
ZeroZero wrote:You can get keyboard stickers for Cubase shortcuts, its handy for first time learning if your brain is like mine. After a while should not be necessary, but couple it with a cheap querty keyboard and it may help
I tried those once, but after awhile the stickers moved around a bit (or later even fell off) so I ended up with a gooey sticky keyboard. Plus you don't have stickers for the Key Commands you add - and I add a bunch.

Now I keep a file with a several column list of Key Commands. Then I use the Snipping Tool to capture it as an image that I set as the background image on my monitors so they are always right there.
+1000! Now I keep a file with a several column list of Key Commands. Then I use the Snipping Tool to capture it as an image that I set as the background image on my monitors so they are always right there.

Thank you, Rodger! That is such a great idea and one of those, Vic-like, why didn't I think of that moments. :-)
Last edited by Stephen57 on Sun Oct 16, 2016 12:17 am, edited 2 times in total.
-------------------------------------------------------
DAW: Cubase Pro 10 (Main), Cubase Pro 9.5 (Backup); PC: HP Z230, i5 CPU quad-core 3.5 Ghz, 16 Gigs RAM; OS: Win 7 Pro 64-bit; Audio Converters, Scarlett 2I4, Zoom UCR-8; USB MIDI Controller, Akai Advance 49. VST-Is: Spectrasonics Omnisphere 2.5, Stylus RMX; Air Music: Hybrid, Transfuser 2, Vacuum Pro, Velvet, Xpand2; Novation: Bass Station; Sonovox Grand Piano; Rack: Proteus 2000, Korg 03R/W, Yamaha TG 33. Monitoring with KRK Rokit 8/G3, Tannoy PBM 6.5 II, Mics. Scheops, Sennheiser, Rode, Lectrosonics RF, etc.

Help with Cubase:
Documentation: https://steinberg.help/
Location/file paths of presets in Cubase and Nuendo: https://helpcenter.steinberg.de/hc/en-u ... nd-Nuendo-
Preferences: https://helpcenter.steinberg.de/hc/en-u ... and-Nuendo

User avatar
Stephen57
Senior Member
Posts: 1707
Joined: Sat May 30, 2015 5:32 pm
Location: New York, NY
Contact:

Re: info needed on some basic editor key commands

Post by Stephen57 » Sun Oct 16, 2016 12:14 am

This may or may not help, but here's some of the ways I tend to work with locators and editing in the Key Editor and other editors.

I often set the locators to the selected measure with the letter P -- one of the most useful for me.

I set my right and left locators, mostly, with Alt-click and Ctrl-Click in the ruler track, but the Num 1, Num 2 method is in my vocabulary. I also use N and B for moving around measures and parts. I put some dedicated navigation buttons into my generic remote -- RTZ, go to end, a few others.

The Marker Track is very helpful -- I use cycle markers and name them (A Section, B Section, verse, chorus, build, etc.), so I can Zoom and Cycle sections

In the Key Editor -- If I want to see separate lines, I use the color to show which part is which more easily. I use "shared copies on tracks I'm doubling. Sometimes I want to edit all the parts at once, other times I want to make sure I don't mess up one part when meaning to work on another. So, the various color options in the key editor might help you if you're not already using them.

I know I didn't address your very clear questions one by one, but I hope some of this helps. Good luck. :-)
-------------------------------------------------------
DAW: Cubase Pro 10 (Main), Cubase Pro 9.5 (Backup); PC: HP Z230, i5 CPU quad-core 3.5 Ghz, 16 Gigs RAM; OS: Win 7 Pro 64-bit; Audio Converters, Scarlett 2I4, Zoom UCR-8; USB MIDI Controller, Akai Advance 49. VST-Is: Spectrasonics Omnisphere 2.5, Stylus RMX; Air Music: Hybrid, Transfuser 2, Vacuum Pro, Velvet, Xpand2; Novation: Bass Station; Sonovox Grand Piano; Rack: Proteus 2000, Korg 03R/W, Yamaha TG 33. Monitoring with KRK Rokit 8/G3, Tannoy PBM 6.5 II, Mics. Scheops, Sennheiser, Rode, Lectrosonics RF, etc.

Help with Cubase:
Documentation: https://steinberg.help/
Location/file paths of presets in Cubase and Nuendo: https://helpcenter.steinberg.de/hc/en-u ... nd-Nuendo-
Preferences: https://helpcenter.steinberg.de/hc/en-u ... and-Nuendo

dave007
Junior Member
Posts: 63
Joined: Wed Apr 15, 2015 6:22 pm
Contact:

Re: info needed on some basic editor key commands

Post by dave007 » Tue Oct 18, 2016 1:28 am

GargoyleStudio wrote:you can use two tracks to send to the same instrument with one track set to one channel etc.
yes, i've done this before. the problem is that notes for the same instrument then print out on different staves.
GargoyleStudio wrote:Turning off monitoring on all tracks - this can be done with a Project Logical Editor (PLE) script. See my JPEG.
this looks fantastic ! :) it looks like i can save this as a preset and hook it up to a keyboard command too. perfect !
GargoyleStudio wrote:Mute/Solo cancelling - At the top of the project window you get Mute and Solo cancel buttons which turn off all these (right click near the top of the project window to control which buttons you see). Also 'Deactivate All Solo States' and similar for Mute are the key commands you need.
yes, i use those all the time, because [until now] there was no key command for me to do the same thing as pointing at the button with the mouse.

thanks much for the tip !
Cubase 8.0.40 - Windows 7 SP1 Enterprise x64 - Intel i7 3770k - 24gb RAM - FireFace 800
Cubase 8.0.40 - Windows 7 SP1 Enterprise x64 - Intel i7 5500u - 16gb RAM - Edirol UA-1000

dave007
Junior Member
Posts: 63
Joined: Wed Apr 15, 2015 6:22 pm
Contact:

Re: info needed on some basic editor key commands

Post by dave007 » Tue Oct 18, 2016 1:32 am

thanks, stephen57, for some great tips. especially this one :
Stephen57 wrote:In the Key Editor -- If I want to see separate lines, I use the color to show which part is which more easily. I use "shared copies on tracks I'm doubling. Sometimes I want to edit all the parts at once, other times I want to make sure I don't mess up one part when meaning to work on another. So, the various color options in the key editor might help you if you're not already using them.
...which i think will put an end to a lot of associated grief. :)
Cubase 8.0.40 - Windows 7 SP1 Enterprise x64 - Intel i7 3770k - 24gb RAM - FireFace 800
Cubase 8.0.40 - Windows 7 SP1 Enterprise x64 - Intel i7 5500u - 16gb RAM - Edirol UA-1000

dave007
Junior Member
Posts: 63
Joined: Wed Apr 15, 2015 6:22 pm
Contact:

Re: info needed on some basic editor key commands

Post by dave007 » Wed Oct 26, 2016 7:11 am

hello again,

i successfully created a PLE to disarm all active record states, and saved it to 'GlobalRecordOff'. i then did the same thing to turn off all active monitor states. i went into the key mapper and was able to find GlobalRecordOff in the list under 'process project logical editor' and bound it to a key combo, but GlobalMonitorOff was nowhere in the list. so i went back into the PLE, deleted GlobalMonitorOff, remade it from scratch, then tested it to make sure it worked. i then went back into the key mapper again. not only did GlobalMonitorOff still not appear, but the binding i'd just created for GlobalRecordOff was now gone !

is this a bug, or am i doing something wrong ?

thanks !
Cubase 8.0.40 - Windows 7 SP1 Enterprise x64 - Intel i7 3770k - 24gb RAM - FireFace 800
Cubase 8.0.40 - Windows 7 SP1 Enterprise x64 - Intel i7 5500u - 16gb RAM - Edirol UA-1000

Post Reply

Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests