powered off UAD plugins don't process when powered on

For users of legacy Steinberg Nuendo software
TuckerMix
Member
Posts: 255
Joined: Sun Dec 19, 2010 11:19 pm
Contact:

powered off UAD plugins don't process when powered on

Post by TuckerMix » Tue Jul 12, 2011 11:20 pm

Nuendo 5.1.1
UAD 5.9.1
OSX 10.6.8

I've had this problem for a long time, just wanted to post and see if anyone else has this issue. I don't have exact repro steps yet, just want get a feel if anyone else reproduces anything like this.

When I save a session in Nuendo with UAD plugins inserted on a track but powered off via insert button, reopen the session at a later date, enable (power on) the previously disabled UAD plugin, the plugin always fails to process audio (dry audio passes). The only way to fix it is to drag the insert to another track and back or toggle the mono/stereo menu in the top right of the plugin header bar (dragging to another insert on the same track will not fix the issue). I have not experienced this with non-UAD plugins.

***UPDATE***

My System:
MacPro 1,1
RME Fireface 800 x2
Nuendo 5.5
UAD 6.0: 3x UAD quads
UAD meter app settings: DSP limit 100, DSP load lock ON, extra buffer OFF, release all DSP for AU ON, force logic OFF, controls mode linear

1) create new empty session (44/24)
2) add 4 stereo audio tracks
3) insert a steinberg test generator plugin set to white noise into insert 1 on track 1
4) in the mixer, drag + copy this test gen plugin to each insert #1 of the other three tracks (2,3,4)
5) insert a UAD 1176 on insert 2 of track 1
---note the 1176 is processing, the VU meter is activate
6) power off this 1176 plugin on track 1
7) drag copy track 1's powered off 1176 plugin to track 2 insert2
8) drag copy track 2's powered off 1176 plugin to track 3 insert2
9) drag copy track 3's powered off 1176 plugin to track 4 insert2
10) as all test gens on all tracks are producing audio, power on track 2's 1176 and watch its VU meter
---no meter activity is seen
11) repeat step 10 for track 3
---no meter activity is seen
12) repeat for remaining tracks

I am able to repeatedly perform this test with these same results.

here's a video of the repro... http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=sasLW0mrV-g
Last edited by TuckerMix on Mon Sep 19, 2011 5:12 pm, edited 2 times in total.

Guest

Re: bypassed UAD plugins don't process when unbypassed

Post by Guest » Wed Jul 13, 2011 12:27 pm

Yip, this is such a long-time bug and it's never been sorted out. It's a real pain. I inevitably turn on the UAD plugs, save and then re-open.. :(

zvenx
Member
Posts: 213
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 8:59 pm
Contact:

Re: bypassed UAD plugins don't process when unbypassed

Post by zvenx » Wed Jul 13, 2011 2:38 pm

yep came with Nuendo 4.
and has stayed since.....
rsp
richard sven patterson
sound sculptist
--------------------------
Nuendo 10| Gigabyte GAX79UP4 : Intel Hex Core Ivy Bridge Extreme 4930K : 32GB RAM | Windows 10 64bit| Lynx Two C | Midisport 2x2 | UAD-2 Quad |

Cubase 10 | MacBookPro Retina 2.8Ghz Quad Core I7 | 10.14.5 | 16GB | NI Komplete Audio 6 | UAD-2 Satellite Thunderbolt Quad |

TuckerMix
Member
Posts: 255
Joined: Sun Dec 19, 2010 11:19 pm
Contact:

Re: bypassed UAD plugins don't process when unbypassed

Post by TuckerMix » Wed Jul 13, 2011 3:31 pm

Fredo, can we get this addressed?
Is this bug in your database?

Woodcrest Studio

Re: bypassed UAD plugins don't process when unbypassed

Post by Woodcrest Studio » Thu Jul 14, 2011 5:12 am

yes. very frustrating.

Bodo
Steinberg Employee
Posts: 153
Joined: Tue Dec 14, 2010 4:00 pm
Contact:

Re: bypassed UAD plugins don't process when unbypassed

Post by Bodo » Thu Jul 14, 2011 9:37 am

Since you noticed this only happens with UAD plugins, I dare to argue that only UAD can fix this. So I would contact them.

TuckerMix
Member
Posts: 255
Joined: Sun Dec 19, 2010 11:19 pm
Contact:

Re: bypassed UAD plugins don't process when unbypassed

Post by TuckerMix » Thu Jul 14, 2011 4:57 pm

I have. It appears to be on the Nuendo side.

Woodcrest Studio

Re: bypassed UAD plugins don't process when unbypassed

Post by Woodcrest Studio » Thu Jul 14, 2011 5:46 pm

TuckerMix wrote:I have. It appears to be on the Nuendo side.
UA told me the same thing.

TuckerMix
Member
Posts: 255
Joined: Sun Dec 19, 2010 11:19 pm
Contact:

Re: bypassed UAD plugins don't process when unbypassed

Post by TuckerMix » Thu Jul 14, 2011 6:07 pm

Would be great to get some feedback from steinberg on this.

User avatar
ffg
Member
Posts: 606
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 6:46 pm
Contact:

Re: bypassed UAD plugins don't process when unbypassed

Post by ffg » Sun Jul 17, 2011 9:21 am

Am I right in thinking this happens if I load a project with UAD plugs switched off, or with them bypassed in Nuendo, but if i switch them in, save the project and re-open, they will be working? I'll try this later, I generally just re-open the plugin.

I wonder why some UAD plugs do it and other UAD plugs don't seem to?
best wishes

David

I'm going to to let the situation mature...

Nuendo 8.3
Cubase 9.5
MacPro 3.3 6-core OSX 10.12
Macbook Pro OSX 10.14
RME Fireface 802
RME Fireface 800

TuckerMix
Member
Posts: 255
Joined: Sun Dec 19, 2010 11:19 pm
Contact:

Re: bypassed UAD plugins don't process when unbypassed

Post by TuckerMix » Sun Jul 17, 2011 6:45 pm

I think ALL UAD plugins do it if powered off. Bypass is ok.

User avatar
Antonio Escobar
Member
Posts: 566
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 4:18 pm
Contact:

Re: bypassed UAD plugins don't process when unbypassed

Post by Antonio Escobar » Tue Jul 19, 2011 5:43 am

Nasty bug here
Antonio Escobar
Site: http://www.antonioescobar.es
IMDB: http://www.antonioescobar.es/imdb

---
Nuendo 10.x / Cubase 10.x
Hackintosh i9 10 cores, 64 GB RAM
MacBook Pro 2017 16GB RAM, OS X10.13.6
RME Digiface Dante, RME HDSPe RayDAT, Steinberg UR824, Steinberg UR242, DAD AX32, 2x Behringer X32 (MADI and Dante)
Native Komplete Kontrol/Maschine, Waves, Softube, etc, etc, etc.
Dozens of analog synths and external hardware.

TuckerMix
Member
Posts: 255
Joined: Sun Dec 19, 2010 11:19 pm
Contact:

Re: bypassed UAD plugins don't process when unbypassed

Post by TuckerMix » Wed Jul 20, 2011 7:43 pm

bump...

neilwilkes
Senior Member
Posts: 1079
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 11:55 am
Contact:

Re: bypassed UAD plugins don't process when unbypassed

Post by neilwilkes » Thu Jul 21, 2011 1:51 pm

TuckerMix wrote:bump...
Have you filed this with UA yet?
If not, then it might be a good idea to do so - and tell them also that you can get a load more names of people with this problem too. I'll look around, but I am sure I seem to remember it used to happen on a couple of other makers too, but they fixed their bugs where UA have not.
www.opusproductions.com
Intel E5-2687W 8-core Xeon, 32Gb RAM, Windows 7 Pro x64, RME RayDAT, UAD-2 Octo x2 & Quad x2 (fully loaded), Adam A7 x5, WK ID Console
Nuendo 1-6, Cubase 6-7, WaveLab 5-7, DTS/DD encoders, Surround Edition etc, Waves Mercury
Blu-Ray authoring, DVD authoring & high resolution audio specialists.

Detailed Specs on request

TuckerMix
Member
Posts: 255
Joined: Sun Dec 19, 2010 11:19 pm
Contact:

Re: bypassed UAD plugins don't process when unbypassed

Post by TuckerMix » Thu Jul 21, 2011 4:45 pm

Neil,
Did you read through this thread? One other person including myself have been told by UA that the issue was not on their side. As I also said earlier, I have not experienced this issue with any other plugins.

Furthermore, having been using Nuendo since version 1.0 we (myself and several other users also in this thread) have been living with this issue since version 4.0.

There is no question this is an issue given other people's reports. Given the nature of the issue, unless I find another plugin that also has the issue, I cannot proove for sure where the issue lies.

Rather the speculate, I'd like a response from Steinberg on the issue.

Woodcrest Studio

Re: powered off UAD plugins don't process when powered on

Post by Woodcrest Studio » Thu Jul 21, 2011 6:47 pm

I have never had this issue ever before with other plugins besides UAD. Yeah, I know this seems to point to universal audio, but they told me the problem is with Cubase and Nuendo.

This kind of reminds me of the broken PDC that was presumed to be localized solely UAudio plugins, but as it turns out it was not, coming at the expense of the user base's time to find plugins outside of UAD plugs that broke the PDC.

It would be nice if Steinberg could take a peek at this. I do believe the OP should re-post the 1st post in this thread with a repro of the issue so we can conform to Steinberg's bug reporting standard.

TuckerMix
Member
Posts: 255
Joined: Sun Dec 19, 2010 11:19 pm
Contact:

Re: powered off UAD plugins don't process when powered on

Post by TuckerMix » Thu Jul 21, 2011 8:55 pm

Here some repro steps I created back in 2009...

-----------------------------------------------------
Nuendo 4.3, UAD 5.5, 3xQuads, OSX 10.5.8

I have scene the following behavior several times over the past couple of years using UAD plugins. Essentially I am occasionally seeing plugins that were saved in the OFF state (no DSP processing) not processing audio after session is loaded and plug in powered on.

1) add a bunch of UAD plugs to tracks in Nuendo
2) turn them off, no DSP running
3) save the session
4) close/reopen Nuendo
5) load same session
6) enable said UAD plugins
- plugins will pass DRY unprocessed audio
-----------------------------------------------------

Work around:
Drag the plugin to a new insert on a different track or toggle mono / stereo menu on plugin header.

I retried these same steps in Nuendo 5.1.1 on OSX 10.6.8 just now and was not able to repro, however I often experience this issue at least once or twice a day while working.

That said, these aren't exact repro that always produce the issue, but as we all know that doesn't mean a bug doesn't exist. I'm happy to see others are too experiencing this too. I will gladly post exact repro if I am able to discover them.

Thanks much!

TuckerMix
Member
Posts: 255
Joined: Sun Dec 19, 2010 11:19 pm
Contact:

Re: powered off UAD plugins don't process when powered on

Post by TuckerMix » Thu Jul 21, 2011 11:56 pm

Just had this happen to me.

Attached is a session file (sans audio files).
- open the session and the very last FX track called "distortion" has three UAD plugins on it
- power on the three UAD plugins
- they do not process audio (at least for me)

Please let me know if anyone can repro with my session file, thanks!
Attachments
Catch me - mix - 15 - new day.npr.zip
session file
(180.53 KiB) Downloaded 95 times

TuckerMix
Member
Posts: 255
Joined: Sun Dec 19, 2010 11:19 pm
Contact:

Re: powered off UAD plugins don't process when powered on

Post by TuckerMix » Fri Jul 29, 2011 4:59 pm

Is the rumor true? This issue has been in the database for years?

Matthias Adloff
Member
Posts: 233
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 9:59 am
Contact:

Re: powered off UAD plugins don't process when powered on

Post by Matthias Adloff » Sat Jul 30, 2011 8:29 am

This *.npr crashed Nuendo (64bit/PC) completely, and the UAD showed that there is not enough CPU power to load the plugins properly.

What hell of a system do you have ??? I already own two UAD2 Quads, but this seems to be not enough :shock:
Signature has been removed.

TuckerMix
Member
Posts: 255
Joined: Sun Dec 19, 2010 11:19 pm
Contact:

Re: powered off UAD plugins don't process when powered on

Post by TuckerMix » Sat Jul 30, 2011 5:18 pm

Matthias, Your comment does not relate at all to this thread.

Matthias Adloff
Member
Posts: 233
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 9:59 am
Contact:

Re: powered off UAD plugins don't process when powered on

Post by Matthias Adloff » Sun Jul 31, 2011 12:19 am

TuckerMix wrote:Matthias, Your comment does not relate at all to this thread.
I cannot repro the issues you described, both bypassing or powered-off states are saved correctly and if changed after re-opening a project, everything works as expected.

So I wanted to load your npr to have a look at it, sorry for my attempt to help.
Signature has been removed.

TuckerMix
Member
Posts: 255
Joined: Sun Dec 19, 2010 11:19 pm
Contact:

Re: powered off UAD plugins don't process when powered on

Post by TuckerMix » Sun Jul 31, 2011 12:27 am

Oh sorry Matthias! I totally misunderstood your post, now i understand, my bad :-D

Yes I had three QUADS, thats why you can't load the whole session.

This issue is well known on this forum and others and plenty have experienced it. It is also rumored that this issue has been reproduced with non-UAD plugins.

Matthias Adloff
Member
Posts: 233
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 9:59 am
Contact:

Re: powered off UAD plugins don't process when powered on

Post by Matthias Adloff » Mon Aug 01, 2011 7:38 am

No problem. From what I can see it doesn't happen on PC.

Btw., all UA plugins have a power-off button that keeps the PDC active, so no audio gaps are created. Isn't it favourable to use this button instead of the Nuendo power button ?
Signature has been removed.

TuckerMix
Member
Posts: 255
Joined: Sun Dec 19, 2010 11:19 pm
Contact:

Re: powered off UAD plugins don't process when powered on

Post by TuckerMix » Mon Aug 01, 2011 7:55 am

Not if you want to conserve DSP.

Post Reply

Return to “Older Nuendo versions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest