No playbak sound in Windows 10

Discussions about our next-generation scoring application, Dorico.
User avatar
jeepi
New Member
Posts: 30
Joined: Fri Jun 17, 2016 12:53 pm
Location: Anglet - France
Contact:

No playbak sound in Windows 10

Post by jeepi » Fri Dec 09, 2016 12:40 pm

Hi all
John Barron has offered me since Facebook to ask advice on the forum
Dorico and Halion Sonic give no sound while MIDI info is well received by Halion. The meters are the proof.

I have already tried all the tricks of the topic "I get no playback. What do I do?" without result.
My VSTAudioEngine_64 folder (I'm running Windows 10) was not in .../ Local / but in ..../ Roaming /. I copied it to the .../Local/ folder without any success
I must point out that entering notes with the MIDI keyboard with the MIDI sport interface works perfectly.

Image

My windows 10 audio controllers
Image
Attachments
VSTAudioEngine_64.7z
(166.71 KiB) Downloaded 78 times
Last edited by jeepi on Tue Dec 20, 2016 4:01 pm, edited 2 times in total.

User avatar
Ulf
Steinberg Employee
Posts: 1867
Joined: Wed Jul 31, 2013 9:44 am
Location: Steinberg Headquarters
Contact:

Re: No playbak sound in Windows 10

Post by Ulf » Fri Dec 09, 2016 1:02 pm

Could you also please create a new simple Piano project with just a handful of notes in it and also post it here? Thanks.
Steinberg employee

User avatar
jeepi
New Member
Posts: 30
Joined: Fri Jun 17, 2016 12:53 pm
Location: Anglet - France
Contact:

Re: No playbak sound in Windows 10

Post by jeepi » Fri Dec 09, 2016 2:13 pm

Thanks Ulf. Here is a test of 3 piano measures.
Attachments
Sound piano test.7z
(198.91 KiB) Downloaded 58 times

User avatar
Ulf
Steinberg Employee
Posts: 1867
Joined: Wed Jul 31, 2013 9:44 am
Location: Steinberg Headquarters
Contact:

Re: No playbak sound in Windows 10

Post by Ulf » Fri Dec 09, 2016 2:52 pm

Thanks for the data.

From the project file I can see that the Generic Low Latency Driver is selected but but no ports are detected, so the audio engine doesn't know where to play the audio out to.

What if you choose in Dorico the menu item Edit > Device Setup and click on Device Control Panel? A new little window with driver specific settings shall pop up. What output ports are listed in there. If you are not sure, you could post here a screenshot of that window.
Steinberg employee

User avatar
jeepi
New Member
Posts: 30
Joined: Fri Jun 17, 2016 12:53 pm
Location: Anglet - France
Contact:

Re: No playbak sound in Windows 10

Post by jeepi » Fri Dec 09, 2016 4:14 pm

When I click on Device Control Panel, the new window you are talking to opens and closes instantly. I do not have time to read anything.
I can say that I use Finale v25.2 and the sounds of Garritan for Finale work perfectly

User avatar
Ulf
Steinberg Employee
Posts: 1867
Joined: Wed Jul 31, 2013 9:44 am
Location: Steinberg Headquarters
Contact:

Re: No playbak sound in Windows 10

Post by Ulf » Fri Dec 09, 2016 4:52 pm

Okay, we've just found a bug on this. You're right, that little window always closes, because you have ticked the Dorico preference "Suspend audio device in background". If you untick that one and then press the Apply button, the window will stay. Please try.

Of course, the bug is that the window closes even though that preference is set. We will work on it. So my described procedure is just a workaround.
Steinberg employee

User avatar
PaulWalmsley
Steinberg Employee
Posts: 1750
Joined: Tue May 17, 2016 9:24 pm
Location: Steinberg, London
Contact:

Re: No playbak sound in Windows 10

Post by PaulWalmsley » Fri Dec 09, 2016 5:04 pm

This bug has been fixed in the next update.
Architect & Developer - Steinberg London

User avatar
jeepi
New Member
Posts: 30
Joined: Fri Jun 17, 2016 12:53 pm
Location: Anglet - France
Contact:

Re: No playbak sound in Windows 10

Post by jeepi » Fri Dec 09, 2016 5:28 pm

Thank you for your response. Your workaround is working.
Here is the screenshot of the Asio driver window.
Image

User avatar
Ulf
Steinberg Employee
Posts: 1867
Joined: Wed Jul 31, 2013 9:44 am
Location: Steinberg Headquarters
Contact:

Re: No playbak sound in Windows 10

Post by Ulf » Fri Dec 09, 2016 9:31 pm

Okay, this now looks like a know issue to me, that we have a fix for in the soon upcoming 1.0.20 release.

If you are desperate to get sound out and won't wait until the update, you could try the following:

Open the Windows Control Panel and look for the Sound item. Choose the Playback tab and look for your device Haute-parleurs. Click on it and then choose "Properties". There you can edit the name of the device, change it to something like "Speakers", make sure you use only ASCII characters, no accent and the like. Then close everything and restart Dorico with a simple project. I suppose you will now get sound out.
Steinberg employee

User avatar
jeepi
New Member
Posts: 30
Joined: Fri Jun 17, 2016 12:53 pm
Location: Anglet - France
Contact:

Re: No playbak sound in Windows 10

Post by jeepi » Fri Dec 09, 2016 11:23 pm

Thanks.
I'm not desperate to get sound out but I tried what you propose.
I pasted the screenshot to check if I understood and did the procedure correctly.
However I still have no sound. I will therefore wait for the release of 1.0.20

Image

User avatar
Ulf
Steinberg Employee
Posts: 1867
Joined: Wed Jul 31, 2013 9:44 am
Location: Steinberg Headquarters
Contact:

Re: No playbak sound in Windows 10

Post by Ulf » Sat Dec 10, 2016 10:17 pm

jeepi wrote:I'm not desperate to get sound out but I tried what you propose.
I pasted the screenshot to check if I understood and did the procedure correctly.
However I still have no sound.
Hm, that's odd. Setup looks okay now to me. With these device settings now, could you please create another simple piano project and post here? Thanks.
Steinberg employee

User avatar
jeepi
New Member
Posts: 30
Joined: Fri Jun 17, 2016 12:53 pm
Location: Anglet - France
Contact:

Re: No playbak sound in Windows 10

Post by jeepi » Sun Dec 11, 2016 12:39 pm

Hi Ulf,
Thank you but still no sound. Here is a new piano project.
Attachments
Simple piano1.7z
(197.51 KiB) Downloaded 51 times

Earplane
New Member
Posts: 13
Joined: Wed Apr 24, 2013 10:17 pm
Contact:

Re: No playbak sound in Windows 10

Post by Earplane » Sun Dec 11, 2016 2:39 pm

Hi, I hope it's not impolite to ask some additional questions in this thread:

Renaming the output to "Speakers" did the trick for me. I now have playback sound in newly created solo piano projects. But my old projects are still silent. "Apply default playback template" doesn't help.

1. Is there a way to fix this now?
2. Will my old files come to life automatically in 1.0.2?
Earplane

User avatar
Daniel at Steinberg
Moderator
Posts: 15289
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2012 10:35 am
Contact:

Re: No playbak sound in Windows 10

Post by Daniel at Steinberg » Mon Dec 12, 2016 1:39 am

You might try Play > Load Sounds for Unassigned Instruments, which could give the needed kick in the pants.

User avatar
Ulf
Steinberg Employee
Posts: 1867
Joined: Wed Jul 31, 2013 9:44 am
Location: Steinberg Headquarters
Contact:

Re: No playbak sound in Windows 10

Post by Ulf » Mon Dec 12, 2016 8:33 am

jeepi wrote:Thank you but still no sound. Here is a new piano project.
Hm, very odd. From the project data I can see that still no audio output port gets recognized. I need to discuss with my colleagues, will come back soon.
Steinberg employee

User avatar
jeepi
New Member
Posts: 30
Joined: Fri Jun 17, 2016 12:53 pm
Location: Anglet - France
Contact:

Re: No playbak sound in Windows 10

Post by jeepi » Mon Dec 12, 2016 10:47 am

Daniel at Steinberg wrote:You might try Play > Load Sounds for Unassigned Instruments, which could give the needed kick in the pants.
Thanks Daniel
I tried your method. The sounds are well loaded in Halion but still no sound

User avatar
jeepi
New Member
Posts: 30
Joined: Fri Jun 17, 2016 12:53 pm
Location: Anglet - France
Contact:

Re: No playbak sound in Windows 10

Post by jeepi » Mon Dec 12, 2016 10:48 am

Ulf wrote: Hm, very odd. From the project data I can see that still no audio output port gets recognized. I need to discuss with my colleagues, will come back soon.
Thanks Ulf

User avatar
Ulf
Steinberg Employee
Posts: 1867
Joined: Wed Jul 31, 2013 9:44 am
Location: Steinberg Headquarters
Contact:

Re: No playbak sound in Windows 10

Post by Ulf » Mon Dec 12, 2016 11:20 am

jeepi wrote:
Ulf wrote: Hm, very odd. From the project data I can see that still no audio output port gets recognized. I need to discuss with my colleagues, will come back soon.
Thanks Ulf
You still have that audio device renamed to "Speakers", right?
Could you please again zip up the folder C:\Users\<yourname>\AppData\Roaming\Steinberg\VSTAudioEngine_64 and post here?

Thank you very much.
Steinberg employee

User avatar
jeepi
New Member
Posts: 30
Joined: Fri Jun 17, 2016 12:53 pm
Location: Anglet - France
Contact:

Re: No playbak sound in Windows 10

Post by jeepi » Mon Dec 12, 2016 1:14 pm

Here it is
Attachments
VSTAudioEngine_64.zip
(245.19 KiB) Downloaded 67 times

User avatar
Ulf
Steinberg Employee
Posts: 1867
Joined: Wed Jul 31, 2013 9:44 am
Location: Steinberg Headquarters
Contact:

Re: No playbak sound in Windows 10

Post by Ulf » Mon Dec 12, 2016 1:18 pm

Hi Jeepi,

and could you please try once more?

You renamed the device to "Speakers", what if you change it to "SpeakersSpeakersSpeakersSpeakers"?
Sure it looks strange to you, but please try.
Steinberg employee

User avatar
jeepi
New Member
Posts: 30
Joined: Fri Jun 17, 2016 12:53 pm
Location: Anglet - France
Contact:

Re: No playbak sound in Windows 10

Post by jeepi » Mon Dec 12, 2016 3:58 pm

Ulf wrote:Hi Jeepi,

and could you please try once more?

You renamed the device to "Speakers", what if you change it to "SpeakersSpeakersSpeakersSpeakers"?
Sure it looks strange to you, but please try.
Hi Ulf,
Yes, it look very strange to me but .... it works.
The sound is there and also when entering the notes with a MIDI keyboard.
I also tried with SpeakersSpeakersSpeakers without result.
This only works with 4 times Speakers

Thank you and I hope that this experience will allow you to improve this very interesting software.

Have a nice day and "bravo" for your work.

User avatar
Ulf
Steinberg Employee
Posts: 1867
Joined: Wed Jul 31, 2013 9:44 am
Location: Steinberg Headquarters
Contact:

Re: No playbak sound in Windows 10

Post by Ulf » Tue Dec 13, 2016 9:08 am

Glad to hear that it works now for you.

Well, I spare me the details of why it works with '4 Speakers' and not '3 Speakers'. Rest assured, when next week the 1.0.20 update will come out, it will work again with any name, so you could go back even to your native "speaker" ;-)
Steinberg employee

User avatar
MarcLarcher
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3459
Joined: Fri Oct 21, 2016 9:38 am
Location: France
Contact:

Re: [Solved] No playbak sound in Windows 10

Post by MarcLarcher » Thu Dec 15, 2016 11:48 pm

Quite happy to learn that the update is for next week ^^ Thanks for that leak, Ulf !
OS X 10.14.6, macbook pro retina Late 2013
Opera singer (lyric tenor), photographer, sound engineer, XeLaTeX user and music engraver (Dorico Pro 3.1, and Photoscore Ultimate 2020.1.14(9.0.2))
French is my native language

User avatar
Ulf
Steinberg Employee
Posts: 1867
Joined: Wed Jul 31, 2013 9:44 am
Location: Steinberg Headquarters
Contact:

Re: [Solved] No playbak sound in Windows 10

Post by Ulf » Sat Dec 17, 2016 10:35 pm

MarcLarcher wrote:Quite happy to learn that the update is for next week ^^ Thanks for that leak, Ulf !
You're welcome. ;)
Steinberg employee

User avatar
jeepi
New Member
Posts: 30
Joined: Fri Jun 17, 2016 12:53 pm
Location: Anglet - France
Contact:

Re: No playbak sound in Windows 10

Post by jeepi » Tue Dec 20, 2016 4:03 pm

Hi Ulf
Same problem with the update 1.0.20. No sound.
Over its despite 4 times Speakers. I tried renaming the device to Speakers and.... no sound.

Post Reply

Return to “Dorico”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: akarst, Albione, Andre, david-p, Lillie Harris, pianoleo and 7 guests