Question about Artist vs Pro

Post general topics related to Cubase Pro 9, Cubase Artist 9 and Cubase Elements 9 here.
Post Reply
User avatar
Adam_Bove
Member
Posts: 213
Joined: Sun Feb 06, 2011 4:29 am
Contact:

Question about Artist vs Pro

Post by Adam_Bove » Sat Dec 17, 2016 1:22 am

Hi guys,

Long-time Cubase/Nuendo user here.

I have a client that wishes to acquire a modest setup so that we can collaborate more efficiently. I made him aware of the different levels of Cubase available so he can decide which fits his budget.

One of the key features I would like to utilize is "Import/Export Tracks." My question is: does this is feature exists in the "Artist" version? Would he be able to export a Track Archive in his Artist version send it to me so I could import and make adjustments/edits, then export to send back to him?

Thanks for time.
Intel Core 2 Quad | Windows 10 64bit | Nuendo 8.3.0 | Cubase 10.0.10

User avatar
Adam_Bove
Member
Posts: 213
Joined: Sun Feb 06, 2011 4:29 am
Contact:

Re: Question about Artist vs Pro

Post by Adam_Bove » Sat Dec 17, 2016 1:28 am

Sorry, one other question...

Does "Artist" require a USB licenser, or is there an option for a SeL? (I bought "Elements" for my laptop as I don't want the hassle of an eLicenser for my mobile solution, but it's lacking just enough features to make me want the next level up.)
Intel Core 2 Quad | Windows 10 64bit | Nuendo 8.3.0 | Cubase 10.0.10

User avatar
raino
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3595
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 2:41 am
Location: San Francisco
Contact:

Re: Question about Artist vs Pro

Post by raino » Sat Dec 17, 2016 1:42 am

If you go to Steinberg's Cubase product page there is a chart showing what's in each version.
rodger

Cubase Pro 10.0.30, Win10 Home, Halion6, BFD3, GPO, Komplete Ultimate 9, Waves Gold, Misc. other

i7 4771 Haswell Processor 3.5GHz, ADK LGA1150, 16GB RAM, GeForce GTX970, RME Fireface 400, 2x UAD-2

User avatar
marQs
Senior Member
Posts: 2155
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 12:34 am
Contact:

Re: Question about Artist vs Pro

Post by marQs » Sat Dec 17, 2016 1:44 am

According to this information https://www.steinberg.net/en/products/c ... rison.html the 'import tracks from other projects' functionality isn't there in Artist. Says nothing about track archives, may an Artist user tell...

Yes, Artist needs the dongle.
Cubase 10 | WL 9.5 | Fireface UFX | UAD2 Octo/Quad | Win10 Pro 64 | i7-7820 x | Asus Prime X299-A
http://www.secretsource.de
Authentic Drums - Sample Pack for Slate Trigger: https://www.authentic-audio.de/drum-sa ... e-trigger/

User avatar
MrSoundman
Senior Member
Posts: 2317
Joined: Fri Dec 24, 2010 3:27 am
Contact:

Re: Question about Artist vs Pro

Post by MrSoundman » Sat Dec 17, 2016 2:31 am

Cubase Pro 9 can open all projects created in Cubase Artist 9. Having not yet gotten around to actually exporting a track from Artist and importing it into Pro, I hesitate to confirm definitively, but worst case scenario is you can load the entire Artist project.

The artificial restrictions on loading between versions/editions was a big deal for me (limiting collaboration) but these were lifted some time ago (IIRC around C7, when Yamaha took over and enforced some customer friendliness).
Windows 10 • Cubase 9.5.50 • WaveLab 9.5.50 • SpectraLayers 6.0.10 • HALion 6.3.0 • Groove Agent 5.0.10 • Midex

User avatar
Adam_Bove
Member
Posts: 213
Joined: Sun Feb 06, 2011 4:29 am
Contact:

Re: Question about Artist vs Pro

Post by Adam_Bove » Sat Dec 17, 2016 2:35 am

raino wrote:If you go to Steinberg's Cubase product page there is a chart showing what's in each version.
Thanks. I looked at the chart prior to posting and found it doesn't speak conclusively enough about it.
marQs wrote:According to this information https://www.steinberg.net/en/products/c ... rison.html the 'import tracks from other projects' functionality isn't there in Artist. Says nothing about track archives, may an Artist user tell...
Yes, please someone with a copy of Artist please verify.
Intel Core 2 Quad | Windows 10 64bit | Nuendo 8.3.0 | Cubase 10.0.10

User avatar
Adam_Bove
Member
Posts: 213
Joined: Sun Feb 06, 2011 4:29 am
Contact:

Re: Question about Artist vs Pro

Post by Adam_Bove » Sat Dec 17, 2016 2:37 am

MrSoundman wrote:Cubase Pro 9 can open all projects created in Cubase Artist 9. Having not yet gotten around to actually exporting a track from Artist and importing it into Pro, I hesitate to confirm definitively, but worst case scenario is you can load the entire Artist project.

The artificial restrictions on loading between versions/editions was a big deal for me (limiting collaboration) but these were lifted some time ago (IIRC around C7, when Yamaha took over and enforced some customer friendliness).
I suppose you're right, worst case we can just send whole projects back and forth...
Intel Core 2 Quad | Windows 10 64bit | Nuendo 8.3.0 | Cubase 10.0.10

User avatar
MrSoundman
Senior Member
Posts: 2317
Joined: Fri Dec 24, 2010 3:27 am
Contact:

Re: Question about Artist vs Pro

Post by MrSoundman » Sat Dec 17, 2016 3:01 am

Adam_Bove wrote:I suppose you're right, worst case we can just send whole projects back and forth...
I should be in a position to test this over the next few days if you really need to know, and are happy to wait.
Windows 10 • Cubase 9.5.50 • WaveLab 9.5.50 • SpectraLayers 6.0.10 • HALion 6.3.0 • Groove Agent 5.0.10 • Midex

User avatar
Adam_Bove
Member
Posts: 213
Joined: Sun Feb 06, 2011 4:29 am
Contact:

Re: Question about Artist vs Pro

Post by Adam_Bove » Sat Dec 17, 2016 10:01 am

MrSoundman wrote:I should be in a position to test this over the next few days if you really need to know, and are happy to wait.
Most Certainly. Thanks!
Intel Core 2 Quad | Windows 10 64bit | Nuendo 8.3.0 | Cubase 10.0.10

User avatar
MrSoundman
Senior Member
Posts: 2317
Joined: Fri Dec 24, 2010 3:27 am
Contact:

Re: Question about Artist vs Pro

Post by MrSoundman » Sat Dec 17, 2016 12:41 pm

Adam_Bove wrote:
MrSoundman wrote:I should be in a position to test this over the next few days if you really need to know, and are happy to wait.
Most Certainly. Thanks!
OK, Artist cannot export or import individual tracks; the "track archive" feature is Pro-only. For collaboration, you could render the tracks and exchange the audio files though. I do this a lot and it works regardless of what software or OS people are using; you just need to be organised.
Windows 10 • Cubase 9.5.50 • WaveLab 9.5.50 • SpectraLayers 6.0.10 • HALion 6.3.0 • Groove Agent 5.0.10 • Midex

User avatar
Adam_Bove
Member
Posts: 213
Joined: Sun Feb 06, 2011 4:29 am
Contact:

Re: Question about Artist vs Pro

Post by Adam_Bove » Sat Dec 17, 2016 12:55 pm

MrSoundman wrote:OK, Artist cannot export or import individual tracks; the "track archive" feature is Pro-only.
I was afraid of this. But thanks for researching this and getting back to me!
MrSoundman wrote: For collaboration, you could render the tracks and exchange the audio files though.
I usually do this. Though, for this particular collaboration, it would be much more efficient to work with track archives as I will be evaluating, editing and sending back to him multiple times. I suppose I can create satellite projects with stems to cut down on up/downloading time.
Intel Core 2 Quad | Windows 10 64bit | Nuendo 8.3.0 | Cubase 10.0.10

User avatar
MrSoundman
Senior Member
Posts: 2317
Joined: Fri Dec 24, 2010 3:27 am
Contact:

Re: Question about Artist vs Pro

Post by MrSoundman » Sat Dec 17, 2016 4:31 pm

Have you considered VST Connect?
Windows 10 • Cubase 9.5.50 • WaveLab 9.5.50 • SpectraLayers 6.0.10 • HALion 6.3.0 • Groove Agent 5.0.10 • Midex

User avatar
Adam_Bove
Member
Posts: 213
Joined: Sun Feb 06, 2011 4:29 am
Contact:

Re: Question about Artist vs Pro

Post by Adam_Bove » Sat Dec 17, 2016 6:15 pm

MrSoundman wrote:Have you considered VST Connect?
Yes! I actually have been using it and plan to upgrade to the pro version. The work flow I brought up in this thread will utilitilize both, vst connect, and the offline methods as discussed above.

This particular artist is quite finicky, and, mind you all this is mostly for "pre-production" work. We will end up booking physical studio time to get the "real" stuff!
Intel Core 2 Quad | Windows 10 64bit | Nuendo 8.3.0 | Cubase 10.0.10

Post Reply

Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests