TAPE-STYLE VARISPEED

All feature requests and suggestions for upcoming releases of Cubase Pro 9, Cubase Artist 9 and Cubase Elements 9 can be posted here.
agrpap
New Member
Posts: 8
Joined: Mon Jan 07, 2013 4:46 pm
Contact:

TAPE-STYLE VARISPEED

Post by agrpap » Fri Dec 23, 2016 8:40 am

No workarounds, just a simple knob that adjusts playback speed. For the love of god, man!! PLEASE. It is an age-old recording trick that tons of people love to employ. I and others have been asking for this for YEARS. Why the resistance?

claesbjo
Member
Posts: 288
Joined: Fri Aug 09, 2013 7:33 pm
Contact:

Re: TAPE-STYLE VARISPEED

Post by claesbjo » Sun Dec 25, 2016 9:20 am

+1 yes please, have been wishing for this for a long time. one of the few things I miss from LogicX.
2010 Mac Pro 6-core 3.33 ghz. 24 mb RAM. osx 10.10.1. Cubase 8.0.20, Logic PRO 10.1

smartinuf
Junior Member
Posts: 171
Joined: Sun Dec 19, 2010 10:40 pm
Contact:

Re: TAPE-STYLE VARISPEED

Post by smartinuf » Sun Dec 25, 2016 11:27 pm

+1
Mac Pro 8 core 2.8 Ghz (early 2008), 10.10.5, 12 gig RAM, RME Digiface, UAD2, Macbook Pro (Late 2008) Fireface 800, Cubase 8.0.35, 8.5.1, Wavelab 8.5.3, Wavelab Elements 8

eightyeightkeys
Junior Member
Posts: 70
Joined: Thu Dec 23, 2010 7:01 pm
Contact:

Re: TAPE-STYLE VARISPEED

Post by eightyeightkeys » Sun Jan 01, 2017 5:12 pm

+1

There are plugs that can do this : Sugarbytes Effectrix has a preset for it....but, this would be an awesome add.
eightyeightkeys
Asus G752 VW-DH71, i76700HQ, 32GB DDR4 RAM, 2 SSD's, Windows 10 Home

User avatar
estrica2000
Member
Posts: 341
Joined: Sun Dec 01, 2013 5:55 pm
Contact:

Re: TAPE-STYLE VARISPEED

Post by estrica2000 » Mon Jan 02, 2017 1:09 am

+1
OSX Mavericks, Cubase 7.5.4 64 bit

J-S-Q
Member
Posts: 963
Joined: Fri Jan 14, 2011 1:45 pm
Location: London, UK
Contact:

Re: TAPE-STYLE VARISPEED

Post by J-S-Q » Mon Jan 02, 2017 2:11 am

agrpap wrote:No workarounds, just a simple knob that adjusts playback speed. For the love of god, man!! PLEASE. It is an age-old recording trick that tons of people love to employ. I and others have been asking for this for YEARS. Why the resistance?
I think you will be already aware of this and consider it a workaround but juuuuust in case....

You can achieve a tape style effect with Variaudio set to the 'Elastique Pro Tape' algorithm but you have to use the arrow tool (in time stretch mode) rather than a control knob.

But yes, having ability to change playback speed with a simple knob would be a welcome feature.
Cubase Pro 9, Win10
CPU: AMD Threadripper 1920X. MOTHERBOARD: Gigabyte Aorus X399. RAM: 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX. GRAPHICS CARD: Gigabyte GV-N96TSL GeForce 9600GT. SYSTEM DRIVE: Samsung 950 Pro M.2 SSD. AUDIO INTERFACE: Steinberg MR816-CSX CONTROLLER: Avid S3, Avid Artist Transport

User avatar
raino
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3661
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 2:41 am
Location: San Francisco
Contact:

Re: TAPE-STYLE VARISPEED

Post by raino » Mon Jan 02, 2017 9:02 pm

+1
rodger

Cubase Pro 10.0.40, Win10 Home, Halion6, BFD3, GPO, Komplete Ultimate 9, Waves Gold, Misc. other

i7 4771 Haswell Processor 3.5GHz, ADK LGA1150, 16GB RAM, GeForce GTX970, RME Fireface 400, 2x UAD-2

theemasquerade
New Member
Posts: 12
Joined: Fri Apr 29, 2016 5:24 am
Contact:

Re: TAPE-STYLE VARISPEED

Post by theemasquerade » Sun Jan 08, 2017 12:53 am

WOW. I just had a flashback to 2008, and the MANY attempts of doing live exports while holding the old playback speed/scrub knob at JUST the right spot in Cubase 4. Ha! We all swear it sounded so much better than doing a basic time stretch to the mix, but we may have been on a trip of some sort...

As heard here:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=VuXx4r9RZQY

User avatar
suntower
Senior Member
Posts: 1716
Joined: Mon Feb 07, 2011 7:53 am
Location: Seattle/Dublin
Contact:

Re: TAPE-STYLE VARISPEED

Post by suntower » Wed Jan 25, 2017 6:33 pm

+1000

This has been an 'Annual Request' of mine for may 12 years.
Primary: i7960 16gb RAM, SSD, 3 3TB HD, Win10 Pro
Second: Sandybridge 16gb RAM 3 3TB HD, Win10 Pro
Laptop: HP Pavilion i5, 8GB RAM 7200RPM, Cubase Pro 10, iCPro, WL9.5, Win 10
Vienna Ensemble5, VSL, NI Komplete, EWQLSO, LASS, Embertone, Arturia, Waves, Soundtoys etc. CME UF8, Roland TD-12 VDrums

Brandy
Senior Member
Posts: 1045
Joined: Sat Dec 18, 2010 4:59 pm
Contact:

Re: TAPE-STYLE VARISPEED

Post by Brandy » Wed Jan 25, 2017 8:30 pm

Just checked this very forum after a long time because of THAT... Have to learn/record complex drums using a laptop installation of Cubase and most stuff is quite fast so slowing down 10 or 20% would make it way more easy.

No - those workarounds are NOT doing the trick.. I have full songs with quite some snippets, parts, takes, stuff and all I need is a field in the transport bar to slow down the stuff a bit..

I consider bouncing stuff out and using Logic for that task but this would blow up the workflow A LOT. Because I loose the arranger track, color coded parts, stuff, *flower*, etc - and in addition this would mean to use Logic and well, I never understood Logic completely ;-)

Sorry for the OT - but we NEED that varispeed. I was hoping it is in C9 now since the window management seems to be very "Logic style" now :)
Christoph Brandes | Iguana Studios | Freiburg/Germany | Facebook | C9.5 - N6.5 - WL9 and lots of stuff like that | still originally registered in deepest 2001

wagzy
New Member
Posts: 24
Joined: Mon Jan 30, 2012 11:43 pm
Contact:

Re: TAPE-STYLE VARISPEED

Post by wagzy » Sat Sep 09, 2017 2:26 am

+One Million

Brandy
Senior Member
Posts: 1045
Joined: Sat Dec 18, 2010 4:59 pm
Contact:

Re: TAPE-STYLE VARISPEED

Post by Brandy » Sat Sep 09, 2017 11:15 am

Why does all programs, including 60$ Reaper have it since ages?
Christoph Brandes | Iguana Studios | Freiburg/Germany | Facebook | C9.5 - N6.5 - WL9 and lots of stuff like that | still originally registered in deepest 2001

djgraver
Member
Posts: 371
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:21 pm
Contact:

Re: TAPE-STYLE VARISPEED

Post by djgraver » Sat Sep 09, 2017 8:19 pm

+1
Win10 x64;Core i5-4670;16GB RAM;SSD system HDD library;Nvidia 1050Ti 4GB
Cubase (always last update)

User avatar
MrSoundman
Senior Member
Posts: 2319
Joined: Fri Dec 24, 2010 3:27 am
Contact:

Re: TAPE-STYLE VARISPEED

Post by MrSoundman » Sat Sep 09, 2017 10:45 pm

For entire tracks, I prefer to do it for free with Paul's Extreme Sound Stretch.
Windows 10 • Cubase 9.5.50 • WaveLab 9.5.50 • SpectraLayers 6.0.10 • HALion 6.3.0 • Groove Agent 5.0.10 • Midex

digi001
Junior Member
Posts: 163
Joined: Tue Aug 22, 2017 5:08 pm
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Contact:

Re: TAPE-STYLE VARISPEED

Post by digi001 » Sun Sep 10, 2017 4:23 pm

YES!! Please.

This is one of the few features left that Logic X has and I wish Cubase would implement.

And pay attention to Logic X varispeed....what is really cool is the varispeed option with Midi. It takes your midi tracks (i guess temporarily streams them to audio) and plays them pitched back too.

There isn't any rendering time or wait in Logic X. Just like a real varispeed knob you change it and go.
2013 MacPro 6 Core OSX 10.11 - 32 GB RAM / Universal Audio Thunderbolt Apollos qty 3
Cubase 9.5.30
Mackie MCU Pro / Softube Console 1
Analog Outboard Studio using 32 channels of External FX for Mixdown

digi001
Junior Member
Posts: 163
Joined: Tue Aug 22, 2017 5:08 pm
Location: Philadelphia, PA
Contact:

Re: TAPE-STYLE VARISPEED

Post by digi001 » Sun Sep 10, 2017 4:24 pm

I actually wanted to use it today on a session....(wanted to slow down the track to overdub a arpeggio synth part which would be tough to play in real-time) ..... which is why I was looking it up.
2013 MacPro 6 Core OSX 10.11 - 32 GB RAM / Universal Audio Thunderbolt Apollos qty 3
Cubase 9.5.30
Mackie MCU Pro / Softube Console 1
Analog Outboard Studio using 32 channels of External FX for Mixdown

User avatar
MrSoundman
Senior Member
Posts: 2319
Joined: Fri Dec 24, 2010 3:27 am
Contact:

Re: TAPE-STYLE VARISPEED

Post by MrSoundman » Sun Sep 10, 2017 4:36 pm

digi001 wrote:
Sun Sep 10, 2017 4:24 pm
I actually wanted to use it today on a session....(wanted to slow down the track to overdub a arpeggio synth part which would be tough to play in real-time)
That wouldn't really be tape-style though, which also drops the pitch. If your other tracks were MIDI, you'd just drop the tempo ..... if there's any audio track, then you'd want it to maintain it's pitch when slowed down while you play along. Tape-style would both slow the tempo and drop the pitch.
Windows 10 • Cubase 9.5.50 • WaveLab 9.5.50 • SpectraLayers 6.0.10 • HALion 6.3.0 • Groove Agent 5.0.10 • Midex

alexis
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 4418
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 7:55 pm
Contact:

Re: TAPE-STYLE VARISPEED

Post by alexis » Sun Sep 10, 2017 4:44 pm

Tape drop effect, is that what "varispeed" is?

I used "Glitch" to do that recently. It's 32-bit and it seemed buggy to me. It was a freebee so can't complain.
Alexis

-Cubase "Safe Start Mode" (CTRL-ALT-SHIFT)
-Get variable-tempo audio to follow a grid here,
-Replacing freely-timed section into a variable tempo project

Cubase 9.0.20; i5-4570 3.2GHz, 16GB RAM; W10 Pro 64-bit on Samsung SSD 840 Pro 256GB; Seagate 1TB SATA 600 Audio; UR28M; Motif8; UAD-2 Solo; Jamstix 3.6; RevoicePro3.3; EZDrummer 2

User avatar
peakae
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3015
Joined: Sat Jan 05, 2013 8:15 pm
Location: Bedroom
Contact:

Re: TAPE-STYLE VARISPEED

Post by peakae » Sun Sep 10, 2017 7:39 pm

It's not like you can't do it in Cubase, but an easier way is always welcome.
Cubase Pro 10, Wavelab Elements 9, I7 3770K , win10x64, 16Gb Ram, RME Raydat, Steinberg MR816x, Motu 828mkII, Behringer ADA8200, Yamaha moXF6, Steinberg UR242, Yamaha THR 10, Grace Design m900, CMC TP, CMC CH.

User avatar
MrSoundman
Senior Member
Posts: 2319
Joined: Fri Dec 24, 2010 3:27 am
Contact:

Re: TAPE-STYLE VARISPEED

Post by MrSoundman » Sun Sep 10, 2017 8:36 pm

alexis wrote:
Sun Sep 10, 2017 4:44 pm
Tape drop effect, is that what "varispeed" is?
The "tape drop" or vinyl spin-down is like cutting the power to the motor driving the turntable, while still listening to what's being played back, until it comes to a halt. Varispeed, on the other hand, is being able to control the entire playback speed (without pitch correction) by means of a knob -- a speed control. The sound plays back either faster (at a higher pitch) or slower (at a lower pitch) and can be varied continually.

PS A good replacement for that "drop" effect in Glitch is the "spin down" in Izotope's Vinyl (also free). Glitch 2 is 64-bit, by the way.
Windows 10 • Cubase 9.5.50 • WaveLab 9.5.50 • SpectraLayers 6.0.10 • HALion 6.3.0 • Groove Agent 5.0.10 • Midex

alexis
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 4418
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 7:55 pm
Contact:

Re: TAPE-STYLE VARISPEED

Post by alexis » Mon Sep 11, 2017 2:18 am

MrSoundman wrote:
Sun Sep 10, 2017 8:36 pm
alexis wrote:
Sun Sep 10, 2017 4:44 pm
Tape drop effect, is that what "varispeed" is?
The "tape drop" or vinyl spin-down is like cutting the power to the motor driving the turntable, while still listening to what's being played back, until it comes to a halt. Varispeed, on the other hand, is being able to control the entire playback speed (without pitch correction) by means of a knob -- a speed control. The sound plays back either faster (at a higher pitch) or slower (at a lower pitch) and can be varied continually.

PS A good replacement for that "drop" effect in Glitch is the "spin down" in Izotope's Vinyl (also free). Glitch 2 is 64-bit, by the way.
Cool, thank you. If Izotope also has a "spin up" to complement their spin down, that's what I'll use next time. Or Glitch 2, if it's also free.
Alexis

-Cubase "Safe Start Mode" (CTRL-ALT-SHIFT)
-Get variable-tempo audio to follow a grid here,
-Replacing freely-timed section into a variable tempo project

Cubase 9.0.20; i5-4570 3.2GHz, 16GB RAM; W10 Pro 64-bit on Samsung SSD 840 Pro 256GB; Seagate 1TB SATA 600 Audio; UR28M; Motif8; UAD-2 Solo; Jamstix 3.6; RevoicePro3.3; EZDrummer 2

Brandy
Senior Member
Posts: 1045
Joined: Sat Dec 18, 2010 4:59 pm
Contact:

Re: TAPE-STYLE VARISPEED

Post by Brandy » Mon Sep 11, 2017 9:57 am

MrSoundman wrote:
Sun Sep 10, 2017 4:36 pm
digi001 wrote:
Sun Sep 10, 2017 4:24 pm
I actually wanted to use it today on a session....(wanted to slow down the track to overdub a arpeggio synth part which would be tough to play in real-time)
That wouldn't really be tape-style though, which also drops the pitch. If your other tracks were MIDI, you'd just drop the tempo ..... if there's any audio track, then you'd want it to maintain it's pitch when slowed down while you play along. Tape-style would both slow the tempo and drop the pitch.
,

Well, when I lower the tempo in Logic or Reaper the pitch will leave untouched. I do not know if there is a "real tape style" option which will alter the pitch as well...

Just lowering the tempo is of course more complicated for audio but I quess easy for midi.. However -it is extremly helpful to track short complex part - or maybe only practice them.

NO, just changing the tempo in Cubase will NOT do it. With midi, ok.. with audio - well, then it starts to get complicated in a bigger session with lots of events & edits.

AND it usually not that easy regarding the tempotrack. Some folks might have a fixed song tempo but my clients including myself usually have complex tempotracks with lots of different tempi and lots of metric changes.


I can just dial a knob in Logic or Reaper and the playback speed (of the full song, of everything) changes. Not more and not less. We need that in Cubase.
Christoph Brandes | Iguana Studios | Freiburg/Germany | Facebook | C9.5 - N6.5 - WL9 and lots of stuff like that | still originally registered in deepest 2001

alexis
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 4418
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 7:55 pm
Contact:

Re: TAPE-STYLE VARISPEED

Post by alexis » Mon Sep 11, 2017 1:08 pm

If you place all the audio in musical mode (Pool > select all > Musical Mode), do you get the same effect when you then adjust the tempo (in the Tempo track, or the CTRL-T tempo editor)?

Or do you have to select all the audio and Set Definition From Tempo (from the Audio > Advanced menu) first?
Alexis

-Cubase "Safe Start Mode" (CTRL-ALT-SHIFT)
-Get variable-tempo audio to follow a grid here,
-Replacing freely-timed section into a variable tempo project

Cubase 9.0.20; i5-4570 3.2GHz, 16GB RAM; W10 Pro 64-bit on Samsung SSD 840 Pro 256GB; Seagate 1TB SATA 600 Audio; UR28M; Motif8; UAD-2 Solo; Jamstix 3.6; RevoicePro3.3; EZDrummer 2

Brandy
Senior Member
Posts: 1045
Joined: Sat Dec 18, 2010 4:59 pm
Contact:

Re: TAPE-STYLE VARISPEED

Post by Brandy » Mon Sep 11, 2017 2:04 pm

depending on some details (placements on the grid, "initial" tempo embedded in the audiofile (as you can see in the pool regarding "tempo") this procedere might end up with a big mess..

I do it like this often when tweaking preproductions, when trying to find the right tempo.. here it is the best idea to bounce all the events first in the place were they are.. then open the pool and select all files, click in "set tempo to musical" - then they will playbacked according to the changes in the tempotrack... this is, as I mentioned, a possible scenario in demos/preproduction were you might have to deal with a limited amount of events/tracks..
That way you can fiddle around finding out a proper tempo for individual parts etc..

What we all want is just changing the global tempo with a jog wheel - keeping for instance 120bpm but speeding it up by 10% or slowing it down by 5% - with all the project UNTOUCHED.. so you can just reset that jog wheel at any point and everything will playback at regular speed again.
Christoph Brandes | Iguana Studios | Freiburg/Germany | Facebook | C9.5 - N6.5 - WL9 and lots of stuff like that | still originally registered in deepest 2001

User avatar
Stephen57
Senior Member
Posts: 1733
Joined: Sat May 30, 2015 5:32 pm
Location: New York, NY
Contact:

Re: TAPE-STYLE VARISPEED

Post by Stephen57 » Mon Sep 11, 2017 2:16 pm

agrpap wrote:
Fri Dec 23, 2016 8:40 am
No workarounds, just a simple knob that adjusts playback speed. For the love of god, man!! PLEASE. It is an age-old recording trick that tons of people love to employ. I and others have been asking for this for YEARS. Why the resistance?
Playback of what?

Cubase Pro 9 has tape-style time stretch.
-------------------------------------------------------
DAW: Cubase Pro 10 (Main), Cubase Pro 9.5 (Backup); PC: HP Z230, i5 CPU quad-core 3.5 Ghz, 16 Gigs RAM; OS: Win 7 Pro 64-bit; Audio Converters, Scarlett 2I4, Zoom UCR-8; USB MIDI Controller, Akai Advance 49. VST-Is: Spectrasonics Omnisphere 2.5, Stylus RMX; Air Music: Hybrid, Transfuser 2, Vacuum Pro, Velvet, Xpand2; Novation: Bass Station; Sonovox Grand Piano; Rack: Proteus 2000, Korg 03R/W, Yamaha TG 33. Monitoring with KRK Rokit 8/G3, Tannoy PBM 6.5 II, Mics. Scheops, Sennheiser, Rode, Lectrosonics RF, etc.

Help with Cubase:
Documentation: https://steinberg.help/
Location/file paths of presets in Cubase and Nuendo: https://helpcenter.steinberg.de/hc/en-u ... nd-Nuendo-
Preferences: https://helpcenter.steinberg.de/hc/en-u ... and-Nuendo

Post Reply

Return to “Feature Requests and Suggestions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests