Installing Cubase SX3.1

For users of legacy Steinberg Cubase software
Post Reply
User avatar
Promedia
Junior Member
Posts: 64
Joined: Wed Jul 08, 2015 8:55 am
Location: Edinburgh
Contact:

Installing Cubase SX3.1

Post by Promedia » Thu Feb 16, 2017 6:17 pm

Hi guys,

I'm in the final stages of installing all my plugins and VSTi's. I'm running Cubase Pro 9, but I'd love to be able to run SX3 too, just to give my full coverage in terms of vintage plugins.

Does anyone know if the licence on my dongle will allow me to run SX3 too (or 4, 5, 6 etc)? I'm currently running 8.5 and 9 quite happily.

Kind regards,

George Wood

PS I have an ISO os SX3.1
Dell Studio XPS i7 16GB
Windows 10 64-bit - Cubase Pro 9.5
Midex 8 - Kontrol Audio 6
SoundCloud: http://soundcloud.com/george-wood

User avatar
Sjakkert
New Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Feb 15, 2017 11:11 pm
Location: Sjælland, Danmark
Contact:

Re: Installing Cubase SX3.1

Post by Sjakkert » Thu Feb 16, 2017 11:25 pm

I don't think the dongle/license will be the problem in newer, it's more the OS's that's the problem - as far as I know. I tried installing my Cubase SX3 on my previous Windows 7 laptop a few years back, and every topic I could search through told it was impossible :/
But I would really be glad if there was a way!

User avatar
Promedia
Junior Member
Posts: 64
Joined: Wed Jul 08, 2015 8:55 am
Location: Edinburgh
Contact:

Re: Installing Cubase SX3.1

Post by Promedia » Fri Feb 17, 2017 11:11 am

I hadn't considered the OS actually, I have an old Dell laptop, it might make a good test environment?

I'll try SX3 (maybe even VST 5.1) and see if they detect the dongle; I remember the key for 5.1 plugged into the parallel port so that will be interesting.

Thanks again for your advice!

George Wood
Dell Studio XPS i7 16GB
Windows 10 64-bit - Cubase Pro 9.5
Midex 8 - Kontrol Audio 6
SoundCloud: http://soundcloud.com/george-wood

User avatar
MrSoundman
Senior Member
Posts: 2386
Joined: Fri Dec 24, 2010 3:27 am
Contact:

Re: Installing Cubase SX3.1

Post by MrSoundman » Fri Feb 17, 2017 11:30 am

Install SX3 on an old laptop, then zip up the folder in Program Files, copy across to Windows 10, unzip, run.
Windows 10 • Cubase 10.5.0 • WaveLab 10.0.0 • SpectraLayers 6.0.20 • HALion 6.3.1 • Groove Agent 5.0.20 • Midex

User avatar
Promedia
Junior Member
Posts: 64
Joined: Wed Jul 08, 2015 8:55 am
Location: Edinburgh
Contact:

Re: Installing Cubase SX3.1

Post by Promedia » Fri Feb 17, 2017 11:15 pm

I installed Cubase SX3 on the Laptop (old Dell Inspiron running Win 10); the installation completed successfully but Cubase couldn't see the copy protection key.

It was worth a try I guess, I don't feel it's worth spending any more time on :(

Thanks again for your help guys!!!

George Wood
Dell Studio XPS i7 16GB
Windows 10 64-bit - Cubase Pro 9.5
Midex 8 - Kontrol Audio 6
SoundCloud: http://soundcloud.com/george-wood

User avatar
MrSoundman
Senior Member
Posts: 2386
Joined: Fri Dec 24, 2010 3:27 am
Contact:

Re: Installing Cubase SX3.1

Post by MrSoundman » Sat Feb 18, 2017 1:08 am

Promedia wrote:Cubase couldn't see the copy protection key
Update the eLicenser software.
Windows 10 • Cubase 10.5.0 • WaveLab 10.0.0 • SpectraLayers 6.0.20 • HALion 6.3.1 • Groove Agent 5.0.20 • Midex

User avatar
Promedia
Junior Member
Posts: 64
Joined: Wed Jul 08, 2015 8:55 am
Location: Edinburgh
Contact:

Re: Installing Cubase SX3.1

Post by Promedia » Mon Feb 20, 2017 7:13 am

Thanks guys,

I did have a look at my eLicencer, there were 15 products (all working AFAIK) on it and I figured with my luck I'd screw something up.

I'd ask Steinberg just to be certain, but Im still waiting for a reply for a question for more than 2 weeks now (I ended up solving it).

Kind regards,

George Wood
Dell Studio XPS i7 16GB
Windows 10 64-bit - Cubase Pro 9.5
Midex 8 - Kontrol Audio 6
SoundCloud: http://soundcloud.com/george-wood

User avatar
MrSoundman
Senior Member
Posts: 2386
Joined: Fri Dec 24, 2010 3:27 am
Contact:

Re: Installing Cubase SX3.1

Post by MrSoundman » Mon Feb 20, 2017 10:05 pm

If you've run the installation process for SX3 you need to download and install the latest version of the eLicenser software because as part of the SX3 installation an ancient version would have gotten installed. Installing the latest version of the eLicenser software is always recommended. It won't harm any of the licenses on the USB eLicenser.
Windows 10 • Cubase 10.5.0 • WaveLab 10.0.0 • SpectraLayers 6.0.20 • HALion 6.3.1 • Groove Agent 5.0.20 • Midex

User avatar
Promedia
Junior Member
Posts: 64
Joined: Wed Jul 08, 2015 8:55 am
Location: Edinburgh
Contact:

Re: Installing Cubase SX3.1

Post by Promedia » Mon Mar 06, 2017 12:06 pm

Thanks for that MrSoundman :)
Dell Studio XPS i7 16GB
Windows 10 64-bit - Cubase Pro 9.5
Midex 8 - Kontrol Audio 6
SoundCloud: http://soundcloud.com/george-wood

Post Reply

Return to “Older Cubase versions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests