slow & not smooth GUI

Post general topics related to Cubase Pro 9, Cubase Artist 9 and Cubase Elements 9 here.
Post Reply
djgraver
Member
Posts: 370
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:21 pm
Contact:

slow & not smooth GUI

Post by djgraver » Thu Mar 23, 2017 4:55 pm

Hello everyone!
I recently read the forum & i didn't find (or maybe its didn't exist) anyone who have same problem like mine.

first my pc specs: W10 x64, i5-4670, 16GB ram, GPU 1050ti 4GB, SSD system(Cubase), HDD Samples.

The problem is:
when i'm working in heavy project with alots of: audio tracks, vst effects + vsti.
VST Performance meter around 70-80%
No audio glitches/drops etc. audio works ok.
But GUI, its not smooth, not fast, not optimized & have alot of bugs with focus zones....

For example i need to zoom in, select audio part, slice it and move it - and it start be a nightmare, like i play high end video game with low spec pc.
And if open vari-audio in lower zone, and trying to move parts. same problem
When open empty project, Cubase doesn't have this problem.

And level of GPU usage doesn't change if u open empty project or heavy.

Maybe this happened just for me, i don't know.
Maybe MacOS users doesn't have problems like this, and i should switched to mac....

anyway, I will be appreciated for any advice

Thanks
Last edited by djgraver on Fri Aug 18, 2017 11:14 am, edited 3 times in total.
Win10 x64;Core i5-4670;16GB RAM;SSD system HDD library;Nvidia 1050Ti 4GB
Cubase (always last update)

In_Stereo
Senior Member
Posts: 1344
Joined: Wed Oct 12, 2016 6:21 pm
Contact:

Re: slow & not smooth GUI question

Post by In_Stereo » Thu Mar 23, 2017 8:33 pm

djgraver wrote: Maybe MacOS users doesn't have problems like this, and i should switched to mac....

anyway, I will be appreciated for any advice

Thanks
No, do NOT switch to Mac. It's a very well-documented issue on Macs that Steinberg is aware of and working on fixing. I'm surprised to hear about it on Windows, and would look at other culprits besides Cubase since I've very rarely seen the same GUI issue as Mac users have mentioned for Windows users.
Cubase 9.5, Trashcan Mac 6-core 3.7ghz, High Sierra 10.13.4 OS, AMD FirePro D300 Dual, 64 gig RAM, plugins galore, some hardware, a bunch of real instruments and synths, Apollo 8 TB, etc., etc., and two cats

audioguy
Member
Posts: 274
Joined: Tue Jun 09, 2015 6:23 am
Contact:

Re: slow & not smooth GUI question

Post by audioguy » Thu Mar 23, 2017 10:04 pm

Are you actually using the discrete GPU for Cubase?

djgraver
Member
Posts: 370
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:21 pm
Contact:

Re: slow & not smooth GUI question

Post by djgraver » Thu Mar 23, 2017 11:49 pm

audioguy wrote:Are you actually using the discrete GPU for Cubase?
Before, i'm using discrete GPU. After i buy MSI GeForce 1050Ti 4GB. I was hoping this will solve my problem, but it not.

i open same project in C7 - NO problems.

In_Stereo wrote:
djgraver wrote: Maybe MacOS users doesn't have problems like this, and i should switched to mac....

anyway, I will be appreciated for any advice

Thanks
No, do NOT switch to Mac. It's a very well-documented issue on Macs that Steinberg is aware of and working on fixing. I'm surprised to hear about it on Windows, and would look at other culprits besides Cubase since I've very rarely seen the same GUI issue as Mac users have mentioned for Windows users.

i found this kind of issue after C5, with every new version, this issue start be more critical
Win10 x64;Core i5-4670;16GB RAM;SSD system HDD library;Nvidia 1050Ti 4GB
Cubase (always last update)

djw
Senior Member
Posts: 1645
Joined: Sun Mar 15, 2015 2:49 am
Contact:

Re: slow & not smooth GUI question

Post by djw » Fri Mar 24, 2017 12:46 am

On Windows:

Image

It's not just on Macs. Too many MIDI events means moving the mouse makes it stop updating.


EDIT: Fixed in 9.0.20
Last edited by djw on Thu Apr 27, 2017 7:00 pm, edited 1 time in total.

In_Stereo
Senior Member
Posts: 1344
Joined: Wed Oct 12, 2016 6:21 pm
Contact:

Re: slow & not smooth GUI question

Post by In_Stereo » Fri Mar 24, 2017 3:12 am

djw wrote:On Windows:

Image

It's not just on Macs. Too many MIDI events means moving the mouse makes it stop updating.
Interesting! That in particular does not happen on my Mac.
Cubase 9.5, Trashcan Mac 6-core 3.7ghz, High Sierra 10.13.4 OS, AMD FirePro D300 Dual, 64 gig RAM, plugins galore, some hardware, a bunch of real instruments and synths, Apollo 8 TB, etc., etc., and two cats

User avatar
peakae
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3002
Joined: Sat Jan 05, 2013 8:15 pm
Location: Bedroom
Contact:

Re: slow & not smooth GUI question

Post by peakae » Fri Mar 24, 2017 4:40 am

The gfx stutter when moving mouse on a busy project is much worse in C9.
Cubase has never been super smooth, and that's ok as long as the audio doesn't suffer.
But in C9 it's testing my patience.
Cubase Pro 10, Wavelab Elements 9, I7 3770K , win10x64, 16Gb Ram, RME Raydat, Steinberg MR816x, Motu 828mkII, Behringer ADA8200, Yamaha moXF6, Steinberg UR242, Yamaha THR 10, Grace Design m900, CMC TP, CMC CH.

djgraver
Member
Posts: 370
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:21 pm
Contact:

Re: slow & not smooth GUI question

Post by djgraver » Fri Mar 24, 2017 11:35 am

i found if u hide everything except part u need, GUI start be little bit faster, then everything shows up
Win10 x64;Core i5-4670;16GB RAM;SSD system HDD library;Nvidia 1050Ti 4GB
Cubase (always last update)

Manike
Member
Posts: 772
Joined: Fri Nov 04, 2011 3:21 pm
Contact:

Re: slow & not smooth GUI question

Post by Manike » Fri Mar 24, 2017 12:02 pm

djgraver wrote:i found if u hide everything except part u need, GUI start be little bit faster, then everything shows up

Yeah thats right - shove everything in a folder and shut it and the gui issues go away.
8-Core Trashcan Mac Pro : Mojave : Cubase10.0.40 : MOTU828x : Nektar P6 :
Macbook pro : Mojave
http://www.manikemusic.com

audioguy
Member
Posts: 274
Joined: Tue Jun 09, 2015 6:23 am
Contact:

Re: slow & not smooth GUI question

Post by audioguy » Fri Mar 24, 2017 12:15 pm

In the Nvidia (or ATI) control panel you can set Cubase to use the discrete GPU.

djgraver
Member
Posts: 370
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:21 pm
Contact:

Re: slow & not smooth GUI question

Post by djgraver » Fri Mar 24, 2017 12:27 pm

Manike wrote:
djgraver wrote:i found if u hide everything except part u need, GUI start be little bit faster, then everything shows up

Yeah thats right - shove everything in a folder and shut it and the gui issues go away.
issues doesn't go away, just little bit less slow. but, still annoying
audioguy wrote:In the Nvidia (or ATI) control panel you can set Cubase to use the discrete GPU.
i working in discrete GPU, it doesn't solved the problem
Win10 x64;Core i5-4670;16GB RAM;SSD system HDD library;Nvidia 1050Ti 4GB
Cubase (always last update)

Rkmusic
Junior Member
Posts: 145
Joined: Wed Aug 27, 2014 6:32 am
Contact:

Re: slow & not smooth GUI question

Post by Rkmusic » Fri Mar 24, 2017 4:35 pm

But in C9 it's testing my patience.[/quote]
Same here. Cubase is the only daw that lags on my mac. It's been like that since cubase 8. 3 years of lag is not acceptable
mac pro 2010-32gb-OSX 10.14.0-Korg m3-Motif xs-Waves gold-Saffire pro 40-liquid saffire 56-Some software synths-glyph drive-Ensoniq mr 76-Logic x-Cubase 10-pro tools 2018

User avatar
greggybud
Senior Member
Posts: 1179
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 10:01 am
Contact:

Re: slow & not smooth GUI question

Post by greggybud » Fri Mar 24, 2017 5:11 pm

djw wrote: Too many MIDI events means moving the mouse makes it stop updating.
How do you define "too many MIDI events?"

Can you list a step-by step repro? Not that I really want my DAW to replicate your problem, but are there audio tracks too? How many MIDI tracks? How much CC data?
Windows 7x64, Wavelab 9.5, latest Cubase version, i7, 16g, SSD, (Gigabyte GeForce GTX 750ti driving 2 32" LG ultra wides and 1 28" all @2560x1080) iCon QconPro, Metagrid, 4 MidiTimePiece's = 32in/outs, 4 TB HDs, UAD-2, NI, Waves, Arturia, and lots of hardware synthesizers most of them controlled by MidiQuest 11.

djgraver
Member
Posts: 370
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:21 pm
Contact:

Re: slow & not smooth GUI question

Post by djgraver » Fri Mar 24, 2017 7:12 pm

greggybud wrote:
djw wrote: Too many MIDI events means moving the mouse makes it stop updating.
How do you define "too many MIDI events?"

Can you list a step-by step repro? Not that I really want my DAW to replicate your problem, but are there audio tracks too? How many MIDI tracks? How much CC data?
u can reproduce it not just with midi.It's happened in heavy project.

Simply play project choose scissors tool, and just moove cursor inside project. While u mooving cursor cubase GUI freezed, stop moving cursor, unfreeze
Win10 x64;Core i5-4670;16GB RAM;SSD system HDD library;Nvidia 1050Ti 4GB
Cubase (always last update)

Manike
Member
Posts: 772
Joined: Fri Nov 04, 2011 3:21 pm
Contact:

Re: slow & not smooth GUI question

Post by Manike » Sat Mar 25, 2017 12:17 am

djgraver wrote:
Manike wrote:
djgraver wrote:i found if u hide everything except part u need, GUI start be little bit faster, then everything shows up

Yeah thats right - shove everything in a folder and shut it and the gui issues go away.
issues doesn't go away, just little bit less slow. but, still annoying
Goes away for me - certainly seems to be separate from processor load as just a large track count but with minimal inserts can produce lag. With the load meter almost at zero.
8-Core Trashcan Mac Pro : Mojave : Cubase10.0.40 : MOTU828x : Nektar P6 :
Macbook pro : Mojave
http://www.manikemusic.com

-steve-
External Moderator
Posts: 9007
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:42 pm

Re: slow & not smooth GUI question

Post by -steve- » Sat Mar 25, 2017 12:46 am

audioguy wrote:In the Nvidia (or ATI) control panel you can set Cubase to use the discrete GPU.
That is news to me, can you please give the details on how to do that.
independent manufacturer rep
cubase pro, nuendo, and dorico pro; latest versions
windows pro 10 | i7-3770k | ga-77x-ud5h | 32 Gb | UR-RT2 | k-mix audio interface
hp spectre x360 2018 | 16 Gb

Audio7
New Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Mar 18, 2017 3:29 pm
Contact:

Re: slow & not smooth GUI question

Post by Audio7 » Sat Mar 25, 2017 3:50 pm

Hi to everyone, just want to help out anyone who is having problems with the gui of Cubase running super slow. My Cubase 7 LE AI got extremely slow when only using 4 vst midi instrument tracks, especially the more I added midi notes and recorded midi CC notes, the whole graphics and program in general began to slow extremely. I couldnt do anything else like basic playing, the sound even just got out of balance and became all choppy, the tempo etc. Couldnt copy and paste or scroll the page forward or rewind etc. Nothing at all, it just stopped running smoothly, so I read up some info and I found out that downloading Asio4all driver fixed this issue instantly by increasing the audio buffer size samples. Completely fixed it and Cubase ran even way more smoother and faster. I stopped using the Generic asio driver that comes with Cubase and switched to Asio4all driver. I also read the help section in the Cubase generic asio app and it said if you run into audio problems like the sound chopping up or other issues to increase the audio buffer size. This is from the help section from the generic cubase asio control panel: "Audio buffer size - Audio buffers affect how audio is sent to and from the audio hardware. The size of the audio buffers affects both the latency and the audio performance. Generally, the smaller the buffer size, the lower the latency. On the other hand, working with small buffers can be demanding for the computer. If the audio buffers are too small, you may get clicks, pops or other audio playback or recording problems. In this case, try increasing the buffer size and/or deactivating the “Allow ASIO host application to take exclusive control of selected port configuration” option. If you activate the “User definable” option, you can use the slider to adjust the buffer size in milliseconds, or enter a specific value in the field to the right." So I increased my audio buffers to 1024 samples & I also adjusted the option on my graphics card app/control panel to "Use my preference emphasizing to Performance" (performance or quality) (There are 2 other options available also, the "Let the 3d application decide and the "Use the advacned 3d image settings.) My best results so far is setting the graphics to performance mode. I also disabled the windows Aero theme but still have all other options enabled for windows Performance Options - Let windows choose whats best for my computer with all options enabled. I dont have a dedicated audio sound card so Im just using the basic Windows 7 Pro x64 hd audio sound driver. My pc is a 2009 (the year made) Acer Aspire dual core Intel with max ram of 8 gig, hd of 500gb and an optional Nvidia G210 with 512mb ram. Hope this helps anyone, peace.
Last edited by Audio7 on Sat Apr 01, 2017 8:31 pm, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
peakae
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3002
Joined: Sat Jan 05, 2013 8:15 pm
Location: Bedroom
Contact:

Re: slow & not smooth GUI question

Post by peakae » Sat Mar 25, 2017 6:45 pm

Cubase uses aero on Windows that uses the gpu, no need to set anything.
Cubase Pro 10, Wavelab Elements 9, I7 3770K , win10x64, 16Gb Ram, RME Raydat, Steinberg MR816x, Motu 828mkII, Behringer ADA8200, Yamaha moXF6, Steinberg UR242, Yamaha THR 10, Grace Design m900, CMC TP, CMC CH.

djw
Senior Member
Posts: 1645
Joined: Sun Mar 15, 2015 2:49 am
Contact:

Re: slow & not smooth GUI question

Post by djw » Sat Mar 25, 2017 8:17 pm

peakae wrote:Cubase uses aero on Windows that uses the gpu, no need to set anything.
The window compositing is Aero, which doesn't say anything about how Cubase itself uses CPU or GPU to draw the window contents. But that's determined by Steinberg's code, not a gfx card setting.

User avatar
peakae
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3002
Joined: Sat Jan 05, 2013 8:15 pm
Location: Bedroom
Contact:

Re: slow & not smooth GUI question

Post by peakae » Wed Mar 29, 2017 9:32 am

Yes it does Cubase now require Aero to run, Aero is per definition DirectX10 accelerated. That's the reason to require Aero, to offload the CPU and let the GPU do. the gfx.
I personally had better gfx performance before when it was possible to run in a non Aero mode, but that's another discussion :-)
Cubase Pro 10, Wavelab Elements 9, I7 3770K , win10x64, 16Gb Ram, RME Raydat, Steinberg MR816x, Motu 828mkII, Behringer ADA8200, Yamaha moXF6, Steinberg UR242, Yamaha THR 10, Grace Design m900, CMC TP, CMC CH.

Wepsta
Junior Member
Posts: 130
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 2:51 am
Contact:

Re: slow & not smooth GUI question

Post by Wepsta » Wed Mar 29, 2017 10:16 am

peakae wrote:Yes it does Cubase now require Aero to run, Aero is per definition DirectX10 accelerated. That's the reason to require Aero, to offload the CPU and let the GPU do. the gfx.
I personally had better gfx performance before when it was possible to run in a non Aero mode, but that's another discussion :-)
Yes me to Cubase 6.5 is way smoother then 7,8, and 9 in classic mode. Problem is Aero bottle neck ,and the most GFX cards are optimized for 3D games. This is are big issue! Anyone with AMD FirePro or Nvidia Quadro have the same problems ?
Interesting...
Win 10 Enterprise - Cubase 10 - Apollo Quad MKII Thunderbolt - Core i9-9900K 5Ghz All Core EK-Watercool - Gigabyte Z390 Designare - 32GB DDR4-2666 - 4x MX500 - RX 580 Pulse - Corsair RMx Series RM750 - Fractal Design Define R5 - CP40 Stage - MOTU Micro Lite - VEP 6

djgraver
Member
Posts: 370
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:21 pm
Contact:

Re: slow & not smooth GUI question

Post by djgraver » Wed Mar 29, 2017 11:44 am

Wepsta wrote:
peakae wrote:Yes it does Cubase now require Aero to run, Aero is per definition DirectX10 accelerated. That's the reason to require Aero, to offload the CPU and let the GPU do. the gfx.
I personally had better gfx performance before when it was possible to run in a non Aero mode, but that's another discussion :-)
Yes me to Cubase 6.5 is way smoother then 7,8, and 9 in classic mode. Problem is Aero bottle neck ,and the most GFX cards are optimized for 3D games. This is are big issue! Anyone with AMD FirePro or Nvidia Quadro have the same problems ?
Interesting...
i think they will have same problems. because i didnt find any difference when i'm working at integrated GPU (Intel HD 4600) and after i buy Nvidia 1050Ti 4gb. totally no difference
Win10 x64;Core i5-4670;16GB RAM;SSD system HDD library;Nvidia 1050Ti 4GB
Cubase (always last update)

User avatar
peakae
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3002
Joined: Sat Jan 05, 2013 8:15 pm
Location: Bedroom
Contact:

Re: slow & not smooth GUI question

Post by peakae » Wed Mar 29, 2017 3:50 pm

It's the same for me on both AMD and nVidia, different computers.
Image
Cubase Pro 10, Wavelab Elements 9, I7 3770K , win10x64, 16Gb Ram, RME Raydat, Steinberg MR816x, Motu 828mkII, Behringer ADA8200, Yamaha moXF6, Steinberg UR242, Yamaha THR 10, Grace Design m900, CMC TP, CMC CH.

User avatar
Fabio Bartolini
Moderator
Posts: 1243
Joined: Tue Oct 02, 2012 11:55 am
Contact:

Re: slow & not smooth GUI question

Post by Fabio Bartolini » Wed Mar 29, 2017 4:20 pm

This is interesting, peakae, thanks.

We are looking into performance issues in combination with the warp algos. There is also a thread with another DAW tech team (the combination seems to make the issue worse)... not many details at the moment, but will keep you posted.
Fabio Bartolini, Tester
Steinberg Media Technologies GmbH
Hamburg, Germany

Connect with Steinberg on Facebook, YouTube, Twitter, Instagram, SoundCloud and Google+!

djgraver
Member
Posts: 370
Joined: Mon Jul 11, 2011 10:21 pm
Contact:

Re: slow & not smooth GUI question

Post by djgraver » Wed Mar 29, 2017 8:44 pm

Fabio Bartolini wrote:This is interesting, peakae, thanks.

We are looking into performance issues in combination with the warp algos. There is also a thread with another DAW tech team (the combination seems to make the issue worse)... not many details at the moment, but will keep you posted.
agree with peakae, and can add same problem with Scissor tool if moving inside project
Image
Win10 x64;Core i5-4670;16GB RAM;SSD system HDD library;Nvidia 1050Ti 4GB
Cubase (always last update)

Post Reply

Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests