Virtual Keyboard Shortcut Broken 9.0.20

Use this forum for an overview of issues and to report new ones.
Post Reply
JSWL69
New Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Sun May 01, 2016 3:33 pm
Contact:

Virtual keyboard gone after update to 9.02

Post by JSWL69 »

I just upgraded Cubase 9 Elements to version 9.02 and now the virtual keyboard won't come up if I press Alt-K or select if from the menu. I'm using the 64 bit Windows version of Cubase.

User avatar
Rick Waters
Junior Member
Posts: 72
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 2:27 am
Contact:

Re: Virtual keyboard gone after update to 9.02

Post by Rick Waters »

Confirmed here also. The key command is still there, but is controlling the entire transport itself. Meaning if you hit F2, you get the transport. Hit it again, it goes away. Hit Alt-K and the transport comes back.
Cubase Pro (last officially supported version all the time) / Win 10 (64) (last officially supported version all the time)
Intel Core i9-9900K CPU @ 3.60GHz 16.0 GB Ram / Apollo X4 |2 UAD-2 Quads | Behringer Ultragain ADA 8200

-steve-
External Moderator
Posts: 9691
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:42 pm
Contact:

Re: Virtual keyboard gone after update to 9.02

Post by -steve- »

That command is broken, but you can get to the Virtual Keyboard via a right-click on the transport panel.

nynemilla
New Member
Posts: 20
Joined: Wed Oct 02, 2013 4:54 am
Location: Chicago, IL
Contact:

Virtual Keyboard Shortcut Broken 9.0.20

Post by nynemilla »

So I just updated to 9.020 to fix the sampler track issues and some mixer issues. However, I have not even loaded any of my previous tracks the first thing I did was open an Empty project, grab a sound, create sampler track and press alt-k to open virtual keyboard..... NOTHING HAPPENS, I try restart computer, run as admin, restart program. I even changed the shortcut to something of my own to see if it was just a broken key command. BUT THE FUNCTION DOESNT WORK NO MATTER WHAT.... ?????? What is going on everyone? I have not tried any other features so I cannot speak on the stability or reliability of any thing else in this update. But this one just makes no sense. It also does not matter which zone is highlighted or If I mouse click the transport first. It just doesn't work anymore. PLEASE FIX THIS
Custom rig, i7 3770k, 16gb ram, 8TB HD, Windows 7 Pro 64bit OS
Cubase Pro 9.0.20 64 bit and all previous versions since 5 , Nuendo 4.3/5.5 NEK, Pro Tools HD 10.3.9
Motu 828mk2/RME UFX, UR22 etc...

shobeats
New Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Sun Dec 22, 2013 9:57 pm
Contact:

Re: Virtual Keyboard Shortcut Broken 9.0.20

Post by shobeats »

SAME HERE

nynemilla
New Member
Posts: 20
Joined: Wed Oct 02, 2013 4:54 am
Location: Chicago, IL
Contact:

Re: Virtual Keyboard Shortcut Broken 9.0.20

Post by nynemilla »

shobeats wrote:SAME HERE
Not to say im glad its you too, but im glad to see im not crazy... This definitely needs to be fixed. Have you noticed anything else SHOBEATS???
Custom rig, i7 3770k, 16gb ram, 8TB HD, Windows 7 Pro 64bit OS
Cubase Pro 9.0.20 64 bit and all previous versions since 5 , Nuendo 4.3/5.5 NEK, Pro Tools HD 10.3.9
Motu 828mk2/RME UFX, UR22 etc...

-steve-
External Moderator
Posts: 9691
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:42 pm
Contact:

Re: Virtual Keyboard Shortcut Broken 9.0.20

Post by -steve- »

Yes, looks like the command broke, but you can still get the VK to show by right-clicking on the transport panel.

(I merged duplicate reports to this thread, in case you notice something's off here ;)

nynemilla
New Member
Posts: 20
Joined: Wed Oct 02, 2013 4:54 am
Location: Chicago, IL
Contact:

Re: Virtual Keyboard Shortcut Broken 9.0.20

Post by nynemilla »

I did notice lol thanks @SteveInChicago . Ps im in Chicago too!
Custom rig, i7 3770k, 16gb ram, 8TB HD, Windows 7 Pro 64bit OS
Cubase Pro 9.0.20 64 bit and all previous versions since 5 , Nuendo 4.3/5.5 NEK, Pro Tools HD 10.3.9
Motu 828mk2/RME UFX, UR22 etc...

saxmand
Junior Member
Posts: 97
Joined: Mon May 12, 2014 1:32 am
Contact:

Re: Virtual Keyboard Shortcut Broken 9.0.20

Post by saxmand »

I'm also having this problem. I'm on 9.0.30 pro.
Would be nice to get it back. Hate to use my mouse.
Mac OS 10.12

nynemilla
New Member
Posts: 20
Joined: Wed Oct 02, 2013 4:54 am
Location: Chicago, IL
Contact:

Re: Virtual Keyboard Shortcut Broken 9.0.20

Post by nynemilla »

Yes this is still broken for all of us it seems...
Custom rig, i7 3770k, 16gb ram, 8TB HD, Windows 7 Pro 64bit OS
Cubase Pro 9.0.20 64 bit and all previous versions since 5 , Nuendo 4.3/5.5 NEK, Pro Tools HD 10.3.9
Motu 828mk2/RME UFX, UR22 etc...

steinfish
New Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Dec 12, 2017 4:40 pm
Contact:

Re: Virtual Keyboard Shortcut Broken 9.0.20

Post by steinfish »

push... hotfix pleaz!!!

how about this issue in version 9.5 anyone?

User avatar
Jan Riesener
Moderator
Posts: 62
Joined: Tue Oct 08, 2013 3:50 pm
Contact:

Re: Virtual Keyboard Shortcut Broken 9.0.20

Post by Jan Riesener »

Hi,

in Cubase 9.5 its fixed. For Cubase 9 it will probably be fixed with the next maintenance update.

Cheers,

Jan
Jan Riesener, Steinberg Senior Tech Support
Steinberg Media Technologies GmbH
Hamburg, Germany

Connect with Steinberg on Facebook, YouTube, Twitter, Instagram, SoundCloud and Google+!

nynemilla
New Member
Posts: 20
Joined: Wed Oct 02, 2013 4:54 am
Location: Chicago, IL
Contact:

Re: Virtual Keyboard Shortcut Broken 9.0.20

Post by nynemilla »

Hi as of the final Cubase 9.0.40 it is still broken but yes it is fixed in 9.5 but it operates differently now. Well it is now a popup and not apart of the transport. Unfortunately 9.5 for me uses a little too much CPU in comparison to 9 for me even on using the exact same project. So I will be sticking with 9.0.10 for now.
Custom rig, i7 3770k, 16gb ram, 8TB HD, Windows 7 Pro 64bit OS
Cubase Pro 9.0.20 64 bit and all previous versions since 5 , Nuendo 4.3/5.5 NEK, Pro Tools HD 10.3.9
Motu 828mk2/RME UFX, UR22 etc...

Post Reply

Return to “Issues”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: RedStrat87 and 4 guests