Monitors Buzz When Cubase Project Is Loaded

Use this forum for an overview of issues and to report new ones.
Post Reply
screentan
Junior Member
Posts: 114
Joined: Wed May 04, 2011 3:25 pm
Contact:

Monitors Buzz When Cubase Project Is Loaded

Post by screentan » Thu May 11, 2017 1:48 am

When I use Cubase 9.0.10 there is a slight hi pitched buzz in my monitors. I tried another audio interface and it made no difference the buzz was still there. As soon as I load a project the buzz starts even if it's a new empty project. I tried muting the Cubase mixer input even though nothing is plugged in but that made no difference. I have a good EMF shielded power board. The buzz is not there with any other audio app i.e. Ableton, Audacity or Media Player. Also if Cubase is loaded with a project and I switch to another Window i.e. Chrome the buzz stops until I switch back to Cubase. I'm on Windows 10

User avatar
Prock
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3574
Joined: Sat Jan 05, 2013 4:22 pm
Location: Connecticut, USA
Contact:

Re: Monitors Buzz When Cubase Project Is Loaded

Post by Prock » Thu May 11, 2017 3:33 am

Some questions...

Have you tried muting the Cubase main stereo output channel to check what happens?

Have you checked to see if you have any VST effect or instrument plugins assigned to any track or, more likely, the main stereo output channel?

Is the Cubase control room enabled?

Regards. 8-)
PRock Studio

DAW: Cubase Pro 10.0.20, OS: Win 10 Pro x64, CPU: Intel Core i7 4700K @ 4.0GHz, RAM: 32GB/DDR4/2800MHz, Graphics: 4GB GeForce GTX 960, Mobo: MSI Z170A Gaming Pro Carbon, AI: PreSonus Studio 192 Mobile, Mic Preamp: PreSonus TubePre, Headphone Amp: PreSonus HP4, Studio Monitors: Mackie MR5, 3rd Party VSTs: GSi VB3-II, SampleTank 3, Amplitube 4, Miroslav Philharmonik 2, EZDrummer 2

https://soundcloud.com/prockstudio

screentan
Junior Member
Posts: 114
Joined: Wed May 04, 2011 3:25 pm
Contact:

Re: Monitors Buzz When Cubase Project Is Loaded

Post by screentan » Thu May 11, 2017 3:42 am

Prock wrote:Some questions...

Have you tried muting the Cubase main stereo output channel to check what happens?

Have you checked to see if you have any VST effects or instruments assigned to any track or, more likely, the main stereo output channel?

Is the Cubase control room enabled?

Regards. 8-)
Just tried muting the main stereo output channel and the buzz is still there.
There are no VST effects or instruments loaded or assigned. It happens even with a completely blank new project.
Cubase control room is disabled.
If I minimise the project window so just the Cubase shell (or whatever it's called) is showing there is no buzz but when I maximise the project again from Window the buzz returns.

User avatar
Prock
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3574
Joined: Sat Jan 05, 2013 4:22 pm
Location: Connecticut, USA
Contact:

Re: Monitors Buzz When Cubase Project Is Loaded

Post by Prock » Thu May 11, 2017 3:50 am

Just making sure...

When you say "completely new blank project"... is it created using a Cubase template? If so, it might have a plugin assigned somewhere.

Interesting that the buzz stops when you minimize.

Edit...

Did this always happen with CB or just start?

Regards. 8-)
PRock Studio

DAW: Cubase Pro 10.0.20, OS: Win 10 Pro x64, CPU: Intel Core i7 4700K @ 4.0GHz, RAM: 32GB/DDR4/2800MHz, Graphics: 4GB GeForce GTX 960, Mobo: MSI Z170A Gaming Pro Carbon, AI: PreSonus Studio 192 Mobile, Mic Preamp: PreSonus TubePre, Headphone Amp: PreSonus HP4, Studio Monitors: Mackie MR5, 3rd Party VSTs: GSi VB3-II, SampleTank 3, Amplitube 4, Miroslav Philharmonik 2, EZDrummer 2

https://soundcloud.com/prockstudio

screentan
Junior Member
Posts: 114
Joined: Wed May 04, 2011 3:25 pm
Contact:

Re: Monitors Buzz When Cubase Project Is Loaded

Post by screentan » Thu May 11, 2017 3:59 am

Prock wrote:Just making sure...

When you say "completely new blank project"... is it created using a Cubase template? If so, it might have a plugin assigned somewhere.

Interesting that the buzz stops when you minimize.

Edit...

Did this always happen with CB or just start?

Regards. 8-)
No I didn't use a template. There is absolutely nothing loaded. No tracks created even. Never had this issue with older versions of Cubase on other computers before. I have only really started using C9 and just got better monitors so now the buzz is quite apparent. If I create audio content and export it from Cubase it is clean when played back in Media Player.

User avatar
Prock
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3574
Joined: Sat Jan 05, 2013 4:22 pm
Location: Connecticut, USA
Contact:

Re: Monitors Buzz When Cubase Project Is Loaded

Post by Prock » Thu May 11, 2017 4:25 am

Well... at least we discussed the easy stuff. I hope another Cubase brainiac chimes in for you.

Regards. 8-)
PRock Studio

DAW: Cubase Pro 10.0.20, OS: Win 10 Pro x64, CPU: Intel Core i7 4700K @ 4.0GHz, RAM: 32GB/DDR4/2800MHz, Graphics: 4GB GeForce GTX 960, Mobo: MSI Z170A Gaming Pro Carbon, AI: PreSonus Studio 192 Mobile, Mic Preamp: PreSonus TubePre, Headphone Amp: PreSonus HP4, Studio Monitors: Mackie MR5, 3rd Party VSTs: GSi VB3-II, SampleTank 3, Amplitube 4, Miroslav Philharmonik 2, EZDrummer 2

https://soundcloud.com/prockstudio

screentan
Junior Member
Posts: 114
Joined: Wed May 04, 2011 3:25 pm
Contact:

Re: Monitors Buzz When Cubase Project Is Loaded

Post by screentan » Thu May 11, 2017 9:50 am

Prock wrote:Well... at least we discussed the easy stuff. I hope another Cubase brainiac chimes in for you.

Regards. 8-)
It's pretty baffling. Thanks for your time and input anyway.

J L Bowie
Junior Member
Posts: 84
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 9:37 pm
Contact:

Re: Monitors Buzz When Cubase Project Is Loaded

Post by J L Bowie » Fri May 12, 2017 4:50 pm

Here's a shot in the dark:
A few months ago I was experiencing a subtle high frequency tone that I simply could not source. I thought it was coming through my monitors, but after going through everything thoroughly it remained constant. One day, through a fluke, I discovered that the tone was indeed not coming through my audio monitors, but instead it was emanating from my Acer LED monitors. I subsequently discovered that changing the Mode type from User To Graphics on the monitors (4 total) themselves eliminated the problem. Control room was once again silent.
(Z68 i7 Quad, 32 GB SD Ram, Nvidia Quadro 2200) Nuendo 10/64 on Win 10 Pro version 1809, UAD2 DUO,Tascam DM 4800 IF-FW/DM MKII,GA5, Halion 6, (Steinberg Houston -17 years and counting) DNXHD License 2
System Linked via FW/ADAT to:
(Dell Precision Dual Xeon, 64 GB ECC Ram, NVidia Quadro 5000) Cubase Pro 10/64 on Win 10 Pro version 1809/64 Pro via RME HDSP 9652 - Da Vinci Resolve 15, Avid Media Composer 8.7, Frontier Tranzport and AlphaTrack
WaveLab Pro 9.5/64 DNXHD License 1
Cubase user since VST
Nuendo user since V2

screentan
Junior Member
Posts: 114
Joined: Wed May 04, 2011 3:25 pm
Contact:

Re: Monitors Buzz When Cubase Project Is Loaded

Post by screentan » Fri May 12, 2017 10:51 pm

J L Bowie wrote:Here's a shot in the dark:
A few months ago I was experiencing a subtle high frequency tone that I simply could not source. I thought it was coming through my monitors, but after going through everything thoroughly it remained constant. One day, through a fluke, I discovered that the tone was indeed not coming through my audio monitors, but instead it was emanating from my Acer LED monitors. I subsequently discovered that changing the Mode type from User To Graphics on the monitors (4 total) themselves eliminated the problem. Control room was once again silent.
Interesting, I have an Acer external monitor but it has no speakers in it so not the culprit in this case. The buzz only happens when a Cubase project is active and even if the project is completely blank with no tracks and no plugins and the input and output of the Cubase mixer are muted. All other audio apps like Ableton and Media Player are clean. I tried a different USB audio interface and the problem still persists so it's not the audio interface. I wonder if anyone else ever experienced this?

J L Bowie
Junior Member
Posts: 84
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 9:37 pm
Contact:

Re: Monitors Buzz When Cubase Project Is Loaded

Post by J L Bowie » Fri May 12, 2017 11:09 pm

The high frequency tone wasn't emanating from the LED monitor speakers, which are not, and were not, being used, but from the power supplies on the monitors. Switching the mode fixed it. Switching them back to User mode from Graphics causes the tone to appear again. I should have been clearer on that. Drove me nuts until I figured it out.
(Z68 i7 Quad, 32 GB SD Ram, Nvidia Quadro 2200) Nuendo 10/64 on Win 10 Pro version 1809, UAD2 DUO,Tascam DM 4800 IF-FW/DM MKII,GA5, Halion 6, (Steinberg Houston -17 years and counting) DNXHD License 2
System Linked via FW/ADAT to:
(Dell Precision Dual Xeon, 64 GB ECC Ram, NVidia Quadro 5000) Cubase Pro 10/64 on Win 10 Pro version 1809/64 Pro via RME HDSP 9652 - Da Vinci Resolve 15, Avid Media Composer 8.7, Frontier Tranzport and AlphaTrack
WaveLab Pro 9.5/64 DNXHD License 1
Cubase user since VST
Nuendo user since V2

screentan
Junior Member
Posts: 114
Joined: Wed May 04, 2011 3:25 pm
Contact:

Re: Monitors Buzz When Cubase Project Is Loaded

Post by screentan » Fri May 12, 2017 11:32 pm

J L Bowie wrote:The high frequency tone wasn't emanating from the LED monitor speakers, which are not, and were not, being used, but from the power supplies on the monitors. Switching the mode fixed it. Switching them back to User mode from Graphics causes the tone to appear again. I should have been clearer on that. Drove me nuts until I figured it out.
Ok thanks I just tried setting my Acer monitor to graphics but no change in my case. I tried all the other settings too: eco, movie etc. I just also noticed that if the project is half minimised the buzz level is about half. Fully minimised - no buzz. You've set me in the right direction though as I tried unplugging the Acer VGA cable from my laptop and the buzz stopped.
Interesting this buzz only happens with a Cubase project though. I can't work with the buzz being there so maybe there is a Cubase graphics setting I can change that will fix this?

J L Bowie
Junior Member
Posts: 84
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 9:37 pm
Contact:

Re: Monitors Buzz When Cubase Project Is Loaded

Post by J L Bowie » Sat May 13, 2017 1:20 am

I think you are on the right track, and I think it is definitely a graphics issue of some sort. Very strange. If I come across any more info I will pass it along.
As a thought, if you have a monitor extension cable handy, maybe try repositioning the monitor a little further away to see if that affects it at all. Although on my systems here, the monitors are a good fifteen to twenty feet away from the CPU in isolation and they still did it. Never had the issue before Cubase 8.5
(Z68 i7 Quad, 32 GB SD Ram, Nvidia Quadro 2200) Nuendo 10/64 on Win 10 Pro version 1809, UAD2 DUO,Tascam DM 4800 IF-FW/DM MKII,GA5, Halion 6, (Steinberg Houston -17 years and counting) DNXHD License 2
System Linked via FW/ADAT to:
(Dell Precision Dual Xeon, 64 GB ECC Ram, NVidia Quadro 5000) Cubase Pro 10/64 on Win 10 Pro version 1809/64 Pro via RME HDSP 9652 - Da Vinci Resolve 15, Avid Media Composer 8.7, Frontier Tranzport and AlphaTrack
WaveLab Pro 9.5/64 DNXHD License 1
Cubase user since VST
Nuendo user since V2

screentan
Junior Member
Posts: 114
Joined: Wed May 04, 2011 3:25 pm
Contact:

Re: Monitors Buzz When Cubase Project Is Loaded

Post by screentan » Sat May 13, 2017 5:04 am

I might go out and buy a DVI cable and see if that makes a difference?

djw
Senior Member
Posts: 1669
Joined: Sun Mar 15, 2015 2:49 am
Contact:

Re: Monitors Buzz When Cubase Project Is Loaded

Post by djw » Sat May 13, 2017 2:48 pm

So it were your monitors, but actually just your display monitors.

Don't be too quick to blame everything on Cubase.

screentan
Junior Member
Posts: 114
Joined: Wed May 04, 2011 3:25 pm
Contact:

Re: Monitors Buzz When Cubase Project Is Loaded

Post by screentan » Sun May 14, 2017 12:28 am

I solved the problem thanks everyone! I tried another VGA cable and the buzz went away. Strange that it was only happening with Cubase. Maybe Cubase is more graphics intensive and was drawing more juice down the VGA cable than my other programmes?

McVeigh
New Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Sat Apr 22, 2017 4:01 pm
Contact:

Re: Monitors Buzz When Cubase Project Is Loaded

Post by McVeigh » Mon Aug 07, 2017 12:01 pm

I have an audio buzz that goes into the recorded tracks since changing my desk- I've tried changing the ASIO- no difference. I tried to install the Yamaha- Steinberg ASIO but it will not open, I've followed the installation instructions and tried moving the dll file.

Post Reply

Return to “Issues”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests