Custom Instruments?

Discussions about our next-generation scoring application, Dorico.
Post Reply
vyvyanhs
New Member
Posts: 42
Joined: Mon May 16, 2011 12:49 pm
Contact:

Custom Instruments?

Post by vyvyanhs »

Hi, just playing with Dorico in trial mode. I think it could eventually be really good but there's a lot to do before I junk Sibelius!

Is there a way to create custom instruments? (+ specify which sample instrument is played from it and save as a template)

Is there a way to modify existing ones? eg I write for an ensemble of synths but I don't want each synth to have 2 staves. Obviously I'd want to save the results.

Sorry if this has been asked before but I couldn't find anything.

Vyv
Vyv
Cubase 9.5/10 + Windows 10 + ASUS Z97-A + i7 4790 + 16Gb + Audient id22 + Focal SM9

User avatar
Daniel at Steinberg
Moderator
Posts: 17752
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2012 10:35 am
Contact:

Re: Custom Instruments?

Post by Daniel at Steinberg »

You cannot currently define your own instrument types or edit Dorico's built-in ones, I'm afraid, but this is certainly planned for the future.

Pikeljuce
New Member
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue May 01, 2018 12:19 pm
Contact:

Re: Custom Instruments?

Post by Pikeljuce »

Daniel at Steinberg wrote:
Wed May 24, 2017 4:21 pm
You cannot currently define your own instrument types or edit Dorico's built-in ones, I'm afraid, but this is certainly planned for the future.
Is this still the case? I'm working with a set of Tin Whisles, each with a different transposition. It would be way more efficient if they would behave like transposing instruments (toggling between transposed and concert pitch).

LSalgueiro
Senior Member
Posts: 1039
Joined: Tue Oct 18, 2016 12:51 am
Contact:

Re: Custom Instruments?

Post by LSalgueiro »

Pikeljuce wrote:
Wed Jul 11, 2018 3:08 pm
Daniel at Steinberg wrote:
Wed May 24, 2017 4:21 pm
You cannot currently define your own instrument types or edit Dorico's built-in ones, I'm afraid, but this is certainly planned for the future.
Is this still the case? I'm working with a set of Tin Whisles, each with a different transposition. It would be way more efficient if they would behave like transposing instruments (toggling between transposed and concert pitch).
You can create another instrument in the correct transposition — such as a Trumpet in D, for example — and rename it, of course…

Craig F
Member
Posts: 417
Joined: Tue May 17, 2016 10:39 pm
Location: USA
Contact:

Re: Custom Instruments?

Post by Craig F »

You can do this by hacking an XML file. There is a <transpose> tag that can be added after the clef definition.

Examples:

For an instrument in D

Code: Select all

<clef number="1">
	<sign>G</sign>
	<line>2</line>
</clef>
<transpose>
	<diatonic>1</diatonic>
	<chromatic>2</chromatic>
</transpose>
For an instrument in B♭

Code: Select all

<clef number="1">
	<sign>G</sign>
	<line>2</line>
</clef>
<transpose>
	<diatonic>-1</diatonic>
	<chromatic>-2</chromatic>
</transpose>
Dorico Pro 3.5, Noteperformer 3.3.1
Windows 10 Pro v1909
Ryzen 5 1600X 3.6 GHz 6 Core 32GB RAM
Steinberg UR12

Pikeljuce
New Member
Posts: 10
Joined: Tue May 01, 2018 12:19 pm
Contact:

Re: Custom Instruments?

Post by Pikeljuce »

Craig F wrote:
Wed Jul 11, 2018 4:23 pm
You can do this by hacking an XML file. There is a <transpose> tag that can be added after the clef definition.
Interesting... Do you have a suggestion of tutorial on XML haching? I wish there was an easier way though...

Craig F
Member
Posts: 417
Joined: Tue May 17, 2016 10:39 pm
Location: USA
Contact:

Re: Custom Instruments?

Post by Craig F »

Pikeljuce wrote:
Wed Jul 11, 2018 4:44 pm
Interesting... Do you have a suggestion of tutorial on XML haching? I wish there was an easier way though...
No, I've discovered things by examining XML files to see what's possible. If you have Sibelius, you can define instruments there and export XML. Just be sure to enable "Transposed Score" before exporting; otherwise, the transpose tags won't be exported. I don't know about Finale.

What, transpositions do you need?
Dorico Pro 3.5, Noteperformer 3.3.1
Windows 10 Pro v1909
Ryzen 5 1600X 3.6 GHz 6 Core 32GB RAM
Steinberg UR12

User avatar
pianoleo
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 7754
Joined: Wed Oct 19, 2016 11:17 am
Location: London, UK
Contact:

Re: Custom Instruments?

Post by pianoleo »

Presumably one could also export a MusicXML file straight from Dorico, edit that and import back in.
Pianist/accompanist/engraver/arranger
2019 Macbook Pro 16" 2.3gGHz 8-core i9, 32GB RAM,
2015 Macbook Pro 13" Retina 3.1GHz dual-core i7, 8GB RAM; running Sibelius Ultimate, Logic Pro X, Dorico Pro 3.5 etc.
& 2017 HP ZBook Studio G3 15.6” UHD quad-i7, 16GB RAM, Windows 10 Pro
Sibelius user since Sibelius 7 (Acorn, 1997), Ex-Sibelius user since Dorico 1.0

User avatar
snakeeyes021
Member
Posts: 213
Joined: Tue Dec 05, 2017 5:15 pm
Contact:

Re: Custom Instruments?

Post by snakeeyes021 »

Oh, that's super clever, pianoleo. I wonder if the same could be done with staff group brackets and other similar current issues. There goes my Saturday...
Wow. Very signature. So engraving. Such compose. Amaze.

jfcharles
Junior Member
Posts: 55
Joined: Wed Nov 30, 2016 3:56 am
Contact:

Re: Custom Instruments?

Post by jfcharles »

Hello,
So I understand that even with Dorico 2, the only ways to use non-default transposing instruments are:
- use another instrument with the same transposition and rename it
- hack into the "instruments.xml" file inside the app's package
Is it correct?

Craig F
Member
Posts: 417
Joined: Tue May 17, 2016 10:39 pm
Location: USA
Contact:

Re: Custom Instruments?

Post by Craig F »

jfcharles wrote:
Sun Sep 23, 2018 4:25 pm
Hello,
- hack into the "instruments.xml" file inside the app's package
That is not recommended. Best to create an instrument with the default transposition, export the document to XML and edit it with the transpose tag.
Dorico Pro 3.5, Noteperformer 3.3.1
Windows 10 Pro v1909
Ryzen 5 1600X 3.6 GHz 6 Core 32GB RAM
Steinberg UR12

jfcharles
Junior Member
Posts: 55
Joined: Wed Nov 30, 2016 3:56 am
Contact:

Re: Custom Instruments?

Post by jfcharles »

Thanks! I'll go the safe route.

Post Reply

Return to “Dorico”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: David Tee, dko22, fratveno, Google [Bot] and 148 guests