Avid Support Asks: What is WL's dependency on CFnd.dll?

Post questions and find answers on our latest WaveLab releases here.
Post Reply
orangeoctane
Junior Member
Posts: 101
Joined: Tue Aug 05, 2014 2:47 am
Contact:

Avid Support Asks: What is WL's dependency on CFnd.dll?

Post by orangeoctane » Fri Jun 23, 2017 10:40 pm

So the most current version of Wavelab crashes on my system when exiting the application but also occasionally *during* use. The culprit is Avid's CFnd.dll file. I've opened a ticket with Avid who has confirmed the issue but they are asking me to reach out to Steinberg to find out what Wavelab's dependency is for an Avid file.

PG???


PT 12.7.1
Win7/64
WL 9.0.35 (642)

PG
Moderator
Posts: 6642
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 6:15 pm
Contact:

Re: Avid Support Asks: What is WL's dependency on CFnd.dll?

Post by PG » Sat Jun 24, 2017 6:07 am

WaveLab does not know this file and does not use it. It is maybe loaded automatically because this is part of an ASIO driver. You should send a crash log to Avid so that they study why their module is crashing.
Philippe

bob99
Senior Member
Posts: 2487
Joined: Fri Jan 07, 2011 2:49 am
Contact:

Re: Avid Support Asks: What is WL's dependency on CFnd.dll?

Post by bob99 » Sat Jun 24, 2017 9:33 pm

http://duc.avid.com/showthread.php?t=271417

orangeoctane, I just wondered, do you still have Quicktime installed on the Windows computer? Probably nothing at all to do with your problem (although it's mentioned in the cfnd.dll link above), but I uninstalled Quicktime on Windows computers when Thomas Bethel mentioned a warning from Homeland Security to do so a while back. Possibly something to try if you haven't already, although I think he initially had some cd burners disappear after QT uninstall. I didn't have any issues.

orangeoctane
Junior Member
Posts: 101
Joined: Tue Aug 05, 2014 2:47 am
Contact:

Re: Avid Support Asks: What is WL's dependency on CFnd.dll?

Post by orangeoctane » Tue Jun 27, 2017 9:25 pm

I do have QT installed. I'll remove it to see if that changes anything.

orangeoctane
Junior Member
Posts: 101
Joined: Tue Aug 05, 2014 2:47 am
Contact:

Re: Avid Support Asks: What is WL's dependency on CFnd.dll?

Post by orangeoctane » Mon Jul 10, 2017 9:44 pm

Avid replies:
CFnd.dll is not part of the ASIO driver so it's still not clear why the library is loaded when WaveLab launches (it's actually a component of Pro Tools (full name "Core Foundation") which handles OS abstraction and file I/O).

PG?

PG
Moderator
Posts: 6642
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 6:15 pm
Contact:

Re: Avid Support Asks: What is WL's dependency on CFnd.dll?

Post by PG » Tue Jul 11, 2017 7:38 am

You should ask PT what this CFnd.dll is about.
What I can see, is that it is used in many PT files (there is a reference to this CFnd.dll when I do a binary search across the PT folder).
This means, many PT component could be at the origin of the problem.
If this is not an ASIO driver, what could it be?
WaveLab will not look into the PT folder, unless this is declared (by you), as a VST plugin path.
Philippe

Rat
Member
Posts: 671
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 6:33 am
Contact:

Re: Avid Support Asks: What is WL's dependency on CFnd.dll?

Post by Rat » Tue Jul 11, 2017 1:00 pm

We have seen this before. And also with the opposite: Cfnd.dll was not found (which can cause PT not to want to launch).

FWIW, our spin on this is that PT likes to take control of all drives (that it can see). If PT is left open, or not quit (properly) the PT session will still control the drives. This in turn can conflict with WL (and other apps).

This, of course, is a "feature" of PT and nothing to do with WL ... even if we are "wrong" with our theory.
Regards

Paul

Paul Rat Blakey
12th & Vine Post

Windows 10 Professional (x64), Intel Core i7 7700 Quad Core LGA 1151 3.6 GHz CPU, 32 GB RAM, Gigabyte Z270M-D3H LGA 1151 mATX Motherboard, 2 x Intel Pro 5400S Series 256GB SSD (system and session drives), RME HDSPe AIO, Mytek converters

WaveLab 9.5 Pro current release, ProTools, iLok, DMG (Dave Gamble), Sony Oxford, Weiss, Class A Solid State and Custom Stuff

HomePlayer
Junior Member
Posts: 55
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 4:42 pm

Re: Avid Support Asks: What is WL's dependency on CFnd.dll?

Post by HomePlayer » Sat Sep 02, 2017 7:13 am

Have the same issue.
I have a crashdump-file at almost every exit of Wavelab. Only when I open and immediately close wavelab there is no crashdump.
It is not just with Pro9 but with 8.5 too. Did not test with 32-Bit Version yet.
When I remove the CFnd.dll from the ProTools location no crashdump is created any more. When I try to start ProTools I get a message about import is not possible and ProTools will not start.
I have trashed all the Wavelab Preferences but the problem is still showing.
Looked into registry but could not find any issue - all the entries in the registry pointing towards the CFnd.dll seems to be linked with ProTools.

No idea where the problem is comming from.

PG do you have any clue?
Windows 10 Professional 64Bit (1903), GIGABYTE X299 UD4 Pro, Intel I7 7820x, 64 GByte RAM, Focusrite Saffire 40 +OctoPro, Steinberg UR22, PSR9000, Motif Rack ES with PLG100 XG and PLG150DX, Midisports8x8, Cubase pro 10, Wavelab Pro 9.5, SpectralLayer Pro 6, ProTools 2019.09, Fabfilter, Hofa, BlueCat, Izotope, Waves and other Plugins

HomePlayer
Junior Member
Posts: 55
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 4:42 pm

Re: Avid Support Asks: What is WL's dependency on CFnd.dll?

Post by HomePlayer » Sat Sep 02, 2017 12:49 pm

Just to let you know.
I did now the test with Wavelab 9 Pro - 32 Bit and no Crashdump-file.
Even so there is now another CFnd.dll at Programs (x86)\Avid\Pro Tools.
Maybe someone has an idea what the rootcause of this problme is.
Windows 10 Professional 64Bit (1903), GIGABYTE X299 UD4 Pro, Intel I7 7820x, 64 GByte RAM, Focusrite Saffire 40 +OctoPro, Steinberg UR22, PSR9000, Motif Rack ES with PLG100 XG and PLG150DX, Midisports8x8, Cubase pro 10, Wavelab Pro 9.5, SpectralLayer Pro 6, ProTools 2019.09, Fabfilter, Hofa, BlueCat, Izotope, Waves and other Plugins

PG
Moderator
Posts: 6642
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 6:15 pm
Contact:

Re: Avid Support Asks: What is WL's dependency on CFnd.dll?

Post by PG » Sat Sep 02, 2017 2:27 pm

Try this (just a possibility to try)
Take any file and rename it as "no_newheap.txt" (the file contents has no importance, only the name has)
Then put it inside this folder:
C:\Program Files\Steinberg\WaveLab 9\
I also assume you use WaveLab 9.1

Launch WaveLab. Does it help?
Philippe

HomePlayer
Junior Member
Posts: 55
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 4:42 pm

Re: Avid Support Asks: What is WL's dependency on CFnd.dll?

Post by HomePlayer » Sun Sep 03, 2017 4:28 am

Hello PG,
thanks for your assistance.
Yes I am using Wavelab Pro 9.1.0.
I tried you hints, but unfortunately it hasn't solved the problem.
Windows 10 Professional 64Bit (1903), GIGABYTE X299 UD4 Pro, Intel I7 7820x, 64 GByte RAM, Focusrite Saffire 40 +OctoPro, Steinberg UR22, PSR9000, Motif Rack ES with PLG100 XG and PLG150DX, Midisports8x8, Cubase pro 10, Wavelab Pro 9.5, SpectralLayer Pro 6, ProTools 2019.09, Fabfilter, Hofa, BlueCat, Izotope, Waves and other Plugins

HomePlayer
Junior Member
Posts: 55
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 4:42 pm

Re: Avid Support Asks: What is WL's dependency on CFnd.dll?

Post by HomePlayer » Sun Sep 03, 2017 4:32 am

Here is the XML-View of the Event Viewer

- <Event xmlns="http://schemas.microsoft.com/win/2004/08/events/event">
- <System>
<Provider Name="Application Error" />
<EventID Qualifiers="0">1000</EventID>
<Level>2</Level>
<Task>100</Task>
<Keywords>0x80000000000000</Keywords>
<TimeCreated SystemTime="2017-09-03T03:24:12.159282900Z" />
<EventRecordID>36412</EventRecordID>
<Channel>Application</Channel>
<Computer>HomePC</Computer>
<Security />
</System>
- <EventData>
<Data>WaveLab9_1_64.exe</Data>
<Data>9.1.0.684</Data>
<Data>5940da94</Data>
<Data>CFnd.dll</Data>
<Data>12.8.1.921</Data>
<Data>5996715b</Data>
<Data>c0000005</Data>
<Data>00000000003eacda</Data>
<Data>1120</Data>
<Data>01d32463ff42f832</Data>
<Data>C:\Program Files\Steinberg\WaveLab 9\WaveLab9_1_64.exe</Data>
<Data>C:\Program Files\Avid\Pro Tools\CFnd.dll</Data>
<Data>020e77ef-8d2a-4938-a813-f3ae5c774389</Data>
<Data />
<Data />
</EventData>
</Event>
Windows 10 Professional 64Bit (1903), GIGABYTE X299 UD4 Pro, Intel I7 7820x, 64 GByte RAM, Focusrite Saffire 40 +OctoPro, Steinberg UR22, PSR9000, Motif Rack ES with PLG100 XG and PLG150DX, Midisports8x8, Cubase pro 10, Wavelab Pro 9.5, SpectralLayer Pro 6, ProTools 2019.09, Fabfilter, Hofa, BlueCat, Izotope, Waves and other Plugins

PG
Moderator
Posts: 6642
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 6:15 pm
Contact:

Re: Avid Support Asks: What is WL's dependency on CFnd.dll?

Post by PG » Sun Sep 03, 2017 9:09 am

You should try to find with Avid support, at which occasion this CFnd.dll is used. For sure, WaveLab does not load it explicitly, it completely ignores its existence. It must be loaded indirectly, or injected by some service.
Please ask Avid about what this file is for, and which modules use it.

An idea: maybe this dll is loaded by some plugins you are using. Keep an eye on that.
Philippe

orangeoctane
Junior Member
Posts: 101
Joined: Tue Aug 05, 2014 2:47 am
Contact:

Re: Avid Support Asks: What is WL's dependency on CFnd.dll?

Post by orangeoctane » Wed Sep 06, 2017 11:49 pm

It's not any of the plugins. I can merely open Wavelab with nothing loaded and it crashes 100% of the time when I close it. Avid said "they are still working on it" as of 2 days ago.

Rat
Member
Posts: 671
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 6:33 am
Contact:

Re: Avid Support Asks: What is WL's dependency on CFnd.dll?

Post by Rat » Thu Sep 07, 2017 6:07 am

orangeoctane ... if you start the computer and (before launching ProTools) launch WaveLab before doing anything else: does WaveLab still crash?

Or, does WaveLab crash only after ProTools has been launched once.
Regards

Paul

Paul Rat Blakey
12th & Vine Post

Windows 10 Professional (x64), Intel Core i7 7700 Quad Core LGA 1151 3.6 GHz CPU, 32 GB RAM, Gigabyte Z270M-D3H LGA 1151 mATX Motherboard, 2 x Intel Pro 5400S Series 256GB SSD (system and session drives), RME HDSPe AIO, Mytek converters

WaveLab 9.5 Pro current release, ProTools, iLok, DMG (Dave Gamble), Sony Oxford, Weiss, Class A Solid State and Custom Stuff

User avatar
Raphie
Senior Member
Posts: 1319
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 5:20 pm
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: Avid Support Asks: What is WL's dependency on CFnd.dll?

Post by Raphie » Thu Sep 07, 2017 6:28 am

Have you got quicktime installed? It seems your windows install is broken a windows reset might help
https://makemusic.zendesk.com/hc/en-us/ ... h-Windows-

Finale has the same problem, there it's due to an AVID audiodevice
Analogue Mastering
MSI raider X299 - Intel i9 7940 - MSI Gaming X 1070GTX 8GB - OCZ RD400 nvme SSD - 16GB DDR4-3000
Windows 10 x64 up to date - Cubase Pro 9.5x - Wavelab Pro 9.5x
RME MadiFX and racks full of outboard

Everything you need to know about remote control editors

orangeoctane
Junior Member
Posts: 101
Joined: Tue Aug 05, 2014 2:47 am
Contact:

Re: Avid Support Asks: What is WL's dependency on CFnd.dll?

Post by orangeoctane » Thu Sep 07, 2017 6:48 am

Rat wrote:
Thu Sep 07, 2017 6:07 am
orangeoctane ... if you start the computer and (before launching ProTools) launch WaveLab before doing anything else: does WaveLab still crash?

Or, does WaveLab crash only after ProTools has been launched once.
It crashes before launching Pro Tools.

Another interesting thing I discovered is that killing my internet connection also causes this same exact crash with CFnd.dll being the culprit.

MadMusicologist
New Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Jul 10, 2018 7:10 pm
Contact:

Re: Avid Support Asks: What is WL's dependency on CFnd.dll?

Post by MadMusicologist » Tue Jul 10, 2018 7:24 pm

Hi there.
I am only a guest: a user who encountered a similar issue with ProTools and Cakewalk by Bandlab.
The Cakewalk friends in the forum directed me to this thread which seems to be unsolved.
With their expertise - and not with help from AVID, I am afraid to say - I could get rid of the issue and hope what I will relay here might eventually help you here to solve your issue.
Cakewalk wrote: Here is what I got from the dumps you sent (thanks):

Unhandled exception at 0x000000000ABE5F5A (CFnd.dll) in Silkroad_07082018_070006.dmp: 0xC0000005: Access violation reading location 0x0000000000000000.
This means the DLL is accessing a null pointer.

The crash occurs on a thread from CFnd.dll so the crash is not in response from a direct call from Cakewalk.
15824 0 Worker Thread ntdll.dll thread CFnd.dll!000000000abe5f5a

I'm pretty sure that this is directly in response to the digiasio.dll being loaded because CFnd.dll is loaded soon after digiasio.dll is loaded when Cakewalk starts up. The reason the DLL is loaded is because they are exposing this as a standard ASIO DLL. If they don't want it loaded they shouldn't be exposing an ASIO device for public consumption :)

Below is the logged info I get from the dump. You can see that the digiasio.dll gets loaded first and several other Pro tools dll's then load as a result. Finally shortly afterwards it crashes in CFnd.dll. This is something only Avid can look into since I don't have any further info.

BTW you have another ASIO dll being loaded ctasio64.dll. This looks like something from Creative labs. I probably has no bearing but its best to uninstall it if you aren't using it.

'Silkroad_07082018_070006.dmp' (Minidump): Loaded '*c:\Windows\System32\digiasio.dll'. No matching binary found.
'Silkroad_07082018_070006.dmp' (Minidump): Loaded '*C:\Program Files\Avid\Pro Tools\DirectIO.dll'. No matching binary found.
'Silkroad_07082018_070006.dmp' (Minidump): Loaded '*C:\Program Files\Avid\Pro Tools\DSI.dll'. No matching binary found.
'Silkroad_07082018_070006.dmp' (Minidump): Loaded '*C:\Program Files\Avid\Pro Tools\DigiPlatformSupport.dll'. No matching binary found.
'Silkroad_07082018_070006.dmp' (Minidump): Loaded '*C:\Program Files\Avid\Pro Tools\DHS.dll'. No matching binary found.
'Silkroad_07082018_070006.dmp' (Minidump): Loaded '*C:\Program Files\Avid\Pro Tools\CFnd.dll'. No matching binary found.
'Silkroad_07082018_070006.dmp' (Minidump): Loaded 'C:\Windows\System32\IPHLPAPI.DLL'. Cannot find or open the PDB file.
'Silkroad_07082018_070006.dmp' (Minidump): Loaded 'C:\Windows\System32\mpr.dll'. Cannot find or open the PDB file.
'Silkroad_07082018_070006.dmp' (Minidump): Loaded 'C:\Windows\System32\msi.dll'. Cannot find or open the PDB file.
'Silkroad_07082018_070006.dmp' (Minidump): Loaded 'C:\Windows\System32\dbghelp.dll'. Cannot find or open the PDB file.
'Silkroad_07082018_070006.dmp' (Minidump): Loaded '*C:\Windows\System32\urlmon.dll'. No matching binary found.
'Silkroad_07082018_070006.dmp' (Minidump): Loaded '*C:\Windows\System32\iertutil.dll'. No matching binary found.
'Silkroad_07082018_070006.dmp' (Minidump): Loaded '*C:\Program Files\Avid\Pro Tools\AFnd.dll'. No matching binary found.
'Silkroad_07082018_070006.dmp' (Minidump): Loaded '*C:\Program Files\Avid\Pro Tools\DFW.dll'. No matching binary found.
'Silkroad_07082018_070006.dmp' (Minidump): Loaded '*C:\Program Files\Avid\Pro Tools\Avicuuc42.dll'. Module was built without symbols.
'Silkroad_07082018_070006.dmp' (Minidump): Loaded '*C:\Program Files\Avid\Pro Tools\Avicuin42.dll'. Module was built without symbols.
'Silkroad_07082018_070006.dmp' (Minidump): Loaded '*C:\Program Files\Avid\Pro Tools\DFW_KeyHook.dll'. No matching binary found.
'Silkroad_07082018_070006.dmp' (Minidump): Loaded '*C:\Program Files\Avid\Pro Tools\Avicudt42.dll'. Module was built without symbols.

Unhandled exception at 0x000000000ABE5F5A (CFnd.dll) in Silkroad_07082018_070006.dmp: 0xC0000005: Access violation reading location 0x0000000000000000.

I bet renaming digiasio.dll will mask the problem.
Thanks for your posts, Cakewalk friend, brillant.
I shall put that all in the thread I have with AVID.
Of course I can try out renaming that digiasio.dll, first I'd have to see the properties:
Years ago, when PtoTools was made by Digidesign, I had an LE version which I abandoned (Cakewalk Sonar was way better then!) but never deinstalled from my PC.
I turned back to PT as alternative DAW when there was the "Gibson Crash" and it was unclear what youd happen to Cakewalk after that. At that time of course I deinstalled the old PT version. But I am not sure if I did that only after installing the new PT version and some how what dll "survived" on my PC. I'll check that tonight...
If that dll is older than2 years, I will even try to delete it, start PT, and if that works, I will shred it from my bin.
Sure I will tell here, and there.
Thankx again.

(in the evening...)
Searching my PC for that file digiasio.dll, I found 2 of them with identical name but different ages (one of 2015, the other one from April 2018), and in different locations.
I deleted the older one and first tried to open ProTools, and a session there. No problem encountered.
Now I opened Cakewalk, NOT as admin, - - - NO PROBLEMS ANYMORE! Yay!
But I shall watch this....

So maybe I am not the only one with that "installation history", although such a search might take some time, for PCs: I found the bad one at
C:\Windows\SysWOW64, , no idea about Macs: please try by yourselves. This bad one I will shred now from my bin. Rest in pieces.
Last edited by MadMusicologist on Fri Aug 24, 2018 9:15 pm, edited 1 time in total.

orangeoctane
Junior Member
Posts: 101
Joined: Tue Aug 05, 2014 2:47 am
Contact:

Re: Avid Support Asks: What is WL's dependency on CFnd.dll?

Post by orangeoctane » Mon Jul 23, 2018 9:20 pm

Update: this issue has been resolved with PT 2018.4 on Windows 10

MadMusicologist
New Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Jul 10, 2018 7:10 pm
Contact:

Re: Avid Support Asks: What is WL's dependency on CFnd.dll?

Post by MadMusicologist » Fri Aug 24, 2018 9:14 pm

When I had that issue, there was "PT 2018.7 ultimate".

HomePlayer
Junior Member
Posts: 55
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 4:42 pm

Re: Avid Support Asks: What is WL's dependency on CFnd.dll?

Post by HomePlayer » Sat Oct 20, 2018 4:09 am

I guess I have found a solution (at least a workaround).
As was mentioned by MadMusicologist the problem seems to be the digiasio.dll file.
I followed his hints but it didn't help.
What I did:
I renamed the digiasio.dll in the System32-folder to digiasio.dll.orig (just to have it available in case anything goes wrong) but let the one in SysWOW64 untouched (this is the version with the 2015 datestamp).
Now wavelab does not crash anymore when I close it and ProTools 2018.10 is also working .
Hope this helps.
Windows 10 Professional 64Bit (1903), GIGABYTE X299 UD4 Pro, Intel I7 7820x, 64 GByte RAM, Focusrite Saffire 40 +OctoPro, Steinberg UR22, PSR9000, Motif Rack ES with PLG100 XG and PLG150DX, Midisports8x8, Cubase pro 10, Wavelab Pro 9.5, SpectralLayer Pro 6, ProTools 2019.09, Fabfilter, Hofa, BlueCat, Izotope, Waves and other Plugins

MadMusicologist
New Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Jul 10, 2018 7:10 pm
Contact:

Re: Avid Support Asks: What is WL's dependency on CFnd.dll?

Post by MadMusicologist » Sat Oct 20, 2018 5:05 am

Thankx for following up.
I shall return here any report how this effects Cakewalk. (Presently I am in another score and do not wish to interrupt that work, sorry.)

MadMusicologist
New Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Jul 10, 2018 7:10 pm
Contact:

Re: Avid Support Asks: What is WL's dependency on CFnd.dll?

Post by MadMusicologist » Sat Oct 20, 2018 6:23 am

Ok this seems to help for Cakewalk. ProTools still rocking. Thankx again, everything fine now - until the next ProTools update ;-) But then I'll know what to do.

orangeoctane
Junior Member
Posts: 101
Joined: Tue Aug 05, 2014 2:47 am
Contact:

Re: Avid Support Asks: What is WL's dependency on CFnd.dll?

Post by orangeoctane » Sat Oct 20, 2018 8:19 pm

And Acustica STILL has no clue. I guess I'm not surprised. Thanks for the workaround!

Post Reply

Return to “WaveLab Pro 9 | WaveLab Elements 9”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: meister1 and 1 guest