Track Focus/Select Issue with Control Surface(s)

Post general topics related to Cubase Pro 9, Cubase Artist 9 and Cubase Elements 9 here.
newweststudios

Track Focus/Select Issue with Control Surface(s)

Post by newweststudios » Thu Jul 13, 2017 3:01 am

Hey all, this is my first post. I'm 2 weeks into my Cubase journey after nearly 20 years in Digital Performer. I have a long list of issues, and am hell bent on solving as much as I can, but this one is confusing me. Hoping somebody here might be able to help!

In my template I have my audio subs and returns on a Cubase mixing console with my raven. I adjust click, production sound, etc on this particular panel and like it to be visible all the time for on the fly adjustments. I also have a CC121 that I’m using for volume automation on MIDI tracks - this replaces the Alphatrack that I've been using for many years. When I have pref “Sync Selection in Project Window and MixConsole” all functions right - that is until I try to adjust my click level, etc. Then Cubase selects the click track, which takes me out of record with whatever track I’m working with. I'll often ride the click with one hand while recording MIDI with the other. If I have this preference unchecked, the CC121 stays on whatever track was selected in the mixing console - it won’t talk to whatever track I have going in the project window (it won't "track focus.")

The second, less issue is that the CC121 records volume automation to my MIDI tracks, but this CC data sometimes shows up in a separate “lane” than the rest of my MIDI data (notes and other ccs - like mod, etc.) I’m unable to determine exactly why sometimes this data is seemingly invisible unless I open the "automation lane." Is there a way to have it behave like "normal midi?" Many many thanks for your help!
MacPro 5.1 ** 12 Core-3.33 GHZ ** 64GB RAM ** Flashed Nvidia 980 w/2x 4k Displays ** Sierra ** 4x SSDs ** Slave PC
Mac Sierra ** Cubase 9.20 (convert from DP9) ** VEP6