Kontakt installed in a different hard disk than Dorico

Discussions about our next-generation scoring application, Dorico.
Post Reply
GabrieleCeccarelli
New Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Jul 30, 2017 10:46 am
Contact:

Kontakt installed in a different hard disk than Dorico

Post by GabrieleCeccarelli »

Hi to you all,

it seems to me that Dorico does not have - as Cubase does - a scanning system of VST's and plugins, so how can I use Kontact if it is installed in a different hard disk than Dorico?

User avatar
Daniel at Steinberg
Moderator
Posts: 18240
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2012 10:35 am
Contact:

Re: Kontakt installed in a different hard disk than Dorico

Post by Daniel at Steinberg »

I believe you can in theory add folders to the file Vst2xPlugin SearchPaths VSTAudioEngine.xml which you will find in your %APPDATA%\Steinberg\VSTAudioEngine_64 (Windows) or /Users/your-username/Library/Preferences (Mac) folders. I'm not 100% sure how this is done, e.g. I'm not sure what the significance of the ID field is and how that number is generated, but you could try adding a suitable node to that XML file using a proper text editor (not WordPad or TextEdit, but something like Sublime Text, SciTE, BBEdit, etc.).

User avatar
Ulf
Steinberg Employee
Posts: 2523
Joined: Wed Jul 31, 2013 9:44 am
Location: Steinberg Headquarters
Contact:

Re: Kontakt installed in a different hard disk than Dorico

Post by Ulf »

That's right, not only in theory but also in practise, you can add search paths in the mentioned xml file. Just forget about the ID field, it will get adjusted by the audio engine automatically.
Steinberg employee

GabrieleCeccarelli
New Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Jul 30, 2017 10:46 am
Contact:

Re: Kontakt installed in a different hard disk than Dorico

Post by GabrieleCeccarelli »

Daniel at Steinberg wrote:
Sun Jul 30, 2017 4:58 pm
I believe you can in theory add folders to the file Vst2xPlugin SearchPaths VSTAudioEngine.xml which you will find in your %APPDATA%\Steinberg\VSTAudioEngine_64 (Windows) or /Users/your-username/Library/Preferences (Mac) folders. I'm not 100% sure how this is done, e.g. I'm not sure what the significance of the ID field is and how that number is generated, but you could try adding a suitable node to that XML file using a proper text editor (not WordPad or TextEdit, but something like Sublime Text, SciTE, BBEdit, etc.).
Hi, thanks for your quick answer!
Unfortunately, I couldn't find a .xml with that name inside the Dorico folder in my hard disk (I found a VSTAudioEngine.exe instead). Am I searching in the wrong place?

User avatar
Ulf
Steinberg Employee
Posts: 2523
Joined: Wed Jul 31, 2013 9:44 am
Location: Steinberg Headquarters
Contact:

Re: Kontakt installed in a different hard disk than Dorico

Post by Ulf »

Have a look again in C:\Users\<your-name>\AppData\Roaming\Steinberg\VSTAudioEngine_64
Steinberg employee

Brian Roland
Senior Member
Posts: 1064
Joined: Fri Jun 19, 2015 5:24 pm
Contact:

Re: Kontakt installed in a different hard disk than Dorico

Post by Brian Roland »

If all those directories are hidden on your system, a quick way to get to them is to hold down the windows key and tap r.
In the "Run" dialog type in (or copy/pate it from here):

Code: Select all

"%USERPROFILE%\AppData\Roaming\Steinberg\VSTAudioEngine_64"

Post Reply

Return to “Dorico”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: rhdsmnd and 3 guests