Envelope Pitch Shift BUG (old since version 4)

For users of legacy Steinberg Cubase software
Post Reply
andivax
New Member
Posts: 17
Joined: Fri Jan 14, 2011 12:40 am
Contact:

Envelope Pitch Shift BUG (old since version 4)

Post by andivax » Mon Aug 15, 2011 9:00 pm

In SX 3 all was OK.
Since 4.0 and in 6.0.3 I still get this annoying bug with Pitch Shift (In envelope mode).

Repro:
make a pattern of one shot samples (1/8 or 1/16, nevermind).
Then go to Pitch shift, set Range to 12 or 16 (nevermind).
MPEX4 preset - any mpex (solo/poly musical or any other).
Make a pitch envelope. Process.

You will see all one shot samples in the end are out of grid!
I mean MPEX algo on PC (dont test it on MAC) works buggy in envelope mode!

Video evidence (please enable captions):
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-uWEGKmntRE

User avatar
JHP
Member
Posts: 756
Joined: Wed Nov 03, 2010 1:58 pm
Contact:

Re: Envelope Pitch Shift BUG (old since version 4)

Post by JHP » Tue Aug 16, 2011 9:42 am

andivax wrote:In SX 3 all was OK.
Since 4.0 and in 6.0.3 I still get this annoying bug with Pitch Shift (In envelope mode).

Repro:
make a pattern of one shot samples (1/8 or 1/16, nevermind).
Then go to Pitch shift, set Range to 12 or 16 (nevermind).
MPEX4 preset - any mpex (solo/poly musical or any other).
Make a pitch envelope. Process.

You will see all one shot samples in the end are out of grid!
I mean MPEX algo on PC (dont test it on MAC) works buggy in envelope mode!

Video evidence (please enable captions):
http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-uWEGKmntRE
I'm not sure if this is a bug.
I would rather assume that this is a behavior of the mpex algo and that one does not have exact congruence of the transients and offsets regarding the original and the pitched material.

I will issue a report (29309)

Thank you for your report and the video,
Gr,
JHP
Jan Peters, QA
Steinberg Media Technologies GmbH
Hamburg, Germany
Check out Steinberg on YouTube, Twitter and Facebook!

andivax
New Member
Posts: 17
Joined: Fri Jan 14, 2011 12:40 am
Contact:

Re: Envelope Pitch Shift BUG (old since version 4)

Post by andivax » Tue Aug 16, 2011 10:53 am

thank you, mister! :)

Cantankerous
Member
Posts: 752
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 2:52 pm
Contact:

Re: Envelope Pitch Shift BUG (old since version 4)

Post by Cantankerous » Tue Aug 16, 2011 12:02 pm

If the MPEX algo is the issue, why can we not use the new ZPlane algos in this particular situation as an option?
Asus P8P67
2600K
8GB G.Skill DDR3-1600 7-8-7-24
Windows 7 Ultimate 64-bit
Echo Audiofire8
Virus Ti Desktop
Novation 49SL MKII
UAD-2 Quad x 2
CUBASE 7.5
HALion 5

andivax
New Member
Posts: 17
Joined: Fri Jan 14, 2011 12:40 am
Contact:

Re: Envelope Pitch Shift BUG (old since version 4)

Post by andivax » Tue Aug 16, 2011 12:09 pm

Cantankerous wrote:If the MPEX algo is the issue, why can we not use the new ZPlane algos in this particular situation as an option?
1) zplane offers only +/- octave
2) it's NOT free
3) it has not envelope mode

User avatar
Sonik
Senior Member
Posts: 1010
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 10:34 pm
Contact:

Re: Envelope Pitch Shift BUG (old since version 4)

Post by Sonik » Tue Aug 16, 2011 2:38 pm

Cantankerous wrote:If the MPEX algo is the issue, why can we not use the new ZPlane algos in this particular situation as an option?
+1
MacPro 8 core 16gb HD 5770 10.11.6|Studio One 4.5|Protools 2019|Cubase Pro 10.0.30|Wavelab 9.5|Logic X|Apollo Quad|4xUAD-2 (14 core)
Manley Massive Passive|Thermionic Phoenix Mastering Plus|Maselec MLA-2|API 2500|Avalon 737sp|Summit TLA-100A|Distressor EL8-X|Apogee Symphony||Euphonix McMix x2|Dangerous Music 2 Bus LT|ATC SCM20 ASL Pro|Amphion One18|
Halion Sonic 3|Komplete10|Stylus RMX|Trilian|Omnisphere 2.6|VSL Strings|EW Pianos|ReFx Nexus 2|AirMusicTech|Sylenth|Predator|Kick 2|Serum
UAD|Waves|Soundtoys|Melodyne|Softube|Brainworx|PluginAlliance|Fabfilter|

andivax
New Member
Posts: 17
Joined: Fri Jan 14, 2011 12:40 am
Contact:

Re: Envelope Pitch Shift BUG (old since version 4)

Post by andivax » Tue Aug 16, 2011 3:43 pm

+1 here to! i don't get you for the first time :)

Zplane works VERY good in Reaper. I can make an pitch envelope up to 2 octaves and it sounds brilliant!

andivax
New Member
Posts: 17
Joined: Fri Jan 14, 2011 12:40 am
Contact:

Re: Envelope Pitch Shift BUG (old since version 4)

Post by andivax » Tue Aug 16, 2011 3:43 pm

+1 here to! i don't get you for the first time :)

Zplane works VERY good in Reaper. I can make an pitch envelope up to 2 octaves and it sounds brilliant!

Post Reply

Return to “Older Cubase versions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 11 guests