Halion sonic crashes cubase 9

Post general topics related to Cubase Pro 9, Cubase Artist 9 and Cubase Elements 9 here.
Bemol1963
New Member
Posts: 32
Joined: Sat Oct 10, 2015 11:05 pm
Contact:

Halion sonic crashes cubase 9

Post by Bemol1963 » Sun Oct 15, 2017 6:46 pm

Hello everyone,
I've got a problem after installing latest Halion Sonic 3 update. After launhing Cubase 9 pro, I try to lanch Halion Sonic from rack. Then question of creating midi trak appears (click YES). Halion Sonic appears in white, next got its interface and then I see info "Cubase 9 stop working" or "Cubase crashes because of plugin: Halion Sonic Controller. I've been fighting this for a few days including: reinstalation, instalation from scretch and still the same info. I can't use HS at all. Did anyone experience such a problem? any ideas to fix it? Appraciate all. Bemol.

Martin.Jirsak
Forum Elder
Posts: 12267
Joined: Sun Mar 20, 2011 3:52 pm
Contact:

Re: Halion sonic crashes cubase 9

Post by Martin.Jirsak » Sun Oct 15, 2017 11:26 pm

Hi,

What Windows/mac OS version do you use?

Could you share the crashlog with me? Send me a link to the Dropbox files via PM, please.
Martin Jirsak
http://www.cubase-training.com/EN/

Cubase Pro (last officially supported version all the time)
macOS (last update)

Bemol1963
New Member
Posts: 32
Joined: Sat Oct 10, 2015 11:05 pm
Contact:

Re: Halion sonic crashes cubase 9

Post by Bemol1963 » Mon Oct 16, 2017 7:15 pm

Hello Martin, Windows 10. Where can I find crashlog?

Martin.Jirsak
Forum Elder
Posts: 12267
Joined: Sun Mar 20, 2011 3:52 pm
Contact:

Re: Halion sonic crashes cubase 9

Post by Martin.Jirsak » Mon Oct 16, 2017 10:55 pm

Hi,

Documents/Steinberg/Crashdumps
Martin Jirsak
http://www.cubase-training.com/EN/

Cubase Pro (last officially supported version all the time)
macOS (last update)

Bemol1963
New Member
Posts: 32
Joined: Sat Oct 10, 2015 11:05 pm
Contact:

Re: Halion sonic crashes cubase 9

Post by Bemol1963 » Tue Oct 17, 2017 4:11 pm


Bemol1963
New Member
Posts: 32
Joined: Sat Oct 10, 2015 11:05 pm
Contact:

Re: Halion sonic crashes cubase 9

Post by Bemol1963 » Tue Oct 17, 2017 8:02 pm

I did unistallation of all refers to cubase, removed all folders refers to Halion Sonic, cleaned comp with regcleaner, restarted comp and installed everything from scretch. Unfortunatelly, the same :/ I have no idea what's going on and what way fix this problem. Anybody is able to help? thx.

andyjh
Member
Posts: 306
Joined: Sat Dec 18, 2010 8:19 pm
Contact:

Re: Halion sonic crashes cubase 9

Post by andyjh » Tue Oct 17, 2017 8:16 pm

I had a problem with Windows 10 and Halion/Halionsonic crashing, my issue was in the bios settings of the memory timing settings, I had to get rid of all the AUTO settings and enter a specific value (the same value that Auto had set), and that stopped all the crashing. For some reason this issue was only affecting Halion and Halionsonic.
Master: Windows 10 64-bit / i7 7820X / 32GB RAM / Dual Monitors / Steinberg UR824 / MOTU Midi Express 128
Slave: Windows 7 64-bit / i7 / 16Gb RAM / Dual monitors / Emu 1820m. Networked via VE Pro
Cubase Pro 9.5.1, Absolute 3 (Halion 6), Wavelab Pro 9.0, Dorico 1.2.0.37
Equipment list: - more than I need : Plug in list:- definitely more than I need

Bemol1963
New Member
Posts: 32
Joined: Sat Oct 10, 2015 11:05 pm
Contact:

Re: Halion sonic crashes cubase 9

Post by Bemol1963 » Tue Oct 17, 2017 9:23 pm

I have no such item (memory timing stettings) in BIOS (laptop Samsung).

Bemol1963
New Member
Posts: 32
Joined: Sat Oct 10, 2015 11:05 pm
Contact:

Re: Halion sonic crashes cubase 9

Post by Bemol1963 » Tue Oct 17, 2017 11:17 pm

Strange thing, from time to time I may open HS and it works properly. When I close it and open from INSPECTOR, I get info "An exception occurred. Save your work and restart the application. The exception was thrown because of the plug-in: HALion Sonic Controller". Any suggestions ???

Martin.Jirsak
Forum Elder
Posts: 12267
Joined: Sun Mar 20, 2011 3:52 pm
Contact:

Re: Halion sonic crashes cubase 9

Post by Martin.Jirsak » Wed Oct 18, 2017 1:42 pm

Reported to Steinberg.
Martin Jirsak
http://www.cubase-training.com/EN/

Cubase Pro (last officially supported version all the time)
macOS (last update)

Bemol1963
New Member
Posts: 32
Joined: Sat Oct 10, 2015 11:05 pm
Contact:

Re: Halion sonic crashes cubase 9

Post by Bemol1963 » Wed Oct 18, 2017 2:19 pm

thanks Martin ;)

Bemol1963
New Member
Posts: 32
Joined: Sat Oct 10, 2015 11:05 pm
Contact:

Re: Halion sonic crashes cubase 9

Post by Bemol1963 » Wed Oct 18, 2017 2:21 pm

Martin, did you reach my dmp file on my dropbox and skim it?

Martin.Jirsak
Forum Elder
Posts: 12267
Joined: Sun Mar 20, 2011 3:52 pm
Contact:

Re: Halion sonic crashes cubase 9

Post by Martin.Jirsak » Wed Oct 18, 2017 2:26 pm

Bemol1963 wrote:
Wed Oct 18, 2017 2:21 pm
Martin, did you reach my dmp file on my dropbox and skim it?
Yes I reached it, and attached to the report.
Martin Jirsak
http://www.cubase-training.com/EN/

Cubase Pro (last officially supported version all the time)
macOS (last update)

Bemol1963
New Member
Posts: 32
Joined: Sat Oct 10, 2015 11:05 pm
Contact:

Re: Halion sonic crashes cubase 9

Post by Bemol1963 » Wed Oct 18, 2017 7:48 pm

Thx, you are a big master :)

Bemol1963
New Member
Posts: 32
Joined: Sat Oct 10, 2015 11:05 pm
Contact:

Re: Halion sonic crashes cubase 9

Post by Bemol1963 » Thu Oct 19, 2017 11:39 pm

I run PreSonus Studio One 3 yesterday and I noticed that Halion Sonic 3 works correctly in it without any problems. HS3 crashes only Cubase 9.0.30. What's the problem? Cubase raports that problem is with Halion Sonic Controller plug-in. Is it anything like this at all ? What to do to be able use HS3 in Cubase ?

User avatar
AP
Member
Posts: 609
Joined: Thu Dec 06, 2012 11:46 pm
Contact:

Re: Halion sonic crashes cubase 9

Post by AP » Fri Oct 20, 2017 2:12 pm

Bemol1963 wrote:
Thu Oct 19, 2017 11:39 pm
I run PreSonus Studio One 3 yesterday and I noticed that Halion Sonic 3 works correctly in it without any problems. HS3 crashes only Cubase 9.0.30. What's the problem? Cubase raports that problem is with Halion Sonic Controller plug-in. Is it anything like this at all ? What to do to be able use HS3 in Cubase ?
Yes exactly... this new Halion hot fix is crashing like crazy... everything was working great
Before this hot fix/crash... the previous version of Halion and 9.20 were great but once again Steinberg had to go destroy things again.
It's also crashing all related VSTi like triebwrek and hypnotic dance..

This is rediculious Steinberg !!!!

Should I even bother sending a ticket to Steinberg support?
Or should I wait for Steinberg to get it together?
Last edited by AP on Fri Oct 20, 2017 2:16 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Cubase Pro 9.5. 15" MacBook Pro i7, SSD, 16 GB Ram, OS 10.12.6. UR28M, CMC.

Martin.Jirsak
Forum Elder
Posts: 12267
Joined: Sun Mar 20, 2011 3:52 pm
Contact:

Re: Halion sonic crashes cubase 9

Post by Martin.Jirsak » Fri Oct 20, 2017 2:16 pm

AP wrote:
Fri Oct 20, 2017 2:12 pm
Bemol1963 wrote:
Thu Oct 19, 2017 11:39 pm
I run PreSonus Studio One 3 yesterday and I noticed that Halion Sonic 3 works correctly in it without any problems. HS3 crashes only Cubase 9.0.30. What's the problem? Cubase raports that problem is with Halion Sonic Controller plug-in. Is it anything like this at all ? What to do to be able use HS3 in Cubase ?
Yes exactly... this new Halion hot fix is crashing like crazy... everything was working great
Before this hot fix/crash... the previous version of Halion and 9.20 were great but once again Steinberg had to go destroy things again.

Should I even bother sending a ticket to Steinberg support?
Or should I wait for Steinberg to get it together?
This issue is already handled by Steinberg.

But send me your crashlog(s), in case it's not the same, please.
Martin Jirsak
http://www.cubase-training.com/EN/

Cubase Pro (last officially supported version all the time)
macOS (last update)

Bemol1963
New Member
Posts: 32
Joined: Sat Oct 10, 2015 11:05 pm
Contact:

Re: Halion sonic crashes cubase 9

Post by Bemol1963 » Fri Oct 20, 2017 9:50 pm

Martin, I give you bmp file and print screen after running HS3 (without hotfix update 0.30). It's not possible to launch HS3 in C9 as you can see.
https://www.dropbox.com/home/Cubase_bugs

Martin.Jirsak
Forum Elder
Posts: 12267
Joined: Sun Mar 20, 2011 3:52 pm
Contact:

Re: Halion sonic crashes cubase 9

Post by Martin.Jirsak » Sat Oct 21, 2017 8:20 pm

Hi,

I'm sorry the link doesn't work to me.
Martin Jirsak
http://www.cubase-training.com/EN/

Cubase Pro (last officially supported version all the time)
macOS (last update)

Bemol1963
New Member
Posts: 32
Joined: Sat Oct 10, 2015 11:05 pm
Contact:

Re: Halion sonic crashes cubase 9

Post by Bemol1963 » Sun Oct 22, 2017 2:54 am

ISSUE SOLVED
1. Control Panel -> System -> Advanced System Settings -> System Properties Tab -> Efficiency (click settings) -> Advanced -> Virtual Memory (swap file) set up min.500 MB, max. 2000 MB.
2. In Halion Sonic 3 go to Options Tab and MaxPreaload at 1900 MB, that's it.
Enjoy :)

Martin.Jirsak
Forum Elder
Posts: 12267
Joined: Sun Mar 20, 2011 3:52 pm
Contact:

Re: Halion sonic crashes cubase 9

Post by Martin.Jirsak » Sun Oct 22, 2017 8:27 am

How did you come to this solution?

Thank you for sharing!
Martin Jirsak
http://www.cubase-training.com/EN/

Cubase Pro (last officially supported version all the time)
macOS (last update)

Bemol1963
New Member
Posts: 32
Joined: Sat Oct 10, 2015 11:05 pm
Contact:

Re: Halion sonic crashes cubase 9

Post by Bemol1963 » Sun Oct 22, 2017 11:13 am

Just, when I launched HS3 with MIDI track, HS3's GUI appeared and till this time everything was ok. When HS3 loaded instruments, I noticed that when the more instruments loaded the HS3's GUI got more whiter and cursor went round. Then, I awared that it may be too less memory for all instruments and I started experiment. Tha's all. It was rather my "nose" only :)

Martin.Jirsak
Forum Elder
Posts: 12267
Joined: Sun Mar 20, 2011 3:52 pm
Contact:

Re: Halion sonic crashes cubase 9

Post by Martin.Jirsak » Mon Oct 23, 2017 11:44 am

Hi,

Do you know what were the previous values for VirtualMemory and HS3 MaxPreload, please?
Martin Jirsak
http://www.cubase-training.com/EN/

Cubase Pro (last officially supported version all the time)
macOS (last update)

Bemol1963
New Member
Posts: 32
Joined: Sat Oct 10, 2015 11:05 pm
Contact:

Re: Halion sonic crashes cubase 9

Post by Bemol1963 » Tue Oct 24, 2017 8:08 pm

Unfortunalely, I was happy too early. HS3 still causes C9's crashes informing that it is because of Halion Sonic Controller. I don't know what does it mean. i I WAS LOOKING FOR VIA INTERNET BUT I FOUND NOTHING. I istalled evrything from scretch downloading all files first. Fresh instalation. THE SAME ISSUE.

Bemol1963
New Member
Posts: 32
Joined: Sat Oct 10, 2015 11:05 pm
Contact:

Re: Halion sonic crashes cubase 9

Post by Bemol1963 » Tue Oct 24, 2017 8:36 pm

When I launch HS3 first time (in C9) everything goes ok. When I close HS3 and next open from INSPECTOR, I get earlier mentioned info. When I close this info window, HS3 gets black (without GUI). Then I have to close C9.

Post Reply

Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: stevendieveney and 11 guests