AAF Export - Crossfade Curves lost

Post general topics related to Nuendo 7 here.
Post Reply
Rosensprung
New Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Oct 17, 2017 3:52 pm
Contact:

AAF Export - Crossfade Curves lost

Post by Rosensprung » Tue Oct 17, 2017 4:08 pm

Hello,

we have the following issue:
We need to export the complete project from Nuendo 7 to Pro Tools 12.
When exporting the AAF from Nuendo and importing it into Pro Tools all the Crossfades are set to equal power.
The problem is, that In the Nuendo project, we used different crossfade curves.
When exporting the AAF from Nuendo and importing the same AAF back to Nuendo, the crossfade curves also look different.
(Amplitude Crossfades are changed to linear and equal power crossfades stay the same).
Did somebody ever experienced this problem before and can somebody provide solutions?

AAF was embedded and consolidated with handle length.
For crossfades we used the simple crossfade editor (Nuendo preferences).

Thank you for your help!

User avatar
Fredo
External Moderator
Posts: 2299
Joined: Tue Dec 14, 2010 11:20 am
Contact:

Re: AAF Export - Crossfade Curves lost

Post by Fredo » Wed Oct 18, 2017 12:23 pm

AFAIK, AAF only supports linear fades.

Fredo

ErikG
Member
Posts: 431
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 8:43 am
Contact:

Re: AAF Export - Crossfade Curves lost

Post by ErikG » Fri Oct 20, 2017 5:51 am

Yep, and even using a specialised tool like AATranslatkr to get the data across there is no way to translate modified curves, so with AAT you will get linear or equal power but just the standard curves nothing else.
As I understand it The difference in implementation of fade curves between daws are simply to big to get translated.
Filmlance
11xNuendo, 5xPT
Dubstage with 2k Christie projection
8xMedia Composer, VFX, online, grading and more

Rosensprung
New Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Tue Oct 17, 2017 3:52 pm
Contact:

Re: AAF Export - Crossfade Curves lost

Post by Rosensprung » Sat Nov 25, 2017 9:08 pm

Hi Fredo, hi Erik!
Thank you for your replies!
Now, the project is finalized. For rerecording, we transfered from Nuendo to Protools and repaired all fadecurves there, bit by bit, which were audible. At the end, it was not such an effort.
Another strange thing we found out - maybe interesting for further Nuendo-Protools transfers: very small edits (like smacks cleaned with Izotope in Nuendo) were not been transfered by AAF. In Protools we found some very small holes there on these places which produced clicks.
In conclusion, its better to keep working in the same DAW. ;)
Stefan

Post Reply

Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests