Latency on Cubase 9

Post general topics related to Cubase Pro 9, Cubase Artist 9 and Cubase Elements 9 here.
Post Reply
Shadix
New Member
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Jan 27, 2014 11:28 am
Contact:

Latency on Cubase 9

Post by Shadix » Thu Oct 19, 2017 6:55 pm

deleted..
Last edited by Shadix on Mon Oct 23, 2017 1:42 am, edited 1 time in total.

svennilenni
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3835
Joined: Sat Nov 28, 2015 3:21 pm
Contact:

Re: Latency on Cubase 9

Post by svennilenni » Thu Oct 19, 2017 8:18 pm

Disable Plugins with high plugin delay anywhere in your monitoring path and in addition to that, 512 samples is not really a low buffer setting

Shadix
New Member
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Jan 27, 2014 11:28 am
Contact:

Re: Latency on Cubase 9

Post by Shadix » Thu Oct 19, 2017 9:20 pm

svennilenni wrote:
Thu Oct 19, 2017 8:18 pm
Disable Plugins with high plugin delay anywhere in your monitoring path and in addition to that, 512 samples is not really a low buffer setting
Thanks. But as written, I've tried all buffer settings, in a empty project, to no difference at all. Same latency.

User avatar
Grim
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 5064
Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2011 5:08 pm
Contact:

Re: Latency on Cubase 9

Post by Grim » Thu Oct 19, 2017 10:46 pm

Control room active.....any plugins in there?? (new empty project does not clear the control room)
i7 5820k @3.7Ghz, 16Gb, W10Pro, Cubase 9.0x, Cubase 8.5.x, Audient iD22, Zoom UAC-2, Wavelab Elements 9.x, Nektar Impact GX61

Shadix
New Member
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Jan 27, 2014 11:28 am
Contact:

Re: Latency on Cubase 9

Post by Shadix » Thu Oct 19, 2017 11:38 pm

Grim wrote:
Thu Oct 19, 2017 10:46 pm
Control room active.....any plugins in there?? (new empty project does not clear the control room)
Thanks, I've checked, there's none.

Nickeldome
Member
Posts: 717
Joined: Thu Aug 07, 2014 1:06 pm
Contact:

Re: Latency on Cubase 9

Post by Nickeldome » Fri Oct 20, 2017 11:46 am

These are abnormal high values for a MR816CSX. Even on 512 samples it should be much lower and more in the range of 20-30 ms or so. Are you sure you're using the dedicated ASIO driver? Because it sounds you might have the Steinberg Low Latency or WDM driver selected?
Cubase Pro - Wavelab Pro (always latest version) Windows 10 Pro 64bit / Asus TUF Mark 1 X299 / i9-7900X (at 4.3 GHZ) / 64GB RAM / Geforce GTX 1060 6G / System drive Samsung M.2 1TB 960Pro / Kontakt drives 3 x 1TB Samsung Evo / Project/Audio/Archive drive 10TB Seagate Ironwolf - Audio interface: Roland UA-1610 / External gear: Kawai MP11 / Kurzweil PC88 / Sequential Circuits Prophet 5 / Roland JV1080 / Roland D50 / Korg 01/W / Elka EK22 – Midi controllers: Roli Seabord Rise 49, SoundQuest 8port-SE / Nektar Panorama P1 / Roland Octopad II / Akai MPD18 - Main VST's: Kontakt 6 / Padshop Pro / Spectrasonics Omnisphere 2.6, Trillian & Keyscape / Arturia V-collection / FXpansion BFD 3 / Toontrack Superior Drummer 3
All time user of Cubase since Atari V2 (around 1990)

valsolim
Member
Posts: 242
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:54 pm
Location: Brno, Czechia
Contact:

Re: Latency on Cubase 9

Post by valsolim » Fri Oct 20, 2017 12:30 pm

If you are on Windows, use the YSFWUtility and set the IEEE1394 buffer size to "Medium":
https://helpcenter.steinberg.de/hc/en-u ... nce-issues

I had the same problem and I also tried everything you have described. This adjustment finally did the trick for me.

Best regards
--
Miloslav
Cubase Pro 9.5, Dorico Pro 2, HALion 6, WaveLab Pro 9.5, Windows 10, Plogue Bidule, Cognitone Synfire, Celemony Melodyne, MeldaProduction, ToneBoosters, Voxengo, Steinberg MR816csx, Presonus DigiMax FS, ART HeadAmp 6 Pro, IK Multimedia ARC 2, Adam Audio A7X + Sub10, AKG K271 mkII, TC Electronic Konnekt 24D, Steinberg UR22, Audix D2, D4, D6, i5, ADX-51, Sennheiser e614, 2x Shure SM137, Røde NT1-A, DPA 4099 S/U, Roland FC-300, Steinberg CC121, Yamaha KX49

Shadix
New Member
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Jan 27, 2014 11:28 am
Contact:

Re: Latency on Cubase 9

Post by Shadix » Fri Oct 20, 2017 9:09 pm

Thank for the replies.

@valsolim, I tried changing those settings. Seems to be helping abit. But I'm more down to 40-50msec now.

Isn't there a way to make it go 0msec? I really don't understand why it's so hard, when in Fruity Loops, I can max up the buffer size, and playback would still be on 0. It's wierd, and frustrating AF.

User avatar
peakae
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3053
Joined: Sat Jan 05, 2013 8:15 pm
Location: Bedroom
Contact:

Re: Latency on Cubase 9

Post by peakae » Fri Oct 20, 2017 9:21 pm

Wow so Fruity Loops has a build in time machine, I didn't know that.
Cubase Pro 10, Wavelab Elements 9, I7 3770K , win10x64, 16Gb Ram, RME Raydat, Steinberg MR816x, Motu 828mkII, Behringer ADA8200, Yamaha moXF6, Steinberg UR242, Yamaha THR 10, Grace Design m900, CMC TP, CMC CH.

svennilenni
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3835
Joined: Sat Nov 28, 2015 3:21 pm
Contact:

Re: Latency on Cubase 9

Post by svennilenni » Sat Oct 21, 2017 10:49 am

Shadix wrote:
Fri Oct 20, 2017 9:09 pm
Thank for the replies.

@valsolim, I tried changing those settings. Seems to be helping abit. But I'm more down to 40-50msec now.

Isn't there a way to make it go 0msec? I really don't understand why it's so hard, when in Fruity Loops, I can max up the buffer size, and playback would still be on 0. It's wierd, and frustrating AF.
Direct Monitoring?

Shadix
New Member
Posts: 11
Joined: Mon Jan 27, 2014 11:28 am
Contact:

Re: Latency on Cubase 9

Post by Shadix » Sat Oct 21, 2017 11:27 am

svennilenni wrote:
Sat Oct 21, 2017 10:49 am
Shadix wrote:
Fri Oct 20, 2017 9:09 pm
Thank for the replies.

@valsolim, I tried changing those settings. Seems to be helping abit. But I'm more down to 40-50msec now.

Isn't there a way to make it go 0msec? I really don't understand why it's so hard, when in Fruity Loops, I can max up the buffer size, and playback would still be on 0. It's wierd, and frustrating AF.
Direct Monitoring?
As shown in pic 2, it's enabled.

Post Reply

Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests