9.5 ping/ delay compensation is broken when in 64 bit mode

Use this forum for an overview of issues and to report new ones.
Mike3345
Junior Member
Posts: 63
Joined: Mon Dec 15, 2014 2:03 am
Contact:

9.5 ping/ delay compensation is broken when in 64 bit mode

Post by Mike3345 » Sun Nov 19, 2017 9:40 pm

In 9.5, I get 0 when I check user delay/ping for External FX. The audio signal is passing through fine. It even sends the ping signal fine (it shows up on the AD converter post-round trip), but it just can't calculate the delay. 9.0 using the same setup pings fine.

Update: 9.5 pings fine when set to 32 bit processing. In 64 bit mode, ping is broken, which makes me very suspicious about the basic integrity of delay compensation generally in 64 bit.

Windows 10 64 bit
RME RayDat

Evertone
Member
Posts: 303
Joined: Mon Dec 07, 2015 9:24 pm
Contact:

Re: 9.5 ping/ delay compensation is broken when in 64 bit mode

Post by Evertone » Mon Nov 20, 2017 5:57 pm

Confirmed!

I was wondering why I couldn't ping the delay in CB 9.5. This is bad news for us who use external gear. It was working fine in CB 9.0.30.

No ping:
64 bit_Delay.png
(114.17 KiB) Not downloaded yet
working ping:
32 bit_Delay.png
(111.49 KiB) Not downloaded yet
I guess the workaround for now is to ping the delay in 32 bit on all of my gear and then switch to 64 bit and see what happens.
Cubase Pro 10.5
Mojave 10.14.6
iMac i7 - 32gb ram
Apogee Symphony IO

User avatar
premediesel
New Member
Posts: 38
Joined: Wed Oct 02, 2013 12:18 am
Contact:

Re: 9.5 ping/ delay compensation is broken when in 64 bit mode

Post by premediesel » Thu Nov 23, 2017 7:41 pm

I am suspicious that delay compensation is messed up in general. Getting strange sync issues where the click is not lined up to the audio grid, and recording is offset late.
Mix Engineer / Producer
http://www.jamiekuse.com
--
Cubase 9.5.0

Mike3345
Junior Member
Posts: 63
Joined: Mon Dec 15, 2014 2:03 am
Contact:

Re: 9.5 ping/ delay compensation is broken when in 64 bit mode

Post by Mike3345 » Thu Nov 23, 2017 7:56 pm

premediesel wrote:
Thu Nov 23, 2017 7:41 pm
I am suspicious that delay compensation is messed up in general. Getting strange sync issues where the click is not lined up to the audio grid, and recording is offset late.
That sucks. 32 or 64 bit processing?

User avatar
aroomstudios
New Member
Posts: 21
Joined: Mon May 15, 2017 7:42 pm
Contact:

Re: 9.5 ping/ delay compensation is broken when in 64 bit mode

Post by aroomstudios » Sat Nov 25, 2017 12:16 am

I am having the same problem with 9.5. It was working fine in 9.0.30. I was running a plugin on insert one then my external fx on insert 2. I though there was an issue with the version of plugin I had on insert 1. Seems to be 9.5 instead. Hope they come out with a update for this soon. I really like having 16 inserts in cubase and would rather use 9.5 then 9.



EDIT
Yeah, it is still sort of weird in 32bit. I may have to use Cubase 9 until there is an update.

tonysenghore
New Member
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Nov 29, 2017 3:17 pm
Contact:

Re: 9.5 ping/ delay compensation is broken when in 64 bit mode

Post by tonysenghore » Wed Nov 29, 2017 6:41 pm

I get this very same issue too since upgrading from 8.5... I haven't tried 32 bit yet but the Ping always reports "0" in 9.5 64 bit mixengine for me in any case.
I really need to be able to ping at all times. A total showstopper for me so I'm back on 8.5 for now.

User avatar
Raphie
Senior Member
Posts: 1319
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 5:20 pm
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: 9.5 ping/ delay compensation is broken when in 64 bit mode

Post by Raphie » Wed Nov 29, 2017 6:59 pm

Just record your wave, measure the empty space before the transient divide it by samplerate and there is your delay, ping needs to work, but if not, this is how you do it.
Analogue Mastering
MSI raider X299 - Intel i9 7940 - MSI Gaming X 1070GTX 8GB - OCZ RD400 nvme SSD - 16GB DDR4-3000
Windows 10 x64 up to date - Cubase Pro 9.5x - Wavelab Pro 9.5x
RME MadiFX and racks full of outboard

Everything you need to know about remote control editors

Mike3345
Junior Member
Posts: 63
Joined: Mon Dec 15, 2014 2:03 am
Contact:

Re: 9.5 ping/ delay compensation is broken when in 64 bit mode

Post by Mike3345 » Wed Nov 29, 2017 7:16 pm

tonysenghore wrote:
Wed Nov 29, 2017 6:41 pm
I get this very same issue too since upgrading from 8.5... I haven't tried 32 bit yet but the Ping always reports "0" in 9.5 64 bit mixengine for me in any case.
I really need to be able to ping at all times. A total showstopper for me so I'm back on 8.5 for now.
Ditch 64 bit. It's pointless anyway.

tonysenghore
New Member
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Nov 29, 2017 3:17 pm
Contact:

Re: 9.5 ping/ delay compensation is broken when in 64 bit mode

Post by tonysenghore » Wed Nov 29, 2017 8:23 pm

Raphie wrote:
Wed Nov 29, 2017 6:59 pm
Just record your wave, measure the empty space before the transient divide it by samplerate and there is your delay, ping needs to work, but if not, this is how you do it.
This is a good idea but my Prism Sound Orpheus can change it's latency at any time during a session so it isn't really feasable.
I need to measure the delay every time before i bounce anything analog (for peace of mind)

User avatar
Raphie
Senior Member
Posts: 1319
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 5:20 pm
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: 9.5 ping/ delay compensation is broken when in 64 bit mode

Post by Raphie » Thu Nov 30, 2017 7:00 am

How would the prism do that? Normally the buffersize is set in the driver? Does the Prism have a dynamic buffer?
Analogue Mastering
MSI raider X299 - Intel i9 7940 - MSI Gaming X 1070GTX 8GB - OCZ RD400 nvme SSD - 16GB DDR4-3000
Windows 10 x64 up to date - Cubase Pro 9.5x - Wavelab Pro 9.5x
RME MadiFX and racks full of outboard

Everything you need to know about remote control editors

tonysenghore
New Member
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Nov 29, 2017 3:17 pm
Contact:

Re: 9.5 ping/ delay compensation is broken when in 64 bit mode

Post by tonysenghore » Thu Nov 30, 2017 9:15 am

Raphie wrote:
Thu Nov 30, 2017 7:00 am
How would the prism do that? Normally the buffersize is set in the driver? Does the Prism have a dynamic buffer?
I've spoken to support at Prism Sound support about this and they just said that this is normal. I think it is crazy. My old RME-APOGEE setup always reported the same roundtrip delay no matter what i did. Prism Sound Orpheus drivers are barely hanging on by the skin of its teeth if you ask me.

User avatar
Raphie
Senior Member
Posts: 1319
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 5:20 pm
Location: Netherlands
Contact:

Re: 9.5 ping/ delay compensation is broken when in 64 bit mode

Post by Raphie » Thu Nov 30, 2017 11:49 am

Wow, that sounds insane, first time I've heard of that.
Analogue Mastering
MSI raider X299 - Intel i9 7940 - MSI Gaming X 1070GTX 8GB - OCZ RD400 nvme SSD - 16GB DDR4-3000
Windows 10 x64 up to date - Cubase Pro 9.5x - Wavelab Pro 9.5x
RME MadiFX and racks full of outboard

Everything you need to know about remote control editors

21seven
New Member
Posts: 19
Joined: Sat Feb 28, 2015 3:04 am
Contact:

Re: 9.5 ping/ delay compensation is broken when in 64 bit mode

Post by 21seven » Fri Dec 01, 2017 6:06 pm

I am having exactly the same issue: when using cubase pro 9.5 in 64 bit the ping works (I can see the signal passing out of the DAC, through the gear it is connected to and back into the ADC), but it always reports 0 as the delay (which is of course wrong, and things are no longer in sync)

method1
Junior Member
Posts: 97
Joined: Sun Jul 31, 2011 5:16 pm
Contact:

Re: 9.5 ping/ delay compensation is broken when in 64 bit mode

Post by method1 » Sat Dec 02, 2017 9:32 pm

Can confirm the ping does not work in 64-bit mode (mac os 10.11)
I do think the latency reporting is broken in general.
Using my Bricasti via AES, each click of the ping button gives a different result, and each result sounds wrong/bad, I end up just having to tune the delay by ear or measure manually.
Mac Pro 12 core 3.46GHZ
32GB Ram
High Sierra 10.13.4
Cubase 9.5.20
Metric Halo LIO-8 / Lynx Hilo

Evertone
Member
Posts: 303
Joined: Mon Dec 07, 2015 9:24 pm
Contact:

Re: 9.5 ping/ delay compensation is broken when in 64 bit mode

Post by Evertone » Tue Dec 05, 2017 4:42 pm

Can someone at Steinberg please test this out to confirm the issue.

I just found another thread with more people having the delay compensation issue

viewtopic.php?f=253&t=127307
Cubase Pro 10.5
Mojave 10.14.6
iMac i7 - 32gb ram
Apogee Symphony IO

Evertone
Member
Posts: 303
Joined: Mon Dec 07, 2015 9:24 pm
Contact:

Re: 9.5 ping/ delay compensation is broken when in 64 bit mode

Post by Evertone » Fri Dec 22, 2017 8:04 pm

Still not working in 9.5.10.
Cubase Pro 10.5
Mojave 10.14.6
iMac i7 - 32gb ram
Apogee Symphony IO

Mike3345
Junior Member
Posts: 63
Joined: Mon Dec 15, 2014 2:03 am
Contact:

Re: 9.5 ping/ delay compensation is broken when in 64 bit mode

Post by Mike3345 » Fri Dec 22, 2017 8:06 pm

Evertone wrote:
Fri Dec 22, 2017 8:04 pm
Still not working in 9.5.10.
Proof there's a real fundamental problem with 64 bit delay compensation beyond just pinging external hardware.

Evertone
Member
Posts: 303
Joined: Mon Dec 07, 2015 9:24 pm
Contact:

Re: 9.5 ping/ delay compensation is broken when in 64 bit mode

Post by Evertone » Fri Dec 22, 2017 8:15 pm

Mike3345 wrote:
Fri Dec 22, 2017 8:06 pm
Proof there's a real fundamental problem with 64 bit delay compensation beyond just pinging external hardware.
I totally agree. If I remember correctly, it worked in CB 8.5 but not always and the results would vary. It got better in CB 9.0.
Not sure whats affecting this to not work properly in 64 bit, but it's probably not a minor issue.
Cubase Pro 10.5
Mojave 10.14.6
iMac i7 - 32gb ram
Apogee Symphony IO

User avatar
toader
Member
Posts: 869
Joined: Fri Jan 14, 2011 1:37 am
Location: Denver, Colorado, USA
Contact:

Re: 9.5 ping/ delay compensation is broken when in 64 bit mode

Post by toader » Fri Dec 22, 2017 8:22 pm

Unfortunately, this has been broken for a VERY long time for some people - even in 32-bit mode. Check out this thread:

viewtopic.php?f=253&t=113761&p=621786&h ... ng#p621786
Computer 1: Cubase 10.0.15, RME HDSPe AES (x2), RME HDSPe AIO (x1), Nvidia NVS 510 video card, Dell T7500 workstation with Intel Xeon X5690 (6 cores with hyperthreading) 3.47gHz, 24GB RAM, UAD-2 Quad, Windows 10 64-bit
Computer 2: Wavelab 9.5.40, RME HDSPe AIO, AMD Radeon RX 480 video, Dell XPS 8720 with Intel I7-7700 CPU (4 cores with hyperthreading) 3.6gHz, 24GB RAM, Windows 10 64-bit

Todd Loomis @ https://noiseradiationstudios.com

Evertone
Member
Posts: 303
Joined: Mon Dec 07, 2015 9:24 pm
Contact:

Re: 9.5 ping/ delay compensation is broken when in 64 bit mode

Post by Evertone » Fri Dec 22, 2017 10:10 pm

toader wrote:
Fri Dec 22, 2017 8:22 pm
Unfortunately, this has been broken for a VERY long time for some people - even in 32-bit mode. Check out this thread:
Good catch. Thanks!!
Cubase Pro 10.5
Mojave 10.14.6
iMac i7 - 32gb ram
Apogee Symphony IO

tonysenghore
New Member
Posts: 11
Joined: Wed Nov 29, 2017 3:17 pm
Contact:

Re: 9.5 ping/ delay compensation is broken when in 64 bit mode

Post by tonysenghore » Sat Dec 30, 2017 10:14 pm

Confirmed still not working in 9.5.1. Such a shame. :(

I might be kicking in open doors here but just as a tip you should always measure "ping" with a dry signal.
If you have any kind distortion or reverb or such there is a chance you might get a slightly off delay measurement because cubase is trying to measure a very short ping.

If ýou have a digital reverb unit for instance you should set it to 100% "dry" before you measure. That way you get both your D/A-A/D delay and the delay you get from the digital reverb unit itself (as an example).

Evertone
Member
Posts: 303
Joined: Mon Dec 07, 2015 9:24 pm
Contact:

Re: 9.5 ping/ delay compensation is broken when in 64 bit mode

Post by Evertone » Sun Dec 31, 2017 1:30 am

It sucks because using 64 bit actually is more efficient on my system but I cannot use it due to the ping not working in 64 bit mode.

I'm still waiting for someone at Steinberg to let us know that they are at least aware of this.
Cubase Pro 10.5
Mojave 10.14.6
iMac i7 - 32gb ram
Apogee Symphony IO

Carvin Man
Junior Member
Posts: 176
Joined: Thu Oct 12, 2017 10:47 am
Contact:

Re: 9.5 ping/ delay compensation is broken when in 64 bit mode

Post by Carvin Man » Sun Dec 31, 2017 12:12 pm

Evertone wrote:
Sun Dec 31, 2017 1:30 am
It sucks because using 64 bit actually is more efficient on my system but I cannot use it due to the ping not working in 64 bit mode.

I'm still waiting for someone at Steinberg to let us know that they are at least aware of this.
First, I am waiting for a fix my self ;)

Second, Switch to 32 bit mode, do your pinging and save your external plugins (and/or write down the delay settings). Then switch back to 64 bit mode.....

User avatar
Howling_Terror
New Member
Posts: 8
Joined: Thu Mar 24, 2016 6:50 pm
Contact:

Re: 9.5 ping/ delay compensation is broken when in 64 bit mode

Post by Howling_Terror » Mon Jan 01, 2018 4:16 am

^^^Cheers for the workaround Carvin Man.

The delay settings are saved so no need to write them down. Just switch back to 64bit engine and they're there.

Still a fiddle about IMO.

Evertone
Member
Posts: 303
Joined: Mon Dec 07, 2015 9:24 pm
Contact:

Re: 9.5 ping/ delay compensation is broken when in 64 bit mode

Post by Evertone » Mon Jan 01, 2018 6:52 pm

Carvin Man wrote:
Sun Dec 31, 2017 12:12 pm
Second, Switch to 32 bit mode, do your pinging and save your external plugins (and/or write down the delay settings). Then switch back to 64 bit mode.....
I agree, and I actually mentioned the same workaround in a previous post.

This is only effective when and only using 1 external FX at a time. What if you need to eq and compress or even run your signal thru 2 fx 'pieces of gear before coming back into Cubase? This is where the delay ping is required. Who's not to say that 64 bit processing doesn't add some delay... how would one know since it's not working in 64 bit :?
Cubase Pro 10.5
Mojave 10.14.6
iMac i7 - 32gb ram
Apogee Symphony IO

Post Reply

Return to “Issues”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests