Syncing Cubase to an SP-12(00)

For users of legacy Steinberg Cubase software
Post Reply
Lunatic77
New Member
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Aug 30, 2011 10:11 pm
Contact:

Syncing Cubase to an SP-12(00)

Post by Lunatic77 » Tue Aug 30, 2011 10:13 pm

I'd like to use Cubase as a slave to my SP-12 over MTC but i can't get it to work. Has someone done this and can help me out?

Cheers!

User avatar
Split
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 5285
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:06 pm
Contact:

Re: Syncing Cubase to an SP-12(00)

Post by Split » Wed Aug 31, 2011 6:54 am

Would you not be better having it the other way round, sp1200 syncing to Cubase?
??????Split
Cubase 10|MOTU 16A
Still at it... just!

Lunatic77
New Member
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Aug 30, 2011 10:11 pm
Contact:

Re: Syncing Cubase to an SP-12(00)

Post by Lunatic77 » Wed Aug 31, 2011 8:16 am

What good would that do? What I like to achieve is the SP-12 timing for all other gear...

User avatar
Weasel
Member
Posts: 688
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:29 pm
Location: Seattle
Contact:

Re: Syncing Cubase to an SP-12(00)

Post by Weasel » Wed Aug 31, 2011 9:58 am

I'd like to use Cubase as a slave to my SP-12 over MTC but i can't get it to work.
Probably because the SP-1200 doesn't support MTC. Only MIDI Clock and SMPTE.
Dual 6 Core 2.66 MacPro/48gbRAM-OSX 10.12.6/C10.0.30 • MOTU 424e/2408mk3 • 2-MIDI Express 128's ••• DualCore 2.8 iMac/4gbRAM-OSX 10.10.5/C9.0.20 • MOTU/ULmk3 ••• D8B/V5.1

Oh.....so this is the Cornfield?....

Lunatic77
New Member
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Aug 30, 2011 10:11 pm
Contact:

Re: Syncing Cubase to an SP-12(00)

Post by Lunatic77 » Wed Aug 31, 2011 11:51 am

Maybe that is the problem, but does this mean it is not possible to sync Cubase to the SP-12 at all?

Lunatic77
New Member
Posts: 5
Joined: Tue Aug 30, 2011 10:11 pm
Contact:

Re: Syncing Cubase to an SP-12(00)

Post by Lunatic77 » Fri Sep 02, 2011 9:45 am

Bump! Any Infos on how to do it, anyone?

User avatar
Split
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 5285
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:06 pm
Contact:

Re: Syncing Cubase to an SP-12(00)

Post by Split » Fri Sep 02, 2011 10:01 am

Lunatic77 wrote:What good would that do? What I like to achieve is the SP-12 timing for all other gear...
Using MTC, MIDI clock or smpte it wont make any difference to the "timing" what ever way you have it round.

None of those timing references contain what the SP-12 is doing to the playback timing! they are just stable clock sources.

And in fact syncing cubase to an external clock without tying in the converters clock via something like wordclock will just result in the audio going out of sync with the midi.
??????Split
Cubase 10|MOTU 16A
Still at it... just!

Post Reply

Return to “Older Cubase versions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests