Cubase 9.5.10 - cannot process any audio

Use this forum for an overview of issues and to report new ones.
Grumbleweed

Cubase 9.5.10 - cannot process any audio

Post by Grumbleweed »

I am new to Cubase, using a PC running Windows 10 and have two problems:
Any project I create will not allow me to do any processing of recorded or imported audio. Both direct and off-line processes are ignored and result in an exclamation mark next to the process in the Processing Editor.
The monitor button in the editor does let's me hear what should be happening but nothing is actually applied to the audio when playing the track.
I have completely re-installed Cubase and tried changing audio rates and bit depths and nothing makes it work.
Here's the weird part: I also downloaded the Cubase 9.5 demo project and I can edit the audio (and any audio I add to it) with no problem!
I cannot see any preference that makes this so.

The second problem is I tried using a song starter template to see if having audio tracks already set up would allow me to edit the audio and after configuring the ins and outs to my audio interface (Focusrite Saffire Pro 14) I find that the audio track I'm trying to record to is ignoring the input from my interface. I can create a blank project, or open an existing one, and can hear and record just fine so why isn't the template version working?

I have raised a ticket to support but any help here will be gratefully received (as long as you understand from the above that I do know how to edit audio and I can set up an audio interface).

Grum.
Cubase 9.5, Reason 10, Sonar Splat (retired). i7 3770K PC (that's getting old).

JMCecil
Grand Senior Member

Re: Cubase 9.5.10 - cannot process any audio

Post by JMCecil »

It sounds like you are trying to work from a read only drive. Probably a permissions problem.
cpu:i7 6950x - RAM:128gb - OS:Win 10 - Interfaces:Lynx Aurora, Komplete Audio 6 - MIDI:Midisport 4x4, Quadra Thru