Any concern about latency?

Post general topics related to Cubase Pro 8, Cubase Artist 8 and Cubase Elements 8 here.
Post Reply
nickmccamy
New Member
Posts: 21
Joined: Thu Dec 28, 2017 9:47 am
Contact:

Any concern about latency?

Post by nickmccamy » Wed Jan 31, 2018 10:54 am

I will be getting the Lynx E44 internal soundcard. I want to make sure of my routing plan. I'll be using an external hardware equalizer.

Internal Soundcard: Lynx E44 (4 analog inputs, 4 analog outputs)
All input and output cables are XLR.

External Hardware: Equalizer with XLR inputs and outputs
DAW: Cubase Artist 8.5 (Does not have the External FX feature)

Does the following routing make sense to avoid a feedback loop and to allow live monitoring of the hardware equalization changes I make?

Outputs 1 & 2 > Headphones
Outputs 3 & 4 > Equalizer > Inputs 1 & 2

UnEqualized Track > Send Only to Outputs 3 & 4
Equalized Track > Record From Inputs 1 & 2 with Record Monitor On

Any concern about latency?

svennilenni
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3991
Joined: Sat Nov 28, 2015 3:21 pm
Contact:

Re: Any concern about latency?

Post by svennilenni » Wed Jan 31, 2018 7:36 pm

nickmccamy wrote:
Wed Jan 31, 2018 10:54 am
I will be getting the Lynx E44 internal soundcard. I want to make sure of my routing plan. I'll be using an external hardware equalizer.

Internal Soundcard: Lynx E44 (4 analog inputs, 4 analog outputs)
All input and output cables are XLR.

External Hardware: Equalizer with XLR inputs and outputs
DAW: Cubase Artist 8.5 (Does not have the External FX feature)

Does the following routing make sense to avoid a feedback loop and to allow live monitoring of the hardware equalization changes I make?
That depends on if your card has a mixer how it it is configured and can best be checked by yourself when your gear has arrived.

nickmccamy wrote:
Wed Jan 31, 2018 10:54 am
Any concern about latency?
Any digital system has some inherent latency, so what is the question?

nickmccamy
New Member
Posts: 21
Joined: Thu Dec 28, 2017 9:47 am
Contact:

Re: Any concern about latency?

Post by nickmccamy » Wed Jan 31, 2018 7:50 pm

The card does have a mixer. I have never used a card with a mixer, so that will be enlightening.
I assume the only place where there will be latency is the interface between Cubase and the card.

What is the best way to measure and handle this latency? I know Cubase Pro handles this beautifully via External FX. Is that the preferred way of interfacing Cubase to hardware?

User avatar
JMCecil
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3621
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:03 pm
Contact:

Re: Any concern about latency?

Post by JMCecil » Wed Jan 31, 2018 7:53 pm

Latency issues would be an issue under several scenarios.

Your issue will be that you have to manually adjust the delay compensation for the returned track in relation to other tracks in the project. This can create some monitoring challenges depending on buffer settings of the card, size of project and what the total latency is for other tracks in the project.
cpu:i7 6950x - RAM:128gb - OS:Win 10 - Interfaces:Lynx Aurora, Komplete Audio 6 - MIDI:Midisport 4x4, Quadra Thru
Steiny Suff: CMC:FD,CH,TP,QC,PD | Wavelab 9 | Cubase VST-32->9 | H5, GA4, HSO, Padshop Pro, Cubasis, iC Pro

nickmccamy
New Member
Posts: 21
Joined: Thu Dec 28, 2017 9:47 am
Contact:

Re: Any concern about latency?

Post by nickmccamy » Wed Jan 31, 2018 7:57 pm

Sounds like I'll be updating to Cubase Pro 9.5.

User avatar
JMCecil
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3621
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:03 pm
Contact:

Re: Any concern about latency?

Post by JMCecil » Wed Jan 31, 2018 8:06 pm

The only difference is that in Pro it does the calculation for you. And, it comes with the penalty of tying up the outputs for a given project. Calculating the offset isn't that difficult. But, there are so many other advantages to Pro it would probably be worth it.

But it's important to understand that Pro does NOT change the latency. It simply adjusts playback to align to the recorded latency. If you are trying to play and monitor, you will notice.
cpu:i7 6950x - RAM:128gb - OS:Win 10 - Interfaces:Lynx Aurora, Komplete Audio 6 - MIDI:Midisport 4x4, Quadra Thru
Steiny Suff: CMC:FD,CH,TP,QC,PD | Wavelab 9 | Cubase VST-32->9 | H5, GA4, HSO, Padshop Pro, Cubasis, iC Pro

nickmccamy
New Member
Posts: 21
Joined: Thu Dec 28, 2017 9:47 am
Contact:

Re: Any concern about latency?

Post by nickmccamy » Wed Jan 31, 2018 8:12 pm

"And, it comes with the penalty of tying up the outputs for a given project."

Not having used Cubase Pro, could you please elaborate on this penalty?

svennilenni
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3991
Joined: Sat Nov 28, 2015 3:21 pm
Contact:

Re: Any concern about latency?

Post by svennilenni » Wed Jan 31, 2018 8:40 pm

Now what exactly is it you want to achieve? Just a mixdown file of your master mix that is live monitored (and probably tweaked during playback)?

nickmccamy
New Member
Posts: 21
Joined: Thu Dec 28, 2017 9:47 am
Contact:

Re: Any concern about latency?

Post by nickmccamy » Wed Jan 31, 2018 8:45 pm

Yes, that is it.

User avatar
JMCecil
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3621
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:03 pm
Contact:

Re: Any concern about latency?

Post by JMCecil » Wed Jan 31, 2018 8:51 pm

as long as that's all you want, there's no reason for Pro. The routing will work.
cpu:i7 6950x - RAM:128gb - OS:Win 10 - Interfaces:Lynx Aurora, Komplete Audio 6 - MIDI:Midisport 4x4, Quadra Thru
Steiny Suff: CMC:FD,CH,TP,QC,PD | Wavelab 9 | Cubase VST-32->9 | H5, GA4, HSO, Padshop Pro, Cubasis, iC Pro

nickmccamy
New Member
Posts: 21
Joined: Thu Dec 28, 2017 9:47 am
Contact:

Re: Any concern about latency?

Post by nickmccamy » Wed Jan 31, 2018 9:02 pm

Thank you for your help. When I get the card, I will try the routing.

Post Reply

Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests