Drumset GM Export

Discussions about our next-generation scoring application, Dorico.
Post Reply
GryptpypeThynne
Junior Member
Posts: 160
Joined: Tue Oct 25, 2016 7:43 pm
Contact:

Drumset GM Export

Post by GryptpypeThynne »

Hi all,

I've exported some drumset notation as MIDI, and most of the notes are correct, however the kick drum is being placed down on A0 (MIDI note 33) instead of B0 or C1 (MIDI 35 and 36) as usual. Is there another convention I'm unaware of with the GM percussion map, or is this a mistake?

Thanks in advance!

User avatar
Daniel at Steinberg
Moderator
Posts: 17506
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2012 10:35 am
Contact:

Re: Drumset GM Export

Post by Daniel at Steinberg »

If you look at the General MIDI percussion map in Play > Percussion Maps, you’ll see that ‘Kick drum (low)’ is mapped to note 33, ‘Kick drum (very low)’ is 35, and ‘Kick drum (low)’ is 36. Try deleting or changing the instrument of the entry for note 33, and you should find that Dorico exports note 36 instead.

GryptpypeThynne
Junior Member
Posts: 160
Joined: Tue Oct 25, 2016 7:43 pm
Contact:

Re: Drumset GM Export

Post by GryptpypeThynne »

Got it! Thanks. I didn't know I could remap stuff. While I'm at it, right now snare drum rolls (notated with three tremolo slashes) are exporting on the MIDI note assigned to Snare Roll, but as 64th notes instead of a continuous note. Am I missing something, or should it be one or the other? That is—either 64th notes on the normal snare drum note, or a continuous note on the snare roll note?

User avatar
Daniel at Steinberg
Moderator
Posts: 17506
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2012 10:35 am
Contact:

Re: Drumset GM Export

Post by Daniel at Steinberg »

I’ll look into this – it’s possible that Dorico is ending up playing both the MIDI version of a roll and the sampled version of the roll, when really the latter is sufficient.

GryptpypeThynne
Junior Member
Posts: 160
Joined: Tue Oct 25, 2016 7:43 pm
Contact:

Re: Drumset GM Export

Post by GryptpypeThynne »

Posting a further question here because it's on the same topic:

I'm attempting to export some drumset notation as GM MIDI. In the relevant percussion map Ride Cymbal 1 is set to MIDI note 51 and Ride Cymbal 2 to 59, as in GM, but both are set to simply 'Ride Cymbal' in the instrument box, and so both are exporting on MIDI note 51. As there isn't a second ride cymbal available in Dorico (with crash cymbals Dorico defaults the GM map to Crash Cymbal 1 = Crash Cymbal (Low) and Crash Cymbal 2 = Crash Cymbal (High), how should I set this up to export the two different rides correctly?

User avatar
Daniel at Steinberg
Moderator
Posts: 17506
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2012 10:35 am
Contact:

Re: Drumset GM Export

Post by Daniel at Steinberg »

I guess the question is, what real-world instruments are “Ride Cymbal 1” and “Ride Cymbal 2” in the GM drum map supposed to correlate to? Do you know? We could potentially create two different ride cymbal instruments – differentiated by size etc. – in order to correctly disambiguate these two instruments, which would sort this out.

GryptpypeThynne
Junior Member
Posts: 160
Joined: Tue Oct 25, 2016 7:43 pm
Contact:

Re: Drumset GM Export

Post by GryptpypeThynne »

I imagine this would typically be used for jazz setups, in which one ride ride might have rivets or a sizzle chain on it while the other doesn't. Some people just have two different rides with different timbres.
A quick search on drummerworld seems to indicate at least a reasonable prevalence of multiple-ride setups, including the well-known Cobus.

User avatar
Daniel at Steinberg
Moderator
Posts: 17506
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2012 10:35 am
Contact:

Re: Drumset GM Export

Post by Daniel at Steinberg »

Perhaps for the time being I’ll go for “low” and “high” like the crash cymbals, if there’s no specific convention that is often used.

GryptpypeThynne
Junior Member
Posts: 160
Joined: Tue Oct 25, 2016 7:43 pm
Contact:

Re: Drumset GM Export

Post by GryptpypeThynne »

That sounds great Daniel—thanks for your understanding!

GryptpypeThynne
Junior Member
Posts: 160
Joined: Tue Oct 25, 2016 7:43 pm
Contact:

Re: Drumset GM Export

Post by GryptpypeThynne »

While at it, is there a way to get Dorico to export two MIDI notes for a certain technique? For example, when the snare roll technique is used, export a MIDI note on 38 (normal snare) AND 29 (Snare Roll) simultaneously? Would it be possible to do this with keyswitches perhaps? I'm not exactly sure how those work in the Percussion Map editor

User avatar
Daniel at Steinberg
Moderator
Posts: 17506
Joined: Mon Nov 12, 2012 10:35 am
Contact:

Re: Drumset GM Export

Post by Daniel at Steinberg »

At the moment I don’t think there’s a way to achieve this, no, because each instrument can only play a single technique at once, and this would require two techniques to be played simultaneously.

GryptpypeThynne
Junior Member
Posts: 160
Joined: Tue Oct 25, 2016 7:43 pm
Contact:

Re: Drumset GM Export

Post by GryptpypeThynne »

Got it. Thanks Daniel. If I set up a key switch in the Percussion map, will this be exported as a MIDI note whenever the technique is used?

User avatar
PaulWalmsley
Steinberg Employee
Posts: 2017
Joined: Tue May 17, 2016 9:24 pm
Location: Steinberg, London
Contact:

Re: Drumset GM Export

Post by PaulWalmsley »

Yes it will. I _think_ that you can have multiple keyswitch notes for a technique, but I'm not absolutely sure about that.
Architect & Developer - Steinberg London

GryptpypeThynne
Junior Member
Posts: 160
Joined: Tue Oct 25, 2016 7:43 pm
Contact:

Re: Drumset GM Export

Post by GryptpypeThynne »

Thanks Paul. I'm trying to do this, but at the moment NO keyswitches are being exported in the MIDI. As a test, I tried assigning a keyswitch of MIDI note 2 to the snare drum technique 'cross stick', which I have mapped to MIDI note 28, but when I export it it exports on note 28 with no keyswitch. What am I doing wrong?

Post Reply

Return to “Dorico”