Sliced loop - previewing slices error (silence).

For users of legacy Steinberg Cubase software
Post Reply
andybhoy
New Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 9:02 pm
Contact:

Sliced loop - previewing slices error (silence).

Post by andybhoy » Thu Jan 06, 2011 7:58 pm

Hi guys,

I'm quite new to Cubase and have just been trying to learn it via online tutorials etc. I have Cubase 5, USB Mixer/Audio Interface, USB Midi Keyboard. Sound coming out the USB audio interface. Simple home set up.

Following the youtube vid on GA/Beat designer - Basically - Find a loop in Media Browser > Slice it up > add slices to GA > use Beat Designer to make the beat.

Problems i have though: When picking a loop/sound from the browser it doesn't preview in the browser. I have to add it to the track to listen to it. If its not what im looking for i need to delete it - reopen the browser and repeat.
and
When I slice the beat it doesn't preview each slice when you click on it. It's still in Musical Mode and the speaker sign appears on each slice, but no preview. Means i have to try n slice it well enough by eye...

Im assuming these two problems are related? but have no idea what's up. It worked the first time I used it but never again. Any ideas?
Thanks

andybhoy
New Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 9:02 pm
Contact:

Re: Sliced loop - previewing slices error (silence).

Post by andybhoy » Sat Jan 08, 2011 10:47 am

hi guys,

can any1 help with this please? probably something stupid ive missed but ive no idea what.

thanks guys.

User avatar
el-russo
Member
Posts: 218
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 9:52 pm
Contact:

Re: Sliced loop - previewing slices error (silence).

Post by el-russo » Sat Jan 08, 2011 1:52 pm

There are three buttons in the top right corner of the Previewer section of the Media bay (the section where you see the sound wave) . Click on the one that enables Auto Play New Results Selection.
As an option you can also enable Wait for the Project Play (that's the 3rd button in a row). You will be able to activate the preview with the space button then, just like in the arrange window.
cpu: AMD Phenom II x4 955, ram: 8GB DDR III 1333, Audio/MIDI Interface: Edirol FA66.
Windows 7 x64. Cubase 6.5.1 x64 and 32 bit.
VSTi's: VSL, HSO, Kontakt 4, HALion 4

User avatar
el-russo
Member
Posts: 218
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 9:52 pm
Contact:

Re: Sliced loop - previewing slices error (silence).

Post by el-russo » Sat Jan 08, 2011 2:46 pm

If you can't hear any audio coming out of Cubase it means your audio outputs are not configured properly. Try checking Device Setup and VST Connections. The former should have the appropriate audio card driver set in VST Audio System window and the latter should have the device and its ports set in input and output tabs.
cpu: AMD Phenom II x4 955, ram: 8GB DDR III 1333, Audio/MIDI Interface: Edirol FA66.
Windows 7 x64. Cubase 6.5.1 x64 and 32 bit.
VSTi's: VSL, HSO, Kontakt 4, HALion 4

andybhoy
New Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 9:02 pm
Contact:

Re: Sliced loop - previewing slices error (silence).

Post by andybhoy » Sun Jan 09, 2011 2:03 pm

The Control Room had errors near the left and right outputs.. just reselected them to my audio interface output and works now. Strange cause everything else was working fine.

Thanks guys.

Post Reply

Return to “Older Cubase versions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Dan Wakefield and 11 guests