Presonus FaderPort problem

Post general topics related to Nuendo 8 here.
Post Reply
drorh4
Member
Posts: 353
Joined: Wed Oct 02, 2013 3:31 pm
Contact:

Presonus FaderPort problem

Post by drorh4 » Thu Mar 08, 2018 6:07 pm

When trying to write automation with the faderport fader, the selected track change itself to another track the second i touch the fader.
It makes the faderport unusable.

Plus - when I moving with the arrows from track to track, it doesnt work in order (one after another) but goes in some kind of random way.

any clue?
OSX sierra 10.12.6 (MacBook pro mid12)
Win10 (desktop studio PC)
Nuendo 8.3.20 - Wavelab 9.5
Lynx Aurora 8
Motu Ultralite
Waves/plugin Alliance/Soundtoys

samcatchem500
Junior Member
Posts: 69
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 5:54 pm
Contact:

Re: Presonus FaderPort problem

Post by samcatchem500 » Fri Apr 13, 2018 8:54 am

Decided to pull out the FaderPort for old times sake and experienced the same issues.

First - make sure the firmware is current, there are significant complications with any older versions of the firmware.

Next - install latest version of the Faderport software from Presonus website.

Next - Restart System, Launch DAW and Faderport should work correctly. If it still doesn't work unplug the USB while in DAW then plug the USB cord back in.

That seemed to get the FaderPort working correctly in Cubase 9 on a 64bit MacB Pro.

drorh4
Member
Posts: 353
Joined: Wed Oct 02, 2013 3:31 pm
Contact:

Re: Presonus FaderPort problem

Post by drorh4 » Sun Apr 15, 2018 8:30 am

Thanx. i will try all that.
OSX sierra 10.12.6 (MacBook pro mid12)
Win10 (desktop studio PC)
Nuendo 8.3.20 - Wavelab 9.5
Lynx Aurora 8
Motu Ultralite
Waves/plugin Alliance/Soundtoys

drorh4
Member
Posts: 353
Joined: Wed Oct 02, 2013 3:31 pm
Contact:

Re: Presonus FaderPort problem

Post by drorh4 » Tue Apr 17, 2018 11:58 pm

OK.

I updated the driver.
about firmware, I coukdnt find any and got this message from Presonus site "The firmware in FaderPort's made after 2011 have firmware version 1.3.8. That is the last version and is the only version needed for these FaderPorts."

The situation is that the faderport is working and after a while, for some reason it does not. some time it is only the fader doesnt work.
on some tracks it do work. very unpreditable.
OSX sierra 10.12.6 (MacBook pro mid12)
Win10 (desktop studio PC)
Nuendo 8.3.20 - Wavelab 9.5
Lynx Aurora 8
Motu Ultralite
Waves/plugin Alliance/Soundtoys

samcatchem500
Junior Member
Posts: 69
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 5:54 pm
Contact:

Re: Presonus FaderPort problem

Post by samcatchem500 » Wed Apr 18, 2018 5:05 am

Create a PreSonus.com account and register the device using the serial number on the bottom. When you register the device it will tell you if your firmware is current or needs an update. From your post it sounds like you have a firmware issue.

User avatar
audiomonkeys
Junior Member
Posts: 130
Joined: Fri Apr 20, 2012 9:25 pm
Contact:

Re: Presonus FaderPort problem

Post by audiomonkeys » Wed Apr 18, 2018 11:11 pm

I'm not so sure its a fader port issue, Im also seeing some issues with TouchDAW (using Mackie control). when flipping the fader for a ie; a compressor parameter it also jump to a complete different audio track
Nuendo 10.2.00 , Pro Tools Ultimate 2019.07 for what
its worth, Mac Pro 5.1 3.33 Ghz - 12 core, 32 Bg RAM. OS10.12.6 Smart AV Tango +12 fader Ext, Dolby Atmos Suite, Blackmagic Intensity Pro - 5 litres of good Japanese Sake (and more coming) and 100% no CRACK plugins

profdraper
Member
Posts: 213
Joined: Sat Sep 27, 2014 10:31 pm
Location: Brisbane, Australia
Contact:

Re: Presonus FaderPort problem

Post by profdraper » Tue Apr 24, 2018 3:14 am

A few oddities here as well, inconsistent operation with a Faderport16. Toggling back and forth between 'compatibility' and 'Cubase' modes seems to temporarily clean it up.
PC: Dell T7910 dual Xeon, Win10Pro 1903, 64GB, Samsung SSDs & RAID. Displays: Dell U3419W & BenQ SW2700PT, RTX 2080Ti, Decklink MiniMon 4k. Audio: Thunderbolt 2, RME UFX+ & ADI-8, UAD-2 quad PCIe. MIDI: Presonus FaderPort 16, NI Komplete Kontrol S61, Ableton Push. Apps: Nuendo 10.1, Wavelab Pro 9.5, Pro Tools Ultimate 2019.6, Ableton Live Suite 10.1, DaVinci Resolve Studio 16.

Getalife2
Member
Posts: 538
Joined: Sat May 24, 2014 3:32 pm
Contact:

Re: Presonus FaderPort problem

Post by Getalife2 » Tue Apr 24, 2018 10:53 pm

drorh4 wrote:
Thu Mar 08, 2018 6:07 pm
When trying to write automation with the faderport fader, the selected track change itself to another track the second i touch the fader.
It makes the faderport unusable.

Plus - when I moving with the arrows from track to track, it doesnt work in order (one after another) but goes in some kind of random way.

any clue?
Go to Preferences > Editing and toggle ON "Use Up/Down navigation to change tracks only". See if that helps your issue. I am using FaderPort here on N8.1/Win 7 without any of the issues you describe.

If you notice, without this option selected, when you have an audio object selected the up/down arrows will scroll between audio objects on the different tracks and can select the track in a seemingly random fashion. I don't know what to tell you about switching when touching the fader while automating. I've never seen that.

Good luck getting it sorted.
N10.0.20 - i7 5960X/32 GB at 4.3GHz with x7 SSDs - Win 7/64 - 2x RME MADI - 3X UAD-2 Quad - VEP

drorh4
Member
Posts: 353
Joined: Wed Oct 02, 2013 3:31 pm
Contact:

Re: Presonus FaderPort problem

Post by drorh4 » Fri May 18, 2018 12:15 am

thank you, I will try your advice tomorrow.
OSX sierra 10.12.6 (MacBook pro mid12)
Win10 (desktop studio PC)
Nuendo 8.3.20 - Wavelab 9.5
Lynx Aurora 8
Motu Ultralite
Waves/plugin Alliance/Soundtoys

01w
Member
Posts: 483
Joined: Sat Nov 09, 2013 7:25 pm

Re: Presonus FaderPort problem

Post by 01w » Sun Sep 23, 2018 5:26 pm

Same problem here
Desktop:
Windows 10 x64. i7-8700k, Corsair 32GB, Gigabyte Z390 X, Samsung 970 2TB m.2 ssd, Samsung evo 850 2TB sata ssd.
Laptop:
2012 MacBook Pro, HighSierra, 2.3ghz QuadCore i7, 8GB Ram, 2TB SSD

windbag
New Member
Posts: 32
Joined: Wed Nov 30, 2011 2:56 am
Contact:

Re: Presonus FaderPort problem

Post by windbag » Wed Nov 21, 2018 3:28 am

tried your suggestion about the up/down track navigation - unfortunately I have the same problem .Moving the faderport classic volume fader causes a jump to the first track on cubase10

windbag
New Member
Posts: 32
Joined: Wed Nov 30, 2011 2:56 am
Contact:

Re: Presonus FaderPort problem

Post by windbag » Wed Nov 21, 2018 3:52 am

Solved it. Under devices for Mackie Hui - for midi in - select not connected. This did the trick for me !

01w
Member
Posts: 483
Joined: Sat Nov 09, 2013 7:25 pm

Re: Presonus FaderPort problem

Post by 01w » Fri Nov 23, 2018 4:43 am

Returned presonus, got cc121
Desktop:
Windows 10 x64. i7-8700k, Corsair 32GB, Gigabyte Z390 X, Samsung 970 2TB m.2 ssd, Samsung evo 850 2TB sata ssd.
Laptop:
2012 MacBook Pro, HighSierra, 2.3ghz QuadCore i7, 8GB Ram, 2TB SSD

onkeysound
New Member
Posts: 14
Joined: Fri Sep 13, 2013 4:48 pm
Contact:

Re: Presonus FaderPort problem

Post by onkeysound » Thu Feb 07, 2019 9:26 am

Same problem here

Work around is to take the track you do want to do automation on, and move it to the top of the project
On-Key Sound Studios
5 x Nuendo 8- Win10 Pro i7 64bit 32gig ram - 5 x RME UCX

nutEdave
New Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Apr 17, 2019 12:48 am
Contact:

Re: Presonus FaderPort problem

Post by nutEdave » Wed Apr 17, 2019 12:54 am

I had the same issue with the track select switching and sound cutting out every time I touched a fader but have fixed the issue it was in the Cubase Mackie Control settings you have to untick the Enable Auto Select box that will sort it !

Post Reply

Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests