Cubase 6.04, Zed R16, Komplete 8, Maschine

For users of legacy Steinberg Cubase software
Post Reply
Vantage
New Member
Posts: 24
Joined: Sat Sep 17, 2011 12:02 pm
Contact:

Cubase 6.04, Zed R16, Komplete 8, Maschine

Post by Vantage » Sat Sep 17, 2011 12:16 pm

Hi Folks

After nealry 19 years of umming and ahhing (starting from an Atari ST and and Akai S2800) I have finally taken the plunge. Thinking either go big and or go home. I have an ADK i7 PC, Win 7 64, Cubase 6.04, Zed R16, Komplete and Maschine and some hardware synths. I am now trying to get it all to play nicely together. I am struggling with the follwing:

1. Recording from Maschine into Cubase.
2. Setting up the best configuration of input/outputs for my Zed R16.
3. Configuring my Novation SL 61 MKII to control stuff via Automap.

I've only just unpacked and connected everything so very early days!

A long term Mac User I went PC because the price differential is too big to ignore and I don't mind doing my own tech support from time to time.

It's great to (finally) be here

Regards to one and all

Vantage
ADK PC - Intel DP67BG, Intel i7-2600k 4.5 ghz Quad, 16gb, 2 x Samsung 820 SSD System Drive, 2 X Seagate 1TB Data Drives, ATI 5450, Cubase 6.06 & 7.5, Komplete 8, Absolute VST, U-He Diva, Komplete 8, Machine 1.8, Allen & Heath Zed R16, Novation SL 61 MK II, Yamaha SY85, Yamaha HS 80M Speakers, Live 9, Push,

Vantage
New Member
Posts: 24
Joined: Sat Sep 17, 2011 12:02 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase 6.04, Zed R16, Komplete 8, Maschine

Post by Vantage » Sat Oct 08, 2011 11:11 pm

BUMP - Is there anyone who has managed to successfully integrate a Novtion SL61 with Cubase?

6.04 Crash on quit is still annoying.

Does anyone really use Media Bay???
ADK PC - Intel DP67BG, Intel i7-2600k 4.5 ghz Quad, 16gb, 2 x Samsung 820 SSD System Drive, 2 X Seagate 1TB Data Drives, ATI 5450, Cubase 6.06 & 7.5, Komplete 8, Absolute VST, U-He Diva, Komplete 8, Machine 1.8, Allen & Heath Zed R16, Novation SL 61 MK II, Yamaha SY85, Yamaha HS 80M Speakers, Live 9, Push,

johngar
Member
Posts: 563
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:46 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase 6.04, Zed R16, Komplete 8, Maschine

Post by johngar » Sun Oct 09, 2011 12:00 am

I am sure there are plenty of people that will help, but you need to provide specific details of what is not working.
"struggling" does not really provide people with enough information to assist you.
PC | Nuendo 10 | i7-4930k | Win10 | 32gb ram | Intensity Pro | Radeon HD7700 | RME9632 | Euphonix MC Control -Mix - Transport | Generic

artifactdetroit.com

Vantage
New Member
Posts: 24
Joined: Sat Sep 17, 2011 12:02 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase 6.04, Zed R16, Komplete 8, Maschine

Post by Vantage » Wed Oct 12, 2011 9:47 pm

This is the crash on exit report:

Problem signature:
Problem Event Name: APPCRASH
Application Name: Cubase6.exe
Application Version: 6.0.4.346
Application Timestamp: 4e4aa6be
Fault Module Name: Cubase6.exe
Fault Module Version: 6.0.4.346
Fault Module Timestamp: 4e4aa6be
Exception Code: c0000005
Exception Offset: 0000000000fc8775
OS Version: 6.1.7601.2.1.0.256.1
Locale ID: 2057
Additional Information 1: 7776
Additional Information 2: 7776a18dc343b6cd731c913dc8041ced
Additional Information 3: c196
Additional Information 4: c1964065d728201c2f55bbab8ca65e0d

Could this be related a USB device?
ADK PC - Intel DP67BG, Intel i7-2600k 4.5 ghz Quad, 16gb, 2 x Samsung 820 SSD System Drive, 2 X Seagate 1TB Data Drives, ATI 5450, Cubase 6.06 & 7.5, Komplete 8, Absolute VST, U-He Diva, Komplete 8, Machine 1.8, Allen & Heath Zed R16, Novation SL 61 MK II, Yamaha SY85, Yamaha HS 80M Speakers, Live 9, Push,

User avatar
meta-redundant
Junior Member
Posts: 182
Joined: Wed Jun 29, 2011 9:20 pm
Location: Los Angeles, CA

Re: Cubase 6.04, Zed R16, Komplete 8, Maschine

Post by meta-redundant » Wed Oct 12, 2011 10:29 pm

Vantage wrote:Hi Folks

1. Recording from Maschine into Cubase.

Vantage
This throws a lot of people.

First of all, in order to get MIDI in/out of Maschine onto a Cubase track, you have to run Maschine as a VST from the instrument rack (Devices --> VST Instruments), and NOT by adding an Instrument Track. Instrument Tracks don't send MIDI in/out.

When you add Maschine to the VST Instrument rack, it will offer to create a MIDI track for you -- say yes.

Then on that MIDI track:

--MIDI Input set to "Machine - MIDI Out"
--MIDI Output set to "Machine - MIDI In"

In Maschine:

--In the lower pane of the software, go to the drop-down arrow next to the blue Group name
--Choose "Sound MIDI Batch Setup"
--Enable "Sounds to MIDI Notes"

Now your pad playing on the Maschine controller should be captured on the MIDI track, and be routed back to Maschine on playback. I would suggest saving the Project as a template so you don't have to set it up again.

Good luck!
Cubase Pro 10 | Wavelab 9.5 | Intel i9 7940x | Win10 | RME Fireface UCX (via USB) | 64Gb Memory | CC121 | UAD Quad | Intel RAID SSD array | Raven MTi2

Vantage
New Member
Posts: 24
Joined: Sat Sep 17, 2011 12:02 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase 6.04, Zed R16, Komplete 8, Maschine

Post by Vantage » Thu Oct 13, 2011 9:38 pm

Thanks for the reply mate!

I'll give it a try and report back

Also now trying to optimise my workspace.

Will I ever need my hardware synths again?

:D
ADK PC - Intel DP67BG, Intel i7-2600k 4.5 ghz Quad, 16gb, 2 x Samsung 820 SSD System Drive, 2 X Seagate 1TB Data Drives, ATI 5450, Cubase 6.06 & 7.5, Komplete 8, Absolute VST, U-He Diva, Komplete 8, Machine 1.8, Allen & Heath Zed R16, Novation SL 61 MK II, Yamaha SY85, Yamaha HS 80M Speakers, Live 9, Push,

Post Reply

Return to “Older Cubase versions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests