Multi-Channel Midi in and Through routing needed

All feature requests and suggestions for upcoming releases of Cubase Pro 9, Cubase Artist 9 and Cubase Elements 9 can be posted here.
Post Reply
reekster
New Member
Posts: 26
Joined: Mon Aug 19, 2013 11:27 pm
Contact:

Multi-Channel Midi in and Through routing needed

Post by reekster » Thu Apr 19, 2018 7:07 pm

I have had a need for some time to be able to send a multichannel midi signal into Cubase on a single input, and have it go through to multiple outputs on a channel by channel basis.
I have a synthesizer with a built in sequencer that has 16 midi channels. I want to run that into Cubase and send Midi Channel 1 to a VST Synth, 2-5 to my Eurorack synthesizer, each on individual channels (i.e. incoming channel 3 only to outgoing channel 3 or any channel)

Currently, I can record and then separate multichannel Midi but there is no thru that I can peel off single midi channels and pass. I had a similar issue at Disney trying to have multiple instances of Battery, each on separate Midi channels, respond to a multi-channel Midi signal coming in. This should be easy to do but it is impossible unless I'm missing something or something has changed recently.
Imagine- Create - Inspire

User avatar
raino
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3689
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 2:41 am
Location: San Francisco
Contact:

Re: Multi-Channel Midi in and Through routing needed

Post by raino » Fri Apr 20, 2018 2:11 am

Have you looked at using the Input Transformer to only pass through the desired channel.
rodger

Cubase Pro 10.0.40, Win10 Home, Halion6, BFD3, GPO, Komplete Ultimate 9, Waves Gold, Misc. other

i7 4771 Haswell Processor 3.5GHz, ADK LGA1150, 16GB RAM, GeForce GTX970, RME Fireface 400, 2x UAD-2

reekster
New Member
Posts: 26
Joined: Mon Aug 19, 2013 11:27 pm
Contact:

Re: Multi-Channel Midi in and Through routing needed

Post by reekster » Fri Apr 20, 2018 6:06 pm

Raino, Thaks for the response. I need to pass all 16 channels from a single input, and send the individual channels to individual outputs.
Imagine- Create - Inspire

User avatar
peakae
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3021
Joined: Sat Jan 05, 2013 8:15 pm
Location: Bedroom
Contact:

Re: Multi-Channel Midi in and Through routing needed

Post by peakae » Fri Apr 20, 2018 8:23 pm

Then make 16 midi tracks with the same input.
Input Transform differently on each track.
Cubase Pro 10, Wavelab Elements 9, I7 3770K , win10x64, 16Gb Ram, RME Raydat, Steinberg MR816x, Motu 828mkII, Behringer ADA8200, Yamaha moXF6, Steinberg UR242, Yamaha THR 10, Grace Design m900, CMC TP, CMC CH.

reekster
New Member
Posts: 26
Joined: Mon Aug 19, 2013 11:27 pm
Contact:

Re: Multi-Channel Midi in and Through routing needed

Post by reekster » Fri Apr 20, 2018 9:31 pm

Heeeeyyyyyy. I'll give that a try. Thanks
Imagine- Create - Inspire

reekster
New Member
Posts: 26
Joined: Mon Aug 19, 2013 11:27 pm
Contact:

Re: Multi-Channel Midi in and Through routing needed

Post by reekster » Wed Apr 25, 2018 2:36 am

A noble attempt but I can't seem to figure out how to filter 15 out of 16 midi channels on each input to output.
Imagine- Create - Inspire

Post Reply

Return to “Feature Requests and Suggestions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest