Do i need wavelab

Post general topics related to Cubase Pro 9, Cubase Artist 9 and Cubase Elements 9 here.
Post Reply
jaikez
New Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Aug 20, 2018 12:44 am
Contact:

Do i need wavelab

Post by jaikez » Mon Aug 20, 2018 12:47 am

i have cubase pro 9.5 do i need wavelab for mastering ?

svennilenni
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3667
Joined: Sat Nov 28, 2015 3:21 pm
Contact:

Re: Do i need wavelab

Post by svennilenni » Mon Aug 20, 2018 9:35 am

jaikez wrote:
Mon Aug 20, 2018 12:47 am
i have cubase pro 9.5 do i need wavelab for mastering ?
Depends, but in general: No.

User avatar
greggybud
Senior Member
Posts: 1179
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 10:01 am
Contact:

Re: Do i need wavelab

Post by greggybud » Mon Aug 20, 2018 5:08 pm

You have Cubase. What do you think you need additional? Sometimes if you have to ask, it means you don't need it.

If you mean commercial or professional mastering, you will need more than what any DAW offers including Cubase. How you get the additional tools and functions is up to you. If you mean "finalizing" then Cubase or most any other DAW IMO can do the job.

Cubase is a DAW, Wavlab is a mastering environment. Yes there is overlap, but there are a lot of unique functions too.

Things I use Wavelab for that are not available in most DAW's including Cubase:

Wavelab-Cubase exchange (not quite as nice as it was about 15 years ago but it works), built in redbook, CD assembly via montage (including gap lengths or even no length with PQ codes etec) detailed audio analysis, spectral editing, error correction, smart bypass, batch processing, batch re-naming, basic audio CD or detailed audio CD, Data CD & DVD, CD text, DVD audio, very good metering (the best 3D frequency analysis) , audio file comparing, meta normalizing, and DDP.

Weak areas for Wavlab IMO would be automation, (PG says this will change soon) and don't buy Wavelab for the factory processors/effects etc. They are good, but that is not what you really want Wavelab for. A lot of ME's use Wavelab only for capturing and assembly.

It's best you read threads about the differences and decide for yourself whether or not you need Wavelab.
Last edited by greggybud on Mon Aug 20, 2018 9:55 pm, edited 2 times in total.
Windows 7x64, Wavelab 9.5, latest Cubase version, i7, 16g, SSD, (Gigabyte GeForce GTX 750ti driving 2 32" LG ultra wides and 1 28" all @2560x1080) iCon QconPro, Metagrid, 4 MidiTimePiece's = 32in/outs, 4 TB HDs, UAD-2, NI, Waves, Arturia, and lots of hardware synthesizers most of them controlled by MidiQuest 11.

User avatar
reberclark
Junior Member
Posts: 119
Joined: Wed Apr 25, 2018 8:53 pm
Contact:

Re: Do i need wavelab

Post by reberclark » Mon Aug 20, 2018 6:28 pm

I do all of my mastering in Cubase. There are plenty of plug-ins to cover the bases.
"In theory there is no difference between theory and practice, but in practice there is."

Cubase Pro 10.0.40, Finale 25.5
A whole bunch of VSTs

Windows 10 Pro 64 bit.

Post Reply

Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests